DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Note
The prior arts cited in PTO-892 but not used in the current rejection are related to the claimed novelty.
Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicants' definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims. See MPEP 2111, 2123, 2125, 2141.02 VI, and 2182.
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species E/fig. 14, reflected in claims 1-6, 8-12, 14, 20, 23-28 and 40 in the reply filed on 04/09/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 13, 15-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142 (b), as being drawn to the nonelected group.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
A. Elements, ‘active region’, ‘inactive region’, ‘a first shunt contact structure’, ‘a second shunt contact structure’ must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim 1. Applicant’s drawings fail to mark an inactive region and do not show a clear boundary between the active region and the inactive region. Applicant’s drawings also fail to show the shunt contact structures located in an inactive region.
B. Elements, ‘first shunt contact structure’, ‘second shunt contact structure’, ‘source terminal’ must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim 6. Applicant’s drawings do not show a connection between shunt contact structures and the source terminal.
C. Applicant’s fig. 9 is objected as it marks ‘shunt contact structures’ as 335. It should be ‘355’.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-12, 14, 23-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miura et al. (US 20120205669 A1, hereinafter Miura‘669).
Regarding independent claim 1, Miura‘669 teaches, “A power semiconductor device (fig. 1-10, ¶ [0031] - ¶ [0095]), comprising:
a semiconductor structure (fig. 1-4) comprising an active region and an inactive region (comprising P-well regions 42, 44), the active region comprising a plurality of unit cells;
a gate structure, wherein at least a portion of the gate structure (11, 12) is on the inactive region;
a first shunt contact structure (62, 71b, fig. 3) at least partially on the inactive region;
a second shunt contact structure (62, 71b, fig. 3) at least partially on the inactive region; and
a balancing shunt structure (63, 71c) at least partially on the inactive region (44)”.
Regarding claim 2, Miura‘669 further teaches, “The power semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first shunt contact structure provides a first shunt path for a first displacement current through the inactive region, wherein the second shunt contact structure provides a second shunt path for a second displacement current through the inactive region, wherein the balancing shunt structure reduces a difference between the first displacement current through the first shunt path and the second displacement current through the second shunt path (¶ [0068] - ¶ [0075] etc.)”.
Regarding claim 3, Miura‘669 further teaches, “The power semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first shunt contact structure (62, fig. 1-2) is adjacent a first side of the gate structure (11) and the balancing shunt structure (63) is adjacent a second side of the gate structure, the second side being opposite the first side (referring to fig. 1-2. Elements 62 and 63 are on both of left and right sides of the gate structure/gate pad 11)”.
Regarding claim 4, Miura‘669 further teaches, “The power semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the balancing shunt structure (63) is between the gate structure (11) and an edge termination region (40)”.
Regarding claim 5, Miura‘669 further teaches, “The power semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the balancing shunt structure (63, 71c) is directly on the inactive region of the semiconductor structure (fig. 3)”.
Regarding claim 6, Miura‘669 further teaches, “The power semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first shunt contact structure and the second shunt contact structure (62, 71b, fig. 3-4) are coupled to a source terminal for the power semiconductor device, wherein the balancing shunt structure 63, 71c) is not coupled to the source terminal (80)”.
Regarding claim 8, Miura‘669 further teaches, “The power semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the gate structure comprises a gate pad (11, fig. 1) and a gate runner (12)”.
Regarding claim 9, Miura‘669 further teaches, “The power semiconductor device of claim 8, wherein the first shunt contact structure (62, fig. 1-2) is adjacent to the gate pad (11) and the second shunt contact structure (62, fig. 1-2) is adjacent to the gate runner (12)”.
Regarding claim 10, Miura‘669 further teaches, “The power semiconductor device of claim 8, wherein the gate runner (12, fig. 1, fig. 4) is a peripheral gate runner located around at least a part of a peripheral portion of the power semiconductor device”.
