DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3, 5, and 7-20 are pending. Claims 4 and 6 have been canceled.
The foreign priority application No.2022-141219 filed on September 06, 2022 in Japan has been received and it is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
New claim 12 recites the limitation “the silicon-containing polymer (A0) does not contain a constitutional unit represented by General Formula (a3-1):
wherein Ra35 represents a hydrocarbon group having 1 to 6 carbon atoms, and na5 represents an integer in a range of 0 to 5”.
However, the specification does not teach this limitation. On the contrary, the specification teaches a silicon-containing polymer (A0) comprising the claimed constitutional unit of General Formula (a3-1).
The specification teaches that the silicon-containing polymer (A0) may comprise a constitutional unit (a3) which is useful for enhancing the lithography characteristics, and the introduction of the constitutional unit (a3) facilitates the control of the dissolution rate (par.0116 and par.0122). The constitutional unit (a3) is represented by the formula (a3-1):
wherein Ra35 represents a hydrocarbon group having 1 to 6 carbon atoms, and na5 represents an integer in a range of 0 to 5 (par.0123).
The specification further shows the resin (A0-2):
(par.0285), which comprises a constitutional unit (a3) of General Formula (a3-1), wherein na5=0.
Claims 13-20 are rejected as being dependent on the rejected claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9-14, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sooriyakumaran et al. (US 2002/0081520) in view of Hatakeyama et al. (US 2019/0155155).
With regard to claims 1 and 12, Sooriyakumaran et al. teach a negative lithographic photoresist composition comprising a fluorocarbinol functionalized silesquioxane polymer and a crosslinking agent (par.0025).
The fluorocarbinol functionalized silesquioxane polymer is represented by the formula (I):
, wherein R1, R2, R3, and R4 are independently selected from the group consisting of substituents of formula (II):
, wherein R7 is hydrogen, linear or branched alkyl or fluoroalkyl, R8 is a linear or branched fluoroalkyl, R9 is OH, Q is selected from the group consisting of substituted or unsubstituted arylene moieties or moieties having the structure (IV):
, wherein R5 and R6 are independently hydrogen, linear or branched alkyl or fluoroalkyl, and n is an integer from 0 to 4 (par.0018-0020, par.0047).
The fluorocarbinol functionalized silesquioxane polymers having the groups R1-R4 shown in par.0047 of Sooriyakumaran et al. a silicon-containing resin (A), wherein the silicon-containing resin (A) includes a silicon-containing polymer (A0) having a constitutional unit of General Formula (a0-1) in claims 1 and 12, wherein Ra0 is an organic group having 4 to 13 carbon atoms.
The fluorocarbinol functionalized silesquioxane polymers having groups R1-R4 shown in par.0047 of Sooriyakumaran et al. do not comprise a constitutional unit of General Formula (a3-1), as required in claim 12.
Sooriyakumaran et al. further teach that the negative photoresist composition comprises an acid diffusion controlling agent (quencher)(par.0071), but fail to teach the acid generator (B) in claims 1 and 12.
Hataleyama et al. teach a resist composition comprising a base polymer and a sulfonium salt of iodized benzoic acid, said resist composition offering a high sensitivity and minimal line width roughness (LWR) independent of whether it is of negative or positive tone (abstract). The sulfonium salt of iodized benzoic acid is used as quencher to control the diffusion of acid to unexposed areas to improve the contrast, it provides high sensitivity and reduces line width roughness (LWR) (par.0004, par.0018).
Hatakeyama et al. further teach that by using the sulfonium salt of iodized benzoic acid as quencher, a photoresist material with reduced LWR, improved resolution, and wide process margin is obtainable (par.0020).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to use the sulfonium salt of iodized benzoic acid of Hatakeyama et al. as quencher in the negative photoresist of Sooriyakumaran et al. in order to reduce LWR, improve resolution, and obtain a wide process margin of the photoresist.
Hatakeyama et al. teach that the sulfonium salt of iodized benzoic acid may be represented by the formula:
(par.0143, Example 1 in Table 1, par.0152).
Quencher-1 above is an onium salt (B0) consisting of an anion moiety having a iodine atom and a cation moiety. The onium salt (B0) has the same components as the acid generator compound (B) in claims 1 and 12 of the instant application, so it is able to function as acid generator.
Therefore, the negative resist composition of Sooriyakumaran modified by Hatakeyama is equivalent to the resist compositions in claims 1 and 12.
With regard to claims 2 and 13, Quencher-1 above is onium salt of formula (b0-2), wherein Rb20 is a group having an iodine atom, m=1, and M+ is an onium cation.
With regard to claims 3 and 14, Quencher-1 above is onium salt of formula (b0-2), wherein Rb20 is a group of formula (b0-r-1), wherein nb1=1, nb2=0, nb3=0, Rb01 is a single bond and the * represents the site for bonding to the carbon atom of C(=O)O-.
With regard to claims 9 and 18, Sooriyakumaran et al. teach that the polymer may represent up to 99wt.% of the solids in the resist composition (par.0060). When the polymer is represented by the formula in fig.2, the Si content may represent up to 16.8wt% of the solids in the resist composition. This range overlaps the claimed range.
With regard to claims 10, 11, 19, and 20, Sooriyakumaran et al. teach a process comprising the steps of:
-applying the resist composition on top of a substrate and prebaking to form a resist film;
-exposing the resist film; and
-developing the exposed resist film (par.0075).
