DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 13, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bloom et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2021/0082661 in view of Koguchi et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2003/0006373.
Regarding claim 1, Bloom discloses an apparatus, comprising: an electron-beam column configured to scan an electron beam across a sample (“scan control of the incident beam position on the sample (e.g., in STEM measurements)” [0087]); a segmented electron detector (“a single detector divided into 16 exposure regions could be used to acquire images under sixteen different exposure conditions, such that the detector readout is processed to yield a single HDR image” [0030]) configured to receive a plurality of diffracted beams (“diffraction data in transmission electron microscopy” [0028]) produced by diffraction of the electron beam in the sample (“a scanning transmission electron microscope (STEM) scan controller combined with a two-dimensional electrostatic deflector to deflect electrons transmitted or scattered by the sample to different detectors or sub-regions of a detector” [0025]), the segmented electron detector having a plurality of segments arranged in a two-dimensional array (as illustrated in figure 1), with each of the segments being configured to generate a respective output signal representing a respective integrated flux of electrons received thereat (“a single detector divided into 16 exposure regions could be used to acquire images under sixteen different exposure conditions, such that the detector readout is processed to yield a single HDR image” [0030]); and an electronic controller (“a computer system that is programmed or otherwise configured to implement the methods and systems provided herein” [0027]) configured to receive a set of frames from the segmented electron detector (“each data set captured by the two or more sub-regions comprises a single frame of image or diffraction data” [0014]), each of the frames representing a respective set of output signals generated by the segments in response to an electron diffraction pattern projected onto the segmented electron detector from a respective position of the electron beam during a scan of the sample (“the fast switching and the adjustable dwell times for deflecting electrons or photons to each of the detector sub-regions within, e.g., a CMOS camera, provides for acquisition of a series of image data sets within each cycle of the CMOS image sensor read-out that may subsequently be processed to create one or more image frames having much higher dynamic range than is possible with single full-frame data capture” [0030]), wherein a total number of segments (16) in the segmented electron detector is smaller than 1000 (“a single detector divided into 16 exposure regions could be used to acquire images under sixteen different exposure conditions, such that the detector readout is processed to yield a single HDR image” [0030]). Bloom discloses the claimed invention except that there is no explicit disclosure of an electronic controller further configured to communicate with a computing device programmed to generate a strain map of the sample based on the set of frames.
Koguchi discloses an apparatus, comprising: an electron-beam column configured to scan an electron beam across a sample (“irradiating a predetermined area in the specimen with an electron beam while scanning the electron beam” [Abstract]); a segmented electron detector (“a CCD camera for an electron microscope of about 1000X1000 pixels” [0051]) configured to receive a plurality of diffracted beams produced by diffraction of the electron beam in the sample (“An enlarged image and a diffraction image of the specimen formed by the electron beams passed through the specimen 124 are detected by a detector 51” [0048]), the segmented electron detector having a plurality of segments arranged in a two-dimensional array (“a CCD camera for an electron microscope of about 1000X1000 pixels” [0051]), with each of the segments being configured to generate a respective output signal representing a respective integrated flux of electrons received thereat (“The resolution of an acquired image can be changed by selecting the scan width of the electron beam or the number of pixels of a camera, binding of pixels, or the like, and any of them is selected from a resolution selection pull-down menu 303” [0074]); and an electronic controller (“the result of image capture can be easily displayed on a TV monitor or a personal computer and analyzed” [0053]) configured to receive a set of frames from the segmented electron detector (“a diffraction image is obtained by the pixel detector 104” [0055]), each of the frames representing a respective set of output signals generated by the segments in response to an electron diffraction pattern projected onto the segmented electron detector from a respective position of the electron beam during a scan of the sample (“first and second diffraction images” [0066]) and further configured to communicate with a computing device programmed to generate a strain map of the sample based on the set of frames (“two-dimensionally displaying a stress/strain distribution in a specimen at high resolution on the basis of a measurement result obtained by using the specimen observation method and apparatus” [0011]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bloom with the strain map of Koguchi in order to perform additional analyses on the data of Bloom so as to obtain the most structural information possible about a sample for analysis.
Regarding claim 2, Bloom discloses that the total number is smaller than 200 (“a single detector divided into 16 exposure regions could be used to acquire images under sixteen different exposure conditions, such that the detector readout is processed to yield a single HDR image” [0030]).
Regarding claim 3, Bloom discloses that the total number is in a range from 8 to 100 (“a single detector divided into 16 exposure regions could be used to acquire images under sixteen different exposure conditions, such that the detector readout is processed to yield a single HDR image” [0030]).
