This office action is in response to amendments filed on November 24, 2023.
Claims 1-60 have been canceled.
Claims 61-84 have been added.
Claims 61-84 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
As required by M.P.E.P. 609(C), the applicant’s submission of the Information Disclosure Statement dated September 14, 2023 is acknowledged by the examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending. As required by M.P.E.P 609, a copy of the PTOL-1449 initialed and dated by the examiner is attached to the office action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: S1701, S1702, S1703, 1705, S1705, S1707, and S1709. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a calculation unit for calculating in claim 61, a treatment unit for treating in claim 61, and a vegetation detection module for detecting in claim 62.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The instant specification states the calculation unit is implemented as hardware processing units (e.g., ASIC) [0176], the treatment unit is implemented as hardware (e.g., spraying system) [0068], and the vegetation detection module is implemented as hardware (e.g., sensor) [0010].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 75-84 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 75, the claim recites “said parameter” in lines 12-13 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination the limitation is interpreted as “said first parameter”.
Regarding claims 76-84, they depend on parent claim 75 and do not address the antecedent basis presented therein. As such, the claims are rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 81, the claim recites “said first threshold” and “said one or more secondary thresholds” in line 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. For the purposes of examination the limitation is interpreted as “said first probability threshold” and “said one or more secondary probability thresholds”.
Regarding claim 82, the claim recites “said first threshold” and “said one or more secondary thresholds” in line 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. For the purposes of examination the limitation is interpreted as “said first probability threshold” and “said one or more secondary probability thresholds”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 61-62, 65-77, 79-81, and 83-84 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson (US20150310721A1) in further view of Cutter (US20170258005A1) and Hoffmann et al. (US20220240433A1).
Regarding claim 61, Johnson teaches a field treatment system comprising:
a vehicle having a data collection unit for collecting data on a portion of a field (The present invention enables a user to identify problems with a crop's health ... as soon as possible such that corrective action can be taken and the distress rectified … UAVs are the preferred method by which to gather data, however other sources, such as manned aircrafts, satellites, and remote sensors may also be used)([0048]);
an interface for receiving a first parameter to be considered for treatment of said portion of said field, a first … score threshold for said first parameter, a second parameter to be considered for treatment of said portion of said field, a second … score threshold for said second parameter … (The received information may include one or more of following attributes of the crop ... an indication of pest damage, an indication of unwanted vegetation infestation, an indication of disease infestation, an indication of disease damage ... soil characteristics, geographic characteristics, geologic characteristics, and climate characteristics ... The received data may be evaluated and then scored ... When the score exceeds a predetermined threshold an alert may be generated ... predetermined threshold is user configurable ... parameters for determining a crop's status may be user configurable)([0026], [0027], [0028], and [0099]; a user defines parameters to monitor and associated thresholds);
a calculation unit for calculating a first … score of said first parameter in said data collected, and a second … score of said second parameter in said data collected … (The data received in step 405 may then be compared with the parameters, crop status determinations, and/or benchmarks (step 425) and the comparison may be scored (step 430))([0082]).
Johnson differs from the claim in that Johnson fails to teach the score thresholds received are probability score thresholds and treating fields using a treatment unit based on probability scores of parameters and probability score thresholds. However, receiving probability score thresholds and treating fields using a treatment unit based on probability scores of parameters and probability score thresholds is taught by Cutter (FIG. 3 illustrates a method for detecting and remedying current field health issues for a portion of a field ... field-specific information regarding a portion of a field is compiled ... information such as moisture content ... temperature ... color, etc. ... Method 300 then proceeds to determine the likelihood of a field health issue ... A confidence score may be associated with the determination ... it is determined whether a field health issue is unlikely. This may occur where the confidence score assigned in operation 304 is below a certain threshold ... The threshold may be set by a user … If it is determined that a field health issue is not somewhat likely, the method proceeds to take action)([0043], [0044], [0047], and [0050]; confidence thresholds are received and treatment of fields is based on confidence scores of parameters and confidence thresholds).
