aDETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-4 and 6-21 are pending in the application and are currently being examined. Claims 1-3, 8, 11, 14, 15, 17, and 19 have been amended. Claim 5 has been canceled. New claim 21 has been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the objections to the specification, Examiner agrees amended title is descriptive and the related specification objection is hereby withdrawn.
Regarding the amendments to claims 4, 11, 14, and 19 claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), Examiner agrees the amendments are sufficient to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), and are subsequently withdrawn.
Regarding the argument against the prior art rejections of independent claims 1, 8, and 15, Applicant argues that Jiang fails to teach the amended limitation for “the alloy layer comprises a first sub layer and a second sub layer, the second sub layer surrounds the sidewalls and the bottom surface of the first conductive layer, and the first sub layer surrounds sidewalls and a bottom surface of the second sub layer”, hereafter the amended limitation, to which Examiner agrees.
Regarding the argument against the prior art rejections of independent claims 1, 8, and 15, Applicant argues that both Wang and Xu fail to teach the amended limitation, to which Examiner respectfully disagrees. Wang teaches in column 5 lines 34-52 the alloy layer reacts with the dielectric material, similar to that taught in Xu paragraph [0073] in which a chemical reaction transforms some of the alloy layer into a self-formed barrier layer. While examiner agrees that in both instances the reaction would not lead to a self-formed barrier layer on a bottommost surface of the second sublayer in Jiang, the claim does not require that. The amendment states “first sub layer surrounds sidewalls and a bottom surface of the second sub layer”. As the metal conductors of Jiang, 90, have a T shape, there is a bottom surface in contact with the dielectric, as in the annotated Fig. 2G. Therefore, Jiang in view of either Wang or Xu teaches the amended limitation as claimed.
Note that the primary reference (Jiang) is being changed to a reference (Chen et al., US 2024/0282710 A1) that better depicts the device of Fig. 2 of the present application, not because Jiang fails to teach the limitations as in the non-final of 3/25/2026 but so the reference includes two separate dielectric layers with the two separate conductive layers. Please see rejection to follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the etch stop layer” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “the etch stop layer” in line 3 is being interpreted as, “an etch stop layer.” Appropriate action is required.
Claims 16-20 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for further limiting and being dependent on indefinite claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-8, 11-12, 14-16, and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2024/0282710 A1, hereafter Chen) in view of Wang et al. (US 6,462,417 B1, hereafter Wang).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches in Fig. 12E a semiconductor structure, comprising:
a first dielectric layer (126, [0071], and 130, [0081]);
a conductive pattern (128, [0065] and 138, [0065]) disposed in the first dielectric layer (126 and 130), wherein the conductive pattern (128 and 138) comprises a (barrier) layer (128B, [0076], and 138B, [0082]) and a first conductive layer (128F, [0076], and 138F, [0082]), the (barrier) layer surrounds sidewalls and a bottom surface of the first conductive layer (128 and 138); and
an etch stop layer (124, [0070]) disposed under the first dielectric layer (126 and 130) and laterally surrounding the conductive pattern (128 specifically).
Chen fails to teach an alloy layer, a material of the alloy layer comprises an alloy of at least two metals, and at least one of the at least two metals relative to the rest of the at least two metals tends to be reacted with a dielectric material of the first dielectric layer, wherein the alloy layer comprises a first sub layer and a second sub layer, the second sub layer surrounds the sidewalls and the bottom surface of the first conductive layer, and the first sub layer surrounds sidewalls and a bottom surface of the second sub layer.
However, in Fig. 3 Wang teaches a semiconductor structure similar to Chen in which an alloy layer, similar to the barrier layer of Chen, (232, column 5 line 9) between the conductive layer (236 column 5 line 8) and the dielectric (210, column 5 line 3). The alloy layer of Wang comprises an alloy of at least two metals (copper-titanium, column 6 line 25), and at least one of the at least two metals (titanium) relative to the rest of the at least two metals (copper) tends to be reacted with a dielectric material of the first dielectric layer (Wang teaches the titanium in the barrier layer readily reacts with dielectric materials (column 5 line 31-32).
