DETAILED ACTION
Note by the Examiner
2. For clarity, the reference to specific claim numbers are presented in bold. Cited claim limitations are presented in bold the first time they are associated with a particular prior art disclosing the cited limitations, and subsequent reference to the already disclosed claim limitations are presented un-bolded. Certain elements from prior art which are not required by the claims are also presented un-bolded if they are particularly pertinent to understanding how the references are being combined. Item-to-item matching and Examiner explanations for 102 &/or 103 rejections have been provided in parenthesis.
Election/Restrictions
3. Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, identified as encompassing claims 1-13 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim 1-4, 7, and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (US 2022/0262803 A1), hereinafter as J1, in view of Seo et al. (US 2008/0079070 A1), hereinafter as S1
5. Regarding Claim 1, J1 discloses a memory device (see in particular Figs. 1-3 and [0011] “memory device”), comprising:
active regions (element ACT regions between elements 105, see [0026] “active regions ACT may be defined by an element separation film 105 formed inside the substrate 100”), defined in a semiconductor substrate (element 100, see [0026]) by an isolation structure (element 105, see [0026]), and are arranged as an array (see Fig. 1) along a first direction (first D2 direction) and a second direction (second D1 direction), wherein each of the active regions extends along a third direction (third D3 direction) intersected with the first direction and the second direction (see Fig. 1); and
word lines (elements WL,112, see [0028] “word line WL” and see [0040] “the gate electrode 112 may correspond to the word line WL”), formed in the semiconductor substrate (see Fig. 3), and extending through the active regions along the second direction (see Figs. 1, 3),
wherein the active regions are arranged along the second direction (see Fig. 1).
J1 does not explicitly disclose wherein the active regions are arranged in pairs, the active regions in the same pair are closely adjacent to each other by a first spacing, adjacent pairs of the active regions are separated from each other by a second spacing greater than the first spacing, a featured portion of each active region right below an intersecting one of the word lines has a first side closely adjacent to the other active region in the same pair by the first spacing as well as a second side separated from an adjacent pair of the active regions by the second spacing, and has a inclined top surface ascending from the second side to the first side.
S1 discloses (see Figs. 1-11 in particular see Fig. 10 and [0040] “The data storage element 136 may be a data storage unit of a volatile memory device”) wherein the active regions are arranged in pairs (two regions in the active region area of element 203a selected as a left half and right half with a small space between, see [0042] “active region 203a” – note, the manner in which the claim is currently recited does not provide specific boundaries which define the pairs of active regions such as to distinguish from the prior art of record), the active regions in the same pair are closely adjacent to each other by a first spacing (small space between the left half and right half arbitrarily determined as the two regions do not have claimed boundaries), adjacent pairs of the active regions are separated from each other by a second spacing greater than the first spacing (separated by an entire width of elements 209 see Fig. 1, 10), a featured portion (portion of the active layer vertically overlapping the word line) of each active region right below an intersecting one of the word lines (element 224 intersecting the active region element 203a) has a first side (selected as a right side) closely adjacent to the other active region (selected as the right element N1) in the same pair by the first spacing as well as a second side (selected as a left side) separated from an adjacent pair of the active regions by the second spacing, and has a inclined top surface ascending from the second side to the first side (see Fig. 10 the left second side has a top surface which is slanted upwards such that it is ascending in height from the second left side to the first right side).
The shape of the upper surface of the active layer as taught by S1 is incorporated as a shape of the upper surface of the active layer of J1.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to incorporate the teachings of S1 with J1 because the combination provides a greater effective channel width and can improve on-current characteristics, body effect, and sub-threshold swing characteristics of a transistor as well as a short channel effect (see S1 [0051]); furthermore, the combination is simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results – simple substitution of one known upper surface of an active layer in a similar memory device for another to obtain predictable results (see S1 Fig. 10 and [0051]).
6. Regarding Claim 2, J1, S1 disclose the memory device according to claim 1, wherein the featured portion of each active region protrudes with respect to portions of the isolation structure lying right below the word lines (see S1 Fig. 10 portions of element 203a protrude to a taller height than isolation structure element 209, see [0068] “trench isolation layer 209”).
7. Regarding Claim 3, J1, S1 disclose the memory device according to claim 1, wherein first sections (see S1 Fig. 10 selected as C1 sections) of the word lines extending through the active regions are formed to a depth less than a depth to which second sections (see S1 Fig. 10 selected as C2 sections) of the word lines extending through the isolation structure are formed (see Fig. 10 the C1 section portion of element 224 is formed to a depth less than a depth in the C2 section portion).
8. Regarding Claim 4, J1, S1 disclose the memory device according to claim 3, wherein the first sections of the word lines respectively have an inclined bottom surface tilting along the second direction (see S1 Fig. 10).
9. Regarding Claim 7, J1, S1 disclose the memory device according to claim 1, wherein the featured portions of the active region in the same pair are symmetric with respect to a central axis in between (see J1 Fig. 10 symmetric with respect to a center of 203a).
10. Regarding Claim 8, J1, S1 disclose the memory device according to claim 1, wherein the featured portions of adjacent ones of the active regions separated from each other by the second spacing are symmetric with respect to a central axis in between (see J1 Fig. 10 symmetric with respect to a center of 203a and see S1 Fig. 1 the array is formed with repeated structures such that the spacings are also symmetric).
