DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Canon (KR 102421610, as cited in IDS).
As to claim 15, Canon discloses a deposition apparatus comprising:
A support unit supporting a second surface of a substrate, the substrate having a first and second opposing surfaces (figure 2: substrate ‘S’ with support 22 on bottom/second surface);
A chuck facing the first surface and fixes the substrate to the support unit (figure 2: chuck 24);
The substrate having a first part and second part at different distances from the chuck (figure 2: showing curvature of the substrate introducing different distances from chuck 24;
The support unit including first and second support units that support different portions of the second part of the substrate (figure 2: support 22 with ‘left’ and ‘right’ side support sections along substrate and therefore at each ‘portion’ of the substrate at closest distance to chuck).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Canon (KR 102421610, as cited in IDS) in view of Lee (US 20210358791).
As to claim 1, Canon discloses a deposition apparatus comprising:
A support unit supporting a second surface of a substrate, the substrate having a first and second opposing surfaces (figure 2: substrate ‘S’ with support 22 on bottom/second surface);
A chuck facing the first surface with a first and second pattern portion adjacent to each other (figure 2: chuck 24; figure 4: array of electrode patterns 34);
The substrate having a first part overlapping the first pattern portion and a second part overlapping the second portion of the chuck (figure 5a: substrate S similar size to chuck 24, and thus having portions (first and second) overlapping each of the plurality of electrodes within chuck 24 [figure 4]);
The support unit including first and second support units that support different portions of the second part of the substrate (figure 2: support 22 with ‘left’ and ‘right’ side support sections along substrate and therefore at each ‘portion’ of the substrate overlapping electrodes).
Canon, while disclosing multiple electrode patterns in a chuck facing a substrate surface for individual control over localized effect (English translation, ‘film forming device’ section, paragraph 6 [begins “An electrostatic chuck 24…”]), is silent as to providing different voltages to the different electrode patterns.
Lee discloses a chuck for a substrate in a deposition apparatus in which a plurality of electrode patterns are provided in various configurations including a 2-D array (abstract; figure 3; figure 8 [concentric patterns] vs figure 9: embodiment with array of electrode patterns). Lee also discloses knowledge in the art of providing different controllable voltages to each electrode pattern to precisely control the electrostatic force being applied to the substrate (paragraph 133).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide individually controllable voltage to each electrode patterns, as disclosed by Lee, in the system of Canon, because this allows for precise control of the force applied to the substrate.
As to claim 2, Lee discloses an array of electrodes (figure 9a/b: a plurality in each ‘portion’ of the substrate) with different ‘densities’ of the electrode patterns in different electrode area (figure 9a: electrode patterns with different electrode patterns density and gap [ex: ED3-1 vs ED1-1]).
As to claim 11, Canon discloses a deposition apparatus comprising:
A support unit supporting a second surface of a substrate, the substrate having a first and second opposing surfaces (figure 2: substrate ‘S’ with support 22 on bottom/second surface);
A chuck facing the first surface with a first and second pattern portion adjacent to each other (figure 2: chuck 24; figure 4: array of electrode patterns 34);
The substrate having a first part overlapping the first pattern portion at a first distance and a second part overlapping the second portion of the chuck at a second different distance (figure 5a: substrate S similar size to chuck 24, and thus having portions (first and second) overlapping each of the plurality of electrodes within chuck 24 [figure 4]; figure 2: showing curvature of the substrate introducing different distances from chuck 24);
The support unit including first and second support units that support different portions of the second part of the substrate (figure 2: support 22 with ‘left’ and ‘right’ side support sections along substrate and therefore at each ‘portion’ of the substrate overlapping electrodes).
Canon, while disclosing multiple electrode patterns in a chuck facing a substrate surface for individual control over localized effect (English translation, ‘film forming device’ section, paragraph 6 [begins “An electrostatic chuck 24…”]), is silent as to providing different voltages to the different electrode patterns.