The layer of Chen surrounds the sidewalls and the bottom surface of the first conductor. Wang further teaches in column 5 lines 34-41 that the alloy layer reacts to the dielectric to form TiN to prevent copper diffusion, there is also a second layer that is not reacted with the dielectric. The unreacted barrier layer (the second sublayer) surrounds the sidewalls and bottom surface of the first conductive layer, while the reacted sub layer (a first sublayer) surrounds the sidewalls and a bottom surface of the second sub layer (see annotated Fig. 12E). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the barrier layer of Chen to comprise copper-titanium as taught by Wang in order to have a barrier layer that reacts with the dielectric layer to form a barrier to prevent the diffusion of copper into the dielectric material (column 5 lines 34-41).
Regarding claim 2, Chen in view of Wang teach the semiconductor structure according to claim 1, wherein the alloy layer (modified 128B, [0076], and modified 138B, [0082] of Chen) is in direct contact with the first dielectric layer (126, [0071], and 130, [0081]).
Regarding claim 4, Chen in view of Wang teach the semiconductor structure according to claim 1. While Chen does not explicitly teach a material of the first conductive layer (128F, [0076], and 138F, [0082]) includes Cu alloy including at least one metal selected from Mn, Nb, Zr, Al, Ti, Ru, Mo, W, Cr and Zn, wherein the at least one metal in the Cu alloy relative to Cu tends to be reactive with the dielectric material of the first dielectric layer. Chen describes the conductive layer (128F and 138F) comprises titanium either as an alloy or an elemental fill [0077]. However, in [0053] Chen states that a metal fill material can be either elemental or an alloy including Ti, with Cu being on the list as well, which Wang teaches in column 5 lines 34-41 that the Ti reacts to the dielectric. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize an alloy for the first conductive layer, as Chen already uses conductive alloys in their device.
Regarding claim 6, Chen in view of Wang teach the semiconductor structure according to claim 1, further comprising:
a second dielectric layer (110, [0058]) disposed under the first dielectric layer (126, [0071], and 130, [0081]); and
a second conductive layer (108, [0059]) disposed in the second dielectric layer (110) and electrically connecting with the conductive pattern (128, [0065] and 138, [0065]).
Regarding claim 7, Chen in view of Wang teach the semiconductor structure according to claim 6, wherein the conductive pattern (128, [0065] and 138, [0065]) is in directly contact with the second conductive layer (108, [0059]).
Regarding claim 8, Chen teaches in Fig. 12E a semiconductor structure, comprising:
a first dielectric layer (110, [0058]) with a first conductive layer (108, [0059]) formed therein;
an etch stop layer (124, [0070]) disposed over the first dielectric layer (110) and the first conductive layer (108), a second dielectric layer (126, [0071]) disposed over the etch stop layer (124); and
a via pattern (128, [0065]) penetrating the second dielectric layer (126) and the etch stop layer (124) and electrically connecting with the first conductive layer (108), wherein the via pattern (128) comprises a second conductive layer (128F, [0076]) and a first (barrier) layer (128B, [0076]) surrounding sidewalls and a bottom surface of the second conductive layer (128F).
Chen is silent on a material of the first alloy layer (barrier layer) comprises an alloy of at least two metals, and at least one of the at least two metals relative to the rest of the at least two metals tends to be reacted with dielectric materials of the second dielectric layer and the etch stop layer, wherein the first alloy layer comprises a first sub layer and a second sub layer, the second sub layer surrounds the sidewalls and the bottom surface of the second conductive layer, and the first sub layer surrounds sidewalls and a bottom surface of the second sub layer.
However, in Fig. 3 Wang teaches a semiconductor structure similar to Chen in which an alloy layer, similar to the barrier layer of Chen, (232, column 5 line 9) between the conductive layer (236 column 5 line 8) and the dielectric (210, column 5 line 3). The alloy layer of Wang comprises an alloy of at least two metals (copper-titanium, column 6 line 25), and at least one of the at least two metals (titanium) relative to the rest of the at least two metals (copper) tends to be reacted with a dielectric material of the second dielectric layer as well as the etch stop (Wang teaches the titanium in the barrier layer readily reacts with dielectric materials including silicon nitrides (column 5 line 31-32 and line 36), of which the etch stop layer of Chen is made from [0071]).
