DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application and are currently being examined.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to as it states “the alloy layer is in directly contact”, which appears to be a typo meant to read “the alloy layer is in direct contact”. Appropriate action requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 11, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "wherein the at least one metal in the Cu alloy relative to Cu tends to be reacted with the dielectric material of the first dielectric layer" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as it is unclear how the conductive layer can react with the dielectric material when the alloy layer is between the dielectric layer and the conductive layer. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted to read "wherein the at least one metal in the Cu alloy relative to Cu tends to be reactive with the dielectric material of the first dielectric layer".
Claim 11 recites the limitation "wherein the at" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as it is unclear how the conductive layer can react with the dielectric material when the alloy layer is between the dielectric layer and the conductive layer. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted to read "wherein the at least one metal in the Cu alloy relative to Cu tends to be reactive with the dielectric material of the first dielectric layer".
Claim 14 recites the limitation "wherein the at" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as it is unclear how the conductive layer can react with the dielectric material when the alloy layer is between the dielectric layer and the conductive layer. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted to read "wherein the at least one metal in the Cu alloy relative to Cu tends to be reactive with the dielectric material of the first dielectric layer".
Claim 19 recites the limitation "wherein the at" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as it is unclear how the conductive layer can react with the dielectric material when the alloy layer is between the dielectric layer and the conductive layer. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted to read "wherein the at least one metal in the Cu alloy relative to Cu tends to be reactive with the dielectric material of the first dielectric layer".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-8, 12, 15-16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (US 2009/0017563 A1, hereafter Jiang) in view of Wang et al. (US 6,462,417 B1, hereafter Wang).
Regarding claim 1, in Fig. 2G Jiang teaches a semiconductor structure, comprising:
a first dielectric layer (40”, [0024]); and
a conductive pattern (90” [0023] and 80” [0043]) disposed in the first dielectric layer (40”), wherein the conductive pattern comprises an alloy layer (80”) and a first conductive layer (90”), the alloy layer surrounds sidewalls and a bottom surface of the first conductive layer (90”).
Jiang fails to teach a material of the alloy layer comprises an alloy of at least two metals, and at least one of the at least two metals relative to the rest of the at least two metals tends to be reacted with a dielectric material of the first dielectric layer.
However, in Fig. 3 Wang teaches a semiconductor structure similar to Jiang in which an alloy layer (232, column 5 line 9) between the conductive layer (236 column 5 line 8) and the dielectric (210, column 5 line 3). The alloy layer of Wang comprises an alloy of at least two metals (copper-titanium, column 6 line 25), and at least one of the at least two metals (titanium) relative to the rest of the at least two metals (copper) tends to be reacted with a dielectric material of the first dielectric layer (Wang teaches the titanium in the barrier layer readily reacts with dielectric materials (column 5 line 31-32)). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the alloy layer of Jiang to comprise copper-titanium as taught by Wang in order to have a barrier layer that reacts with the dielectric layer to form a barrier to prevent the diffusion of copper into the dielectric material (column 5 lines 39-40).
Regarding claim 2, Jiang in view of Wang teach the semiconductor structure according to claim 1. Jiang further teaches in Fig. 2G the alloy layer (80”, [0043]) is in direct contact with the first dielectric layer (40”, [0024]).
Regarding claim 5, Jiang in view of Wang teach the semiconductor structure according to claim 1. Jiang further teaches an etch stop layer (30”, [0024]) disposed under the first dielectric layer (40”, [0024]) and laterally surrounding the conductive pattern (90” [0023] and 80” [0043]).
Regarding claim 6, Jiang in view of Wang teach the semiconductor structure according to claim 1. Jiang further teaches a second dielectric layer (40’, [0024]) disposed under the first dielectric layer (40”, [0024]); and
a second conductive layer (90’ [0023]) disposed in the second dielectric layer (40’) and electrically connecting with the conductive pattern (90” [0023] and 80” [0043]).
Regarding claim 7, Jiang in view of Wang teach the semiconductor structure according to claim 6. Jiang further teaches the conductive pattern (90” [0023] and 80” [0043]) is in directly contact with the second conductive layer (90’, [0023]).