Regarding claim 11, Miura‘669 further teaches, “The power semiconductor device of claim 10, wherein the balancing shunt structure comprises a balancing ring structure (63, fig. 2-4) located around at least a portion of the peripheral gate runner (12)”.
Regarding claim 12, Miura‘669 further teaches, “The power semiconductor device of claim 11, wherein the balancing ring structure comprises a discontinuous ring structure (made by holes 63 which are not connected to each other) with one or more breaks”.
Regarding claim 14, Miura‘669 further teaches, “The power semiconductor device of claim 8, wherein the gate pad (11, fig. 1) is located in a peripheral portion of the power semiconductor device”.
Regarding claim 23, Miura‘669 further teaches, “The power semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the power semiconductor device does not have a source runner in a peripheral portion of the power semiconductor device (fig. 1-4)”.
Regarding claim 24, Miura‘669 further teaches, “The power semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first shunt contact structure and the second shunt contact structure are a part of a plurality of shunt contact structures that are in at least a partial ring arrangement adjacent to the gate structure (see the ring structures 62)”.
Regarding claim 25, Miura‘669 further teaches, “The power semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the semiconductor structure comprises a wide bandgap semiconductor (silicon carbide, ¶ [0031])”.
Regarding claim 26, Miura‘669 further teaches, “The power semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the semiconductor structure comprises silicon carbide (¶ [0031])”.
Regarding claim 27, Miura‘669 further teaches, “The power semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of unit cells comprise one or more silicon carbide-based MOSFET transistor cells (¶ [0031] - ¶ [0032])”.
Claims 28 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hino; Shiro et al. (US 20130020587 A1, hereinafter Hino‘587).
Regarding independent claim 28, Hino‘587 teaches, “A power semiconductor device (fig. 1-26; ¶ [0042] - ¶ [0155]), comprising:
a semiconductor structure (fig. 1-4) comprising an active region and an inactive region (comprising P-well regions 43), the active region comprising a plurality of unit cells;
a field insulating layer (31) at least partially on the inactive region;
a gate structure (11, 12, fig. 3-4) at least partially on the field insulating layer (31);
a shunt contact structure (63, 71c) extending at least partially through the field insulating layer (31); and
a balancing shunt structure (62, 71b) at least partially on the inactive region (43)”.
Regarding independent claim 40, Hino‘587 teaches, “A power semiconductor device (fig. 1-26; ¶ [0042] - ¶ [0155]), comprising:
a semiconductor structure (fig. 1-4) comprising an active region and an inactive region (comprising P-well regions 43), the active region comprising a plurality of unit cells;
a gate structure (11, 12, fig. 3-4), wherein at least a portion of the gate structure is on the inactive region;
a plurality of shunt contact structures (62, 71b) at least partially on the inactive region; and
a balancing shunt structure (63, 71c) at least partially on the inactive region; and
wherein the balancing shunt structure is operable to balance a displacement current associated with the plurality of shunt contact structures (¶ [0068] - ¶ [0075] etc.)”.
Claim 1 is again rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by UCHIDA; Kosuke (US 20230335632 A1, hereinafter Uchida‘632).
Regarding independent claim 1, Uchida‘632 teaches, “A power semiconductor device (fig. 1-39; ¶ [0058] – [0128]), comprising:
a semiconductor structure comprising an active region (120A, fig. 1) and an inactive region (120B), the active region comprising a plurality of unit cells;
a gate structure (84, 85), wherein at least a portion of the gate structure is on the inactive region (120B);
a first shunt contact structure (121) at least partially on the inactive region (120B);
a second shunt contact structure (121) at least partially on the inactive region (120B); and
a balancing shunt structure (111) at least partially on the inactive region (120B)”.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding dependent claim 20, the prior arts of record do not anticipate or make obvious, inter alia, the feature of: wherein the first shunt contact structure, the second shunt contact structure, and the balancing shunt structure extend through the field insulating layer.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMAD M HOQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817