The layer of Chen surrounds the sidewalls and the bottom surface of the first conductor. Wang further teaches in column 5 lines 34-41 that the alloy layer reacts to the dielectric to form TiN to prevent copper diffusion, there is also a second layer that is not reacted with the dielectric. The unreacted barrier layer (the first sublayer) surrounds the sidewalls and bottom surface of the first conductive layer, while the reacted layer (a second sublayer) surrounds the sidewalls and a bottom surface of the first sub layer (see annotated Fig. 12E). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the barrier layer of Chen to comprise copper-titanium as taught by Wang in order to have a barrier layer that reacts with the dielectric layer to form a barrier to prevent the diffusion of copper into the dielectric material (column 5 lines 34-41).
Regarding claim 11, Chen in view of Wang teach the semiconductor structure according to claim 8. While Chen does not explicitly teach a material of the second conductive layer (128F, [0076]) includes Cu alloy including at least one metal selected from Mn, Nb, Zr, Al, Ti, Ru, Mo, W, Cr and Zn, wherein the at least one metal in the Cu alloy relative to Cu tends to be reactive with the dielectric material of the second dielectric layer. Chen describes the conductive layer (128F) comprises titanium either as an alloy or an elemental fill [0077]. However, in [0053] Chen states that a metal fill material can be either elemental or an alloy including Ti, with Cu being on the list as well, which Wang teaches in column 5 lines 34-41 that the Ti reacts to the dielectric. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize an alloy for the first conductive layer, as Chen already uses conductive alloys in their device.
Regarding claim 12, Chen in view of Wang teach the semiconductor structure according to claim 8. Fig. 12E of Chen further teaches a third dielectric layer (130, [0081]) disposed over the second dielectric layer (126, [0071]) and the via pattern (128, [0065]); and
a wiring pattern (138, [0065]) penetrating the third dielectric layer (130) and electrically connecting with the via pattern (128), wherein the wiring pattern comprises a third conductive layer (138F, [0082]) and a second (barrier) layer surrounding sidewalls and a bottom surface of the third conductive layer (138).
Similar to the first barrier layer of claim 8, Fig. 3 Wang teaches a semiconductor structure similar to Chen in which an alloy layer, similar to the barrier layer of Chen, (232, column 5 line 9) between the conductive layer (236 column 5 line 8) and the dielectric (210, column 5 line 3). The alloy layer of Wang comprises an alloy of at least two metals (copper-titanium, column 6 line 25), and at least one of the at least two metals (titanium) relative to the rest of the at least two metals (copper) tends to be reacted with a dielectric material of the third dielectric layer (Wang teaches the titanium in the barrier layer readily reacts with dielectric materials (column 5 line 31-32 and line 36). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the barrier layer of Chen to comprise copper-titanium as taught by Wang in order to have a barrier layer that reacts with the dielectric layer to form a barrier to prevent the diffusion of copper into the dielectric material (column 5 lines 34-41)
Regarding claim 14, Chen in view of Wang teach the semiconductor structure according to claim 12. While Chen does not explicitly teach a material of the third conductive layer (138F, [0082]) includes Cu alloy including at least one metal selected from Mn, Nb, Zr, Al, Ti, Ru, Mo, W, Cr and Zn, wherein the at least one metal in the Cu alloy relative to Cu tends to be reactive with the dielectric material of the first dielectric layer. Chen describes the conductive layer (128F) comprises titanium either as an alloy or an elemental fill [0077]. However, in [0053] Chen states that a metal fill material can be either elemental or an alloy including Ti, with Cu being on the list as well, which Wang teaches in column 5 lines 34-41 that the Ti reacts to the dielectric. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize an alloy for the first conductive layer, as Chen already uses conductive alloys in their device.
Regarding claim 15, Chen teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor structure, comprising:
forming an opening (127, Fig. 12C, [0073]) extending through a first dielectric layer (126, [0071]), and the etch stop layer (124, [0070]); and
performing a single damascene process (shown in Figs. 12C and 12D and described in [0075-0076]) to form a conductive pattern (128, [0065]) in the opening, wherein the conductive pattern (128) comprises (a barrier) layer (128B, [0076]) and a first conductive layer (128F, [0076]), the (barrier) layer (128B) surrounds sidewalls and a bottom surface of the first conductive layer (128F).