Regarding claim 8, in Fig. 2G Jiang teaches a semiconductor structure, comprising:
a first dielectric layer (40, [0024]) with a first conductive layer (90 [0023]) formed therein;
an etch stop layer (30’, [0024]) disposed over the first dielectric layer and the first conductive layer,
a second dielectric layer (40’, [0024]) disposed over the etch stop layer (30’); and
a via pattern (90’ [0023] and 80’ [0043]) penetrating the second dielectric layer (40’) and the etch stop layer (30’) and electrically connecting with the first conductive layer (40’), wherein the via pattern comprises a second conductive layer (90’ [0023]) and a first alloy layer (80’ [0043]) surrounding sidewalls and a bottom surface of the second conductive layer (90’).
Jiang fails to teach a material of the alloy layer comprises an alloy of at least two metals, and at least one of the at least two metals relative to the rest of the at least two metals tends to be reacted with a dielectric material of the first dielectric layer.
However, in Fig. 3 Wang teaches a semiconductor structure similar to Jiang in which an alloy layer (232, column 5 line 9) between the conductive layer (236 column 5 line 8) and the dielectric (210, column 5 line 3). The alloy layer of Wang comprises an alloy of at least two metals (copper-titanium, column 6 line 25), and at least one of the at least two metals (titanium) relative to the rest of the at least two metals (copper) tends to be reacted with a dielectric material of the first dielectric layer (Wang teaches the titanium in the barrier layer readily reacts with dielectric materials including silicon nitrides (column 5 line 31-32 and line 36). Silicon nitride is what the etch stop layer of Jiang can be made from [0024]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the alloy layer of Jiang to comprise copper-titanium as taught by Wang in order to have a barrier layer that reacts with the dielectric layer and the etch stop layer to form a barrier to prevent the diffusion of copper into the dielectric material (column 5 lines 39-40).
Regarding claim 12, Jiang in view of Wang teach the semiconductor structure of claim 8. Jiang further teaches a third dielectric layer (40”, [0024]) disposed over the second dielectric layer (40’, [0024]) and the via pattern (90’ [0023] and 80’ [0043]); and
a wiring pattern penetrating (90” [0023] and 80” [0043]) the third dielectric layer and electrically connecting with the via pattern (90’ and 80’), wherein the wiring pattern (90” and 80”) comprises a third conductive layer (90”) and a second alloy layer (80”) surrounding sidewalls and a bottom surface of the third conductive layer (90”). As the wiring pattern does not appear structurally different from the via pattern, the structures described by Jiang read on the claim under BRI.
Jiang fails to teach a material of the second alloy layer comprises an alloy of at least two metals, and at least one of the at least two metals relative to the rest of the at least two metals tends to be reacted with a dielectric material of the first dielectric layer.
However, in Fig. 3 Wang teaches a semiconductor structure similar to Jiang in which an alloy layer (232, column 5 line 9) between the conductive layer (236 column 5 line 8) and the dielectric (210, column 5 line 3). The alloy layer of Wang comprises an alloy of at least two metals (copper-titanium, column 6 line 25), and at least one of the at least two metals (titanium) relative to the rest of the at least two metals (copper) tends to be reacted with a dielectric material of the first dielectric layer (Wang teaches the titanium in the barrier layer readily reacts with dielectric materials including silicon nitrides (column 5 line 31-32 and line 36). Silicon nitride is what the etch stop layer of Jiang can be made from [0024]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second alloy layer of Jiang to comprise copper-titanium as taught by Wang in order to have a barrier layer that reacts with the dielectric layer and the etch stop layer to form a barrier to prevent the diffusion of copper into the dielectric material (column 5 lines 39-40).
Regarding claim 15, Jiang teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor structure, comprising:
forming an opening (process shown in Fig. 23) extending through a first dielectric layer (40, [0024]); and
performing a single damascene process (while Jiang teaches a dual damascene process, they teach that a single damascene process is also viable [0023]) to form a conductive pattern (90 [0023] and 80 [0043]) in the opening, wherein the conductive pattern comprises an alloy layer (80) and a first conductive layer (90), the alloy layer (80) surrounds sidewalls and a bottom surface of the first conductive layer (90).
Jiang fails to teach a material of the alloy layer comprises an alloy of at least two metals, and at least one of the at least two metals relative to the rest of the at least two metals tends to be reacted with a dielectric material of the first dielectric layer.