Lee discloses a chuck for a substrate in a deposition apparatus in which a plurality of electrode patterns are provided in various configurations including a 2-D array (abstract; figure 3; figure 8 [concentric patterns] vs figure 9: embodiment with array of electrode patterns). Lee also discloses knowledge in the art of providing different controllable voltages to each electrode pattern to precisely control the electrostatic force being applied to the substrate (paragraph 133).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide individually controllable voltage to each electrode patterns, as disclosed by Lee, in the system of Canon, because this allows for precise control of the force applied to the substrate.
As to claim 12, Lee discloses an array of electrodes (figure 9a/b: a plurality in each ‘portion’ of the substrate) with different ‘densities’ of the electrode patterns in different electrode area (figure 9a: electrode patterns with different electrode patterns density and gap [ex: ED3-1 vs ED1-1]).
Claim(s) 3-10, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Canon in view of Lee, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park (KR 20220079008 A, as cited in IDS).
As to claim 3, Canon discloses the device further comprises:
A deposition chamber with inner space containing the support unit, substrate and chuck (figure 2: chamber 21);
A stage within the chamber spaced from the chuck with the substrate between the stage and chuck (figure 2: mask support structure 23);
The first support unit including a shaft extending form the chamber to the inner space and supports for the substrate (figure 2: ‘vertical’ shaft portion of support 22 with ‘horizontal’ extending supports for substrate ‘S’);
Parts extending from the stage to the substrate (figure 2: portions of support 23 extending horizontally towards substrate ‘S’ and having mask ‘M’).
Canon, while disclosing multiple supporting units for the substrate, is silent as to further details of the supporting and stage support structure.
Park discloses a support structure for a substrate with a chuck in a deposition apparatus (abstract; figure 2: substrate 11 with chuck 140, support fixing module 110 and ‘sag compensation module 120). Park discloses the support comprises a frame connected to a shaft with support members [first support members] extending from the frame towards the substrate (figure 3: frame 113 held by shafts 120 with extensions/fixing members 114) and a stage with a plurality of first supports having a second support part extending in a direction intersecting an extending direction of the first parts (figure 5-6: support extensions 135 [first parts] with perpendicular second supports of non-deposition areas 14 of substrate 11). The support structure of Park is disclosed as allowing for controlling substrate sag during processing (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the substrate support structure of Park, in the system of Canon in view of Lee, because this allows for control over substrate sag during processing.
As to claim 4, Park discloses sliding the support unit to adjust its position (English translation, “description of embodiments” : “The lifting unit 122 is fixed to the upper side of the vacuum chamber 20 and may be provided to be raised and lowered by expansion and contraction or sliding.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a rail structure to allow sliding for positioning as desired, as described by Park, within the movable structure as the rail would be a known effective mechanism to allow sliding.
As to claim 5, Park discloses a protruding portion towards the substrate surface (figure 5: ‘tip’ 136 on support 135).
As to claim 6, Park discloses a plurality of support units (figure 3: plurality of support units, “description of embodiments”: “As shown in FIG. 3 , one or more substrate sag compensation modules 120 may be provided on the outside of the fixed frame 112 . In this embodiment, a total of four are symmetrically provided as an example, but the present invention is not limited to the number of the substrate sag compensation module 120, and a plurality such as six or eight may be provided as needed.”).
As to claim 7, Canon discloses the device further comprises:
A deposition chamber with inner space containing the support unit, substrate and chuck (figure 2: chamber 21);
The first and second support unit including a shaft extending form the chamber to the inner space and supports for the substrate (figure 2: ‘vertical’ shaft portion of support 22 with ‘horizontal’ extending supports for substrate ‘S’);
Canon, while disclosing multiple supporting units for the substrate, is silent as to further details of the supporting structure.
Park discloses a support structure for a substrate with a chuck in a deposition apparatus (abstract; figure 2: substrate 11 with chuck 140, support fixing module 110 and ‘sag compensation module 120). Park discloses the support comprises a frame connected to a shaft with support members [first support members] extending from the frame towards the substrate (figure 3: frame 113 held by shafts 120 with extensions/fixing members 114), the supports each [first and second sides] support members that bend and extend from the shafts and rotates to position (figure 3 and 5: supports 135 ‘bending’ outward from vertical shaft 134, and rotation motor 133 for positioning horizontal member 135). The support structure of Park is disclosed as allowing for controlling substrate sag during processing (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the substrate support structure of Park, in the system of Canon in view of Lee, because this allows for control over substrate sag during processing.
