DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's traverse of restriction requirements the reply filed on 07/06/20026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Species 1 and Species 2 are not mutually exclusive. This is not found persuasive because of the following reasons. First, as stated in the previous Office Action, original claim 3 directed of the mono- crystalline first and second surfaces, while claims 20 and 21 directed to oxide surfaces. Second, Applicant’s specification describes when the second surfaces comprise oxide, the second surface is amorphous of polycrystalline (Spec. [0087]), i.e. this surface is not monocrystalline as required by claim 3. Thus, the limitations of claims 20 and 21 and original claim 3 recite mutually exclusive characteristics.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10, 13, 15, 18, and 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 2022/0310390) in view of Li (US 12, 444, 605, cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses a method for forming a Si-comprising epitaxial layer selectively on a substrate, the method comprising: providing the substrate (Fig.5A, numeral 502) to a process chamber ([0035]), the substrate comprising an exposed surface(Fig.4, numeral 402), the exposed surface comprising a first exposed surface (vertical surface of (502)) and a second exposed surface (horizontal surface of (502)), the second exposed surface being different than the first exposed surface (Abstract; [0037]), providing, to the process chamber, a Si-containing precursor, thereby forming the Si- comprising epitaxial layer on the exposed surface (Fig. 5A, numeral 504; [0037]), the Si-comprising epitaxial layer comprising a first portion formed on the first exposed surface and a second portion formed on the second exposed surface (Fig.5A), providing an etching gas to the process chamber, thereby removing, selectively, the first portion or the second portion of the Si-comprising epitaxial layer (Fig.5B; [0037]).
Haung does not disclose wherein the Si-containing precursor is a silicon halide precursor comprising at least one of iodine and bromine.
Li however discloses wherein the Si-containing precursor is a silicon halide precursor comprising at least one of iodine or bromine (column 8, lines 24-35).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Huang with Li to have the Si-containing precursor as a silicon halide precursor comprising at least one of iodine or bromine for the purpose of improving epitaxial growth (Li, column 5, lines 9-15).
Regarding claim 2, Huang discloses wherein the first exposed surface and the second exposed surface is a single crystalline surface, the second exposed surface having a different crystal orientation than the first exposed surface ([0037]).
Regarding claim 3, Huang discloses wherein the first exposed surface comprises a Si {100} crystal facet and the second exposed surface comprises a Si {1101} crystal facet ([0037]).
Regarding claim 4, Huang discloses wherein the epitaxial layer is formed in a gap comprised in the substrate, the gap comprising a bottom surface and sidewalls bounding the bottom surface, wherein the bottom surface comprises the first exposed surface and the sidewalls comprise the second exposed surface (Fig. 7A).
Regarding claim 5, Huang discloses wherein the silicon halide precursor is provided, to the process chamber, substantially simultaneously with a process gas comprising at least a Ge-containing precursor and a p-type dopant precursor, thereby forming the Si-comprising epitaxial layer as a p-type doped SiGe epitaxial layer ([0037]; [0037]).
Regarding claim 10, Huang discloses wherein the process gas comprises substantially of the Ge-containing precursor, and the p-type dopant precursor, thereby forming the p- type doped SiGe epitaxial layer ([0036]).
Regarding claim 13, Huang discloses wherein the process gas further comprises a chlorosilane precursor, thereby forming the p-type doped SiGe epitaxial layer ([0036]).
Regarding claim 15, Huang discloses wherein the process chamber is maintained, during the selective formation of the epitaxial layer, at a temperature of about 270 °C ([0035]).
Regarding claim 18, Huang discloses wherein the p-type dopant precursor is diborane and the Ge-containing precursor is germane ([0036]).
Regarding claim 22, Li discloses wherein the silicon halide precursor serves as a silicon source for forming the Si-comprising epitaxial layer (column 7, lines 55-67).
Regarding claim 23, Huang discloses a method for forming a Si-comprising epitaxial layer selectively on a substrate, the method comprising: providing the substrate to a process chamber, the substrate comprising an exposed surface, the exposed surface comprising a first exposed surface and a second exposed surface, the second exposed surface being different than the first exposed surface; providing, to the process chamber, a Si-containing precursor, thereby forming the Si-comprising epitaxial layer on the exposed surface, the Si-comprising epitaxial layer comprising a first portion formed on the first exposed surface and a second portion formed on the second exposed surface; and providing an etching gas to the process chamber, thereby removing, selectively, the first portion or the second portion of the Si-comprising epitaxial layer,
Haung does not disclose wherein the Si-containing precursor is an iodosilane.