Regarding claim 4, Bloom discloses that the segmented electron detector has a layout in which a substantially full flux of an individual one of the diffracted beams is captured by a respective contiguous group of segments having fewer than ten of the segments (“a fast two-dimensional deflector is used to sequentially deflect electrons or photons transmitted or scattered by a sample (or object) to each of a series of sub-regions of a two-dimensional detector with precise control of timing and spatial positioning. In some instances, the sub-regions may comprise sub-divisions of a single two dimensional detector, e.g., quadrants of a single CCD or CMOS image sensor. In some instances, the sub-regions may comprise individual detectors, e.g., individual CCD or CMOS image sensors, within a two-dimensional array of detectors” [0028]).
Regarding claim 5, Bloom discloses that the segmented electron detector has a layout in which a substantially full flux of an individual one of the diffracted beams is captured by a respective contiguous group of segments having more than one but fewer than eight of the segments (“a fast two-dimensional deflector is used to sequentially deflect electrons or photons transmitted or scattered by a sample (or object) to each of a series of sub-regions of a two-dimensional detector with precise control of timing and spatial positioning. In some instances, the sub-regions may comprise sub-divisions of a single two dimensional detector, e.g., quadrants of a single CCD or CMOS image sensor. In some instances, the sub-regions may comprise individual detectors, e.g., individual CCD or CMOS image sensors, within a two-dimensional array of detectors” [0028]).
Regarding claim 13, Bloom discloses a strain mapping method, comprising: acquiring a set of frames (“each data set captured by the two or more sub-regions comprises a single frame of image or diffraction data” [0014]) by operating an electron-beam column to scan an electron beam across a sample (“scan control of the incident beam position on the sample (e.g., in STEM measurements)” [0087]) and further operating a segmented electron detector (“a single detector divided into 16 exposure regions could be used to acquire images under sixteen different exposure conditions, such that the detector readout is processed to yield a single HDR image” [0030]) configured to receive a plurality of diffracted beams (“diffraction data in transmission electron microscopy” [0028]) produced by diffraction of the electron beam in the sample (“a scanning transmission electron microscope (STEM) scan controller combined with a two-dimensional electrostatic deflector to deflect electrons transmitted or scattered by the sample to different detectors or sub-regions of a detector” [0025]), the segmented electron detector having a plurality of segments arranged in a two-dimensional array (as illustrated in figure 1), each of the segments being configured to generate a respective output signal representing a respective integrated flux of electrons received thereby (“a single detector divided into 16 exposure regions could be used to acquire images under sixteen different exposure conditions, such that the detector readout is processed to yield a single HDR image” [0030]), each of the frames representing a respective set of output signals generated by the segments in response to an electron diffraction pattern projected onto the segmented electron detector from a respective position of the electron beam during a scan of the sample (“the fast switching and the adjustable dwell times for deflecting electrons or photons to each of the detector sub-regions within, e.g., a CMOS camera, provides for acquisition of a series of image data sets within each cycle of the CMOS image sensor read-out that may subsequently be processed to create one or more image frames having much higher dynamic range than is possible with single full-frame data capture” [0030]); wherein a total number of segments in the segmented electron detector is smaller than 1000 (“a single detector divided into 16 exposure regions could be used to acquire images under sixteen different exposure conditions, such that the detector readout is processed to yield a single HDR image” [0030]). Bloom discloses the claimed invention except that there is no explicit disclosure of generating, with a processor, a strain map of the sample based on the set of frames.
Koguchi discloses an apparatus, comprising: an electron-beam column configured to scan an electron beam across a sample (“irradiating a predetermined area in the specimen with an electron beam while scanning the electron beam” [Abstract]); a segmented electron detector (“a CCD camera for an electron microscope of about 1000X1000 pixels” [0051]) configured to receive a plurality of diffracted beams produced by diffraction of the electron beam in the sample (“An enlarged image and a diffraction image of the specimen formed by the electron beams passed through the specimen 124 are detected by a detector 51” [0048]), the segmented electron detector having a plurality of segments arranged in a two-dimensional array (“a CCD camera for an electron microscope of about 1000X1000 pixels” [0051]), with each of the segments being configured to generate a respective output signal representing a respective integrated flux of electrons received thereat (“The resolution of an acquired image can be changed by selecting the scan width of the electron beam or the number of pixels of a camera, binding of pixels, or the like, and any of them is selected from a resolution selection pull-down menu 303” [0074]); and an electronic controller (“the result of image capture can be easily displayed on a TV monitor or a personal computer and analyzed” [0053]) configured to receive a set of frames from the segmented electron detector (“a diffraction image is obtained by the pixel detector 104” [0055]), each of the frames representing a respective set of output signals generated by the segments in response to an electron diffraction pattern projected onto the segmented electron detector from a respective position of the electron beam during a scan of the sample (“first and second diffraction images” [0066]) and further configured to communicate with a computing device programmed to generate a strain map of the sample based on the set of frames (“two-dimensionally displaying a stress/strain distribution in a specimen at high resolution on the basis of a measurement result obtained by using the specimen observation method and apparatus” [0011]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bloom with the strain map of Koguchi in order to perform additional analyses on the data of Bloom so as to obtain the most structural information possible about a sample for analysis.