As to claim 8, Park discloses a driving member to lift and lower the support and coupled to the support shaft (figure 5: ‘lifting actuator’ 131 coupled to shaft 134 to support 135).
As to claim 9, Park discloses a plurality of support structures each individually rotatable and therefore capable of extending in different directions (figure 4: 4 ‘support structures’ illustrated, with disclosure of 6, 8 or any number of structures disclosed).
As to claim 10, Park discloses a protruding portion towards the substrate surface (figure 5: ‘tip’ 136 on support 135).
As to claim 13, Canon discloses the device further comprises:
A deposition chamber with inner space containing the support unit, substrate and chuck (figure 2: chamber 21);
A stage within the chamber spaced from the chuck with the substrate between the stage and chuck (figure 2: mask support structure 23);
The first support unit including a shaft extending form the chamber to the inner space and supports for the substrate (figure 2: ‘vertical’ shaft portion of support 22 with ‘horizontal’ extending supports for substrate ‘S’);
Parts extending from the stage to the substrate (figure 2: portions of support 23 extending horizontally towards substrate ‘S’ and having mask ‘M’).
Canon, while disclosing multiple supporting units for the substrate, is silent as to further details of the supporting and stage support structure.
Park discloses a support structure for a substrate with a chuck in a deposition apparatus (abstract; figure 2: substrate 11 with chuck 140, support fixing module 110 and ‘sag compensation module 120). Park discloses the support comprises a frame connected to a shaft with support members [first support members] extending from the frame towards the substrate (figure 3: frame 113 held by shafts 120 with extensions/fixing members 114) and a stage with a plurality of first supports having a second support part extending in a direction intersecting an extending direction of the first parts (figure 5-6: support extensions 135 [first parts] with perpendicular second supports of non-deposition areas 14 of substrate 11). Also disclosed is a driving member to lift and lower the support and coupled to the support shaft (figure 5: ‘lifting actuator’ 131 coupled to shaft 134 to support 135). The support structure of Park is disclosed as allowing for controlling substrate sag during processing (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the substrate support structure of Park, in the system of Canon in view of Lee, because this allows for control over substrate sag during processing.
Park also discloses sliding the support unit to adjust its position (English translation, “description of embodiments” : “The lifting unit 122 is fixed to the upper side of the vacuum chamber 20 and may be provided to be raised and lowered by expansion and contraction or sliding.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a rail structure to allow sliding for positioning as desired, as described by Park, within the movable structure as the rail would be a known effective mechanism to allow sliding.
As to claim 14, Canon discloses the device further comprises:
A deposition chamber with inner space containing the support unit, substrate and chuck (figure 2: chamber 21);
The first and second support unit including a shaft extending form the chamber to the inner space and supports for the substrate (figure 2: ‘vertical’ shaft portion of support 22 with ‘horizontal’ extending supports for substrate ‘S’);
Canon, while disclosing multiple supporting units for the substrate, is silent as to further details of the supporting structure.
Park discloses a support structure for a substrate with a chuck in a deposition apparatus (abstract; figure 2: substrate 11 with chuck 140, support fixing module 110 and ‘sag compensation module 120). Park discloses the support comprises a frame connected to a shaft with support members [first support members] extending from the frame towards the substrate (figure 3: frame 113 held by shafts 120 with extensions/fixing members 114), the supports each [first and second sides] support members that bend and extend from the shafts and rotates to position (figure 3 and 5: supports 135 ‘bending’ outward from vertical shaft 134, and rotation motor 133 for positioning horizontal member 135). The support structure of Park is disclosed as allowing for controlling substrate sag during processing (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the substrate support structure of Park, in the system of Canon in view of Lee, because this allows for control over substrate sag during processing.
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Canon as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Lee (US 20210358791).
As to claim 16, Canon, while disclosing multiple electrode patterns in a chuck facing a substrate surface for individual control over localized effect (English translation, ‘film forming device’ section, paragraph 6 [begins “An electrostatic chuck 24…”]), is silent as to providing different voltages to the different electrode patterns.
