DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9, 11-17, and 19-25 are pending.
Claims 2, 4, 8, 10, and 18 have been canceled.
Claim Objections
3. Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “the one or more EUV absorbing atoms are an electron donating group” in claim 6 should be amended to read “the one or more EUV absorbing atoms are an electron donating atom”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Naito et al. (US 2019/0243238).
With regard to claim 1, Naito et al. teach the tellurium-containing sulfonium salt 1:
(par.0183, Table 1 in par.0193), which is a photo acid generator comprising:
- a cation including a sulfonium salt moiety and one EUV absorbing atom attached to the sulfonium moiety, wherein the EUV absorbing atom is Te, and
-an anion attached to the cation.
With regard to claim 3, the sulfonium salt moiety of the tellurium-containing sulfonium salt 1 includes aromatic rings functionalized with hydrogen atoms.
With regard to claim 5, Te is an EUV absorbing element, as evidenced in par.0024 of Goldfarb et al. (US 2022/0390845).
With regard to claim 6, Te is an electron donor (see definition in claim 7).
The sulfonium group salt moiety is attached to the Te atom, and the sulfonium salt moiety is an electron withdrawing group (see definition in fig.5 and par.0060 of the specification of the instant application).
With regard to claims 7 and 21, Naito et al. teach the photoresist composition H-1 comprising the polymer A-1, the tellurium-containing sulfonium salt 1, and a solvent (Example 1 in Table 1, par.0193).
The tellurium-containing sulfonium salt 1 is represented by the formula:
(par.0183), and it is a photoacid generator comprising a cation made of an electron donor and radiation absorbable material which is Te, and a sulfonium group salt moiety attached to the Te atom.
The sulfonium salt moiety is an electron withdrawing group (see definition in fig.5 and par.0060 of the specification of the instant application).
The polymer A-1 comprises an acid labile group (see polymer A-1 in par.0187, wherein the second repeating unit comprises an acid labile group protecting a carboxylic acid group). This meets the limitations of claim 21.
With regard to claim 9, Te is an EUV absorbing element, as evidenced in par.0024 of Goldfarb et al. (US 2022/0390845).
With regard to claims 11 and 12, Te has 10 electrons in its 4d orbital.
With regard to claim 13, the tellurium-containing sulfonium salt 1 is an onium salt.
With regard to claim 14, the sulfonium moiety of the tellurium-containing sulfonium salt 1 includes aromatic rings functionalized with hydrogen atoms.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 15-17, 19, 20, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naito et al. (US 2019/0243238) in view of Baek et al. (US 2020/0081346).
With regard to claims 15, 16, and 25, Naito et al. teach the photoresist composition H-1 comprising the polymer A-1, the tellurium-containing sulfonium salt 1, and a solvent (Example 1 in Table 1, par.0193).
The tellurium-containing sulfonium salt 1 is represented by the formula:
(par.0183), and it is a photoacid generator comprising a cation comprising at least one atom having an EUV cross section of higher than about 1 to 107 cm2/mol, the atom being Te.
The tellurium-containing sulfonium salt 1 is an acid generator (see Table 1 in par.0193), and an acid generator having the cation above decomposes via charge transfer mechanisms, such as intramolecular charge transfer and intermolecular charge transfer (see fig.8A, 8B, and par.0065-0066 of the specification of the instant application).
Naito et al. further teach a method including the steps of:
-coating a resist composition onto a substrate and drying to form a resist layer;
-exposing the resist layer, and
-developing the exposed resist layer to form a resist pattern (par.0194), but fail to teach the etching step in claim 15.
However, it is well-known in the art that a substrate may be etched using the resist pattern as a mask (see par.0004 of Baek et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to use the resist pattern of Naito et al. as etching mask in a step of etching the substrate.
The polymer A-1 comprises an acid labile group (see polymer A-1 in par.0187, wherein the second repeating unit comprises an acid labile group protecting a carboxylic acid group). This meets the limitations of claim 25.