Reagarding claim 20, Bloom discloses that the total number is in a range from 8 to 100 (“a single detector divided into 16 exposure regions could be used to acquire images under sixteen different exposure conditions, such that the detector readout is processed to yield a single HDR image” [0030]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bloom et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2021/0082661 in view of Koguchi et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2003/0006373 in further view of Tiemeijer et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2024/0194466.
Regarding claim 7, Bloom discloses the claimed invention except that while Bloom illustrates in figure 1 that the sub-regions are rectangular or square in shape and are arranged in the two-dimensional array to form a plurality of parallel rows, however, there is no explicit disclosure that the sub-regions are rectangular or square in shape.
Tiemeijer discloses a transmission electron microscope (“Electrons 128 scattered by the sample 104 may be recorded by a STEM detector 126” [0018]) including a detector having segments that are rectangular or square in shape (“The pixels in the detector may be square or may be elongated” [0018]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bloom with the detector segment shape(s) of Tiemeijer in order to optimize the number of segments and/or effective detector surface area which may be utilized in imaging electron beams.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bloom et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2021/0082661 in view of Koguchi et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2003/0006373 in further view of Lazic et al. U.S. Patent No. 11,211,223.
Regarding claim 8, Bloom discloses the claimed invention except that while Bloom illustrates in figure 1 that the sub-regions are rectangular or square in shape and are arranged in the two-dimensional array to form a plurality of parallel rows, however, there is no explicit disclosure that the sub-regions are rectangular or square in shape.
Lazic discloses a transmission electron microscope (“The current invention presents methods and systems allowing the above described simultaneous acquisition of EELS and TEM/STEM based images” [col. 2; lines 9-13]) including a detector having segments such that the segmented electron detector includes a first segment having a first geometric shape and a second segment having a different second geometric shape (“The detection segments and/or the openings may have different shapes within one detector” [col. 10; lines 15-17]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bloom with the detector segment shape(s) of Lazic in order to optimize the number of segments and/or effective detector surface area which may be utilized in imaging electron beams.
Claim(s) 9, 10, 11, 15, 16, 17, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bloom et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2021/0082661 in view of Koguchi et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2003/0006373 in further view of Stevens et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2017/0025247.
Regarding claim 9, Bloom discloses the claimed invention except that while Bloom discloses that “the sensitivity of the two or more individual detectors is adjusted by spatial filtering or masking” [0009], there is no explicit disclosure that a diffraction mask is positioned between the sample and the segmented electron detector to stop a subset of the diffracted beams from reaching the segmented electron detector.
Stevens discloses a transmission electron microscope “to produce a diffraction image of the sample based on a plurality of detected modulated image beams detected at the diffraction plane” [0015], wherein a diffraction mask positioned between the sample and a segmented (“the sensor is a sensor array” [0005]) electron detector (“The beam is modulated/masked either before or after transmission through a sample to induce a spatially and/or temporally encoded signal by modifying any of the beam/image components including the phase/coherence, intensity, or position of the beam at the sensor” [Abstract]) to stop a subset of the diffracted beams from reaching the segmented electron detector (“the mask comprises a plurality of transmissive and non-transmissive elements having a predetermined width and length” [0005]). Stevens discloses that the diffraction mask has a plurality of openings configured to cause any one segment of the segmented electron detector to receive electrons of no more than one of the diffracted beams (“the mask comprises a plurality of transmissive and non-transmissive elements having a predetermined width and length” [0005]), and the diffraction mask is changeable and is selectable from a plurality of differently shaped diffraction masks (“Mask regions within the area 1220 are then grouped into clusters having various shapes and sizes. For example, transmissive mask elements can range in size from a minimum size to a maximum size” [0110]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bloom and Koguchi with the mask of Stevens in order to improve image resolution by concentrating image collection on selected portions of a detector, relying on a mask to assist any deflection of a scattered electron beam to direct the beam to a desired portion of a detector.