Li however discloses wherein the Si-containing precursor is a silicon halide precursor is an iodisilane (column 8, lines 24-35).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Huang with Li to have the Si-containing precursor is a silicon halide precursor is an iodisilane for the purpose of improving epitaxial growth (Li, column 5, lines 9-15).
Regarding claim 24, Li discloses wherein the iodosilane has a formula of SinIyH2n+2-y, where n is in a range of 1 to 5, and y is in a range of 1 or more (column 8, lines 24-34).
Regarding claim 25, Li discloses wherein the iodosilane comprises SiHI3 , SiH2I2, SiH3I, HSi2I5 H2Si2I4, H3Si2I3 , H4Si2I2, H5Si2I, or combinations thereof (column 8, lines 24-34).
Regarding claim 26, Li discloses wherein the iodosilane is SiH2I2 (column 8, lines 24-34).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Li as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Fitzgerald (US 2003/0230233).
Regarding claim 17, Huang in view of Li does not disclose wherein the chlorosilane precursor is di-chlorosilane and is provided at a flow rate in a range of 200 sccm to 400 sccm and wherein the silicon halide precursor is provided at a flow rate in a range of 100 sccm to 300 sccm.
Fitzgerald discloses wherein the chlorosilane precursor is di-chlorosilane and is provided at a flow rate in a range of 200 sccm to 400 sccm and wherein the silicon halide precursor is provided at a flow rate in a range of 100 sccm to 300 sccm ([0049]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skills in art at the time the invention was filed to adjust the flow rate of the precursor to be in the claimed range for the purpose of optimization the deposition process.
Claim(s) 9 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Li ass applied to claims 5 and 10 above, and further in view of Raaijmakers (US 2001/0020712).
Regarding claim 9, Huang in view of Li does not disclose wherein the p-type dopant precursor is provided at a flow rate in a range of 1 sccm - 150 sccm.
Raaijmakers however discloses the p-type dopant precursor is provided at a flow rate in a range of 1 sccm - 150 sccm ([0077]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Huang with Raaijmakers to have the p-type dopant precursor is provided at a flow rate in a range of 1 sccm - 150 sccm for the purpose of controlling doping concentration (Raaijmakers, [0077]).
Regarding claim 12, Huang in view of Li does not disclose (wherein the p-type dopant precursor is provided at a flow rate in a range of 1 sccm - 3 sccm.
Raaijmakers however discloses the p-type dopant precursor is provided at a flow rate in a range of 1 sccm - 13 sccm ([0077]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Huang with Raaijmakers to have the p-type dopant precursor is provided at a flow rate in a range of 1 sccm – 3 sccm for the propose of controlling doping concentration (Raaijmakers, [0077]).
Claims 11, 12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Li as applied to claims 5, 10 and 13 above, and further in view of Huang’489 (US 2020/0035489).
Regarding claim 11, Huang does not wherein the process chamber is maintained, during the selective formation of the epitaxial layer, at a temperature of about 400 °C, and at a pressure of about 20 Torr.
Huang’489 however discloses selective deposition at a temperature of about 400 °C, and at a pressure of about 20 Torr ([0029]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Huang with Huang’480 to adjust the parameters of the selective deposition to be in the claimed range for the purpose of optimization deposition process.
Regarding claim 12, Huang in view of Li does not disclose (wherein the p-type dopant precursor is provided at a flow rate in a range of 1 sccm - 3 sccm.
Huang’489 however discloses the p-type dopant precursor is provided at a flow rate in a range of 1 sccm - 13 sccm ([0029]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Huang with Raaijmakers to have the p-type dopant precursor is provided at a flow rate in a range of 1 sccm – 3 sccm for the purpose of controlling doping concentration (Huang’489, [0029]).
Regarding claim 14, Huang discloses wherein the process chamber is maintained, during the selective formation of the epitaxial layer at a pressure of 10 Torr ([0035]).
Huang does not disclose a temperature in a range of 250 °C to 300 °C.
Huang’489 however discloses selective deposition at a temperature of 250 °C to 300 °C ([0029]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Huang with Huang’480 to adjust the parameters of the selective deposition to be in the claimed range for the purpose of optimization deposition process.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) claim 1-5, 10-15, 17, and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 06/26/2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JULIA SLUTSKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891