Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1,3-6,8,13-16,18,21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20150076557 A1 (Salcedo).
Regarding claim 1, Salcedo shows (Fig. 3C) an electrostatic discharge (ESD) protection circuit, comprising:
a silicon controlled rectifier (51+61, para 96) comprising a first well (43 left, para 84) of a first conductivity type (n) in a substrate (49, para 80), and a first doped region (44a, para 90) of a second conductivity type (p) and a first tap region (45d, para 9)0 of the first conductivity type in the first well, the second conductivity type having an opposite polarity to the first conductivity type; and
a resistor (70, para 96) external to the silicon controlled rectifier,
wherein the first doped region is coupled to a first pad (2, para 96) that is an input/output pad (IO, para 96), and the first tap region is coupled to a second pad (4, para 96) that is a power pad (VDD1) different from the first pad through the resistor, wherein the resistor has a predetermined resistance value.
Salcedo is silent regarding “the resistor has a predetermined resistance value to establish direct-current biasing of the first well while retaining alternating-current swing on the first well”.
A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Here Salcedo teaches all the structural limitations.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claim 3, Salcedo shows (Fig. 3C), further comprising a second well (42a, para 97) of the second conductivity type (p) adjacent to the first well (43 left), and a second tap region (44b, para 90) of the second conductivity type in the second well, wherein the second tap region is coupled to ground (3b, ground or VSS1 or low supply node, para 90).
Regarding claim 4, Salcedo shows (Fig. 3C) further comprising a second doped region (45a, para 90) of the first conductivity type (n) in the second well (42a, para 97), the second doped region is coupled to ground (3a, ground or VSS1 or second low supply node, para 94), wherein the first doped region (44a) forms an anode (2 to 44a, para 114, Fig. 6) and the second doped region (45a) forms a cathode (3a to 45a, para 114, Fig. 6) of the silicon controlled rectifier.
Regarding claim 5, Salcedo shows the resistor (70) wherein the predetermined resistance value is between about 10k ohms to about 1G ohms (10k, para 96).
Regarding claim 6, Salcedo shows wherein the resistor (70) is adjacent to the silicon controlled rectifier and arranged over the substrate (49).
Regarding claim 8, Salcedo shows wherein the first conductivity type is n-type and the second conductivity type is p-type.
Regarding claim 13, Salcedo shows (Fig. 3C) an electrostatic discharge (ESD) protection circuit, comprising:
a substrate (49, para 80);
a silicon controlled rectifier (51+61, para 96) comprising a first well (43 left, para 84) of a first conductivity type (n) in the substrate, and a first doped region (44a, para 90) of a second conductivity type (p) and a first tap region (45d, para 90) of the first conductivity type in the first well, the second conductivity type having an opposite polarity to the first conductivity type, wherein the first doped region is coupled to an input/output pad (2, IO, para 96); and
an external resistor (70, para 96) adjacent to the silicon controlled rectifier, the resistor is arranged over the substrate, wherein the first tap region is coupled to a power pad (4, VDD1, para 96) through the resistor, and the resistor has a predetermined resistance value.
Salcedo is silent regarding the resistor has a predetermined resistance value to establish direct-current biasing of the first well while retaining alternating-current swing on the first well.
A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Here Salcedo teaches all the structural limitations.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claim 14, Salcedo shows the resistor (70) wherein the predetermined resistance value is between about 10k ohms to about 1G ohms (10k, para 96).
Regarding claim 15, Salcedo shows (Fig. 3C) further comprising a second well (42a, para 97) of the second conductivity adjacent to the first well (43 left), a second tap region (44b) of the second conductivity type (p) and a second doped region (45a) of the first conductivity type in the second well, wherein the second tap region and the second doped region are coupled to ground (3a, Vss1 and 3b, Vss1).
Regarding claim 16, Salcedo shows (Fig. 3C) a method of forming a device, comprising:
providing a substrate (49, para 80) prepared with a silicon controlled rectifier (para 96), the silicon controlled rectifier including a first well (43 left, para 84) of a first conductivity type (n) in the substrate, and a first doped region (44a, para 90) of a second conductivity type (p) and a first tap region (45d, para 90) of the first conductivity type in the first well;
coupling the first doped region to a first pad that is an input/output pad (2, para 96); and
coupling the first tap region to a second pad that is a power pad different from the first pad (4, para 94) through a resistor (70, para 96) external to the silicon controlled rectifier, wherein the resistor has a predetermined resistance value.
