DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hu (U.S. PGPub 2022/0012402).
Regarding claim 1, Hu teaches a semiconductor device (Fig. 1) comprising a through silicon via (TSV) extending through a substrate of the semiconductor device (122, [0010]), an active device in or on the substrate (106A/108A, [0012]), and a dummy region of the substrate separating the TSV and the active device, the dummy region including a plurality of dummy fill structures, wherein the dummy fill structures have a lateral dimension measured in a first direction from the TSV to the active device, wherein the lateral dimension of a first dummy fill structure is different from the lateral dimension of a second dummy fill structure in the dummy region (Fig. 1, 106D/108D, [0012], [0016]; Fig. 4, [0018], [0027], L4, lateral dimension B).
Regarding claim 6, Hu teaches wherein at least some of the dummy fill structures include a metallic material (Fig. 1, 108A; Fig. 5, 208, [0029]-[0031]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (U.S. PGPub 2022/0012402) in view of Yu (U.S. PGPub 2013/0001793).
Regarding claim 7, Hu does not explicitly teach stress-relief structures in the substrate surrounding the through silicon via, wherein the stress-relief structures have second lateral dimensions in the first direction that are greater than the lateral dimensions of the dummy fill structures.
Hu teaches wherein the lateral dimensions of the dummy fill structures are 50nm-500 um ([0027]).
Yu teaches stress-relief structures in a substrate surrounding a through silicon via (Fig. 4a, 450, [0040]), wherein the stress-relief structures have a of about 100 nm to 5 um ([0034]). In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Yu with Hu such that the device comprises stress-relief structures in the substrate surrounding the through silicon via, wherein the stress-relief structures have second lateral dimensions in the first direction that are greater than the lateral dimensions of the dummy fill structures for the purpose of alleviating stress between the TSV and substrate (Yu, [0003]-[0004]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-20 are allowed.
Claims 2-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding independent claims 8, 15, and dependent claim 2, the prior art, alone or in combination does not teach the dummy fill structures decreasing in the first direction (from the TSV to the active region) from a maximum lateral dimension to a minimum lateral dimension.
Tsai (U.S. PGPub 2012/0295187) teaches wherein dummy patterns are arranged in a gradient between device regions, wherein the sizes of the dummy fill structures in each sub-region of the dummy region are chosen according to the difference in density between adjacent device regions (Fig. 1, [0040], [0047], [0008]), but does not address how the dummy structures should be arranged adjacent to a TSV structure.
Lee (U.S. PGPub 2022/0013502) teaches dummy regions with different densities of dummy pads surrounding an active region (Fig. 2, [0027]).
Gandhi (U.S. PGPub 2016/0225695) teaches a TSV with dummy structures to prevent dishing ([0012], Fig. 1A).
Prior art alone or in combination fails to teach or suggest every limitation of the invention as claimed. Claims 3-5, 9-14, 16-20, depend from claims 2, 8, and 15 and are therefore correspondingly allowable.
Conclusion
/ALIA SABUR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812