DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 14-15, 17, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhamu ‘052 (U.S. PGPub 2018/0183052) in view of Visco ‘386 (U.S. PGPub 20080057386).
Claim 1 – Zhamu ‘052 teaches a composition comprising a precursor and a liquid solvent (Zhamu ‘052 discloses a liquid solvent as part of an electrolyte solution, said liquid solvent being chosen from ionic liquids, at PG 0126-0130. Combinations of anions and cations sufficient to make room temperature ionic liquids are disclosed at PG 0129, e.g. tetraalkylammonium and tetrachloroaluminum).
Zhamu ‘052 does not expressly disclose that the room temperature ionic liquids enabled therein have the required maximum vapor pressure. Zhamu ‘052 also does not expressly disclose a precursor in the solution commensurate with the claims.
Visco ‘386 is drawn to ionically conductive membranes for use in active metal batteries, e.g. lithium-sulfur batteries (PG 0042). Visco ‘382 teaches that borazine is a useful inclusion in lithium-sulfur batteries for its capability to react with the active metal electrode, e.g. lithium, to produce a chemically stable material against the active electrode which still possesses desired ionic conductivity (PG 0046). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made or filed to have modified the invention of Zhamu ‘052 to include borazine in the electrolyte composition thereof as suggested by Visco ‘386, as both references are drawn to the formation of lithium-sulfur batteries and Visco ‘386 discloses advantageous properties derived from the presence of borazine in this type of battery.
As regards the specific material properties required of the precursor (borazine) and the solvent (ionic liquid), all materials presently used in the present rejection are materials disclosed to be commensurate with the required specific material properties. Examiner finds a prima facie case of obviousness that the cited material properties are present in the combined material disclosed by the prior art, as a material and its properties are inseparable and all cited materials are asserted by Applicant to have commensurate material properties with the claims.
Zhamu ‘052 / Visco ‘386 do not expressly disclose or suggest the limitation wherein a concentration of the precursor in the composition is below a critical concentration above which thermal polymerization or self-condensation of the precursor occurs. Examiner finds this feature to be necessarily present in any composition where the material is in a precursor form; a polymerized or condensed compound is not fairly held as a precursor material but as a reaction product.
Claim 2 – Zhamu ‘052 / Visco ‘386 renders obvious the composition according to claim 1, wherein the liquid solvent comprises an ionic liquid (Zhamu ‘052 PG 0129).
Claim 3 – Zhamu ‘052 / Visco ‘386 renders obvious the composition according to claim 2, wherein the ionic liquid comprises a cation selected from
wherein x is 0 or 1, and wherein R1, R2, R3, and R4 are independently selected from a hydrocarbyl (Zhamu ‘052 recites tetraalkylammonium, di- and trialkylimidazolium, alkylpyridinium, dialkyl-pyrrolidinium, dialkylpiperidinium, tetraalkylphosphonium, and trialkylsulfonium at PG 0129; this corresponds to i), ii), iii), iv) (x=0), iv) (x=1), v), and vi) respectively; unsubstituted alkyls are hydrocarbyls).
Claim 4 – Zhamu ‘052 / Visco ‘386 renders obvious the composition according to claim 2, wherein the ionic liquid comprises an anion selected from CF3CO2-, N(CN)2-, C(CN3)3-, SeCN-, CuCl2, and AlCl4- (Zhamu ‘052 PG 0129).
Claim 5 – Zhamu ‘052 / Visco ‘386 renders obvious the composition according to claim 2, wherein the ionic liquid comprises an anion, the anion being selected from a boron-containing anion, a phosphorous-containing anion, and a sulphur-containing anion (Zhamu ‘052 PG 0129).
Claim 6 – Zhamu ‘052 / Visco ‘386 renders obvious the composition according to claim 5, wherein:
the boron-containing anion being selected from a list consisting of BF4-, B(CN4)-, CH3BF3-, CH2CHBF3-, CF3BF3-, C2F5BF3-, n-C3F7BF3-, and n-C4F9BF3- (Zhamu ‘052 PG 0129),
the phosphorous-containing anion being selected from PF6- (Zhamu ‘052 PG 0129), and
the sulphur-containing anion being selected from a list consisting of CF3SO3-, N(SO2CF3)2-, N(COCF3)(SO2CF3)-, N(SO2F)2-, and SCN- (Zhamu ‘052 PG 0129).