Chen fails to teach an alloy layer, a material of the alloy layer comprises an alloy of at least two metals, and at least one of the at least two metals relative to the rest of the at least two metals tends to be reacted with a dielectric material of the first dielectric layer, wherein the alloy layer comprises a first sub layer and a second sub layer, the second sub layer surrounds the sidewalls and the bottom surface of the first conductive layer, and the first sub layer surrounds sidewalls and a bottom surface of the second sub layer.
However, in Fig. 3 Wang teaches a semiconductor structure similar to Chen in which an alloy layer, similar to the barrier layer of Chen, (232, column 5 line 9) between the conductive layer (236 column 5 line 8) and the dielectric (210, column 5 line 3). The alloy layer of Wang comprises an alloy of at least two metals (copper-titanium, column 6 line 25), and at least one of the at least two metals (titanium) relative to the rest of the at least two metals (copper) tends to be reacted with a dielectric material of the first dielectric layer (Wang teaches the titanium in the barrier layer readily reacts with dielectric materials (column 5 line 31-32).
The layer of Chen surrounds the sidewalls and the bottom surface of the first conductor. Wang further teaches in column 5 lines 34-41 that the alloy layer reacts to the dielectric to form TiN to prevent copper diffusion, there is also a second layer that is not reacted with the dielectric. The unreacted barrier layer (the second sublayer) surrounds the sidewalls and bottom surface of the first conductive layer, while the reacted sub layer (a first sub layer) surrounds the sidewalls and a bottom surface of the second sub layer (see annotated Fig. 12E). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the barrier layer of Chen to comprise copper-titanium as taught by Wang in order to have a barrier layer that reacts with the dielectric layer to form a barrier to prevent the diffusion of copper into the dielectric material (column 5 lines 34-41).
Regarding claim 16, Chen in view of Wang teach the method according to claim 15. Chen further teaches wherein the step of performing the single damascene process comprises:
forming the alloy layer (modified 128B, [0076] of Chen) lining sidewalls and a bottom surface of the opening (127, Fig. 12C, [0073]) and locating over the first dielectric layer ([0075]);
filling up the opening (127) with the first conductive layer (128F, [0076]); and
performing a planarization process [0076] to remove portions of the first conductive layer (128F) and the alloy layer (modified 128B) over the first dielectric layer (126, [0071]).
Regarding claim 19, Chen in view of Wang teach the semiconductor structure according to claim 15. While Chen does not explicitly teach a material of the first conductive layer (128F, [0076]) includes Cu alloy including at least one metal selected from Mn, Nb, Zr, Al, Ti, Ru, Mo, W, Cr and Zn, wherein the at least one metal in the Cu alloy relative to Cu tends to be reactive with the dielectric material of the first dielectric layer. Chen describes the conductive layer (128F) comprises titanium either as an alloy or an elemental fill [0077]. However, in [0053] Chen states that a metal fill material can be either elemental or an alloy including Ti, with Cu being on the list as well, which Wang teaches in column 5 lines 34-41 that the Ti reacts to the dielectric. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize an alloy for the first conductive layer, as Chen already uses conductive alloys in their device.
Regarding claim 20, Chen in view of Wang teach the method of claim 15. Wang further teaches a thickness of the alloy layer (modified 128B and modified 138B of Chen) ranges from about 5 Å to about 50 Å (column 5 line 58). Specifically, Wang teaches less than 100 angstroms, which fully captures the necessary range.
Regarding claim 21, Chen in view of Wang teach the semiconductor structure according to claim 1, wherein the first sub layer (the reacted sub layer of modified 128B, [0076], and modified 138B, [0082]) of the alloy layer (modified 128B and modified 138B) is in direct contact with the etch stop layer (124, [0070]).
Claim(s) 3, 9, 10, 13, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Wang, and further in view of Yang et al. (US 2021/0375749 A1, hereafter Yang, and in view of Nowak (US 5,250,834 A).