Regarding claim 10, Bloom discloses the claimed invention except that while Bloom discloses that “the sensitivity of the two or more individual detectors is adjusted by spatial filtering or masking” [0009], there is no explicit disclosure that a diffraction mask is positioned between the sample and the segmented electron detector to stop a subset of the diffracted beams from reaching the segmented electron detector.
Stevens discloses a transmission electron microscope “to produce a diffraction image of the sample based on a plurality of detected modulated image beams detected at the diffraction plane” [0015], wherein a diffraction mask positioned between the sample and a segmented (“the sensor is a sensor array” [0005]) electron detector (“The beam is modulated/masked either before or after transmission through a sample to induce a spatially and/or temporally encoded signal by modifying any of the beam/image components including the phase/coherence, intensity, or position of the beam at the sensor” [Abstract]) to stop a subset of the diffracted beams from reaching the segmented electron detector (“the mask comprises a plurality of transmissive and non-transmissive elements having a predetermined width and length” [0005]). Stevens discloses that the diffraction mask has a plurality of openings configured to cause any one segment of the segmented electron detector to receive electrons of no more than one of the diffracted beams (“the mask comprises a plurality of transmissive and non-transmissive elements having a predetermined width and length” [0005]), and the diffraction mask is changeable and is selectable from a plurality of differently shaped diffraction masks (“Mask regions within the area 1220 are then grouped into clusters having various shapes and sizes. For example, transmissive mask elements can range in size from a minimum size to a maximum size” [0110]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bloom and Koguchi with the mask of Stevens in order to improve image resolution by concentrating image collection on selected portions of a detector, relying on a mask to assist any deflection of a scattered electron beam to direct the beam to a desired portion of a detector.
Regarding claim 11, Bloom discloses the claimed invention except that while Bloom discloses that “the sensitivity of the two or more individual detectors is adjusted by spatial filtering or masking” [0009], there is no explicit disclosure that a diffraction mask is positioned between the sample and the segmented electron detector to stop a subset of the diffracted beams from reaching the segmented electron detector.
Stevens discloses a transmission electron microscope “to produce a diffraction image of the sample based on a plurality of detected modulated image beams detected at the diffraction plane” [0015], wherein a diffraction mask positioned between the sample and a segmented (“the sensor is a sensor array” [0005]) electron detector (“The beam is modulated/masked either before or after transmission through a sample to induce a spatially and/or temporally encoded signal by modifying any of the beam/image components including the phase/coherence, intensity, or position of the beam at the sensor” [Abstract]) to stop a subset of the diffracted beams from reaching the segmented electron detector (“the mask comprises a plurality of transmissive and non-transmissive elements having a predetermined width and length” [0005]). Stevens discloses that the diffraction mask has a plurality of openings configured to cause any one segment of the segmented electron detector to receive electrons of no more than one of the diffracted beams (“the mask comprises a plurality of transmissive and non-transmissive elements having a predetermined width and length” [0005]), and the diffraction mask is changeable and is selectable from a plurality of differently shaped diffraction masks (“Mask regions within the area 1220 are then grouped into clusters having various shapes and sizes. For example, transmissive mask elements can range in size from a minimum size to a maximum size” [0110]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bloom and Koguchi with the mask of Stevens in order to improve image resolution by concentrating image collection on selected portions of a detector, relying on a mask to assist any deflection of a scattered electron beam to direct the beam to a desired portion of a detector.
Regarding claim 15, Bloom discloses the claimed invention except that while Bloom discloses that “the sensitivity of the two or more individual detectors is adjusted by spatial filtering or masking” [0009], there is no explicit disclosure that a diffraction mask is positioned between the sample and the segmented electron detector to stop a subset of the diffracted beams from reaching the segmented electron detector.
Stevens discloses a transmission electron microscope “to produce a diffraction image of the sample based on a plurality of detected modulated image beams detected at the diffraction plane” [0015], wherein a diffraction mask positioned between the sample and a segmented (“the sensor is a sensor array” [0005]) electron detector (“The beam is modulated/masked either before or after transmission through a sample to induce a spatially and/or temporally encoded signal by modifying any of the beam/image components including the phase/coherence, intensity, or position of the beam at the sensor” [Abstract]) to stop a subset of the diffracted beams from reaching the segmented electron detector (“the mask comprises a plurality of transmissive and non-transmissive elements having a predetermined width and length” [0005]). Stevens discloses that the diffraction mask has a plurality of openings configured to cause any one segment of the segmented electron detector to receive electrons of no more than one of the diffracted beams (“the mask comprises a plurality of transmissive and non-transmissive elements having a predetermined width and length” [0005]), and the diffraction mask is changeable and is selectable from a plurality of differently shaped diffraction masks (“Mask regions within the area 1220 are then grouped into clusters having various shapes and sizes. For example, transmissive mask elements can range in size from a minimum size to a maximum size” [0110]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bloom and Koguchi with the mask of Stevens in order to improve image resolution by concentrating image collection on selected portions of a detector, relying on a mask to assist any deflection of a scattered electron beam to direct the beam to a desired portion of a detector.
