DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “ the first isolation structure is a shallow trench isolation (STI) structure.”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The argument that it would not be obvious to substitute a Heavily doped isolation structure for a STI structure is found unpersuasive in light of Xin Lin (US 9508845 B1) since Xin Lin teaches a Heavily doped structure and interchanging it with an STI structure (see the rejection below for more).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ting-You Lin et al. (US 10692969 B1) herein after referred to as “Lin” in view of Patrick M Shea (US 20090283826 A1) herein after referred to as “Shea”, further in view of Xin Lin (US 9508845 B1) herein after referred to as “Xin”.
Regarding claim 1, Lin teaches:
A transistor structure, comprising:
a substrate; (Fig. 9 element 800)
a first well region element (705 with 802) and a second well region (702), located in the substrate (800) and adjacent to each other; (Fig. 9 elements 705, 802, 702, 800)
a gate structure (G2), located on the substrate; (Fig. 9 element G2)
a drift region (703), located in the second well region on one side of the gate structure ; (Fig. 9 element 703)
a first doped region (706) and a second doped region (704), located in the substrate on two sides of the gate structure, wherein the first doped region is located in the first well region, and the second doped region is located in the drift region; and (Fig. 9 element 706 and 704) Column 11 lines 34-47
a first isolation structure (804), located in the substrate between the gate structure (G2) and the second doped region (704), wherein (Fig. 9 element 804 Column 15 lines 33-55 )
the first well region has a first portion lower than a bottom surface of the drift region, (Fig. 9 element 802 is lower than 703)
the second well region has a second portion lower than the bottom surface of the drift region, and (Fig. 9 portions of element 702 are lower than 703)
Lin discusses the dopant concentration in the well regions, but not that a doping concentration of the first portion of the first well region is greater than a doping concentration of the second portion of the second well region.
Shea teaches
a doping concentration of the first portion of the first well region is greater than a doping concentration of the second portion of the second well region. (Para. [0080][0052] Fig 9. Element 49 [since placing a highly doped area in to that portion of the well region thusly makes it of higher concentration compared to the second well.])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lin as taught by Shea such that the a doping concentration of the first portion of the first well region is greater than a doping concentration of the second portion of the second well region, because Shea teaches that it is known that electrical conductivity can be manipulated through the process of doping and thus a high doping concentration displaced far enough away from the gate region such that the threshold voltage of the device is not significantly affected, and since the region is also connected to the source, it lowers the base resistance of the semiconductor. (Para.[0005],[0006],[0080],[0052] Fig 9. Element 49).
Lin in view of Shea is not relied upon to teach
and the first isolation structure is a shallow trench isolation (STI) structure.
Xin teaches a laterally diffused metal-oxide-semiconductor transistor with similar first isolation regions (111 and 112) to Lin’s (804) and teaches that they are interchangeable with STI structures (327 and 328) and therefore is relied upon to teach
the first isolation structure (327 and 328) is a shallow trench isolation (STI) structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lin in view of Shea such that the first isolation structure is a shallow trench isolation (STI) structure, as described in Xin because the modification is a known interchange depending on how much isolation is desired. (Xin Col. 8 lines 14-16)
Regarding claim 2, Lin in view of Shea and Xin teaches
The transistor structure according to claim 1,
Lin further teaches
wherein the first well region has a third portion lower than a bottom surface of the first isolation structure, (Fig. 9 element 802 is lower than 804 [where 802 may contain the first and third portions of the first well (705 and 802)])
the second well region has a fourth portion lower than the bottom surface of the first isolation structure, (Fig. 9 element 702 is lower than 804 [where 702 may contain the second and fourth portions of the second well])
Lin as modified by Shea above teaches that a doping concentration of the third portion of the first well region is greater than a doping concentration of the fourth portion of the second well region.
Shea teaches:
and a doping concentration of the third portion of the first well region is greater than a doping concentration of the fourth portion of the second well region. (Para. [0080][0052] Fig 9. Element 49)
Regarding Claim 5, Lin in view of Shea and Xin teaches
The transistor structure according to claim 1,
Lin further teaches
wherein the bottom surface of the drift region is lower than a bottom surface of the first isolation structure, and the drift region surrounds the first isolation structure. (Fig 9 element 703 lower than and surrounds 804)
Regarding Claim 7, Lin in view of Shea and Xin teaches
The transistor structure according to claim 1,
Lin further teaches
wherein a part of the first well region is located directly below the gate structure. (Fig. 9 element 705 below G2)
Regarding Claim 8, Lin in view of Shea and Xin teaches
The transistor structure according to claim 1,
Lin further teaches
wherein a part of the second well region is located directly below the gate structure. (Fig. 9 element 702 below G2)
Regarding Claim 9, Lin in view of Shea and Xin teaches
The transistor structure according to claim 1,
Lin further teaches
wherein a part of the drift region is located directly below the gate structure. (Fig. 9 element 703 below G2)
Regarding Claim 10, Lin in view of Shea and Xin teaches
The transistor structure according to claim 1,
Lin further teaches
wherein a part of the first isolation structure is located directly below the gate structure. (Fig.9 element 804 below G2)
Regarding Claim 11, Lin in view of Shea and Xin teaches
The transistor structure according to claim 1,
Lin further teaches
wherein the gate structure comprises: a gate, located on the substrate; and (Fig. 9 element 806 Column 15-16 lines 56-18)
a gate dielectric layer, located between the gate and the substrate. (Fig. 9 element 805
Column 15-16 lines 56-18)
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Shea and Xin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of James B, Burr et al. (EP 0697740 A2) herein after referred to as “Burr”.