Regarding claim 3, Chen in view of Wang teach the semiconductor structure of claim 1. Chen in view of Wang fail to disclose the at least two metals are selected from Co, Ru, Ta, Ti, W, Mo, Zn, Al, Mn, Zr, Hf, Nb, V, Cr, Sc, Y and Si. However, Yang discloses in Fig. 3 that another suitable alloy layer (barrier layer 212, [0021]) in interconnect structures is cobalt tantalum [0021]. Both cobalt and tantalum react with certain dielectric materials, as Nowak teaches in (column 4 lines 54-56). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the alloy layer of Chen in view of Wang to be made from cobalt tantalum as taught by Yang to still get the reacted layer as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Chen in view of Wang teach the semiconductor structure of claim 8. Chen in view of Wang fail to disclose the at least two metals are selected from Co, Ru, Ta, Ti, W, Mo, Zn, Al, Mn, Zr, Hf, Nb, V, Cr, Sc, Y and Si. However, Yang discloses in Fig. 3 that another suitable alloy layer (barrier layer 212, [0021]) in interconnect structures is cobalt tantalum [0021]. Both cobalt and tantalum react with certain dielectric materials, as Nowak teaches in (column 4 lines 54-56). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the alloy layer of Chen in view of Wang to be made from cobalt tantalum as taught by Yang to still get the reacted layer as in claim 8.
Regarding claim 10, Chen in view of Wang teach the semiconductor structure of claim 8. Chen in view of Wang fail to teach wherein the material of the alloy layer includes Co-Ta alloy. However, Yang discloses in Fig. 3 that another suitable alloy layer (barrier layer 212, [0021]) in interconnect structures is cobalt tantalum [0021]. Both cobalt and tantalum react with certain dielectric materials, as Nowak teaches in (column 4 lines 54-56). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the alloy layer of Chen in view of Wang to be made from cobalt tantalum as taught by Yang to still get the reacted layer as in claim 8.
Regarding claim 13, Chen in view of Wang teach the semiconductor structure of claim 12. Chen in view of Wang fail to disclose the at least two metals of the second alloy are selected from Co, Ru, Ta, Ti, W, Mo, Zn, Al, Mn, Zr, Hf, Nb, V, Cr, Sc, Y and Si. However, Yang discloses in Fig. 3 that another suitable alloy layer (barrier layer 212, [0021]) in interconnect structures is cobalt tantalum [0021]. Both cobalt and tantalum react with certain dielectric materials, as Nowak teaches in (column 4 lines 54-56). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second alloy layer of Chen in view of Wang to be made from cobalt tantalum as taught by Yang to still get the reacted layer as in claim 12.
Regarding claim 18, Chen in view of Wang teach the method of claim 15. Chen in view of Wang fail to disclose the at least two metals are selected from Co, Ru, Ta, Ti, W, Mo, Zn, Al, Mn, Zr, Hf, Nb, V, Cr, Sc, Y and Si. However, Yang discloses in Fig. 3 that another suitable alloy layer (barrier layer 212, [0021]) in interconnect structures is cobalt tantalum [0021]. Both cobalt and tantalum react with certain dielectric materials, as Nowak teaches in (column 4 lines 54-56). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the alloy layer of Chen in view of Wang to be made from cobalt tantalum as taught by Yang to still get the reacted layer as in claim 15.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Wang, and further in view of Brogan et al. (US 2023/0197509 A1, hereafter Brogan).
Regarding claim 17, Chen in view of Wang teach the method according to claim 16, wherein the step of forming the alloy layer (modified 128B, [0076] of Chen) comprises:
performing a deposition process ([0075]) to form the alloy layer (modified 128B); and
performing a treatment process (Wang teaches annealing in column 5 lines 47-52) on the alloy layer (modified 128B) to form the first sub layer (the reacted sub layer of modified 128B).
Chen in view of Wang are silent on wherein the treatment process is a plasma process or a soaking process. However, as stated above, Wang teaches an annealing process to form the first sub layer. Brogan teaches in [0370] that after a deposition process, a plasma anneal can be utilized to convert a barrier precursor (such as the modified 128B of Chen) into the actual barrier. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a plasma anneal as taught by Brogan as the annealing stem in Chen in view of Wang in order to form the first sublayer.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMMANTHA K SALAZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2892
/ERIC W JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892