DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 03/02/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-20 are cancelled pursuant to Applicant’s amendment filed on 03/02/2026. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/02/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hsu (US-20200411576-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hsu teaches an image sensor package (Fig.1 2; ¶0041) comprising:
an optically transmissive cover (Fig.1 6; ¶0042) comprising a groove (Fig.1 20; ¶0044) along an entire perimeter (see Fig.2) of the optically transmissive cover (6);
an image sensor die (Fig.1 4; ¶0042);
an adhesive material (¶0040) coupling the optically transmissive cover (6) to the image sensor die (4); and
a mold compound (Fig.1 16; ¶0042) contacting sidewalls of the image sensor die (4), contacting the adhesive material (¶0040), and extending into the groove (20).
Regarding claim 7, Hsu teaches the package of claim 1, wherein the groove (20) is located adjacent a largest planar side (top center surface) of the optically transmissive cover (6) that is opposite a largest planar side (bottom surface) that faces the image sensor die (4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu in view of Lee et al. (US-20250038058-A1 – hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 2, Hsu teaches the package of claim 1.
Hsu does not teach the package further comprising a substrate coupled to the image sensor die.
Lee teaches a substrate (Fig.2j 120; ¶0052 of Lee) for coupling electronic components through both land grid array connections and conductive bumps (¶0052 of Lee).
It would be obvious to attach the image sensor package of Hsu (2 of Hsu) to a substrate like that of Lee (120 of Lee) with either land grid array or ball grid array (conductive bumps) connections for various applications. Substrates and both package connection types are well known in the art.
Regarding claim 3, the aforementioned combination of Hsu in view of Lee from claim 2 teaches the package of claim 2, wherein the substrate (120 of Lee) comprises a ball grid array (¶0052 of Lee).
Regarding claim 4, the aforementioned combination of Hsu in view of Lee from claim 2 teaches the package of claim 2, wherein the substrate (120 of Lee) comprises a land grid array (¶0052 of Lee).
Regarding claim 5, the aforementioned combination of Hsu in view of Lee from claim 2 teaches the package of claim 2, wherein an outer edge of the package (2 of Hsu) comprises only mold compound (16 of Hsu) and the substrate (120 of Lee).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu in view of Punzalan et al. (US-20220093664-A1 – hereinafter Punzalan).
Regarding claim 6, Hsu teaches the package of claim 1.
Hsu does not teach wherein a plurality of wire bonds are located in the adhesive material.
Punzalan teaches an image sensor package (Fig.1b; ¶0017 of Punzalan) with a sensor die (Fig.1b 130; ¶0022 of Punzalan) having wire bonds (Fig.1b 164; ¶0026 of Punzalan) located in an adhesive (Fig.1b 143; ¶0029 of Punzalan).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the image sensor die of Hsu (4 of Hsu) connected with wire bonds (164 of Punzalan) to arrive at the claimed invention. This modification is obvious because it is a matter of design choice, and the modified wire bonds (164 of Punzalan) must pass through the adhesive (¶0040 of Hsu) to be implemented.
Conclusion
/T.J.K./ Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/ELISEO RAMOS FELICIANO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817