Salcedo is silent regarding the resistor has a predetermined resistance value to establish direct-current biasing of the first well while retaining alternating-current swing on the first well.
A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Here Salcedo teaches all the structural limitations.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claim 18, Salcedo shows (Fig. 3C) wherein the resistor (70) is arranged over the substrate (49).
Regarding claim 21, Salcedo shows the resistor (70) wherein the predetermined resistance value is between about 10k ohms to about 1M ohms (10k, para 96).
2. Claim(s) 7,19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salcedo as applied to claim 1 or 16 above, further in view of US 20140167218 A1 (Mallikarjunaswamy).
Regarding claim 7, Salcedo shows the silicon controlled rectifier, the substrate and the resistor.
Salcedo does not show further comprising an isolation region adjacent to the silicon controlled rectifier in the substrate, wherein the resistor is arranged on the isolation region.
Mallikarjunaswamy shows (Fig. 6) further comprising an isolation region (255, insulation, para 37), wherein the resistor (250, resistor made of polysilicon layer, para 37) is arranged on the isolation region.
Salcedo in combination with Mallikarjunaswamy teaches the isolation region adjacent to the silicon controlled rectifier in the substrate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at or before the effective filing date of the invention was made, to add the invention of Mallikarjunaswamy, with resistor on isolation region above SCR, to the invention of Salcedo.
The motivation to do so is that the combination produces the predictable result of thermal protection of the SCR from the resistor in operation.
Regarding claim 19, Salcedo shows the silicon controlled rectifier, the substrate and the resistor.
Salcedo does not show wherein the substrate comprises an isolation region adjacent to the silicon controlled rectifier in the substrate, and further comprising forming the resistor on the isolation region.
Mallikarjunaswamy shows (Fig. 6) wherein the substrate comprises an isolation region (255, insulation, para 37), and further comprising forming the resistor (250, resistor made of polysilicon layer, para 37) on the isolation region.
Salcedo in combination with Mallikarjunaswamy teaches the isolation region adjacent to the silicon controlled rectifier in the substrate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at or before the effective filing date of the invention was made, to add the invention of Mallikarjunaswamy, with resistor on isolation region above SCR, to the invention of Salcedo.
The motivation to do so is that the combination produces the predictable result of thermal protection of the SCR from the resistor in operation.
3. Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salcedo as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of US 20110309466 A1 (Nanba).
Regarding claim 9, Salcedo shows the resistor comprises a layer of resistive material.
Salcedo does not show the resistor comprises a silicide block layer on a layer of resistive material.
Nanba shows (Fig. 2) the resistor comprises a silicide block layer (17, para 76) on a layer of resistive material (6, para 76).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at or before the effective filing date of the invention was made, to add the invention of Nanba, with silicide block layer, to the invention of Salcedo.
The motivation to do so is that the selection of an art recognized silicide block layer is suitable for the intended use of Salcedo (MPEP §2144.07).
Regarding claim 10, Salcedo as modified with Nanba shows the layer of resistive material comprises polysilicon (Nanba, para 42).
4. Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salcedo in view of Mallikarjunaswamy as applied to claim 19 above, further in view of Nanba.
Regarding claim 20, Salcedo in view of Mallikarjunaswamy shows the resistor comprises forming a layer of resistive material on the isolation region.
Salcedo in view of Mallikarjunaswamy does not show forming a silicide block layer on the layer of resistive material.
Nanba shows (Fig. 2) forming a silicide block layer (17, para 76) on the layer of resistive material (6, para 76).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at or before the effective filing date of the invention was made, to add the invention of Nanba, with silicide block layer, to the invention of Salcedo.
The motivation to do so is that the selection of an art recognized silicide block layer is suitable for the intended use of Salcedo in view of Mallikarjunaswamy (MPEP §2144.07).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1,13,16 have been considered but are moot because the amendment does not provide any structural difference to the prior art presented above. As such, it is presented as a final.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WASIUL HAIDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812