Regarding claim 16, Bloom discloses the claimed invention except that while Bloom discloses that “the sensitivity of the two or more individual detectors is adjusted by spatial filtering or masking” [0009], there is no explicit disclosure that a diffraction mask is positioned between the sample and the segmented electron detector to stop a subset of the diffracted beams from reaching the segmented electron detector.
Stevens discloses a transmission electron microscope “to produce a diffraction image of the sample based on a plurality of detected modulated image beams detected at the diffraction plane” [0015], wherein a diffraction mask positioned between the sample and a segmented (“the sensor is a sensor array” [0005]) electron detector (“The beam is modulated/masked either before or after transmission through a sample to induce a spatially and/or temporally encoded signal by modifying any of the beam/image components including the phase/coherence, intensity, or position of the beam at the sensor” [Abstract]) to stop a subset of the diffracted beams from reaching the segmented electron detector (“the mask comprises a plurality of transmissive and non-transmissive elements having a predetermined width and length” [0005]). Stevens discloses that the diffraction mask has a plurality of openings configured to cause any one segment of the segmented electron detector to receive electrons of no more than one of the diffracted beams (“the mask comprises a plurality of transmissive and non-transmissive elements having a predetermined width and length” [0005]), and the diffraction mask is changeable and is selectable from a plurality of differently shaped diffraction masks (“Mask regions within the area 1220 are then grouped into clusters having various shapes and sizes. For example, transmissive mask elements can range in size from a minimum size to a maximum size” [0110]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bloom and Koguchi with the mask of Stevens in order to improve image resolution by concentrating image collection on selected portions of a detector, relying on a mask to assist any deflection of a scattered electron beam to direct the beam to a desired portion of a detector.
Regarding claim 17, Bloom discloses the claimed invention except that while Bloom discloses that “the sensitivity of the two or more individual detectors is adjusted by spatial filtering or masking” [0009], there is no explicit disclosure that a diffraction mask is positioned between the sample and the segmented electron detector to stop a subset of the diffracted beams from reaching the segmented electron detector.
Stevens discloses a transmission electron microscope “to produce a diffraction image of the sample based on a plurality of detected modulated image beams detected at the diffraction plane” [0015], wherein a diffraction mask positioned between the sample and a segmented (“the sensor is a sensor array” [0005]) electron detector (“The beam is modulated/masked either before or after transmission through a sample to induce a spatially and/or temporally encoded signal by modifying any of the beam/image components including the phase/coherence, intensity, or position of the beam at the sensor” [Abstract]) to stop a subset of the diffracted beams from reaching the segmented electron detector (“the mask comprises a plurality of transmissive and non-transmissive elements having a predetermined width and length” [0005]). Stevens discloses that the diffraction mask has a plurality of openings configured to cause any one segment of the segmented electron detector to receive electrons of no more than one of the diffracted beams (“the mask comprises a plurality of transmissive and non-transmissive elements having a predetermined width and length” [0005]), and the diffraction mask is changeable and is selectable from a plurality of differently shaped diffraction masks (“Mask regions within the area 1220 are then grouped into clusters having various shapes and sizes. For example, transmissive mask elements can range in size from a minimum size to a maximum size” [0110]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bloom and Koguchi with the mask of Stevens in order to improve image resolution by concentrating image collection on selected portions of a detector, relying on a mask to assist any deflection of a scattered electron beam to direct the beam to a desired portion of a detector.
Regarding claim 18, Bloom discloses the claimed invention except that while Bloom discloses that “the sensitivity of the two or more individual detectors is adjusted by spatial filtering or masking” [0009], there is no explicit disclosure that a diffraction mask is positioned between the sample and the segmented electron detector to stop a subset of the diffracted beams from reaching the segmented electron detector.