The process of Naito modified by Baek is equivalent to the method in claims 15, 16, and 25 of the instant application.
With regard to claim 17, the tellurium-containing sulfonium salt 1 comprises an anion attached to the cation.
With regard to claim 19, Te is an electron donor (see definition in claim 7).
With regard to claim 20, the sulfonium salt moiety is attached to the Te atom, and the sulfonium salt moiety is an electron withdrawing group (see definition in fig.5 and par.0060 of the specification of the instant application).
8. Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naito et al. (US 2019/0243238) in view of Baek et al. (US 2020/0081346) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Kane (US 2008/0261846).
With regard to claim 22, Naito modified by Baek teach the method of claim 15 (see paragraph 7 above), but fail to teach that the substrate includes the claimed first material layer.
However, it is well-known in the art that a photoresist may be applied onto a substrate comprising Al/TiN layers (see par.0031 of Kane).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to form Al/TiN layers on the substrate before the application of the resist film of Naito modified by Baek.
9. Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naito et al. (US 2019/0243238) in view of Baek et al. (US 2020/0081346) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Tan et al. (US 2022/0035247).
With regard to claim 23, Naito modified by Baek teach the method of claim 15 (see paragraph 7 above).
Baek et al. teach that a substrate may comprise a silicon oxide film or a silicon nitride film (par.0076), but fail to teach that the substrate includes the claimed first material layer.
However, it is well-known in the art that a photoresist may be applied onto a substrate comprising a silicon oxide film, a silicon nitride film, or a silicon oxynitride film deposited thereon (see par.0016 of Tan et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to form a silicon oxynitride (SiON) film on the substrate before the application of the resist film of Naito modified by Baek.
10. Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naito et al. (US 2019/0243238) in view of Baek et al. (US 2020/0081346) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Miyamoto et al. (JP 2000-208851A, with attached translated abstract).
With regard to claim 24, Naito modified by Baek teach the method of claim 15 (see paragraph 7 above), but fail to teach that the substrate includes the claimed first material layer and second material layer
However, it is well-known in the art that a photoresist may be applied onto a substrate comprising a lower layer and a polymer layer formed by polymerizing an organic metal complex (see the abstract of Miyamoto et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to form a lower layer and a polymer layer formed by polymerizing an organic metal complex on a substrate before the application of the resist film of Naito modified by Baek.
Naito et al., Baek et al, and Miyamoto et al. fail to teach that the lower layer has a refractive index (n value) different from the refractive index (n value) of the photoresist layer.
However, there are only two possibilities: the lower layer and the photoresist layer have the same refractive index (n value), and the lower layer and the photoresist layer have different refractive indexes (n values).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to form a lower layer and a polymer layer formed by polymerizing an organic metal complex on a substrate before the application of the resist film of Naito modified by Baek and Miyamoto, wherein the lower layer and the photoresist layer have different refractive indexes (n values).
Response to Arguments
11. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9, 11-17, and 19-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The examiner would like to note that:
-the objection to the specification is withdrawn after the applicant’s amendments to the specification;
-the objections to claims 3, 4, and 14 are withdrawn after the applicant’s amendments to claims 3 and 14, and the cancelation of claim 4;
-the rejection of claims 1-6, 13, and 14 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph is withdrawn after the applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 13, and 14;
-the rejection of claims 1-14 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Komuro et al. (JP 2023-010650A, with attached machine translation) is withdrawn after the applicant’s amendments to claims 1 and 7;
-the rejection of claims 15-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komuro et al. (JP 2023-010650A, with attached machine translation) in view of Baek et al. (US 2020/0081346) is withdrawn after the applicant’s amendment to claim 15.
However, new grounds of rejection for claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9, 11-17,and 19-25 are shown in paragraphs 4-10 above.
Conclusion
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Adegawa et al. (JP 2003-057822) teach compounds of the formulas:
(par.0034).
Naito et al. (US 2019/0243243) teach compounds of formulas:
,
, and
(par.0155, par.0157, and par.0160).
13. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722