DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21-23 and 25-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references/or references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specifically, the Applicant has amended the claims to add the bipolar ESC chuck and the RF electrodes, such that the scope of the claims has changed, thus requiring further search and consideration. The resulting rejection, based on United States Patent Application No. 2014/0231389 to Nagami et al in view of United States Patent Application No. 2018/0350649 to Gomm is presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-23 and 26-30 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2014/0231389 to Nagami et al in view of United States Patent Application No. 2018/0350649 to Gomm.
In regards to Claim 21, Nagami teaches an apparatus Fig. 1, 2 for generic for specific measurement for preventing or suppressing arcing [0009-0017], comprising a processing chamber 10; a radiofrequency RF power source (28, 30), a substrate pedestal 12 for supporting a substrate W within the processing chamber; the substrate pedestal comprising an electrostatic chuck 38 and an RF electrode 12 [0053], a shower head 70 positioned within the processing chamber, the shower head arranged to dispense gas that is turned into a plasma within the processing chamber [0049], the plasma developing a DC self-bias potential on the substrate surface [0012-0017; 0055]; and a DC bias control system (the combination of 84+32+110+144+104) configured to apply a DC bias voltage via DC power source supply 104, 144 to the electrostatic chuck to suppress arcing/discharge between the substrate and the substrate pedestal [0008-0009; 0012-0165].
Nagami does not expressly teach a RF power source, the substrate pedestal comprising a pair of electrostatic chuck (ESC) clamping electrodes embedded in the substrate pedestal, and an RF electrode embedded in the substrate pedestal and provided around the pair of ESC clamping electrodes and between the ESC clamping electrodes of the pair of ESC clamping electrodes, wherein the pair of ESC clamping electrodes and the RF electrode are coupled to the RF source, the RF potential applied creates a plasma that the pair of the ESC clamping electrodes and the RF electrode.
Gomm teaches an apparatus Fig. 1, comprising a processing chamber 102; a radiofrequency (RF) source (RF energy cited in [0023], and combined with 110, 112, [0021]) wherein the lower RF electrode is preferably supplied with RF energy during processing); a substrate pedestal 106 for supporting a substrate within the processing chamber, the substrate pedestal comprising a pair of electrostatic chuck (ESC) clamping electrodes 304, 306 Fig. 5, 6 embedded in the substrate pedestal (as shown in Fig. 7, and an RF electrode 302, 302a embedded in the substrate pedestal and provided around the pair of ESC clamping electrodes and between the ESC clamping electrodes of the pair of ESC clamping electrodes (as shown in Fig. 6 where 302a connects two ends of the ring of 302), wherein the pair of ESC clamping electrodes and the RF electrode are coupled to the RF source [0034]; a shower head 104 positioned within the processing chamber, the shower head arranged to dispense gas that is turned into a plasma within the processing chamber in response to an RF potential applied to the pair of ESC clamping electrodes and the RF electrode by the RF source [0021-0026; 0018-0043].
Gomm teaches the substrate pedestal comprises a body of non-conductive ceramic material and wherein the pair of ESC clamping electrodes and the RF electrode embedded in the body (ceramic of aluminum nitride [0037]).
Gomm teaches that eliminating the power distribution electrodes arms using a power distribution electrode arms eliminates out of plane inductors and simplifies the manufacturing processing of the pedestal [0032].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have substituted the substrate pedestal of Nagami with separated ESC chuck/RF lower electrode with the substrate pedestal of Gomm with a sintered ESC chuck and RF combined electrode. One would be motivated to do so for the predictable result of to simplify the manufacture of the pedestal and eliminate out of plane inductors, as per the teachings of Gomm. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A.
The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim.
In regards to Claim 22, Nagami teaches the DC bias control system is further configured to apply the DC bias voltage to the RF electrode, as 84 is connected to 12.
In regards to Claims 23, Nagami in view of Gomm teaches the opposing clamping potentials applied to the ESC are adjusted by the DC bias voltage, as 84 and 104 are applied to the combined teachings of Nagami in view of Gomm and the resulting substrate pedestal therein.
In regards to Claims 26-27, Nagami teaches the DC bias voltage developed by the plasma and the substrate pedestal have a voltage differential of 10 volts or less or 0.1 volts or less, as the potential of the substrate is equal to the self-bias [0014], such that the difference is zero, a range that sufficiently fulfills the limitation of the claim.
In regards to Claim 28, Nagami in view of Gomm teaches the ESC clamping electrode of the pair of ESC clamping electrodes is D-shaped as shown in Fig. 5 of Gomm.
In regards to Claims 29 and 30, Nagami in view of Gomm teaches the substrate pedestal comprises a body made of a non-conductive ceramic material, and wherein the pair of ESC clamping electrodes and the RF electrode are embedded in the body, as per the teachings of Gomm, as Gomm teaches the substrate pedestal comprises a body of non-conductive ceramic material and wherein the pair of ESC clamping electrodes and the RF electrode embedded in the body (ceramic of aluminum nitride [0037]).
Claim(s) 21-23 and 26-30 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2014/0231389 to Nagami et al in view of United States Patent Application No. 2018/0350649 to Gomm, as per the rejection of Claim 21 above, and in further view of United States Patent Application No. 2005/0247265 to Devine et al.
The teachings of Nagami in view of Gomm are relied upon as set forth in the above 103 rejection.
In regards to Claim 25, Nagami in view of Gomm do not expressly teach the processing chamber further includes two or more substrate pedestals.
Devine teaches a plasma processing apparatus Fig. 10 with a single chamber 108 that is separated with a partition 160 that has two substrate pedestals 120, 122 [0011-0048]. Devine teaches this tandem processing apparatus allows for batch processing using the same or different processes and replacing the partition allows for modified exchange characteristics and different processes [0003-0015].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the apparatus of Nagami in view of Gomm, with the teachings of Device. One would be motivated to do so for the predictable result of being able to batch treat more than one substrate at a time or perform different processes by having a removable partition for the singular chamber. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A.
The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
/TIFFANY Z NUCKOLS/Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/Jeffrie R Lund/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716