DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I direct to Claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 01/28/2026 is acknowledged and is under consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 12/27/2023 is are in compliance with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities due to its dependency. Claim 15 cannot depend on itself. For the purpose of examination, claim 15 is interpreted and considered to be dependent on claim 14. The rationale behind the above interpretation is because of the fact that claim 15 recites, “the substrate is soluble in HF, HNO3 or a combination thereof” has been preceded by claim 14, recites, “the substrate is acid soluble”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shigeki Otani et al, (hereinafter OTANI), US 20060102924 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, OTANI teaches a device (Fig. 11, 10, semiconductor laser diode, or LD) comprising:
a semiconducting material comprising AlxGa1-xN where 0 < x < 1 (Fig. 11, 13, n-type Al0.1Ga0.9N layer (x=0.1; 1-x = 1-0.1=0.9) or 15, p-type ; Al0.1Ga0.9N layer (x=0.1; 1-x = 1-0.1=0.9), [0083])
a substrate having the formula MB2, wherein B is Boron and M is a metal comprising at least one of the group of Zr, Hf, Sc, Nb, Ta, Ti, V, Cr, Mn, Y, Mo, Mg, Al and U (Fig. 11, 1, single crystal substrate, ZrB2, [0081]).
Regarding Claim 2, OTANI teaches a device (Fig. 11, 10, semiconductor laser diode, or LD) comprising:
a semiconducting material comprising AlxX1-xN where 0 < x < 1; wherein X comprises at least one of the group of Ga, In, Sc, Gd, or a combination thereof (Fig. 11, 13, n-type Al0.1Ga0.9N layer (x=0.1; 1-x = 1-0.1=0.9) or 15, p-type ; Al0.1Ga0.9N layer (x=0.1; 1-x = 1-0.1=0.9), [0083]); and
a substrate having the formula MB2, wherein B is Boron and M is a metal comprising at least one of the group of Zr, Hf, Sc, Nb, Ta, Ti, V, Cr, Mn, Y, Mo, Mg, Al and U (Fig. 11, 1, single crystal substrate, ZrB2, [0081]).
Regarding Claim 3, OTANI teaches the device (Fig. 11, 10, semiconductor laser diode, or LD) of claim 1, wherein the substrate is selected from the group of ScB2, HfB2 and ZrB2 (Fig. 11, 1, single crystal substrate, ZrB2, [0081]).
Regarding Claim 4, OTANI teaches the device (Fig. 11, 10, semiconductor laser diode, or LD) of claim 1, wherein the semiconducting material (Fig. 11, 13, n-type Al0.1Ga0.9N layer (x=0.1; 1-x = 1-0.1=0.9) or 15, p-type ; Al0.1Ga0.9N layer (x=0.1; 1-x = 1-0.1=0.9), [0083]) is lattice matched along an in-plane direction (a-direction) (Fig. 2, a1/a2/a3 axis, based of hexagonal pole, [0054]) to the substrate (Fig. 11, 1, single crystal substrate, ZrB2, [0081]); wherein the substrate Fig. 11, 1, single crystal substrate, ZrB2, [0081]) has a lattice mismatch less than or equal to 1% for AlGaN (Fig. 1, lattice constant of ZrB2 (a = 3.1857 Å) and the lattice constant of AlGaN is the value between GaN (a = 3.189 Å) ) and AlN (a = 3.112 Å), [0060-0061]). [Note: Per the range of values given above, the lattice mismatch has been calculated and found to be in range between 0.6% and 1.79%; For the upper range, the calculation yields per formula: (aGaN-aZrB2)/aZrB2) x 100 = (3.189-3.1857)/3.1857 x 100 = 0.1%; and for the lower range, the calculation yields per formula: (aZrB2-aAlN)/aZrB2) x 100 ((3.1857-3.112)/3.1857 x 100 = 2.3%)].
Regarding Claim 7, OTANI teaches the device (Fig. 11, 10, semiconductor laser diode, or LD) of claim 1, wherein the substrate (Fig. 11, 1, single crystal substrate, ZrB2, [0081]) exhibits metallic or semimetallic electron transport and the substrate has a resistance less than or equal to .0001 Ωcm (ZrB2 substrate…has a good electrical conductivity, [0006, 0011, 0085, 0095]; ZrB2 substrate…has a specific resistance of several micro-Ohm.cm, [0062]).