However, in Fig. 3 Wang teaches a semiconductor structure similar to Jiang in which an alloy layer (232, column 5 line 9) between the conductive layer (236 column 5 line 8) and the dielectric (210, column 5 line 3). The alloy layer of Wang comprises an alloy of at least two metals (copper-titanium, column 6 line 25), and at least one of the at least two metals (titanium) relative to the rest of the at least two metals (copper) tends to be reacted with a dielectric material of the first dielectric layer (Wang teaches the titanium in the barrier layer readily reacts with dielectric materials (column 5 line 31-32)). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the alloy layer of Jiang to comprise copper-titanium as taught by Wang in order to have a barrier layer that reacts with the dielectric layer to form a barrier to prevent the diffusion of copper into the dielectric material (column 5 lines 39-40).
Regarding claim 16, Jiang in view of Wang teach the method of claim 15. Jiang further teaches wherein the step of performing the single damascene process comprises:
forming the alloy layer (80, [0043]) lining sidewalls and a bottom surface of the opening (in Fig. 2E and 2F) and locating over the first dielectric layer (40, [0024]);
filling up the opening with the first conductive layer (90, [0023]); and
performing a planarization process (chemical mechanical polishing [0043]) to remove portions of the first conductive layer (90) and the alloy layer over (80) the first dielectric layer (40).
Regarding claim 20, Jiang in view of Wang teach the method of claim 15. Wang further teaches a thickness of the alloy layer (80 of Jiang, [0043]) ranges from about 5 Å to about 50 Å (column 5 line 58). Specifically, Wang teaches less than 100 angstroms, which fully captures the necessary range.
Claim(s) 3, 9, 10, 13, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang in view of Wang, and further in view of Yang et al. (US 2021/0375749 A1, hereafter Yang, and in view of Nowak (US 5,250,834 A).
Regarding claim 3, Jiang in view of Wang teach the semiconductor structure of claim 1. Jiang in view of Wang fail to disclose the at least two metals are selected from Co, Ru, Ta, Ti, W, Mo, Zn, Al, Mn, Zr, Hf, Nb, V, Cr, Sc, Y and Si. However, Yang discloses in Fig. 3 that another suitable alloy layer (barrier layer 212, [0021]) in interconnect structures is cobalt tantalum [0021]. Both cobalt and tantalum react with certain dielectric materials, as Nowak teaches in (column 4 lines 54-56). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the alloy layer of Jiang in view of Wang to be made from cobalt tantalum as taught by Yang to still get the reacted layer as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Jiang in view of Wang teach the semiconductor structure of claim 8. Jiang in view of Wang fail to disclose the at least two metals are selected from Co, Ru, Ta, Ti, W, Mo, Zn, Al, Mn, Zr, Hf, Nb, V, Cr, Sc, Y and Si. However, Yang discloses in Fig. 3 that another suitable alloy layer (barrier layer 212, [0021]) in interconnect structures is cobalt tantalum [0021]. Both cobalt and tantalum react with certain dielectric materials, as Nowak teaches in (column 4 lines 54-56). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the alloy layer of Jiang in view of Wang to be made from cobalt tantalum as taught by Yang to still get the reacted layer as in claim 8.
Regarding claim 10, Jiang in view of Wang and in further view of Nowak teach the semiconductor structure of claim 8, wherein the material of the alloy layer (barrier layer 212 of Nowak, [0021]) includes Co-Ta alloy [0021].
Regarding claim 13, Jiang in view of Wang teach the semiconductor structure of claim 12. Jiang in view of Wang fail to disclose the at least two metals of the second alloy are selected from Co, Ru, Ta, Ti, W, Mo, Zn, Al, Mn, Zr, Hf, Nb, V, Cr, Sc, Y and Si. However, Yang discloses in Fig. 3 that another suitable alloy layer (barrier layer 212, [0021]) in interconnect structures is cobalt tantalum [0021]. Both cobalt and tantalum react with certain dielectric materials, as Nowak teaches in (column 4 lines 54-56). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second alloy layer of Jiang in view of Wang to be made from cobalt tantalum as taught by Yang to still get the reacted layer as in claim 12.