Lee discloses a chuck for a substrate in a deposition apparatus in which a plurality of electrode patterns are provided in various configurations including a 2-D array (abstract; figure 3; figure 8 [concentric patterns] vs figure 9: embodiment with array of electrode patterns). Lee also discloses knowledge in the art of providing different controllable voltages to each electrode pattern to precisely control the electrostatic force being applied to the substrate (paragraph 133).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide individually controllable voltage to each electrode patterns, as disclosed by Lee, in the system of Canon, because this allows for precise control of the force applied to the substrate.
As to claim 17-18, Lee discloses an array of electrodes (figure 9a/b: a plurality in each ‘portion’ of the substrate) with a ‘middle section’ a single column with edges being combined as two columns (second vs first substrate portion) and different ‘densities’ of the electrode patterns in different electrode area (figure 9a: electrode patterns in 3 columns with different electrode patterns density and gap [ex: ED3-1 vs ED1-1]).
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Canon as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Park.
As to claim 19, Canon discloses the device further comprises:
A deposition chamber with inner space containing the support unit, substrate and chuck (figure 2: chamber 21);
A stage within the chamber spaced from the chuck with the substrate between the stage and chuck (figure 2: mask support structure 23);
The first support unit including a shaft extending form the chamber to the inner space and supports for the substrate (figure 2: ‘vertical’ shaft portion of support 22 with ‘horizontal’ extending supports for substrate ‘S’);
Parts extending from the stage to the substrate (figure 2: portions of support 23 extending horizontally towards substrate ‘S’ and having mask ‘M’).
Canon, while disclosing multiple supporting units for the substrate, is silent as to further details of the supporting and stage support structure.
Park discloses a support structure for a substrate with a chuck in a deposition apparatus (abstract; figure 2: substrate 11 with chuck 140, support fixing module 110 and ‘sag compensation module 120). Park discloses the support comprises a frame connected to a shaft with support members [first support members] extending from the frame towards the substrate (figure 3: frame 113 held by shafts 120 with extensions/fixing members 114) and a stage with a plurality of first supports having a second support part extending in a direction intersecting an extending direction of the first parts (figure 5-6: support extensions 135 [first parts] with perpendicular second supports of non-deposition areas 14 of substrate 11). Also disclosed is a driving member to lift and lower the support and coupled to the support shaft (figure 5: ‘lifting actuator’ 131 coupled to shaft 134 to support 135). The support structure of Park is disclosed as allowing for controlling substrate sag during processing (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the substrate support structure of Park, in the system of Canon in view of Lee, because this allows for control over substrate sag during processing.
Park also discloses sliding the support unit to adjust its position (English translation, “description of embodiments” : “The lifting unit 122 is fixed to the upper side of the vacuum chamber 20 and may be provided to be raised and lowered by expansion and contraction or sliding.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a rail structure to allow sliding for positioning as desired, as described by Park, within the structure of Canon, as the rail would be a known effective mechanism to allow sliding.
As to claim 20, Canon discloses the device further comprises:
A deposition chamber with inner space containing the support unit, substrate and chuck (figure 2: chamber 21);
The first and second support unit including a shaft extending form the chamber to the inner space and supports for the substrate (figure 2: ‘vertical’ shaft portion of support 22 with ‘horizontal’ extending supports for substrate ‘S’);
Canon, while disclosing multiple supporting units for the substrate, is silent as to further details of the supporting structure.
Park discloses a support structure for a substrate with a chuck in a deposition apparatus (abstract; figure 2: substrate 11 with chuck 140, support fixing module 110 and ‘sag compensation module 120). Park discloses the support comprises a frame connected to a shaft with support members [first support members] extending from the frame towards the substrate (figure 3: frame 113 held by shafts 120 with extensions/fixing members 114), the supports each [first and second sides] support members that bend and extend from the shafts and rotates to position (figure 3 and 5: supports 135 ‘bending’ outward from vertical shaft 134, and rotation motor 133 for positioning horizontal member 135). The support structure of Park is disclosed as allowing for controlling substrate sag during processing (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the substrate support structure of Park, in the system of Canon, because this allows for control over substrate sag during processing.
Correspondence Information
/JASON BERMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794