DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-15) in the reply filed on 11/03/2025 is acknowledged.
3. Claims 16-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/03/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the second reaction chamber" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether “the second reaction chamber” is referred to “a second chamber” or not.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the second reaction chamber" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether “the second reaction chamber” is referred to “a second chamber” or not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1, 3-7, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Su et al. (US 2021/0134595 A1).
As to claim 1, Su discloses a method of forming a mandrel, the method comprising
providing a substrate (201) to a reaction chamber, the substrate comprising a material layer;
the substrate further comprising a structure, the structure comprising a distal portion (202), a proximal portion (top surface 220), and two substantially parallel sidewalls (See Fig 8, paragraph 0049-0056)
and carrying out a plurality of etching cycles, ones from the plurality of etching cycles comprising subsequently executing a conversion pulse and a volatilization pulse, wherein:
the conversion pulse comprises exposing the substrate to a conversion reactant, thereby forming a converted surface layer on the sidewalls (paragraph 0064-0071, Fig 18); and
the volatilization pulse comprises exposing the substrate to a volatilization reactant, thereby volatilizing the converted surface layer, thereby thinning the structure to form a mandrel (paragraph 0072-0086, Fig 18).
As to claim 3, Su discloses wherein the distal portion comprises a distal layer (202), the distal layer overlying the material layer (201); the proximal portion of the structure comprises a proximal layer (top surface 220); and the structure further comprising a core layer (210), the core layer (210) being positioned between the distal layer (202) and the proximal layer (top surface 220), two edges of the core layer forming the sidewalls (See Fig 8-9, paragraph 0049-0057).
As to claim 4, Su discloses wherein the distal layer (202) and the proximal layer (220) have a first composition (such as silicon oxide or silicon nitride; See paragraph 0050, 0056), wherein the core layer (210) has a second composition, wherein the first composition and the second composition are different (silicon oxide or silicon nitride (first composition) vs. amorphous silicon (second composition); See paragraph 0050, 0054, 0056).
As to claim 5, Su discloses the distal (202) and the proximal layer (220) substantially consisting of silicon oxide (paragraph 0050, 0056) and the core layer (210) substantially consisting of amorphous silicon (paragraph 054).
As to claim 6, Su discloses the conversion reactant comprises an oxygen reactant (paragraph 0066).
As to claim 7, Su discloses the oxygen reactant is selected from O2 (paragraph 0066).
As to claim 11, Su discloses a distance between the distal portion (top surface 220) and the proximal portion (202) is greater than the distance between the two substantially parallel sidewalls (i.e. width of core layer 210) (See Fig 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su et al. (US 2021/0134595 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of LaVoie et al. (US 2018/0308695 A1).
As to claim 2, Su discloses the etching cycles are repeated until a predetermined thickness of the structure has been removed from the sidewalls (paragraph 0075). As to claim 3, Su fails to disclose the predetermined thickness being from at least 1 nm to at most 10 nm. LaVoie discloses the etching cycles are repeated until a predetermined thickness of the structure has been removed from the sidewalls, wherein the predetermined thickness is between 0.1 nm to 50 nm, or 0.1 nm to 5 nm or 0.2 nm to 5 nm (paragraph 0048; Note: 5 nm is within applicant’s range of at least 1 nm to at most 10 nm). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Su in view of LaVoie by having a predetermined thickness of 5 nm because in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05(I)).
12. Claims 8-10, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su et al. (US 2021/0134595 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tan (US 2017/0229314 A1).
As to claim 8, Su fails to disclose the volatilization reactant comprises a fluorine species. However, Su clearly teaches to use volatilization reactant to remove the modified or passivation layer (paragraph 0075-0077). Tan teaches to remove the modification layer using fluorine species (paragraph 0060, 0106). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Su in view of Tan by using fluorine species because equivalent and substitution of one for the other would produce an expected result (See MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
As to claim 9, Su teaches to volatilization species are generated using a plasma (paragraph 00760078). As to claim 9, Su fails to teaches the fluorine species are generated using a plasma. Tan teaches fluorine species are generated using plasma to remove modified layer (paragraph 0060, 0106). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Su in view of Tan by generating fluorine species into a plasma because equivalent and substitution of one for the other would produce an expected result (See MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
As to claim 10, Su fails to disclose the fluorine species is selected from fluorine radical, fluoride ion, F2, HF and NF3. Tan discloses fluorine species is selected from fluorine (F2) and NF3 (nitrogen trifluoride) (See 0053, 0061, 0072, 0106). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Su in view of Tan by having fluorine species are selected from F2 and NF3 because equivalent and substitution of one for the other would produce an expected result (See MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
As to claim 12, Su discloses forming a mandrel on the substrate in the first reaction chamber by the method according to claim 1. Su fails to disclose a system comprises a first reaction chamber and a second chamber; providing a substrate to the second reaction chamber while keeping the substrate in a vacuum or while keeping the substrate in an inert gas and forming an etchable layer on the substrate in the second reaction chamber. Tan discloses a system comprises a first reaction chamber and a second chamber; providing a substrate to the second reaction chamber while keeping the substrate in a vacuum and forming an etchable layer on the substrate in the second reaction chamber (Fig 1A; Fig 5, paragraph 0014, 0026, 0035, 0106, 0109, 0119-0124). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Su in view of Tan by having a system comprises a first reaction chamber and a second chamber; providing a substrate to the second reaction chamber while keeping the substrate in a vacuum and forming an etchable layer on the substrate in the second reaction chamber because using plurality of chambers to perform different steps are well known in the art in order to reduce processing time.
Allowable Subject Matter
13. Claim 13 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
14. Claims 14-15 allowed.
15. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 13, the cited prior arts fail to disclose or suggest etching the etchable layer by a directional etch; and selectively etching the mandrel vis-à-vis the etchable layer and the material layer, thereby forming the spacer in combination with all other limitations in the claim.
As to claim 14, the cited prior arts fail to disclose or suggest etching the patternable layer in one of the exposed areas and the unexposed areas, thereby forming a plurality of structures on the substrate; removing the photosensitive layer from the substrate; forming a plurality of spacers on the substrate by the method according to claim 1; and selectively etching the patternable layer vis-à-vis the plurality of spacers, thereby forming a patterned layer on the substrate in combination with all other limitations in the claim.
As to claim 15, the cited prior arts fail to disclose or suggest forming a plurality of mandrels on the substrate by the method according to claim 1; and selectively etching the patternable layer vis-à-vis the plurality of mandrels, thereby forming a patterned layer on the substrate in combination with all other limitations in the claim.
Conclusion
BINH X. TRAN
Examiner
Art Unit 1713
/BINH X TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713