Regarding claim 18, Jiang in view of Wang teach the method of claim 15. Jiang in view of Wang fail to disclose the at least two metals are selected from Co, Ru, Ta, Ti, W, Mo, Zn, Al, Mn, Zr, Hf, Nb, V, Cr, Sc, Y and Si. However, Yang discloses in Fig. 3 that another suitable alloy layer (barrier layer 212, [0021]) in interconnect structures is cobalt tantalum [0021]. Both cobalt and tantalum react with certain dielectric materials, as Nowak teaches in (column 4 lines 54-56). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the alloy layer of Jiang in view of Wang to be made from cobalt tantalum as taught by Yang to still get the reacted layer as in claim 15.
Claim(s) 4, 14, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang in view of Wang, and further in view of Xu et al. (US 2016/0211216 A1, hereafter Xu).
Regarding claim 4, Jiang in view of Wang teach the semiconductor structure according to claim 1. Wang further teaches in Fig. 3, a material of the first conductive layer (90”, [0023]) includes Cu alloy including at least one metal selected from Mn, Nb, Zr, Al, Ti, Ru, Mo, W, Cr and Zn (the metal conductor 90” can comprise Cu/Al alloys, [0043]). While Jiang is silent on the at least one metal in the Cu alloy relative to Cu (Al) tends to be reactive with the dielectric material of the first dielectric layer, Aluminum is known to be reactive with dielectric materials, as Xu states in [0047].
Regarding claim 14, Jiang in view of Wang teach the semiconductor structure according to claim 12. Wang further teaches in Fig. 3, a material of the third conductive layer (90”, [0023]) includes Cu alloy including at least one metal selected from Mn, Nb, Zr, Al, Ti, Ru, Mo, W, Cr and Zn (the metal conductor 90” can comprise Cu/Al alloys, [0043]). While Jiang is silent on the at least one metal in the Cu alloy relative to Cu (Al) tends to be reactive with the dielectric material of the first dielectric layer, Aluminum is known to be reactive with dielectric materials, as Xu states in [0047].
Regarding claim 19, Jiang in view of Wang teach the method of claim 15. Wang further teaches in Fig. 3, a material of the first conductive layer (90, [0023]) includes Cu alloy including at least one metal selected from Mn, Nb, Zr, Al, Ti, Ru, Mo, W, Cr and Zn (the metal conductor 90 can comprise Cu/Al alloys, [0043]). While Jiang is silent on the at least one metal in the Cu alloy relative to Cu (Al) tends to be reactive with the dielectric material of the first dielectric layer, Aluminum is known to be reactive with dielectric materials, as Xu states in [0047].
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang in view of Wang, and further in view of Noguchi et al. (US 2020/0279957 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Jiang in view of Wang teach the semiconductor structure according to claim 8. Wang further teaches in Fig. 3, a material of the first conductive layer (90’, [0023]) includes Cu alloy including at least one metal selected from Mn, Nb, Zr, Al, Ti, Ru, Mo, W, Cr and Zn (the metal conductor 90” can comprise Cu/Al alloys, [0043]). While Jiang is silent on the at least one metal in the Cu alloy relative to Cu (Al) tends to be reactive with the dielectric material of the first dielectric layer, Aluminum is known to be reactive with dielectric materials, as Xu states in [0047]. Jiang is also silent on the at least one metal in the Cu alloy relative to Cu (Al) tends to be reactive with the etch stop layer, and Noguchi teaches the aluminum would diffuse into the silicon nitride to provide electron trap sites. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first conductive layer to be CuAl as Jiang teaches.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang in view of Wang as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Hussey et al. (US 2022/0347968 A1, hereafter Hussey).
Regarding claim 17, Jiang in view of Wang teach the method of claim 16. Jiang further teaches the step of forming the alloy layer (80, [0043]) comprises:
performing a deposition process to form the alloy layer (as seen in Fig. 2F, [0043]).
Jiang in view of Wang fail to teach performing a treatment process on the alloy layer, wherein the treatment process is a plasma process or a soaking process. However, Hussey teaches a method of applying a coating (similar to the alloy layer) in which a plasma treatment is performed after deposition in order to set the coating. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wang in view of Jiang to include the plasma treatment of Hussey to set the alloy layer onto the dielectric layer.
Conclusion
/SAMMANTHA K SALAZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2892
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892