The examiner notes Johnson and Cutter teach agricultural monitoring. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system Johnson to include the receiving and treating Cutter such that the systems receive probability score thresholds and treats fields based on probability scores of parameters and probability score thresholds. One would be motivated to make such a combination to improve accuracy in treating fields ([0003]; Cutter).
The combination of Johnson-Cutter fails to teach a priority matrix defining scenarios for treatment. However, receiving a priority matrix defining scenarios for treatment and treating based on the priority matrix is taught by Hoffmann (the present invention provides a solution by which a user receives a ranked number of application schemes covering all weed and pathogen ... ranking can be done first by ranking with regard to the number of leading or priority weeds and/or pathogens covered with an efficacy above a defined threshold ... the weed and/or pathogen specifier data further comprises information about a treatment priority and that the step of ranking the generated application schemes is further based on the information about the treatment priority ... the priority information can be provided by a user interface ... generating control data configured to be used in an agricultural equipment, wherein the control data is based on the highest ranked application scheme)([0035], [0050], [0060], and [0063]).
The examiner notes Johnson, Cutter, and Hoffmann teach agricultural monitoring. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system Johnson-Cutter to include the receiving and treating Hoffmann such that the systems receive a priority matrix defining scenarios for treatment and treats based on the priority matrix. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of reliably mixing treatments to treat a spectrum of issues ([0003]; Hoffmann).
Regarding claim 62, Johnson-Cutter-Hoffmann teach the system in claim 61, further comprising a vegetation detection module for detecting vegetation in the field (Johnson - In step 405, data regarding a crop status may be received ... The data may be data produced by ... sensor … Exemplary received data may relate to ... vegetation)([0076] and [0077]; a sensor is a vegetation detection module).
Regarding claim 65, Johnson-Cutter-Hoffmann the system in claim 62, wherein said vegetation detection module comprises a sensor for detecting vegetation (Johnson - In step 405, data regarding a crop status may be received ... The data may be data produced by ... sensor … Exemplary received data may relate to ... vegetation)([0076] and [0077]).
Regarding claim 66, Johnson-Cutter-Hoffmann teach the system in claim 65, wherein said sensor comprises a lidar or a chlorophyll detection sensor (although Johnson does not explicitly teach using a lidar sensor, said using is taught by Cutter (the mobile-monitoring device 102 may send a scanning signal 104 (such as a LIDAR scanning signal)([0022]; a LIDAR sensor is used in LIDAR scanning). The examiner notes Johnson, Cutter, and Hoffmann teach agricultural monitoring. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system Johnson-Cutter-Hoffmann to include the sensor of Cutter such that the systems utilizes a LIDAR sensor. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of improving resolution in detecting vegetation).
Regarding claim 67, Johnson-Cutter-Hoffmann teach the system in claim 65, wherein said sensor comprises an infrared sensor, or a near-infrared sensor (although Johnson does not explicitly teach using an infrared sensor, said using is taught by Cutter (The mobile-monitoring device 102 may be equipped with a variety of sensors, such as … infrared-camera system)([0022]). The examiner notes Johnson, Cutter, and Hoffmann teach agricultural monitoring. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system Johnson-Cutter-Hoffmann to include the sensor of Cutter such that the systems utilizes an infrared sensor. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of detecting vegetation in low light).
Regarding claim 68, Johnson-Cutter-Hoffmann teach the system in claim 61, wherein said first and said second parameters comprise plant type and plant stage (Johnson - Exemplary received data may relate to any or all factors affecting a crop's nutrient status, such as ... crop maturity ... crop characteristics)([0077]).
Regarding claim 69, Johnson-Cutter-Hoffmann teach the system in claim 61, wherein said first and said second parameters comprise plant location, and plant vitality (Johnson - Exemplary received data may relate to any or all factors affecting a crop's nutrient status, such as … crop's overall health ... geographic location)([0077]).
Regarding claim 70, Johnson-Cutter-Hoffmann teach the system in claim 61, wherein said first and said second parameters comprise presence of pest in said portion of the field (Johnson - Exemplary received data may relate to any or all factors affecting a crop's nutrient status, such as … levels of pest)([0077]).
