DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-16) in the reply filed on 10/09/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 17-20 are cancelled by the applicants in the response filed on 10/09/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In line 1 of claim 1, the phrase “high aspect ratio etching” (emphasis added) is subjective, vague and indefinite. It is unclear from the claim which specific range of aspect ratio that applicants considered as “high aspect ratio”.
In line 1 of claim 7, the phrase “high aspect ratio contact” (emphasis added) is subjective, vague and indefinite. It is unclear from the claim which specific range of aspect ratio that applicants considered as “high aspect ratio”.
In line 1 of claim91, the phrase “high aspect ratio dielectric etching” (emphasis added) is subjective, vague and indefinite. It is unclear from the claim which specific range of aspect ratio that applicants considered as “high aspect ratio”.
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph because they directly or indirectly depend on indefinite claim 1.
Claims 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph because they directly or indirectly depend on indefinite claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shoeb et al. (US 2025/0259821 A1).
Note: Independent claim number is in bold.
As to claim 1, Shoeb discloses a method for high aspect ratio etching (Fig 8A-8B, paragraph 0032), the method comprising:
generating a plasma in a plasma etching chamber containing a substrate comprising a patterned surface; and etching one or more underlying layers through openings in the patterned surface by coupling a periodic sequence comprising direct current (DC) bias waveforms to the substrate, each of the DC bias waveforms including a non-vertical voltage transition and voltage ranging from a reference voltage (VR1 and/or VR2) to a negative peak voltage, the periodic sequence having a duty cycle between 50% to 75 % (Fig 3, Fig 4, Fig 8A-8B, paragraph 0032-0034, 038, 0052-0064, 0057, 0070, Note: Duty cycle of 50% to 75% is within applicant’s range of “greater than 20%”).
As to 2, Shoeb discloses the periodic sequence is couple to the substrate with a frequency between 50 kHz to 500 kHz and wherein the negative peak voltage is negative voltage with the magnitude of 100 kV or 2 kV to 10 kV (paragraph 0044, 0064, Fig 3; Note: 500 kHz is within applicant’s range of between about 100 kHz and about 3 MHz). Therefore, Shoeb discloses a negative peak voltage of – 100 kV, or -2kV or -10 kV (Note: -100 kV or -10 kV is within applicant’s range of “less than or equal to about -7 kV”).
As to claim 3, Shoeb discloses the duty cycle is between 50% to 75% (paragraph 0057, 0064, 0070, 0121; Shoeb’s claim 5; Note: 50% to 75% is within applicant’s range of “greater than about 50% and less than 80%).
As to claim 4, Shoeb discloses the non-vertical transition is substantially linear (Fig 3).
As to claim 5, Shoeb discloses the DC bias waveforms comprises a sawtooth waveform or a triangular waveform, or rectangular waveform (Fig 3-Fig 5).
As to claim 6, Shoeb discloses the patterned surface is a patterned hardmask (804) surface (Fig 8A-8B, paragraph 0079).
As to claim 7, Shoeb discloses the method is a high aspect ratio contact etching process, the one of more underlaying layers comprises dielectric layer (paragraph 0024, 0027, 0032, 0078-0079).
As to claim 8, Shoeb discloses wherein the DC bias waveforms each have a first waveform shape and, wherein periodic sequence further comprises additional DC bias waveform, each having a second waveform shape that is different from the first waveform shape (See Fig 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 9-11, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shoeb et al. (US 2025/0259821 A1) in view of Ventzek (US 2022/0059358 A1).
Note:
As to claim 9, Shoeb discloses a method for high aspect ratio dielectric etching, the method comprising:
generating a plasma in a plasma etching chamber containing a substrate comprising a hardmask (804) overlying a dielectric by applying a radio frequency (RF) signal (106) to a source power coupling element (Fig 1, Fig 8A-8B; paragraph 0042, 0051, 0079-0080)
etching the dielectric through openings in the hardmask to form features having an aspect ratio of greater than 20:1 kHz and about 3 MHz), each of the DC bias waveforms having voltage ranging from a reference voltage (VR1 or VR2) to a negative peak voltage about -100 kV or -10 kV, the periodic sequence having a duty cycle is between 50 % to 75% (Fig 3, Fig 4, Fig 8A-8B, paragraph 0032-0034, 038, 0052-0064, 0057, 0070, Note: Duty cycle of 50-75% is within applicant’s range of “greater than 20%”).
As to claim 9, Shoeb fails to disclose the feature having an aspect ratio of at least about 100:1. However, Shoeb clearly discloses feature having an aspect ratio greater than 20:1 (See paragraph 0032). Ventzek discloses the etched feature having an aspect ratio of at least about 100:1 (paragraph 0030). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Shoeb in view of Ventzek by having the feature with an aspect ratio of at least about 100:1 because in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05(I)).
As to claim 10, Shoeb discloses the duty cycle is between 50% to 75% (paragraph 0057, 0064, 0070, 0121; Shoeb’s claim 5; Note: 50% to 75% is within applicant’s range of “greater than about 50% and less than 80%”).
As to claim 11, Shoeb discloses the DC bias waveforms comprises a sawtooth waveform or a triangular waveform, or rectangular waveform (Fig 3-Fig 6).
As to claim 14, Shoeb discloses wherein the DC bias waveforms each have a first waveform shape and, wherein periodic sequence further comprises additional DC bias waveform, each having a second waveform shape that is different from the first waveform shape (See Fig 3-6).
As to claim 15, Shoeb discloses the first waveform is a sawtooth waveform shape and the second waveform is a rectangular waveform shape (See Fig 3, Fig 6).
As to claim 16, Shoeb discloses the negative peak voltage of the DC bias waveform is varied during the periodic sequence (See Fig 3-Fig 6).
11. Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shoeb et al. (US 2025/0259821 A1) in view of Ventzek et al. (US 2022/0059358 A1) as applied to claims 9-11, 14-16 above, and further in view of Kumar (US 2007/0072435 A1)
As to claim 12, Shoeb and Ventzek fail to disclose the opening comprising a critical dimension less than 100 nm. However, Shoeb clearly discloses the opening comprises a mask having critical dimension (See Fig 8A-8B; Note: critical dimension is the width of the opening). Kumar discloses the opening comprises a mask having critical dimension of 45 nm range (paragraph 0037, within applicant’s range of “less than about 100 nm”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Shoeb and Ventzek in view of Kumar by having an opening with critical dimension of 45 nm range because in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05(I)).
As to claim 13, Shoeb and Ventzek fail to disclose the hardmask comprises an amorphous carbon layer (ALC) or tungsten silicide (WSi) layer. However, Shoeb clearly teaches to use a hardmask (804) comprises dielectric material (See Fig 8A-8B, paragraph 0079). Kumar teaches to use hardmask (308) comprises dielectric amorphous carbon layer (paragraph 0036-0038, Fig 3B-3D). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Shoeb and Ventzek in view of Kumar by using the hardmask comprises amorphous carbon layer because equivalent and substitution of one for the other would produce an expected result (See MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
Conclusion
BINH X. TRAN
Examiner
Art Unit 1713
/BINH X TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713