DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 8-9, 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
a. As to claim 1 the recitation of level is unclear. Applicant has not set forth set forth antecedent basis for level. The office will interpret the claim to mean the device comprising a plurality of laminations levels. And the pad electrode is at a different lamination level then the alignment electrodes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-9, and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choung 20220157856 in view of Kim 20210313498.
a. As to claim 1, Choung teaches display device comprising: a substrate including a display area (Figure 5 DPA) and a pad area (PDA); a circuit element layer on the substrate (DTR); wherein the circuit element layer comprises: a thin film transistor in the display area (paragraph 113); and a pad electrode in the pad area (141-143), and a pad upper electrode including a first opening exposing the pad electrode in the pad area (item 145 with opening exposing 143. Choung teaches the display maybe inorganic (paragraph 55).
Choung does not explicitly teach an alignment electrode on the circuit element wherein the alignment electrode layer comprises: a first alignment electrode and a second alignment electrode spaced from each other in the display area and wherein a light emitting element is located in a space between the first alignment electrode and the second alignment electrode that are spaced from each other.
Kim teaches a substrate including a display area (figure 23 DPA) a pad area (PDA); a circuit element layer on the substrate (ACT1); and an alignment electrode layer (21_3 and 22_3 (paragraph 117 and 136) on the circuit element layer (21_3 and 22_3 are on ACT1), wherein the circuit element layer comprises: tft (paragraph 90) in the display area (ACT1); wherein the alignment electrode layer comprises: a first alignment electrode and a second alignment electrode spaced from each other in the display area (items 21_3 and 22_3); and wherein a light emitting element is located in a space between the first alignment electrode and the second alignment electrode that are spaced from each other (item 30 between the 21_3 and 22_3).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art at the time of filing in the art to include the right and left patterns 21 and 22 to ensure alignment of the device during fabrication improving display quality.
As to the recitation of and wherein the pad electrode is located at a layer different from the first and second alignment electrodes. Choung teaches the bad at the same level as the circuit layer figure 5 item WPD is the same level as 140s and SEL and DEL.
Kim teaches two embodiments figure 21 where the alignment electrodes items 21 and 22 are above the lamination of WPD of the pad. Kim also teaches figure 23 the pad electrode PAD_C is at a different lamination level due to WPD than the alignment electrodes.
Further Kim would suggest putting the alignment electrodes above the circuit layer S1 and D1 corresponding to SEL and DEL of Choung. Choung teaches that the pad is at the same level as SEL and DEL, corresponding to S1 and D1.
Thus, Choung in view of Kim teach and suggest the pad electrode is located at a layer different from the first and second alignment electrodes.
b. As to claim 2, Choung and Kim would suggest further comprising a passivation layer between the circuit element layer and the alignment electrode layer, wherein the passivation layer includes a second opening exposing the pad electrode (item 164 or item 165 of Choung exposes the pad at PDOP).
c. As to claim 3 Choung teaches wherein the passivation layer comprises an overlapping part on an upper surface of the pad electrode OP2 and forming the second opening (see attached diagram) , and wherein the pad upper electrode covers a portion of the upper surface of the pad electrode exposed by the second opening beyond the overlapping part (due to the sloped nature145 extends beyond op2 slight covering a portion of the pad exposed due to opening 2).
d. As to claim 4, Choung teaches due to the sloped nature of item 145 and OP2 wherein a width of the first opening is smaller than a width of the second opening.
e. As to claim 8, Choung teaches wherein the passivation layer comprises an overlapping part on an upper surface of the pad electrode (OP2) and forming the second opening (see attached figure), and wherein the pad upper electrode covers a portion of an upper surface of the overlapping part (due to the sloped nature 145 extends past OP2 and covers a portion of the pad left exposed from the OP2).
f. As to claim 9, Choung teaches due to the sloped nature of item 145 and OP2 wherein a width of the first opening is smaller than a width of the second opening.
g. As to claims 11-12, Kim teaches further comprising a first insulating layer on the alignment electrode layer, wherein the first insulating layer comprises a third opening exposing the pad electrode. PAS1 exposes the pad to allow PAD_C to be formed or to allow external connection. Kim also teaches further comprising an external bank on the first insulating layer and defining an emission area in which the light emitting element is located (BNL2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to provide further comprising a first insulating layer on the alignment electrode layer, wherein the first insulating layer comprises a third opening exposing the pad electrode to provide the sufficient passivation to prevent shorting after alignment and fabrication and provide comprising an external bank on the first insulating layer and defining an emission area in which the light emitting element is located, to provide directional output for the light emitter
h. As to claim 13, Choung teaches wherein the thin film transistor comprises: a semiconductor layer (item 150); a gate electrode overlapping the semiconductor layer (GEL); and source and drain electrodes electrically connected to the semiconductor layer (CNT2s), and wherein the pad electrode comprises a same material as the source and drain electrodes( CNT2 is the same materials see figure 11 of Choung which deposits the CNT simultaneous with the pad).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant assertion that Kim does not teach the pad electrode is located at a layer different from the first and second alignment electrodes. Is not found convincing. The pad electrode in Kim is item PAD_C due to WPD PAD_C is at a different lamination level. Further as set forth in the rejection. Choung in view of Kim would also teach the pad electrode is located at a layer different from the first and second alignment electrodes since the pad of Choung is at the same level as S1 and D1 in Kim and Kim put the alignment electrodes above this level.
Thus, the Choung in view of Kim teaches the limitation of the pad electrode is located at a layer different from the first and second alignment electrodes.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW L. REAMES/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2896
/MATTHEW L REAMES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896