Regarding claim 71, Johnson-Cutter-Hoffmann teach the system in claim 61, wherein said vehicle is an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) (Johnson - receive real time in-season crop data from UAVs)([0017]).
Regarding claim 72, Johnson-Cutter-Hoffmann teach the system in claim 61, wherein said vehicle is one or more of a ground sprayer, an unmanned ground robot, and a manned aerial vehicle (Johnson - UAVs are the preferred method by which to gather data, however other sources, such as manned aircrafts ... may also be used)([0048]).
Regarding claim 73, Johnson-Cutter-Hoffmann teach the system in claim 61, wherein said treatment unit comprises sprayers for spraying said at least one portion of the field (Cutter - Treatment may be carried out by ... drone ... by treating an area of the field (such as by, for example, spraying a portion of a field with an herbicide))([0006]).
Regarding claim 74, Johnson-Cutter-Hoffmann teach the system in claim 61, wherein said treatment unit is a UAV (Cutter - Treatment may be carried out by delivering a treatment profile to a drone, which drone may carry out the treatment profile by treating an area of the field)([0006]; a drone is a type of UAV).
Regarding claim 75, Johnson teaches a field treatment system comprising:
a data collection unit for collecting data on a portion of a field (The present invention enables a user to identify problems with a crop's health ... as soon as possible such that corrective action can be taken and the distress rectified … UAVs are the preferred method by which to gather data, however other sources, such as manned aircrafts, satellites, and remote sensors may also be used)([0048]);
an interface (Turning now to FIG. 1, a block diagram depicting an exemplary system 100 ... a user interface 125)([0049]);
a control unit (To facilitate user interaction, collection of information, and provision of results, the computer systems described herein)([0052]) comprising:
a processor (computer-based systems which are discussed herein, will be generally characterized by one or more processors)([0051]); and
a non-transitory computer-readable medium containing instructions that, when executed by the processor (Storage within such devices will usually include a main memory ... storing information and instructions to be executed by the processor(s))([0051]), causes the processor to perform:
collecting data on said portion of the field using said data collection unit; receiving a first parameter to be considered for treatment of said portion of said field and a first … score threshold for said parameter; calculating a first … score of said first parameter related to said portion of the field in said data; and, receiving one or more secondary parameters to be considered for treatment of said portion of said field and one or more secondary … score thresholds for said one or more secondary parameters; calculating one or more secondary … scores for said one or more secondary parameters related to said portion of the field in said data … (The received information may include one or more of following attributes of the crop ... an indication of pest damage, an indication of unwanted vegetation infestation, an indication of disease infestation, an indication of disease damage ... soil characteristics, geographic characteristics, geologic characteristics, and climate characteristics ... The received data may be evaluated and then scored ... When the score exceeds a predetermined threshold an alert may be generated ... predetermined threshold is user configurable ... The data received in step 405 may then be compared with the parameters, crop status determinations, and/or benchmarks (step 425) and the comparison may be scored (step 430) … parameters for determining a crop's status may be user configurable)([0026], [0027], [0028], [0082], and [0099]; a user defines parameters to monitor and associated thresholds, additionally, scores are calculated based on user defined parameters).
Johnson differs from the claim in that Johnson fails to teach the score thresholds received are probability score thresholds and treating fields using a treatment unit based on probability scores of parameters and probability score thresholds. However, receiving probability score thresholds and treating fields using a treatment unit based on probability scores of parameters and probability score thresholds is taught by Cutter (FIG. 3 illustrates a method for detecting and remedying current field health issues for a portion of a field ... field-specific information regarding a portion of a field is compiled ... information such as moisture content ... temperature ... color, etc. ... Method 300 then proceeds to determine the likelihood of a field health issue ... A confidence score may be associated with the determination ... it is determined whether a field health issue is unlikely. This may occur where the confidence score assigned in operation 304 is below a certain threshold ... The threshold may be set by a user … If it is determined that a field health issue is not somewhat likely, the method proceeds to take action)([0043], [0044], [0047], and [0050]; confidence thresholds are received and treatment of fields is based on confidence scores of parameters and confidence thresholds).