Claim 9 – Zhamu ‘052 / Visco ‘386 renders obvious the composition according to claim 2, wherein the ionic liquid has a formula according to formula
wherein R1 and R2 are hydrocarbyls (Zhamu ‘052 PG 0129, dialkylimidazolium and N(SO2CF3)2- both disclosed).
Claim 10 – Zhamu ‘052 / Visco ‘386 renders obvious the composition according to claim 9, wherein R1 and R2 are alkyls (Zhamu ‘052 PG 0129, dialkylimidazolium).
Claim 11 – Zhamu ‘052 / Visco ‘386 renders obvious the composition according to claim 10, wherein R1 is methyl and R2 is ethyl (Zhamu ‘052 PG 0129, dialkylimidazolium; methyl and ethyl are the two simplest alkyls so selection thereof is held as prima facie obvious in the absence of unexpected results derived from the selection.
Claim 14 – Zhamu ‘052 / Visco ‘386 renders obvious the composition according to claim 1, wherein the precursor comprises a heterocyclic compound (Visco ‘386 PG 0046, borazine).
Claim 15 – Zhamu ‘052 / Visco ‘386 renders obvious the composition according to claim 1, wherein the precursor comprises a heterocyclic compound, and wherein the heterocyclic compound comprises one or more bonds selected from a boron-nitrogen bond (Visco ‘386 PG 0046, borazine).
Claim 17 – Zhamu ‘052 / Visco ‘386 renders obvious the composition according to claim 15, wherein the heterocyclic compound is borazine or a borazine derivative (Visco ‘386 PG 0046, borazine).
Claim 21 – Zhamu ‘052 / Visco ‘386 renders obvious the composition of claim 1, but does not expressly teach or suggest wherein the concentration of the precursor in the composition is between 1 mole percent to 70 mole percent. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. See further MPEP 2144.05(II)A. Selection of a precursor composition commensurate with the claim is held as prima facie obvious in the absence of critical or unexpected results derived from the selection .
Claim 22 – Zhamu ‘052 / Visco ‘386 renders obvious the composition of claim 1, but does not expressly teach or suggest wherein the vapor pressure of the liquid solvent is at least 103 times lower than a vapor pressure of the precursor. All materials presently used in the present rejection are materials disclosed to be commensurate with the required specific material properties. Examiner finds a prima facie case of obviousness that the cited material properties are present in the combined material disclosed by the prior art, as a material and its properties are inseparable and all cited materials are asserted by Applicant to have commensurate material properties with the claims.
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhamu ‘052 / Visco ‘386 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Paine ‘295 (U.S. Patent 5,204,295).
Claim 12 – Zhamu ‘052 / Visco ‘386 renders obvious the composition according to claim 1, but does not fairly teach or suggest wherein the solvent comprises a liquid polymer. Paine ‘295 is drawn to borazine compositions for forming e.g. boron nitride coatings (Abstract) and teaches that polyether compounds are known solvents for borazine derivatives (Column 7 Lines 20 – 37). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made or filed to have modified the invention of Zhamu ‘052 / Visco ‘386 to include e.g. polyethers in the borazine composition as suggested by Paine ‘295, as Zhamu ‘052 / Visco ‘386 want to form stable solutions comprising borazine and Paine ‘295 teaches solvents known for the purpose.
Claim 13 – Zhamu ‘052 / Visco ‘386 / Paine ‘295 renders obvious the composition according to claim 12, wherein the liquid polymer is a polyether (Paine ‘295 Column 7 Lines 20-24).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhamu ‘052 / Visco ‘386 as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Ahn ‘675 (U.S. PGPub 2018/0200675).
Claim 16 – Zhamu ‘052 / Visco ‘386 renders obvious the composition according to claim 15, but does not fairly teach or suggest wherein the heterocyclic compound further comprises a silicon-silicon bond. Ahn ‘675 is drawn to removing volatile compounds from emulsions (Abstract) and discloses that in solutions comprising ionic liquids, cyclosilanes are known additives to help remove volatile compounds (PG 0086). Ahn ‘675 also renders obvious alkylated cyclosilanes in the same paragraph. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made or filed to have modified the invention of Zhamu ‘052 / Visco ‘386 to include e.g. alkylated cyclosilanes in the borazine composition as suggested by Ahn ‘675, as Zhamu ‘052 / Visco ‘386 teach an electrolyte compound that depends on purity to maintain its potency over time and Ahn ’675 teaches that e.g. alkylated cyclosilanes are known compounds to remove volatile compounds from compositions. Cyclosilanes have silicon-silicon bonds as the cyclo structure and the alkylation yields silicon-carbon bonds, commensurate with both Claims 15 and 16.
