DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1-19 in the reply filed on 03/02/2026 is acknowledged.
Order of Claims
The claim order is now set, but it is noted for the applicants that per MPEP 608.01(m):
Many of the difficulties encountered in the prosecution of patent applications after final rejection may be alleviated if each applicant includes, at the time of filing or no later than the first reply, claims varying from the broadest to which he or she believes he or she is entitled to the most detailed that he or she is willing to accept.
Claim 1 is clearly narrower than claim 11.
Claim Objections
Claims 14 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
- claim 14 appears to be missing “are” between “locations” and “located”.
- claim 17 appears to be missing “more of” between “or” and “a”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 11-14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hammond (2009/0221149).
Regarding clam 11, Hammond teaches a chamber lid comprising:
- a dielectric material having a disk shape, integrating a lid portion and gas delivery nozzle into a single structure – see Figs. 1 and 5 and [0023] wherein the depiction includes a nozzle 196 within lid 120,
- in regard to the lid comprising a plurality of gas flow paths that each traverse a region of the chamber lid from one surface to another surface – see wherein the nozzle has an input on the top portion and outlets on the bottom portion (196c/r) to distribute gases to different parts of the chamber. In regard to etch gases, the use of any particular gas is intended use of the apparatus, it has been held that claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). Wherein the prior art teachings include that gas is flowed through the lid and nozzle, the system is capable of supplying an etch gas. In any case, the art teaches the application of etch gases [0006].
Regarding claim 12, as described by Hammond, an antenna is coupled to the lid and it would be understood that the dielectric material allows the plasma to transfer though the lid into the chamber [0023].
Regarding claims 13, 14, 2 and 3, the nozzle is a cylindrical protrusion in the region with at least two outputs on the sidewall of the cylinder as depicted.
Regarding claims 17 and 7, the lid comprises ceramic [0026-29].
Regarding claim 1, the semiconductor system of Hammond further comprises:
- a chamber body with walls, see 122/130,
- a substate support, see 150,
- a plasma source, see 112/170/118, and
- a chamber lid as described above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15, 16, and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hammond (2009/0221149) in view of Rozenson (2015/0371826).
The teachings of Hammond are described above, including a cylindrical portion in the lid to distribute gases, but, while teachings multiple outer group of gas paths (196r) does not explicitly teach multiple inner gas paths (196c).
Rozenson teaches an equivalent (etch) system including a dielectric plate that comprises the lid and a nozzle to supply gases into a chamber, see Fig. 1 and particularly [0034-37]. Rozenson teaches that the nozzle that is integrated into the chamber lid comprises multiple inner and outer gas flow paths, see nozzle 114 with outer paths 118 and inner paths 116, further per Fig. 7, there are multiple such outlets. It would have been obvious at the effective date of the invention to apply the nozzle of Rozenson and/or modify the nozzle of Hammond as per the teachings of Rozenson as an alternative manner of dispersing the gases in the chamber. In combining the teachings, the nozzle of Hammond meets the require-ment of the inner and outer “groups” of gas paths as claimed – wherein the groups are respectively configured to distribute gases to the central region and the edge.
It is further noted that Hammond in any case teaches “at least one port 196c” and therefore is not limiting and in any case/further as per MPEP 2144.04 VI. B. a duplication of parts is obvious without a showing of criticality.
Regarding claims 16, 5 and 6, as per Rozenson the outer gas paths are angled. In regard to the radius of the output location of the gas path, the prior art teaches that the radius is greater than the radius of the input location (as per claims 16 and 5). However, to form the outlets such that the radius is less than the input location would have been a small change in the shape and/or dimension of the part. As per MPEP 2144.04 IV. A. and B. the selection/change of size and/or shape is obvious without a showing of criticality. In this case, to alter the angle of the outlet portion of the outer group of nozzles would have been obvious based on the change of the size (radius) or shape of the outlet and in either case would have still resulted in a spread of the gases as taught by the prior art.
Claims 18 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hammond (2009/0221149) in view of Kim (KR2012/0079962).
The teachings of Hammond are described above, the teachings include the chamber lid, but do not include the plurality of concentric rings as claimed. Kim, however, teaches an analogous apparatus including a gas nozzle incorporated into a chamber, lid, see Fig. 3 particularly. The lid includes multiple injection units which comprise multiple (concentric) rings of injection holes, see 210 and 220 and p7 halfway – p8 halfway. It would have been obvious at the effective date of the invention to apply the concentric rings of injection holes as taught by Kim in the apparatus of Hammond as a method of further distributing gas from the lid.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hammond (2009/0221149).
The teachings of Hammond are described above, Hammond does not exemplify wherein the number of outlets is greater than the number of inlets – but such a modi-fication is a routine rearrangement of parts. As per MPEP 2144.04 IV. C. to rearrange parts is obvious without a showing of criticality. In this case it would be obvious to rearrange the flow paths to include for example multiple outlets from an inlet.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The teachings of Long (10,431,434) include an etch system including a number of coils in holes in a lid, but the teachings do not explicitly include metal helical coils – furthermore, there are no teachings of embedded threaded plastic inserts within threaded holes. While “one of ordinary skill can use his or her ordinary skill, creativity, and common sense to make the necessary adjustments and further modifications to result in a properly functioning device”. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 418 (2007), there is no reason to arrange the claimed coils in the system of Hammond in the claimed manner based on the teachings of Long or any other known teaching.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH A MILLER, JR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712