Stevens discloses a transmission electron microscope “to produce a diffraction image of the sample based on a plurality of detected modulated image beams detected at the diffraction plane” [0015], wherein a diffraction mask positioned between the sample and a segmented (“the sensor is a sensor array” [0005]) electron detector (“The beam is modulated/masked either before or after transmission through a sample to induce a spatially and/or temporally encoded signal by modifying any of the beam/image components including the phase/coherence, intensity, or position of the beam at the sensor” [Abstract]) to stop a subset of the diffracted beams from reaching the segmented electron detector (“the mask comprises a plurality of transmissive and non-transmissive elements having a predetermined width and length” [0005]). Stevens discloses placing a first diffraction mask between the sample and the segmented electron detector for scanning a first area of the sample comprising a first crystalline material (“a first plurality of pattern areas associated with a first electron beam attenuation and defined by a first electron beam blocking material and a second plurality of pattern areas associated with a second electron beam transmittance interspersed with the first plurality of pattern areas” [0008]); and replacing the first diffraction mask by a different second diffraction mask for scanning a second area of the sample comprising a different second crystalline material (“the second plurality of pattern areas associated with the second electron beam transmittance is defined in a second electron attenuating material” [0008]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bloom and Koguchi with the mask of Stevens in order to improve image resolution by concentrating image collection on selected portions of a detector, relying on a mask to assist any deflection of a scattered electron beam to direct the beam to a desired portion of a detector.
Regarding claim 19, Bloom discloses the claimed invention except that while Bloom discloses that “the sensitivity of the two or more individual detectors is adjusted by spatial filtering or masking” [0009], there is no explicit disclosure that a diffraction mask is positioned between the sample and the segmented electron detector to stop a subset of the diffracted beams from reaching the segmented electron detector.
Stevens discloses a transmission electron microscope “to produce a diffraction image of the sample based on a plurality of detected modulated image beams detected at the diffraction plane” [0015], wherein a diffraction mask positioned between the sample and a segmented (“the sensor is a sensor array” [0005]) electron detector (“The beam is modulated/masked either before or after transmission through a sample to induce a spatially and/or temporally encoded signal by modifying any of the beam/image components including the phase/coherence, intensity, or position of the beam at the sensor” [Abstract]) to stop a subset of the diffracted beams from reaching the segmented electron detector (“the mask comprises a plurality of transmissive and non-transmissive elements having a predetermined width and length” [0005]). Stevens discloses placing a first diffraction mask between the sample and the segmented electron detector for scanning a first area of the sample comprising a first crystalline material (“a first plurality of pattern areas associated with a first electron beam attenuation and defined by a first electron beam blocking material and a second plurality of pattern areas associated with a second electron beam transmittance interspersed with the first plurality of pattern areas” [0008]); and replacing the first diffraction mask by a different second diffraction mask for scanning a second area of the sample comprising a different second crystalline material (“the second plurality of pattern areas associated with the second electron beam transmittance is defined in a second electron attenuating material” [0008]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bloom and Koguchi with the mask of Stevens in order to improve image resolution by concentrating image collection on selected portions of a detector, relying on a mask to assist any deflection of a scattered electron beam to direct the beam to a desired portion of a detector.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 12, and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 6; Bloom et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2021/0082661 discloses an apparatus, comprising: an electron-beam column configured to scan an electron beam across a sample (“scan control of the incident beam position on the sample (e.g., in STEM measurements)” [0087]); a segmented electron detector (“a single detector divided into 16 exposure regions could be used to acquire images under sixteen different exposure conditions, such that the detector readout is processed to yield a single HDR image” [0030]) configured to receive a plurality of diffracted beams (“diffraction data in transmission electron microscopy” [0028]) produced by diffraction of the electron beam in the sample (“a scanning transmission electron microscope (STEM) scan controller combined with a two-dimensional electrostatic deflector to deflect electrons transmitted or scattered by the sample to different detectors or sub-regions of a detector” [0025]), the segmented electron detector having a plurality of segments arranged in a two-dimensional array (as illustrated in figure 1), with each of the segments being configured to generate a respective output signal representing a respective integrated flux of electrons received thereat (“a single detector divided into 16 exposure regions could be used to acquire images under sixteen different exposure conditions, such that the detector readout is processed to yield a single HDR image” [0030]); and an electronic controller (“a computer system that is programmed or otherwise configured to implement the methods and systems provided herein” [0027]) configured to receive a set of frames from the segmented electron detector (“each data set captured by the two or more sub-regions comprises a single frame of image or diffraction data” [0014]), each of the frames representing a respective set of output signals generated by the segments in response to an electron diffraction pattern projected onto the segmented electron detector from a respective position of the electron beam during a scan of the sample (“the fast switching and the adjustable dwell times for deflecting electrons or photons to each of the detector sub-regions within, e.g., a CMOS camera, provides for acquisition of a series of image data sets within each cycle of the CMOS image sensor read-out that may subsequently be processed to create one or more image frames having much higher dynamic range than is possible with single full-frame data capture” [0030]), wherein a total number of segments (16) in the segmented electron detector is smaller than 1000 (“a single detector divided into 16 exposure regions could be used to acquire images under sixteen different exposure conditions, such that the detector readout is processed to yield a single HDR image” [0030]). However, Bloom does not disclose that the segments are hexagonal in shape and are arranged in the two-dimensional array to form a honeycomb pattern.