Regarding Claim 3, Lin in view of Shea and Xin teaches
The transistor structure according to claim 1,
Lin further teaches
wherein the first well region (705 and 802) has a top surface and a bottom surface opposite to each other, the top surface is adjacent to the gate structure, (Fig. element 705 is adjacent to G2)
Lin does not teach
and the first well region has a doping concentration increasing from the top surface to the bottom surface.
Shea teaches dopant concentration variation but not doping concentration increasing from the top surface to the bottom surface specifically (Para.[0005],[0006],[0080],[0052] Fig 9. Element 49).
Burr teaches
and the first well region has a doping concentration increasing from the top surface to the bottom surface. (Fig. 1 element 34, Page 5 column 1 lines 44 -51, Page 5 column 2 lines 5-6)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lin in view of Shea and Xin such that the first well region has a doping concentration increasing from the top surface to the bottom surface, as described in the analogous prior art of Burr because to modify the other analogous device described in Lin in view of Shea and Xin allows for the reduction of cost. (Fig. 1 element 34, Page 5 column 1 lines 44 -51, Page 5 column 2 lines 5-6)
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Shea and Xin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Akio Kitamura et al. (EP 0588067 A2) herein after referred to as “Kitamura”.
Regarding Claim 4, Lin in view of Shea and Xin teaches
The transistor structure according to claim 1,
Lin further teaches
wherein the second well region has a top surface and a bottom surface opposite to each other, (Fig 9. element 702)
the top surface is adjacent to the gate structure, and (Fig. 9 element 702 is adjacent to G2)
Lin in view of Shea and Xin does not teach
the second well region has a doping concentration decreasing from the top surface to the bottom surface.
Kitamura teaches
the second well region has a doping concentration decreasing from the top surface to the bottom surface. (Fig. 1b element 2, Page 10 column 1 lines 27-35)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lin in view of Shea and Xin such that the second well region has a doping concentration decreasing from the top surface to the bottom surface, as described in the analogous prior art of Kitamura because to modify the other analogous device described in Lin in view of Shea allows for the decrease of the resistance value for the well. (Fig. 1b element 2, Page 10 column 1 lines 27-35).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Shea and Xin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Akihiro Imada et al. (US 20150194424 A1) herein after referred to as “Imada”.
Regarding claim 6, Lin in view of Shea and Xin teaches
The transistor structure according to claim 1,
Lin in view of Shea and Xin is not relied upon to teach
wherein the drift region is further located in the first well region.
Imada teaches
wherein the drift region (6) is further located in the first well region(3). (Fig. 1 element 6 and 3)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lin in the view of Shea in view of Xin such that the drift region is further located in the first well region, as described in the analogous prior art of Imada because to modify the other analogous device described in Lin in view of Shea allows for the drift region that is in extended contact with the well region, that is in contact with the source, to form a high resistance region containing an impurity at a lower concentration as compared to the drain region resistance region; this high resistance lessens the source-to-drain electric field, thus providing a high-voltage transistor structure. (Para [0015], Fig. 1 element 6 and 3)
Claim(s) 12-15, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Shea and Xin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jens Schneider et al. (US 20090140335 A1) herein after referred to as “Schneider”.
Regarding claim 12, Lin in view of Shea and Xin teaches
The transistor structure according to claim 1,
Lin in view of Shea and Xin is not relied upon to teach
wherein the first well region and the second well region have a first conductivity type, and the drift region, the first doped region, and the second doped region have a second conductivity type.