The examiner notes Johnson and Cutter teach agricultural monitoring. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system Johnson to include the receiving and treating Cutter such that the systems receives probability score thresholds and treats fields based on probability scores of parameters and probability score thresholds. One would be motivated to make such a combination to improve accuracy in treating fields ([0003]; Cutter).
The combination of Johnson-Cutter fails to teach a priority matrix defining scenarios for treatment. However, receiving a priority matrix defining scenarios for treatment and treating based on the priority matrix is taught by Hoffmann (the present invention provides a solution by which a user receives a ranked number of application schemes covering all weed and pathogen ... ranking can be done first by ranking with regard to the number of leading or priority weeds and/or pathogens covered with an efficacy above a defined threshold ... the weed and/or pathogen specifier data further comprises information about a treatment priority and that the step of ranking the generated application schemes is further based on the information about the treatment priority ... the priority information can be provided by a user interface ... generating control data configured to be used in an agricultural equipment, wherein the control data is based on the highest ranked application scheme)([0035], [0050], [0060], and [0063]).
The examiner notes Johnson, Cutter, and Hoffmann teach agricultural monitoring. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system Johnson-Cutter to include the receiving and treating Hoffmann such that the systems receives a priority matrix defining scenarios for treatment and treats based on the priority matrix. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of reliably mixing treatments to treat a spectrum of issues ([0003]; Hoffmann).
Regarding claim 76, Johnson-Cutter-Hoffmann teach the system as defined in claim 75, wherein the system further comprises a vegetation detection module, and wherein the non-transitory computer- readable medium further contains instructions that cause the processor to perform: applying a vegetation detection process to said collected data (Johnson - In step 405, data regarding a crop status may be received ... The data may be data produced by ... sensor … Exemplary received data may relate to ... vegetation)([0076] and [0077]; a sensor is a vegetation detection module).
Regarding claim 77, Johnson-Cutter-Hoffmann teach the system in claim 76, wherein said calculating said first probability score in said data collected comprises calculating said first probability score of said first parameter only for detected vegetation using said vegetation detection process (Johnson - The received information may include one or more of following attributes ... unwanted vegetation)([0026]; an unwanted vegetation parameter will only calculate a score for detected unwanted vegetation).
Regarding claim 79, Johnson-Cutter-Hoffmann teach the system in claim 76, wherein said detecting vegetation in said field comprises using a sensor comprises using a lidar or a chlorophyll detection sensor to detect said vegetation (although Johnson does not explicitly teach using a lidar sensor, said using is taught by Cutter (the mobile-monitoring device 102 may send a scanning signal 104 (such as a LIDAR scanning signal)([0022]; a LIDAR sensor is used in LIDAR scanning). The examiner notes Johnson, Cutter, and Hoffmann teach agricultural monitoring. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system Johnson-Cutter-Hoffmann to include the sensor of Cutter such that the systems utilizes a LIDAR sensor. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of improving resolution in detecting vegetation).
Regarding claim 80, Johnson-Cutter-Hoffmann teach the system in claim 79, wherein said detecting vegetation in said field using said sensor comprises using an infrared sensor, or near-infrared sensors to detect said vegetation (although Johnson does not explicitly teach using an infrared sensor, said using is taught by Cutter (The mobile-monitoring device 102 may be equipped with a variety of sensors, such as … infrared-camera system)([0022]). The examiner notes Johnson, Cutter, and Hoffmann teach agricultural monitoring. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system Johnson-Cutter-Hoffmann to include the sensor of Cutter such that the systems utilizes an infrared sensor. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of detecting vegetation in low light).