Koguchi et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2003/0006373 discloses an apparatus, comprising: an electron-beam column configured to scan an electron beam across a sample (“irradiating a predetermined area in the specimen with an electron beam while scanning the electron beam” [Abstract]); a segmented electron detector (“a CCD camera for an electron microscope of about 1000X1000 pixels” [0051]) configured to receive a plurality of diffracted beams produced by diffraction of the electron beam in the sample (“An enlarged image and a diffraction image of the specimen formed by the electron beams passed through the specimen 124 are detected by a detector 51” [0048]), the segmented electron detector having a plurality of segments arranged in a two-dimensional array (“a CCD camera for an electron microscope of about 1000X1000 pixels” [0051]), with each of the segments being configured to generate a respective output signal representing a respective integrated flux of electrons received thereat (“The resolution of an acquired image can be changed by selecting the scan width of the electron beam or the number of pixels of a camera, binding of pixels, or the like, and any of them is selected from a resolution selection pull-down menu 303” [0074]); and an electronic controller (“the result of image capture can be easily displayed on a TV monitor or a personal computer and analyzed” [0053]) configured to receive a set of frames from the segmented electron detector (“a diffraction image is obtained by the pixel detector 104” [0055]), each of the frames representing a respective set of output signals generated by the segments in response to an electron diffraction pattern projected onto the segmented electron detector from a respective position of the electron beam during a scan of the sample (“first and second diffraction images” [0066]) and further configured to communicate with a computing device programmed to generate a strain map of the sample based on the set of frames (“two-dimensionally displaying a stress/strain distribution in a specimen at high resolution on the basis of a measurement result obtained by using the specimen observation method and apparatus” [0011]). However, Koguchi does not disclose that the segments are hexagonal in shape and are arranged in the two-dimensional array to form a honeycomb pattern.
The prior art fails to teach or reasonably suggest, in combination with the other claim limitations, an apparatus, comprising: a segmented electron detector configured to receive a plurality of diffracted beams produced by diffraction of an electron beam in the sample, the segmented electron detector having a plurality of segments arranged in a two-dimensional array, with each of the segments being configured to generate a respective output signal representing a respective integrated flux of electrons received thereat; wherein a total number of segments in the segmented electron detector is smaller than 1000; and wherein the segments are hexagonal in shape and are arranged in the two-dimensional array to form a honeycomb pattern.
Regarding claim 12; Bloom et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2021/0082661 discloses an apparatus, comprising: an electron-beam column configured to scan an electron beam across a sample (“scan control of the incident beam position on the sample (e.g., in STEM measurements)” [0087]); a segmented electron detector (“a single detector divided into 16 exposure regions could be used to acquire images under sixteen different exposure conditions, such that the detector readout is processed to yield a single HDR image” [0030]) configured to receive a plurality of diffracted beams (“diffraction data in transmission electron microscopy” [0028]) produced by diffraction of the electron beam in the sample (“a scanning transmission electron microscope (STEM) scan controller combined with a two-dimensional electrostatic deflector to deflect electrons transmitted or scattered by the sample to different detectors or sub-regions of a detector” [0025]), the segmented electron detector having a plurality of segments arranged in a two-dimensional array (as illustrated in figure 1), with each of the segments being configured to generate a respective output signal representing a respective integrated flux of electrons received thereat (“a single detector divided into 16 exposure regions could be used to acquire images under sixteen different exposure conditions, such that the detector readout is processed to yield a single HDR image” [0030]); and an electronic controller (“a computer system that is programmed or otherwise configured to implement the methods and systems provided herein” [0027]) configured to receive a set of frames from the segmented electron detector (“each data set captured by the two or more sub-regions comprises a single frame of image or diffraction data” [0014]), each of the frames representing a respective set of output signals generated by the segments in response to an electron diffraction pattern projected onto the segmented electron detector from a respective position of the electron beam during a scan of the sample (“the fast switching and the adjustable dwell times for deflecting electrons or photons to each of the detector sub-regions within, e.g., a CMOS camera, provides for acquisition of a series of image data sets within each cycle of the CMOS image sensor read-out that may subsequently be processed to create one or more image frames having much higher dynamic range than is possible with single full-frame data capture” [0030]), wherein a total number of segments (16) in the segmented electron detector is smaller than 1000 (“a single detector divided into 16 exposure regions could be used to acquire images under sixteen different exposure conditions, such that the detector readout is processed to yield a single HDR image” [0030]). However, Bloom does not disclose a computing device configured to: determine center-of-mass (COM) coordinates for a set of diffraction spots of the electron diffraction pattern using a selected frame of the set of frames; estimate a local strain in the sample based on the COM coordinates of the set of diffraction spots; and generate the strain map of the sample based on values of the local strain estimated from different selected frames of the set of frames.
