Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Option 2 in Group 1, Option 1 in Group 2, Option 1 in Group 3, and Option 1 in Group 4 in the reply filed on 12/05/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1-20 remain pending. Claims 6, 8-10, 15-16, and 19-20 are withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim states in part “…wherein the reinforcement structure is coupled only to a first vertical surface of the first semiconductor die and only to a second vertical surface of the second semiconductor die.” In the view of the Examiner, the clam should state “…wherein the reinforcement structure is coupled only to a first vertical surface of the of the first semiconductor die and Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US20210384096A1 (Lee).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses a semiconductor package (Figs. 1 and 2A, el. 300, Paras. [0028] and [0040]), comprising: a package substrate (Fig. 1, el. 100, Para. [0029]); a first semiconductor die (Fig. 2A, el. 130, Para. [0041]) electrically and mechanically coupled to the package substrate (Para. [0029]); a second semiconductor die (Fig. 2A, el. 140, Para. [0041]) electrically and mechanically coupled to the package substrate (Para. [0029]); and a reinforcement structure (Fig. 2A, el. 160, Para. [0053]) mechanically coupled to at least a first vertical surface of the first semiconductor die and a second vertical surface vertical surface of the second semiconductor die (see Fig. 2A, where 160 touches both the first and second die); wherein the reinforcement structure surrounds less than an entirety of the first semiconductor die and the second semiconductor die (see Fig. 2A where 160 is only on one side of each of the first and second semiconductor dies).
Regarding Claim 2, Lee discloses the semiconductor package of claim 1, further comprising an underfill material (Fig. 2A, els. 113 and 119, Para. [0052]) formed between a top surface of the package substrate and bottom surfaces of the first semiconductor de and the second semiconductor die (Fig. 2A, Para. [0052]).
Regarding Claim 4, Lee discloses the semiconductor package of Claim 1, wherein the reinforcement structure comprises a polymer material (Para. [0058]) located in a space between the first semiconductor die and the second semiconductor die (Fig. 2A).
Regarding Claim 5, Lee discloses the semiconductor package of Claim 4, wherein a first length of the reinforcement structure is less than or equal to a second length of the first semiconductor die and the second semiconductor die (Figs. 1 and 2A, Para. [0035]).
Regarding Claim 7, Lee discloses the semiconductor package of claim 4, wherein a first thickness of the reinforcement structure is less than or equal to a second thickness of the first semiconductor die and the second semiconductor die (Para. [0054]).
Claims 11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Lee.
Regarding Claim 11, Lee discloses a semiconductor package (Figs. 1 and 2A, el. 300, Paras. [0028] and [0040]), comprising: a package substrate (Fig. 1, el. 100, Para. [0029]); a first semiconductor die (Fig. 2A, el. 130, Para. [0041]) electrically and mechanically couples to the package substrate (Para. [0029]); a second semiconductor die (Fig. 2A, el. 140, Para. [0041]) electrically and mechanically coupled to the package substrate (Para. [0029]); and a reinforcement structure (Fig. 2A, el. 160, Para. [0053]) formed in a vertical space between the first semiconductor die and the second semiconductor die (Figs. 1 and 2A, Para. [0053]), wherein the reinforcement structure comprises a first width that is less than or equal to a second width of the first semiconductor die and the second semiconductor die (Figs. 1 and 2A, Para. [0053]).
Regarding Claim 13, Lee discloses the semiconductor package of claim 11, wherein the reinforcement structure further comprises a polymer matrix composite material (Para. [0058])
Regarding Claim 14, Lee discloses the semiconductor package of claim 11, wherein the reinforcement structure is coupled only to a first vertical surface of the first semiconductor die and only to a second vertical surface of the second semiconductor die (Figs. 1 and 2A, Para. [0035] – Para. [0029] states that the semiconductor package 300 includes at least two semiconductor chips. In the embodiment where chip 150 is eliminated, there will be only two semiconductor chips, 130 and 140, and only one gap between them, which the reinforcement structure can fill, thus meeting this limitation.)
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Lee.