Regarding Claim 9, OTANI teaches the device (Fig. 11, 10, semiconductor laser diode, or LD) of claim 1, wherein the device (Fig. 11, 10, semiconductor laser diode, or LD) contains an ultra-wide bandgap semiconductor (Fig. 11, 13, n-type Al0.1Ga0.9N layer (x=0.1; 1-x = 1-0.1=0.9) or 15, p-type ; Al0.1Ga0.9N layer (x=0.1; 1-x = 1-0.1=0.9), [0083]; NOTE: According to Wikipedia, [https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aluminum_gallium_nitride] AlGaN is a wide-bandgap semiconductor material).
Regarding Claim 10, OTANI teaches the device (Fig. 11, 10, semiconductor laser diode, or LD) of claim 1, wherein the device (Fig. 11, 10, semiconductor laser diode, or LD) has a vertical or pseudo-vertical orientation (Fig. 11, vertical structure, [0115]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OTANI, in view of Nobuaki Hayashi et al, (hereinafter HAYASHI), EP 1138062 B1.
Regarding Claim 5, OTANI teaches the device (Fig. 11, 10, semiconductor laser diode, or LD) of claim 1.
OTANI does not explicitly disclose the device, wherein the AlGaN has an Al mole fraction greater than or equal to 0.4.
HAYASHI teaches the device (Fig. 1, 10, deposition substrate), wherein the AlGaN (Fig. 1, 4/5, A has an AlGaN buffer layer/AlGaN single crystalline layer, [0015]) mole fraction greater than or equal to 0.4 (Fig. 1, AlxGa1-xN (where x is a mole fraction from zero to one (0 ≤ x ≤ 1)) / AlyGa1-yN (where y is a mole fraction from above zero to one (0 < y ≤ 1)), [0015]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified OTANI to incorporate the teachings of HAYASHI, such that the device, wherein the AlGaN has an Al mole fraction greater than or equal to 0.4, so that the smaller mole fraction of Al leads to keep the resistance of the multi-layer substrate relatively low (HAYASHI, [0016]).
Regarding Claim 6, OTANI teaches the device (Fig. 11, 10, semiconductor laser diode, or LD) of claim 1.
OTANI does not explicitly disclose the device, wherein the AlGaN has an Al mole fraction greater than or equal to 0.5.
HAYASHI teaches the device (Fig. 1, 10, deposition substrate), wherein the AlGaN (Fig. 1, 4/5, A has an AlGaN buffer layer/AlGaN single crystalline layer, [0015]) mole fraction greater than or equal to 0.5 (Fig. 1, AlxGa1-xN (where x is a mole fraction from zero to one (0 ≤ x ≤ 1)) / AlyGa1-yN (where y is a mole fraction from above zero to one (0 < y ≤ 1)), [0015]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified OTANI to incorporate the teachings of HAYASHI, such that the device, wherein the AlGaN has an Al mole fraction greater than or equal to 0.5, so that the smaller mole fraction of Al leads to keep the resistance of the multi-layer substrate relatively low (HAYASHI, [0016]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OTANI, in view of Ok Hyun Nam et al, (hereinafter NAM), US 20120205665 A1.
Regarding Claim 8, OTANI teaches the device (Fig. 11, 10, semiconductor laser diode, or LD) of claim 1.
OTANI does not explicitly disclose the device, wherein the semiconducting material has a vertical thickness greater than or equal to 1 µm.
NAM teaches the device (Fig. 7, 100, a semiconductor optical device, [0045]), wherein the semiconducting material (Fig. 7, 111, buffer layer, InxAlyGa1-x-yN (0≦x≦1, 0≦y≦1, 0≦x+y≦1), [0048]) has a vertical thickness greater than or equal to 1 µm (thickness of 10 to 20,000 Å, [0048]; 1Å = 1e-4 micrometer; 20,000 Å = 2 micrometer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified OTANI to incorporate the teachings of NAM, such that the device, wherein the semiconducting material has a vertical thickness greater than or equal to 1 µm, so that to improving the quantum efficiency, as a result, the brightness of the optical device may be improved (NAM, [0053]).
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OTANI, in view of Eric Frayssinet et al, (hereinafter FRAYSSINET), US 20070072320 A1.
Regarding Claim 11, OTANI teaches the device (Fig. 11, 10, semiconductor laser diode, or LD) of claim 1.
OTANI does not explicitly disclose the device, wherein the substrate is removable.
FRAYSSINET teaches the device (Fig. 17, optoelectronic device, [0065]), wherein the substrate (Fig. 17, the upper crystalline layer chosen among the group consisting of ZrB2, [0077]) is removable (Fig. 17, substrate can be removed using methods, [0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified OTANI to incorporate the teachings of FRAYSSINET, such that the device, wherein the substrate is removable, so that to reduce the strain from the difference in the thermal expansion coefficients between the nitride layer and the substrate (FRAYSSINET [0079]).