Koguchi et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2003/0006373 discloses an apparatus, comprising: an electron-beam column configured to scan an electron beam across a sample (“irradiating a predetermined area in the specimen with an electron beam while scanning the electron beam” [Abstract]); a segmented electron detector (“a CCD camera for an electron microscope of about 1000X1000 pixels” [0051]) configured to receive a plurality of diffracted beams produced by diffraction of the electron beam in the sample (“An enlarged image and a diffraction image of the specimen formed by the electron beams passed through the specimen 124 are detected by a detector 51” [0048]), the segmented electron detector having a plurality of segments arranged in a two-dimensional array (“a CCD camera for an electron microscope of about 1000X1000 pixels” [0051]), with each of the segments being configured to generate a respective output signal representing a respective integrated flux of electrons received thereat (“The resolution of an acquired image can be changed by selecting the scan width of the electron beam or the number of pixels of a camera, binding of pixels, or the like, and any of them is selected from a resolution selection pull-down menu 303” [0074]); and an electronic controller (“the result of image capture can be easily displayed on a TV monitor or a personal computer and analyzed” [0053]) configured to receive a set of frames from the segmented electron detector (“a diffraction image is obtained by the pixel detector 104” [0055]), each of the frames representing a respective set of output signals generated by the segments in response to an electron diffraction pattern projected onto the segmented electron detector from a respective position of the electron beam during a scan of the sample (“first and second diffraction images” [0066]) and further configured to communicate with a computing device programmed to generate a strain map of the sample based on the set of frames (“two-dimensionally displaying a stress/strain distribution in a specimen at high resolution on the basis of a measurement result obtained by using the specimen observation method and apparatus” [0011]). However, Koguchi does not disclose a computing device configured to: determine center-of-mass (COM) coordinates for a set of diffraction spots of the electron diffraction pattern using a selected frame of the set of frames; estimate a local strain in the sample based on the COM coordinates of the set of diffraction spots; and generate the strain map of the sample based on values of the local strain estimated from different selected frames of the set of frames.
Weiss et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2015/0076346 discloses that “diffraction spot intensities and centers of mass are strongly affected by dynamical electron diffraction. A shift in center of mass of a diffraction spot leads to an error in measuring the spot shift, and the variation in spot intensities can lead to errors in fitting a complete diffraction pattern” [0006]. However, Weiss does not disclose a computing device configured to: determine center-of-mass (COM) coordinates for a set of diffraction spots of the electron diffraction pattern using a selected frame of the set of frames; estimate a local strain in the sample based on the COM coordinates of the set of diffraction spots; and generate the strain map of the sample based on values of the local strain estimated from different selected frames of the set of frames.
The prior art fails to teach or reasonably suggest, in combination with the other claim limitations, an apparatus, comprising: a computing device programmed to generate a strain map of a sample based on a set of frames representing a respective set of output signals generated by segments of segmented electron detector having a plurality of segments arranged in a two-dimensional array in response to an electron diffraction pattern projected onto the segmented electron detector from a respective position of the electron beam during a scan of the sample; wherein the computing device is configured to: determine center-of-mass (COM) coordinates for a set of diffraction spots of an electron diffraction pattern using a selected frame of the set of frames; estimate a local strain in the sample based on the COM coordinates of the set of diffraction spots; and generate the strain map of the sample based on values of the local strain estimated from different selected frames of the set of frames.
Regarding claim 14; claim 14 includes substantially similar limitations to those of claim 12 and would be allowable at least for the reasons indicated with respect to claim 13.
Conclusion
/JASON L MCCORMACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2881