DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-7 and 14-26) in the reply filed on 04/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wakiyama et al. (U.S 2012/0313236 A1).
As to claim 21, Wakiyama et al. disclose in Fig. 7N a package structure, comprising:
a first bonding film (top “underfill resin” 18) formed on a first package component (top “semiconductor element” 11) (Fig. 7N, para. [0033]); a first alignment mark (top “alignment marks” 15) formed in the first bonding film (top “underfill resin” 18), wherein the first alignment mark (top “alignment marks” 15) comprises a plurality of first patterns (each top individual 15) spaced apart from each other (Fig. 7N, para. [0033]-[0034], [0041]-[0043]);
a second bonding film (bottom “underfill resin” 18) formed on a second package component (bottom “semiconductor element” 11) (Fig. 7N, para. [0033]); and a second alignment mark (bottom “alignment marks” 15) formed in the second bonding film bottom “underfill resin” 18), wherein the second alignment mark (bottom “alignment marks” 15) comprises a plurality of second patterns (each bottom individual 15) spaced apart from each other (Fig. 7N, para. [0033]-[0034], [0041]-[0043]), edges of a standard pattern of the first patterns (each top individual 15) coincide with edges of a standard pattern of the second patterns (each bottom individual 15) in a top view (Fig. 7N).
Claim(s) 14-15, 17-22 and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by YOKOMIZO et al. (U.S. 2022/0285234).
As to claim 14, YOKOMIZO et al. disclose in Fig. 14 a package structure, comprising: a first bonding film (see “first bonding film” as annotated in Fig. 14 below) on a first package component (“semiconductor die” 700) (see Fig. 14, para. [0059]),
wherein a first alignment mark (“alignment diagnostic structures” 730) is formed in the first bonding film (see “first bonding film” as annotated in Fig. 14 below) and comprises a plurality of first patterns (each individual pattern 730) spaced apart from each other by a first pitch (Fig. 14, para. [0064]-[0066]);
and a second bonding film (see “second bonding film” as annotated in Fig. 14 below) on a second package component (“semiconductor die” 900) and bonded to the first bonding film (see “first bonding film” as annotated in Fig. 14 below) (Fig. 14, para. [0042], [0054]), wherein a second alignment mark (“alignment diagnostic structures” 930) is formed in the second bonding film (see “second bonding film” as annotated in Fig. 14 below) and comprises a plurality of second patterns (each individual pattern 930) spaced apart from each other by a second pitch (Fig. 14, para. [0054]-[0055]), wherein the second package component (“semiconductor die” 900) is bonded to the first package component (“semiconductor die” 700) via the first bonding film (see “first bonding film” as annotated in Fig. 14 below) and the second bonding film (see “second bonding film” as annotated in Fig. 14 below), and the first pitch is different from the second pitch (Fig. 14, para. [0059], [0061]).
As to claim 15, as applied to claim 14 above, YOKOMIZO et al. disclose in Fig. 14 all claimed limitations including the limitation: wherein the first patterns (patterns 730) have a shape of a rectangle with a uniform length (see Figs. 12B).
As to claim 17, as applied to claim 14 above, YOKOMIZO et al. disclose in Fig. 14 all claimed limitations including the limitation: wherein in a top view, one of the second patterns (patterns 930) is partially exposed from one of the first patterns (patterns 730) overlapping the one of the second patterns (patterns 930) (Fig. 14).
As to claim 18, as applied to claim 14 above, YOKOMIZO et al. disclose in Fig. 14 all claimed limitations including the package structure further comprising: a third bonding film (a third bonding film can be a bonding film which covers another or second set of patterns 930 corresponding to another/second “semiconductor die” 900, para. [0042]) on a third package component (a third package component can be another/second “semiconductor die” 900, Fig. 14), wherein a third alignment mark (a third alignment mark can be another/second alignment mark 930 of another/second “semiconductor die” 900, para. [0042]) is formed in the third bonding film and comprises a plurality of third patterns (patterns 930 of another/second “semiconductor die” 900, para. [0042]), wherein the third package component (a third package component can be another/second “semiconductor die” 900, Fig. 14) is bonded to the first package component (700) via the first bonding film (see “first bonding film” as annotated in Fig. 14 above) and the third bonding film (a third bonding film can be a bonding film which covers another or second set of patterns 930 corresponding to another/second “semiconductor die” 900, para. [0042]) (see Fig. 14, para. [0042], “a two-dimensional array of first semiconductor dies 900” may include another/second “semiconductor die” 900).
