DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-8 drawn to device claims is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the subject matter of all claims 1-16 is sufficiently related that a thorough search for the subject matter of any one group of the claims would encompass a search for the subject matter of the remaining claims. This is not found persuasive because claims 9-16 would require further search and for the reason of the last Office Action. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 8/30/23; 11/8/23 have been considered.
Oath/Declaration
Oath/Declaration filed on 8/30/23 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kao et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0381512) in view of LIN (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0021771).
Referring to figures 1-20, Kao et al. teaches semiconductor device, comprising:
a substrate (108);
a source region and a drain region (128/130) disposed in the substrate; a shallow trench isolation (STI) region (140) disposed in the substrate and surrounding the source region and the drain region; a through substrate via (TSV) (104) through the substrate, wherein the through substrate via are adjacent to the shallow trench isolation region, and the through substrate via have a first stress type (see paragraph# 24); and
a compound semiconductor structure (102) isolating the shallow trench isolation region from the through substrate via, wherein the compound semiconductor structure has a second stress type different from the first stress type (see paragraphs# 21-22, it is noted that different material has different stress type).
However, the reference does not clearly teach the plurality of through substrate vias.
LIN teaches a semiconductor device having the plurality of through substrate vias (400, see paragraph# 27, meeting claims 1, 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the requisite art at the time of the invention was filed would from the plurality of through substrate vias because it is known in the semiconductor art to provide a more reliable device
Regarding to claim 2, the shallow trench isolation region (140) defines a device area (see figures 1+).
Regarding to claim 3, the plurality of through substrate vias (400) are located in a peripheral area outside the device area (see figure 1 of LIN).
Regarding to claim 4, the compound semiconductor structure (102) is disposed in the substrate (108) and surrounds the through substrate via (104, see figure 1).
Regarding to 5, the shallow trench isolation region (140), the source region, the drain region (128/130), and the compound semiconductor structure (102) extend into the substrate from a frontside surface of the substrate (108, see figure 1).
Regarding to claim 6, a gate structure (124/126) disposed on the frontside surface of the substrate (108) and laterally between the source region and the drain region (128/130, see figure 1a)
Claims 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kao et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0381512) in view of LIN (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0021771), as applied to claims 1-6 above and further in view of Lin et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0061147).
Referring to figures 1-20, Kao et al. teaches semiconductor device, comprising:
a substrate (108);
a source region and a drain region (128/130) disposed in the substrate; a shallow trench isolation (STI) region (140) disposed in the substrate and surrounding the source region and the drain region; a through substrate via (TSV) (104) through the substrate, wherein the through substrate via are adjacent to the shallow trench isolation region, and the through substrate via have a first stress type (see paragraph# 24); and
a compound semiconductor structure (102) isolating the shallow trench isolation region from the through substrate via, wherein the compound semiconductor structure has a second stress type different from the first stress type (see paragraphs# 21-22, it is noted that different material has different stress type).
However, the reference does not clearly teach an interlayer dielectric (ILD) layer located on the frontside surface of the substrate and surrounding the gate structure; a first etch stop layer (ESL) disposed on the interlayer dielectric layer; a first inter-metal dielectric (IMD) layer disposed on the first etch stop layer; a second etch stop layer disposed on the first inter-metal dielectric layer; and a second inter-metal dielectric layer disposed on the second etch stop layer (in claim 7), a source contact plug and a drain contact plug disposed through the interlayer dielectric layer, and respectively connected to the source region and the drain region; a source contact via, a drain contact via, and a gate contact via disposed through the first inter-metal dielectric layer and the first etch stop layer, and respectively connected to the source contact plug, the drain contact plug, and the gate structure; a source metal via, a drain metal via, and a gate metal via disposed through the second inter-metal dielectric layer and the second etch stop layer, and respectively connected to the source contact via, the drain contact via, and the gate contact via; and a source metal layer, a drain metal layer, and a gate metal layer located in the second inter-metal dielectric layer, and respectively coupled to the source metal via, the drain metal via, and the gate metal via (in claim 8).
Lin et al. teaches an interlayer dielectric (ILD) layer (22) located on the frontside surface of the substrate and surrounding the gate structure (see figure 11); a first etch stop layer (ESL) (38) disposed on the interlayer dielectric layer; a first inter-metal dielectric (IMD) layer (40) disposed on the first etch stop layer; a second etch stop layer (44) disposed on the first inter-metal dielectric layer; and a second inter-metal dielectric layer (46) disposed on the second etch stop layer (see figure 11, meeting claim 7), a source contact plug and a drain contact plug (24) disposed through the interlayer dielectric layer (22), and respectively connected to the source region and the drain region; a source contact via, a drain contact via, and a gate contact via (42a/42b) disposed through the first inter-metal dielectric layer and the first etch stop layer, and respectively connected to the source contact plug, the drain contact plug, and the gate structure (see figure 11); a source metal via, a drain metal via, and a gate metal via (48) disposed through the second inter-metal dielectric layer and the second etch stop layer, and respectively connected to the source contact via, the drain contact via, and the gate contact via; and a source metal layer, a drain metal layer, and a gate metal layer (50) located in the second inter-metal dielectric layer, and respectively coupled to the source metal via, the drain metal via, and the gate metal via (see figure 11, meeting claim 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the requisite art at the time of the invention was filed would from the plurality of ILD layers, etch stop layers and contact plug, contact via, metal via, metal layer in Kao et al. as taught by Lin et al. because it is known in the semiconductor art to provide higher performance and reliable device.
Conclusion
/THANH T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893