Regarding Claim 17, Lee discloses a method of forming a semiconductor package (see Figs. 1 and 2A – where a method can be inferred from the resulting structure), comprising: attaching a first semiconductor die (Fig. 2A, el. 130, Para. [0041]) to a package substrate (Fig. 1, el. 100, Para. [0029]) such that the first semiconductor die is electrically and mechanically coupled to the package substrate (Para. [0029]); attaching a second semiconductor die (Fig. 2A, el. 140, Para. [0041]) to the package substrate such that the second semiconductor die is electrically and mechanically coupled to the package substrate (Para. [0029]); and forming a reinforcement structure (Fig. 2A, el. 160, Para. [0053]) mechanically coupled to at least a first vertical surface of the first semiconductor die and a second vertical surface of the second semiconductor die (see Fig. 2A, where 160 touches both the first and second die); such that the reinforcement structure surrounds less than an entirety of the first semiconductor die and the second semiconductor die (see Fig. 2A where 160 is only on one side of each of the first and second semiconductor dies).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee.
Regarding Claim 3, Lee discloses the semiconductor package of claim 2, wherein the reinforcement structure comprises a polymer matrix composed material (Para. [0058]).
Lee does not disclose that the polymer matrix material has a greater modulus than the underfill material.
Lee does disclose that the polymer material can include a filler material, such as aluminum oxide (Para. [0058]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to include enough filler material, such as aluminum oxide, in the polymer material such that the resulting modulus of the polymer and filler is higher than the modulus of the underfill. First, it is known that adding filler material, such as aluminum oxide, increases the modulus of elasticity of a polymer, and adding more filler further increases the modulus. Second, the amount of filler, and the resulting modulus, is a product of optimization. A person of ordinary skill in the art, by simply varying the amount of filler, would have a reasonable expectation of success in finding an optimal range that has the desired amount of stiffness relative to the underfill material (MPEP2144.05 II).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee.
Regarding Claim 12, Lee discloses the semiconductor package of Claim 11, further comprising an underfill material (Fig. 2A, els. 113 and 119, Para. [0052]) formed between a top surface of the package substrate and bottom surfaces of the first semiconductor de and the second semiconductor die (Fig. 2A, Para. [0052]).
Lee does not disclose that the reinforcement structure comprises a greater modulus than the underfill material.
Lee does disclose that the polymer material of the reinforcement structure can include a filler material, such as aluminum oxide (Para. [0058]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to include enough filler material, such as aluminum oxide, in the polymer material of the reinforcement structure such that the resulting modulus of the polymer and filler is higher than the modulus of the underfill. First, it is known that adding filler material, such as aluminum oxide, increases the modulus of elasticity of a polymer, and adding more filler further increases the modulus. Second, the amount of filler, and the resulting modulus, is a product of optimization. A person of ordinary skill in the art, by simply varying the amount of filler, would have a reasonable expectation of success in finding an optimal range that has the desired amount of stiffness relative to the underfill material (MPEP2144.05 II).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee.
Regarding Claim 18, Lee discloses the method of Claim 17, further comprising forming an underfill material (Fig. 2A, els. 113 and 119, Para. [0052]) between a top surface of the package substrate and bottom surfaces of the first semiconductor de and the second semiconductor die (Fig. 2A, Para. [0052]).
Lee does not disclose that the underfill material comprises a modulus that is less than that of the reinforcement structure.
Lee does disclose that the polymer material of the reinforcement structure can include a filler material, such as aluminum oxide (Para. [0058]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to include enough filler material, such as aluminum oxide, in the polymer material of the reinforcement structure such that the resulting modulus of the polymer and filler is higher than the modulus of the underfill. First, it is known that adding filler material, such as aluminum oxide, increases the modulus of elasticity of a polymer, and adding more filler further increases the modulus. Second, the amount of filler, and the resulting modulus, is a product of optimization. A person of ordinary skill in the art, by simply varying the amount of filler, would have a reasonable expectation of success in finding an optimal range that has the desired amount of stiffness relative to the underfill material (MPEP2144.05 II).
Conclusion
/ROHIT PARTHASARATHY/Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899