DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species Group I (claims 1-8) in the reply filed on 03/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected (Species Groups II, III), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/16/2026.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “conductive structure” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Conductive structure (at least one coil, faraday or ICP, para. [0065], [0048]) in at least claims 1-8.
Thermally conductive material (thermal gasket or a graphite sheet or the like, para. [0051]) in at least claim 7.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a conductive structure" in the claims. It is unclear if the conductive structure (which is not referenced) is an inductive coil(s), a faraday shield, a heater, or some other structure. Examiner interprets as a Faraday shield. Appropriate clarification is requested.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a particular pattern" in the claim. It is unclear what the “particular pattern” means, and if the particular pattern is the heat transfer fluid pathway, or something else. Examiner interprets broadly. Appropriate clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20230245854 to Alberti.
Claim 1: Alberti discloses a system comprising: a plasma-based processing chamber (128 [processing chamber], Fig. 1, 3A) enclosing a processing region (inside 128), the processing chamber (128) comprising a first portion including sidewalls (312 [sidewalls]) and a bottom (bottom of 128) and a second portion including a chamber lid (300 [dielectric window]);
a substate support (132 [substrate support], Fig. 1) within the processing chamber (128) and configured to retain a first substrate (134 [substrate]) in the processing region of the chamber (inside 128); and a conductive structure (304 [Faraday shield], Fig. 3A/3B) proximate to the chamber lid (300) on an exterior side of the processing chamber (exterior of 128), the conductive structure (304) forming a particular pattern (340), the pattern (340) comprising a heat transfer fluid pathway (340 [cooling channels]) configured to circulate a heat transfer fluid through the conductive structure (304, para. [0040]).
Claim 2: Alberti discloses wherein the conductive structure (304, Fig. 3A/3B, Alberti) is a tubular pathway (304) forming a fluid pathway (340) that is shaped in a switchback path (364/368) that traverses around a surface of the chamber lid (300, para. [0045]).
Claim 3: Alberti discloses wherein the conductive structure (304, Fig. 3A/3B, Alberti) has a diameter that is less than a chamber lid diameter (diameter of 300) such that the conductive structure (304) only overlaps a central region of the chamber lid (see Fig. 3A).
Claim 7: Alberti discloses further comprising a thermally conductive material (thermal adhesive, para. [0039], Alberti) positioned between the conductive structure (304) and the chamber lid (300, para. [0039]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alberti as applied to claims 1-3, 7 above.
Claim 4: Alberti discloses (claim 4) having the fluid pathway (340, Fig. 3A/3B, Alberti) formed within the body of the coil (304, para. [0040]).
However Alberti does not disclose (claim 4) wherein the conductive structure is a flat coil.
Yet Alberti teaches that the cooling channels can have a shape (i.e. cross section) can be configured for the purpose of having a uniform residence time of the coolant across different zones of the cooling channels (para. [0044]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the optimization of shape of the channels as taught by Alberti with motivation to have a uniform residence time of the coolant across different zones of the cooling channels.
Claim(s) 5, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alberti as applied to claims 1-3, 7 above, and further in view of US 20110297320 to Sakka.
Claims 5, 8: Alberti does not disclose (claim 5) wherein the conductive structure comprises a first flat coil and a second flat coil, each flat coil having the fluid pathway formed within the body of the respective first and second flat coil, the first flat coil being inset within the second flat coil and separated by a specified distance; (claim 8) wherein the conductive structure is a flat coil having the fluid pathway formed within the body of the flat coil, and wherein the conductive structure is electrically coupled to a power source such that, when powered, the flat coil passes radio frequency energy into the processing region of the processing chamber.
Sakka discloses (claim 5) wherein the conductive structure (8 [Faraday shield], Fig. 9) comprises a first flat coil (8a [first faraday shield]) and a second flat coil (8b [second faraday shield]), the first flat coil being inset within the second flat coil and separated by a specified distance; (claim 8) and wherein the conductive structure (8a/8b) is electrically coupled to a power source (10 [high frequency power supply], Fig. 1) such that, when powered, the flat coil (8a/8b) passes radio frequency energy into the processing region of the processing chamber (inside 2 vacuum processing chamber]) for the purpose of independently controlling the faraday shield voltage to thereby suppress chipping of portions of the window while removing reaction products disposed on the inner wall of the window (para. [0041]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the two-shield configuration and power supply as taught by Sakka with motivation to independently control the faraday shield voltage to thereby suppress chipping of portions of the window while removing reaction products disposed on the inner wall of the window.
The apparatus of Alberti in view of Sakka discloses (claim 5) each flat coil (8a/8b, Fig. 9, Sakka) having the fluid pathway (340, Fig. 3a/3b, Alberti) formed within the body (304) of the respective first and second flat coil (8a/8b, Fig. 9, Sakka); (claim 8) wherein the conductive structure (304, Fig. 3a/3b, Alberti) is a flat coil (8a/8b, Fig. 9, Sakka) having the fluid pathway (340, Fig. 3a/3b, Alberti) formed within the body of the flat coil (304).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alberti as applied to claims 1-3, 7 above, and further in view of US 20220415619 to Long.
Claim 6: Alberti does not disclose wherein the conductive further comprises one or more electronic heaters and, wherein the conductive structure operates as a Faraday shield.
Long discloses wherein the conductive structure (154 [Faraday shield], Fig. 1) further comprises one or more electronic heaters (117 [heating elements], para. [0031]) and, wherein the conductive structure (154) operates as a Faraday shield (154), for the purpose of ensuring proper plasma processing and workpiece uniformity (para. [0031]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the electronic heaters as taught by Long with motivation to ensure proper plasma processing and workpiece uniformity.
Claims 9-20: (Withdrawn).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20150020969 discloses a Faraday shield (108, Fig. 2D/2E) having internal plenum channels within the body of the shield (108) to flow air through (para. [0059]). US 20090236315 discloses a shielded lid heater (180, Fig. 2A) having a heater element (204), conductive base (202) for uniform heat transfer, RF shield (206), and thermal insulator (208, para. [0036-0039]) .
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718