Claim(s) 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitada ‘851 (U.S. PGPub 2007/0045851) / Uhlenbrock ‘187 (U.S. PGPub 2001/0045187), and further in view of Zhamu ‘052 / Visco ‘386 as applied to claim 1 above.
Claim 18 – Zhamu ‘052 / Visco ‘386 renders obvious the composition according to claim 1, but does not fairly teach or suggest a method of storing a precursor in a precursor vessel, the method comprising:
providing a precursor vessel comprising a composition according to claim 1; and,
maintaining the composition at a temperature of at least 10°C to at most 50°C for a duration of at least one week to at most one year.
Kitada ‘851 is drawn to manufacturing methods for semiconductor devices (Title, PG 0003) inclusive of the formation of e.g. adhesion layers made of e.g. boron (PG 0070). PG 0071 discloses that borazine is a known precursor of boron and that the adhesion layers may be performed by a CVD process.
Uhlenbrock ‘187 is drawn to CVD methods and apparatuses (Title, Abstract, e.g. Figure 1, PG 0011, PG 0034-0044 broadly). Uhlenbrock ‘187 specifically focuses on CVD precursor solutions wherein a deposition precursor is dissolved in an ionic liquid (PG 0028). Notably, the ionic liquid components discussed in PG 0012 – PG 0023 share multiple commonalities with the ionic liquid components discussed at Zhamu ‘052 PG 0129.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made or filed to have modified the invention of Kitada ‘851 to utilize the CVD apparatus of Uhlenbrock ‘187 for the CVD process of Kitada ‘851, and further to use the composition described by Zhamu ‘052 / Visco ‘386 as the precursor source for the CVD process of Kitada ‘851. Kitada ‘851 wants to perform CVD processes to form adhesion layers from borazine; Uhlenbrock ‘187 discloses a particular CVD apparatus which preferably utilizes precursor solutions comprising ionic liquids; Zhamu ‘052 / Visco ‘386 render obvious an ionic liquid solution comprising borazine which is broadly compatible with the ionic liquids disclosed in Uhlenbrock ‘187.
In the combination, the precursor solution is disposed in element 42 of Uhlenbrock ‘187 (PG 0036). Thermal control of the precursor solution is disclosed in PG 0036; a desirable property of the precursor solution is that it is liquid at ambient temperatures (PG 0030). Selection of appropriate storage conditions for the precursor solution are held as prima facie obvious in the absence of unexpected results derived from the selection.
Claim 20 – Zhamu ‘052 / Visco ‘386 renders obvious the composition according to claim 1, but does not fairly teach or suggest a precursor vessel comprising a container and a composition according to claim 1.
Kitada ‘851 is drawn to manufacturing methods for semiconductor devices (Title, PG 0003) inclusive of the formation of e.g. adhesion layers made of e.g. boron (PG 0070). PG 0071 discloses that borazine is a known precursor of boron and that the adhesion layers may be performed by a CVD process.
Uhlenbrock ‘187 is drawn to CVD methods and apparatuses (Title, Abstract, e.g. Figure 1, PG 0011, PG 0034-0044 broadly). Uhlenbrock ‘187 specifically focuses on CVD precursor solutions wherein a deposition precursor is dissolved in an ionic liquid (PG 0028). Notably, the ionic liquid components discussed in PG 0012 – PG 0023 share multiple commonalities with the ionic liquid components discussed at Zhamu ‘052 PG 0129.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made or filed to have modified the invention of Kitada ‘851 to utilize the CVD apparatus of Uhlenbrock ‘187 for the CVD process of Kitada ‘851, and further to use the composition described by Zhamu ‘052 / Visco ‘386 as the precursor source for the CVD process of Kitada ‘851. Kitada ‘851 wants to perform CVD processes to form adhesion layers from borazine; Uhlenbrock ‘187 discloses a particular CVD apparatus which preferably utilizes precursor solutions comprising ionic liquids; Zhamu ‘052 / Visco ‘386 render obvious an ionic liquid solution comprising borazine which is broadly compatible with the ionic liquids disclosed in Uhlenbrock ‘187.