The exposure may be performed with extreme ultraviolet (EUV) radiation (par.0077).
Claims 1-3, 5, and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamura et al. (US 2007/0009828) in view of Hatakeyama et al. (US 2019/0155155) and in further view of Holmes et al. (US Patent 6,284,439).
With regard to claim 1, Tamura et al. teach a positive resist composition comprising a resin (A) and an acid generator component (B) (abstract). The resist composition may also comprise an amine quencher (D)(par.0096-0099).
The resin (A) may be represented by the formula (VI) or formula (VII):
(par.0214)
(par.01215).
The first repeating and second repeating units of the resin (VI) above are constitutional units of General Formula (a0-1) in claim 1, wherein Ra0 are organic groups with 7 or 10 carbon atoms.
The first repeating and second repeating units of the resin (VII) above are constitutional units of General Formula (a0-1) in claim 1, wherein Ra0 are organic groups with 7 or 12 carbon atoms.
Tamura et al. fail to teach the acid generator (B) in claim 1.
Hataleyama et al. teach a resist composition comprising a base polymer and a sulfonium salt of iodized benzoic acid, said resist composition offering a high sensitivity and minimal line width roughness (LWR) independent of whether it is of negative or positive tone (abstract). The sulfonium salt of iodized benzoic acid is used as quencher to control the diffusion of acid to unexposed areas to improve the contrast, it provides high sensitivity and reduces line width roughness (LWR) (par.0004, par.0018).
Hatakeyama et al. further teach that by using the sulfonium salt of iodized benzoic acid as quencher, a photoresist material with reduced LWR, improved resolution, and wide process margin is obtainable (par.0020).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to use the sulfonium salt of iodized benzoic acid of Hatakeyama et al. as quencher in the photoresist of Tamura et al. in order to reduce LWR, improve resolution, and obtain a wide process margin of the photoresist.
Hatakeyama et al. teach that the sulfonium salt of iodized benzoic acid may be represented by the formula:
(par.0143, Example 1 in Table 1, par.0152).
Quencher-1 above is an onium salt (B0) consisting of an anion moiety having a iodine atom and a cation moiety. The onium salt (B0) has the same components as the acid generator compound (B) in claim 1 of the instant application, so it is able to function as acid generator.
Tamura et al. and Hatakeyama et al. fail to teach that the positive resist composition comprises a crosslinking component.
Holmes et al. teach a photoresist having both positive and negative tone components resulting in a lower “k” factor than the single tone photoresist. The hybrid resist may have a positive tone resist as the major portion and a minor portion of a crosslinker. The hybrid resist allows for wider exposure dosage windows, therefore increasing the yield or performance (abstract, column 2, line 67-column 3, line 5, and column 3, lines 13-17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to include a minor amount of crosslinker in the positive resist composition of Tamura modified by Hatakeyama in order to obtain a resist composition with wider exposure dosage windows, therefore increasing the yield or performance.
The positive resist composition of Tamura modified by Hatakeyama and Holmes is equivalent to the resist composition in claim 1.
With regard to claim 2, Quencher-1 above is onium salt of formula (b0-2), wherein Rb20 is a group having a iodine atom, m=1, and M+ is an onium cation.
With regard to claim 3, Quencher-1 above is onium salt of formula (b0-2), wherein Rb20 is a group of formula (b0-r-1), wherein nb1=1, nb2=0, nb3=0, Rb01 is a single bond and the * represents the site for bonding to the carbon atom of C(=O)O-.
With regard to claim 5, the first repeating unit of the resin (VI) of Tamura et al. is a constitutional unit of General Formula (a0-1-1) wherein Ra11 is a divalent linking group (-CH2-), RAr1 is an aromatic hydrocarbon group, na3=0, na2=1, and Ra12 is a hydrogen atom.
With regard to claim 7, the second repeating unit of the resin (VII) of Tamura et al. is a constitutional unit of General Formula (a0-1-2) wherein Ra21 is a divalent linking group is Ra22 is an acid dissociable group of formula -C(CH3)3 (see definition of acid dissociable group in par.0057-0060 of the specification of the instant application).
With regard to claim 8, the second repeating unit of the resin (VI) of Tamura et al. is a constitutional unit of General Formula (a0-1-3) wherein Ra31 is a divalent linking group (-CH2-), RAr3 is an aromatic hydrocarbon group, na4=0, Ra32 is a hydrocarbon with 1 carbon atom (-CH3), and Ra33 is a hydrocarbon with 2 carbon atoms (-CH2CH3).
With regard to claim 9, the resist composition of Example 1 in par.0216 of Tamura et al. comprises about 15% Si based on the solid content of the resist composition.
With regard to claims 10 and 11, Tamura et al. teach a process comprising the steps of:
-applying the resist composition on top of a substrate and prebaking to form a resist film;
-exposing the resist film; and
-developing the exposed resist film (par.0152-0156).
The exposure may be performed with extreme ultraviolet (EUV) radiation (par.0155).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 5, and 7-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The examiner would like to note that the rejection of claims 1-5 and 7-11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamura et al. (US 2007/0009828) in view of Hatakeyama et al. (US 2019/0155155) is withdrawn after the applicant’s amendment to claim 1.
However, new grounds of rejection for claims 1-3, 5, and 7-20 are presented in paragraphs 4-8 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722