11. Regarding Claim 9, J1, S1 disclose the memory device according to claim 1, further comprising: insulating structures (see J1 Fig. 3 elements 105 and S1 Fig. 10 elements 209), disposed in the isolation structure and separated from one another, wherein each active region extends between two of the insulating structures along the third direction, and the word lines extend through the insulating structures (see J1 Figs. 1,3 and S1 Fig. 10).
12. Regarding Claim 10, J1, S1 disclose the memory device according to claim 9, wherein each insulating structure is placed in between two of the active regions separated from each other by the second spacing (see J1 Figs. 1,3 and S1 Fig. 10).
13. Regarding Claim 11, J1, S1 disclose the memory device according to claim 1, further comprising (see J1 Fig. 1):
bit lines (elements BL, see [0024] “bit line BL”), extending along the first direction over the semiconductor substrate (see Fig. 1), and overlapping the active regions (see Fig. 1 overlapping element ACT).
14. Regarding Claim 12, J1, S1 disclose the memory device according to claim 1, wherein each active region is separated from an intersecting one of the word lines by a gate dielectric layer (see J1 Fig. 1 element 111, see [0041] “gate insulating film 111”).
15. Regarding Claim 13, J1, S1 disclose the memory device according to claim 1, further comprising:
insulating plugs (see J1 Fig. 3 element 114 and see [0044] “The gate capping pattern 114 may fill the gate trench 110t that remains after the gate electrode 112 and the gate capping conductive film 113 are formed”), disposed on the word lines, and respectively extending along one of the word lines (see [0044]).
16. Claims 1 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (US 2022/0262803 A1), hereinafter as J1, in view of Seo et al. (US 2008/0079070 A1), hereinafter as S1
17. Regarding Claim 1, J1 discloses a memory device (see in particular Figs. 1-3 and [0011] “memory device”), comprising:
active regions (element ACT regions between elements 105, see [0026] “active regions ACT may be defined by an element separation film 105 formed inside the substrate 100”), defined in a semiconductor substrate (element 100, see [0026]) by an isolation structure (element 105, see [0026]), and are arranged as an array (see Fig. 1) along a first direction (first D2 direction) and a second direction (second D1 direction), wherein each of the active regions extends along a third direction (third D3 direction) intersected with the first direction and the second direction (see Fig. 1); and
word lines (elements WL,112, see [0028] “word line WL” and see [0040] “the gate electrode 112 may correspond to the word line WL”), formed in the semiconductor substrate (see Fig. 3), and extending through the active regions along the second direction (see Figs. 1, 3),
wherein the active regions are arranged along the second direction (see Fig. 1).
J1 does not explicitly disclose wherein the active regions are arranged in pairs, the active regions in the same pair are closely adjacent to each other by a first spacing, adjacent pairs of the active regions are separated from each other by a second spacing greater than the first spacing, a featured portion of each active region right below an intersecting one of the word lines has a first side closely adjacent to the other active region in the same pair by the first spacing as well as a second side separated from an adjacent pair of the active regions by the second spacing, and has a inclined top surface ascending from the second side to the first side.
S1 discloses (see Figs. 1-11 in particular see Fig. 10 and [0040] “The data storage element 136 may be a data storage unit of a volatile memory device”) wherein the active regions are arranged in pairs (two regions in the active region area of element 203a selected as a left half and right half with a small space between, see [0042] “active region 203a” – note, the manner in which the claim is currently recited does not provide specific boundaries which define the pairs of active regions such as to distinguish from the prior art of record), the active regions in the same pair are closely adjacent to each other by a first spacing (small space between the left half and right half arbitrarily determined as the two regions do not have claimed boundaries), adjacent pairs of the active regions are separated from each other by a second spacing greater than the first spacing (separated by an entire width of elements 209 see Fig. 1, 10), a featured portion (left element C2, C3 portion) of each active region right below an intersecting one of the word lines (element 224 intersecting the active region element 203a) has a first side (selected as a right side) closely adjacent to the other active region (selected as the right element N1) in the same pair by the first spacing as well as a second side (selected as a left side) separated from an adjacent pair of the active regions by the second spacing, and has a inclined top surface ascending from the second side to the first side (see Fig. 10 the left second side has a top surface which is slanted upwards such that it is ascending in height from the second left side to the first right side).
The shape of the upper surface of the active layer as taught by S1 is incorporated as a shape of the upper surface of the active layer of J1.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to incorporate the teachings of S1 with J1 because the combination provides a greater effective channel width and can improve on-current characteristics, body effect, and sub-threshold swing characteristics of a transistor as well as a short channel effect (see S1 [0051]); furthermore, the combination is simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results – simple substitution of one known upper surface of an active layer in a similar memory device for another to obtain predictable results (see S1 Fig. 10 and [0051]).
18. Regarding Claim 5, J1, S1 disclose the memory device according to claim 1, wherein (see S1 Fig. 10) the word lines extend to the first side of the featured portion of each active region by a first depth (first ride side portion of element C3), and extend to the second side of the featured portion of each active region by a second depth greater than the first depth (second left side portion of element C2) (element C2 left side portion has a greater depth than right side element C3 portion depth for element 224).
19. Regarding Claim 6, J1, S1 disclose the memory device according to claim 1, wherein the featured portion of each active region is an asymmetric structure (see S1 Fig. 10 left element C2 and C3 portions are asymmetric).
Conclusion
/SAMUEL PARK/Examiner, Art Unit 2818