As to claim 19, as applied to claims 14 and 18 above, YOKOMIZO et al. disclose in Fig. 14 all claimed limitations including the limitation: wherein a profile of the third patterns (patterns 930 of another/second “semiconductor die” 900, para. [0042]) is different from a profile of the second patterns (patterns 930, Fig. 14) (different package components may have different profiles).
As to claim 20, as applied to claim 14 above, YOKOMIZO et al. disclose in Fig. 14 all claimed limitations including the limitation: wherein the first patterns (each individual pattern 730) are symmetrically arranged about a first axis, the second patterns (each individual pattern 930) are symmetrically arranged about a second axis, and the first axis is parallel to the second axis (Fig. 14).
As to claim 21, YOKOMIZO et al. disclose in Fig. 14 a package structure, comprising:
a first bonding film (see “first bonding film” as annotated in Fig. 14 below) formed on a first package component (“semiconductor die” 700) (Fig. 14, para. [0057], [0065]); a first alignment mark (“alignment diagnostic structures” 730) formed in the first bonding film (see “first bonding film” as annotated in Fig. 14 below), wherein the first alignment mark (“alignment diagnostic structures” 730) comprises a plurality of first patterns (each individual pattern 730) spaced apart from each other (Fig. 14, para. [0064]-[0066]);
a second bonding film (see “second bonding film” as annotated in Fig. 14 below) formed on a second package component (“semiconductor die” 900) (Fig. 14, para. [0042], [0054]); and a second alignment mark (“alignment diagnostic structures” 930) formed in the second bonding film (see “second bonding film” as annotated in Fig. 14 below), wherein the second alignment mark (“alignment diagnostic structures” 930) comprises a plurality of second patterns (each individual pattern 930) spaced apart from each other (Fig. 14, para. [0054]-[0055]), edges of a standard pattern of the first patterns (each individual pattern 730) coincide with edges of a standard pattern of the second patterns (each individual pattern 930) in a top view (see Fig 14).
As to claim 22, as applied to claim 21 above, YOKOMIZO et al. disclose in Fig. 14 all claimed limitations including the limitation: wherein the first patterns (each individual pattern 730) are symmetrically arranged on opposite sides of the standard pattern (Fig. 14).
As to claim 24, as applied to claim 21 above, YOKOMIZO et al. disclose in Fig. 14 all claimed limitations including the limitation: wherein a length of the standard pattern of the first patterns (each individual pattern 730) is different from a length of the standard pattern of the second patterns (each individual pattern 930) in a direction parallel to the edges of the standard pattern of the first patterns (each individual pattern 730) (Fig. 14).
As to claim 25, as applied to claims 21 and 24 above, YOKOMIZO et al. disclose in Fig. 14 all claimed limitations including the limitation: wherein the first patterns (plural patterns 730) are identical to each other (Fig. 14).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16, 23 and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 1-7 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: a package structure comprising: the first alignment mark comprises a plurality of first patterns spaced apart from each other; a second bonding film formed on a second package component and bonded to the first bonding film; and a second alignment mark formed in the second bonding film, wherein the second alignment mark comprises a plurality of second patterns spaced apart from each other, and the first patterns overlap the second patterns, wherein in a top view, each of the first patterns is divided into a first portion and a second portion, the first portions of the first patterns are separated by a first pitch, the second portions of the first patterns are separated by a second pitch, and the first pitch is different from the second pitch, in combination with other claimed features, as recited in independent claim 1. Claims 2-7 are dependent upon independent claim 1, and are therefore allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Chia et al. (U.S 2007/0090548 A1).
Contact Information
/Thanh Y. Tran/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817 June 19, 2026