In the combination, the precursor solution is disposed in element 42 of Uhlenbrock ‘187 (PG 0036). The vessel of Uhlenbrock ‘187 with the precursor solution of Zhamu ‘052 / Visco ‘386 inside is commensurate with the claim limitations as presented.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitada ‘851 / Uhlenbrock ‘187 / Antonelli ‘694 (U.S. PGPub 2011/0244694), and further in view of Zhamu ‘052 / Visco ‘386 as applied to claim 1 above.
Claim 19 – Zhamu ‘052 / Visco ‘386 renders obvious the composition according to claim 1, but does not fairly teach or suggest a system comprising a reaction chamber, a substrate handling system, a precursor source, and a controller; wherein
the precursor source comprises a composition according to claim 1; and,
the controller is arranged for causing the system to provide a vapor to the reaction chamber, the vapor comprising the precursor comprised in the composition.
Kitada ‘851 is drawn to manufacturing methods for semiconductor devices (Title, PG 0003) inclusive of the formation of e.g. adhesion layers made of e.g. boron (PG 0070). PG 0071 discloses that borazine is a known precursor of boron and that the adhesion layers may be performed by a CVD process.
Uhlenbrock ‘187 is drawn to CVD methods and apparatuses (Title, Abstract, e.g. Figure 1, PG 0011, PG 0034-0044 broadly). Uhlenbrock ‘187 specifically focuses on CVD precursor solutions wherein a deposition precursor is dissolved in an ionic liquid (PG 0028). Notably, the ionic liquid components discussed in PG 0012 – PG 0023 share multiple commonalities with the ionic liquid components discussed at Zhamu ‘052 PG 0129.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made or filed to have modified the invention of Kitada ‘851 to utilize the CVD apparatus of Uhlenbrock ‘187 for the CVD process of Kitada ‘851, and further to use the composition described by Zhamu ‘052 / Visco ‘386 as the precursor source for the CVD process of Kitada ‘851. Kitada ‘851 wants to perform CVD processes to form adhesion layers from borazine; Uhlenbrock ‘187 discloses a particular CVD apparatus which preferably utilizes precursor solutions comprising ionic liquids; Zhamu ‘052 / Visco ‘386 render obvious an ionic liquid solution comprising borazine which is broadly compatible with the ionic liquids disclosed in Uhlenbrock ‘187.
In the combination, Uhlenbrock ‘187 discloses a system comprising a reaction chamber (PG 0034, process (deposition) chamber 10), a substrate handling system (PG 0035, electrical resistance 18 on which substrate 16 is mounted), and a precursor source (PG 0036, vessel 42).
Antonelli ‘694 is drawn to CVD deposition processes of boron containing films (Abstract, PG 0015) and apparatuses related thereto (PG 0039). The apparatus disclosed thereafter comprises a system controller (PG 0045-0050) to control all reactor activities (PG 0046). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made or filed to have modified the invention of Kitada ‘851 / Uhlenbrock ‘187 / Zhamu ‘052 / Visco ‘386 to incorporate the reactor controller of Antonelli ‘691, as Kitada ‘851 / Uhlenbrock ‘187 want to supply CVD precursors to a reactor chamber and Antonelli ‘694 discloses controllers suitable for enabling said supply of CVD precursors.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 16 JUL 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As regards Applicant’s argument regarding the concentration as amended in Claim 1, Examiner finds this feature to be necessarily present in any composition where the material is in a precursor form; a polymerized or condensed compound is not fairly held as a precursor material but as a reaction product.
As regards Applicant’s argument regarding proper combination of the references, Examiner notes that both references are drawn to the formation of lithium-sulfur batteries and that Visco ‘386 teaches advantages to the presence of borazine in lithium-sulfur batteries; the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use has supported prima facie obviousness determinations in the past. See further MPEP 2144.07.
As regards Applicant’s argument regarding technical reasoning, the basis of the rejection was not that the references taught the claimed properties, but rather that the references taught materials which Applicant discloses in their specification are suitable materials to perform the invention as claimed. As per MPEP 2112.01(II), "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.” This means that if Applicant is asserting a material as a suitable material for the practice of the invention as claimed, and the claims require certain material properties of the asserted material, either the assertion is incorrect or the asserted material found elsewhere necessarily has the material properties.
Applicant provides no other specific arguments for the patentability of claims other than dependency from an assertedly allowable Claim 1 and the features of those claims; the features having been addressed above and the arguments for the allowability of Claim 1 having been rebutted, Examiner maintains the rejection of all claims listed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL G MILLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712