Regarding Claim 12, OTANI as modified by FRAYSSINET teaches the device (Fig. 11, 10, semiconductor laser diode, or LD) of claim 11.
FRAYSSINET further teaches the device (Fig. 17, optoelectronic device, [0065]), wherein the substrate (Fig. 17, the upper crystalline layer chosen among the group consisting of ZrB2, [0077]) is a thin film capable of removal via liftoff (Fig. 17, substrate can be removed using methods but not limited to laser lift off, H+ implantation, strained induced separation, [0079]).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OTANI, in view of FRAYSSINET, and further in view of John Kuvetakis et al, (hereinafter KOUVETAKIS), US 20110189838 A1.
Regarding Claim 13, OTANI as modified by FRAYSSINET teaches the device of claim 11.
OTANI as modified by FRAYSSINET does not explicitly disclose the device, wherein the substrate is a bulk substrate.
KUVETAKIS teaches the device (Fig. 1, semiconductor structure, [0016]), wherein the substrate is a bulk substrate (Figs. 8/13, bulk ZrB2 substrates, [0023], [0031], [0052]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have OTANI as modified by FRAYSSINET to incorporate the teachings of KUVETAKIS, such that the device, wherein the substrate is a bulk substrate, so that to reduce the lateral strain as a function of substrate thickness (KUVETAKIS, [0154]).
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OTANI, in view of FRAYSSINET, further in view of KUVETAKIS, and further in view of Jinuk Choi et al, (hereinafter CHOI), NPL: The effects of acid treatment of ZrB2 particles on their purity and aqueous dispersibility, Jinuk Choi, and Gye Seok An, Processes, 2022, 10, 18, https://doi.org/10.3390/pr10010018.
Regarding Claim 14, OTANI as modified by FRAYSSINET and KUVETAKIS teaches the device of claim 13.
OTANI as modified by FRAYSSINET and KUVETAKIS does not explicitly disclose the device, wherein the substrate is acid soluble.
CHOI teaches the device (Fig. 1, XRD patterns of ZrB2 particles), wherein the substrate (Fig. 1, ZrB2 particles, As-received and HF treated ZrB2 particles) is acid soluble (Fig. 1, ZrB2-HF treated shows XRD peak reduction from the as-received ZrB2 at angles 20-40 degrees).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have OTANI as modified by FRAYSSINET and KUVETAKIS to incorporate the teachings of CHOI, such that the device, wherein the substrate is acid soluble, so that HF-treated ZrB2 particles differ significantly from that of the as-received ZrB2 particles, and during acid treatment, HF dissolve ZrB2 particles, transform them from ZrB2 particles to oxide phases and thus HF treatments do not enhance the purity of ZrB2 particles (CHOI, Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 15, OTANI as modified by FRAYSSINET and KUVETAKIS teaches the device of claim 15.
OTANI as modified by FRAYSSINET and KUVETAKIS does not explicitly disclose the device, wherein the substrate is soluble in HF, HNO3 or a combination thereof.
CHOI teaches the device (Fig. 1, XRD patterns of ZrB2 particles), wherein the substrate (Fig. 1, ZrB2 particles, As-received and HF treated ZrB2 particles) is soluble in HF, HNO3 or a combination thereof (Fig. 1, ZrB2-HF treated shows XRD peak reduction from the as-received ZrB2 at angles 20-40 degrees).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have OTANI as modified by FRAYSSINET and KUVETAKIS to incorporate the teachings of CHOI, such that the device, wherein the substrate is soluble in HF, HNO3 or a combination thereof, so that HF-treated ZrB2 particles differ significantly from that of the as-received ZrB2 particles, and during acid treatment, HF dissolve ZrB2 particles, transform them from ZrB2 particles to oxide phases and thus HF treatments do not enhance the purity of ZrB2 particles (CHOI, Figure 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20080029773 A1 – Figure 5
STATEMENT OF RELEVANCE – The GEMM layer may comprise of refractory metals and/or metallic compounds, such as Group IVB metals Zr, Hf and the transition metal borides, ZrB2 HfB2, YB2 and their combinations thereof.
US 20020038892 A1 – Figure 7
STATEMENT OF RELEVANCE – Cross-sectional view of a GaN based light emission diode fabricated on a ZrB2 substrate.
/SESHA SAIRAMAN SRINIVASAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/CHRISTINE S. KIM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812