Regarding claim 81, Johnson-Cutter-Hoffmann teach the system in claim 75, wherein said treating comprises treating said portion of the field based on said first probability score, said one or more secondary probability scores, said first threshold, said one or more secondary thresholds and said priority matrix using said treatment unit when the first probability score is equal or higher than said first probability score threshold (Cutter - If it is determined that a field health issue is not somewhat likely, the method proceeds to take action. At take action operation, it is verified that the confidence score assigned at operation 304 is higher than a threshold, indicating a specific field health issue)([0050]).
Regarding claim 83, Johnson-Cutter-Hoffmann teach the system in claim 75, wherein said data collection unit is embedded in an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) (Johnson - receive real time in-season crop data from UAVs)([0017]; a UAV has sensors to collect data for transmission).
Regarding claim 84, Johnson-Cutter-Hoffmann teach the system in claim 75, wherein said treatment unit is embedded in an UAV (Cutter - Treatment may be carried out by ... drone ... by treating an area of the field (such as by, for example, spraying a portion of a field with an herbicide))([0006]).
Claim 63 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson, Cutter, Hoffmann, and in further view of “Greenness identification based on HSV decision tree” by Yang et al. (publicly accessible August 13, 2015); hereinafter referred to as Yang.
Regarding claim 63, Johnson-Cutter-Hoffmann teach the system as applied above, Johnson-Cutter-Hoffmann differs from the claim in that Johnson-Cutter-Hoffmann teach fails to teach using HSV color index to detect vegetation. However, detecting vegetation using a HSV color index is taught by Yang (Greenness identification from crop images captured outdoors is the important step for crop growth monitoring ... an HSV decision tree based method for greenness identification)(abstract). The examiner notes Johnson, Cutter, Hoffmann, and Yang teach agricultural monitoring. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system Johnson-Cutter-Hoffmann to include the detecting of Yang such that the systems utilizes a HSV color index to detect vegetation. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of facilitating vegetation detection by avoiding illumination influence (abstract; Yang).
Claims 64 and 78 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson, Cutter, Hoffmann, and in further view of “Crop detection and positioning in the field using discriminant analysis and neural networks based on shape features” by Kiani et al. (publicly accessible 2012); hereinafter referred to as Kiani.
Regarding claim 64, Johnson-Cutter-Hoffmann teach the system as applied above, Johnson-Cutter-Hoffmann differs from the claim in that Johnson-Cutter-Hoffmann teach fails to teach using excess green method to detect vegetation. However, detecting vegetation using excess green method is taught by Kiani (Soil Removal from the Image ... The Excess Green Index proposed by Woebbecke et al. (1995) could reasonably omit background soil from the images as defined by Equation (1))(page 757). The examiner notes Johnson, Cutter, Hoffmann, and Kiani teach agricultural monitoring. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system Johnson-Cutter-Hoffmann to include the detecting of Kiani such that the systems utilizes an excess green method to detect vegetation. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of facilitating vegetation detection by removing soil form an image (page 757; Kiani).
Regarding claim 78, Johnson-Cutter-Hoffmann teach the system as applied above, Johnson-Cutter-Hoffmann differs from the claim in that Johnson-Cutter-Hoffmann teach fails to teach using excess green method to detect vegetation. However, detecting vegetation using excess green method is taught by Kiani (Soil Removal from the Image ... The Excess Green Index proposed by Woebbecke et al. (1995) could reasonably omit background soil from the images as defined by Equation (1))(page 757). The examiner notes Johnson, Cutter, Hoffmann, and Kiani teach agricultural monitoring. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system Johnson-Cutter-Hoffmann to include the detecting of Kiani such that the systems utilizes an excess green method to detect vegetation. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of facilitating vegetation detection by removing soil form an image (page 757; Kiani).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 82 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form in independent form overcoming the 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections set forth and including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider the reference fully when responding to this action. The document cited therein and enumerated below teaches a method and apparatus for treating fields based on monitoring conditions.
US20160316643A1
US20190354081A1
US20200113166A1
US20200217830A1
US20210173369A1
US20210185885A1
US20220111960A1
US20220211026A1
US20220377970A1
US20240078479A1
US10548257B2
WO2022269083A1
/YONGJIA PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118