Schneider teaches
wherein the first well region (410) and the second well region (404) have a first conductivity type, (fig 4a elements 410 and 404 may both be p-type, Para [0058][0039]) and the drift region (412), the first doped region (402), and the second doped region (403) have a second conductivity type.(Fig 4A element 412, 402, and 403 may all be n-type)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lin in view of Shea and Xin such that the first well region and the second well region have a first conductivity type, and the drift region, the first doped region, and the second doped region have a second conductivity type, as described in the analogous prior art of Schneider because to modify the other analogous device described in Lin in view of Shea and Xin allows for a deep n-band under thus the drain may be electrically isolated against the substrate. (Para. [0094])
Regarding claim 13, Lin in view of Shea and Xin in view of Schneider teaches
The transistor structure according to claim 12,
Lin further teaches
wherein the substrate has the first conductivity type. (Column 1 lines 34-39 Column 5 lines 15-18)
Regarding claim 14, Lin in view of Shea and Xin, and further in view of Schneider teaches
The transistor structure according to claim 12,
Schneider further teaches
further comprising: a third well region (413), located in the substrate below the first well region and the second well region, (Fig. 5 element 413) wherein the third well region has the second conductivity type. (Fig. 5 element 413)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device such that a third well region, located in the substrate below the first well region and the second well region wherein the third well region has the second conductivity type, as described in the analogous prior art of Schneider because to modify the device described in Lin in view of Shea and Xin and further in view of Schneider allows for the third well region (element 413) to be electrically connected to the second well region (element 404) thusly creating an electrostatic discharge protection region . (Para. [0108])
Regarding claim 15, Lin in view of Shea and Xin and further in view of Schneider teaches:
The transistor structure according to claim 14,
Schneider further teaches
wherein the first well region and the second well region are connected to the third well region. (Fig. 5 element 413 connected to 410 and 404)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have the first and second well region connected to the third well region, because the device described in Lin in view of Shea and Xin and further in view of Schneider allows for the third well region to be under the first well region to configure the device as a drain-extended field effect transistor and allows for the third well region to be electrically connected to the second well region thusly creating an electrostatic discharge protection region (Para. [0103][0108])
Regarding claim 18, Lin in view of Shea and Xin and further in view of Schneider teaches
The transistor structure according to claim 12,
Schneider further teaches
further comprising: a bulk region (406), located in the first well region, (Fig. 4a element 406) wherein the first doped region (402) is between the gate structure and the bulk region, (Fig. 4a element 402) and the bulk region has the first conductivity type. (Fig. 4a element 406)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lin in view of Shea and Xin, and Schneider to include a bulk region, located in the first well region, wherein the first doped region is between the gate structure and the bulk region, and the bulk region has the first conductivity type, as described in the analogous prior art of Schneider because including the bulk region in Lin in view of Shea and Schneider allows for the bulk region to serve as an electrical bulk or as a substrate contact. (Para. [0060])
Regarding claim 19, Lin in view of Shea and Xin and further in view of Schneider teaches:
The transistor structure according to claim 18,
Schneider further teaches
further comprising: a second isolation structure (407), located in the substrate between the first doped region and the bulk region. (Fig. 4a element 407)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device such that a second isolation structure, located in the substrate between the first doped region and the bulk region, as described in the analogous prior art of Schneider because to modify the other analogous device described in Lin in view of in view of Xin in view of Shea and Xin, and further in view of Schneider allows for the lateral electric isolation of the bulk region and the first doped region. (Para. [0063])
Regarding claim 20, Lin in view of Shea and Xin, and further in view of Schneider teaches:
The transistor structure according to claim 19,
Schneider further teaches
wherein a bottom surface of the first well region (410) is lower than a bottom surface of the second isolation structure (407) and the first well region surrounds the second isolation structure. (Fig. 4a element 410 and 407),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have the a bottom surface of the first well region is lower than a bottom surface of the second isolation structure and the first well region surrounds the second isolation structure, as described in Schneider because to adjust Lin in view of Shea and Xin and further in view of Schneider allows for the current to flow under the isolation structure, also allowing the bulk region to serve as an electrical bulk or as a substrate contact. (Para. [0060], [0136])
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Shea, Xin, and Schneider as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Constantin Bulucea et al. (US 20100244128 A1) herein after referred to as “Bulucea”
Regarding claim 16, Lin in view of Shea, Xin, and Schneider teaches
The transistor structure according to claim 12,
Lin in view of Shea, Xin, and Schneider is not relied upon to teach:
further comprising: a lightly doped drain region, located in the first well region between the first doped region and the gate structure, wherein the lightly doped drain region has the second conductivity type.
Bulucea teaches
further comprising: a lightly doped drain region, located in the first well region between the first doped region and the gate structure, wherein the lightly doped drain region has the second conductivity type. (Fig 1 element 26E and Fig. 22a element 320E Para. [0007], [0011], [0567]. Elements 26E and 320E are analogous elements)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to place a lightly doped drain region, located in the first well region between the first doped region and the gate structure, wherein the lightly doped drain region has the second conductivity type, as described Bulucea because to add the region into Lin in view of Shea, Xin, and Schneider allows for the surface punch through to be avoided (Para. [0011])
Regarding claim 17, Lin in view of Shea, Xin, Schneider, and Bulucea teach:
The transistor structure according to claim 16,
Bulucea further teaches
wherein the lightly doped drain region is located directly below the gate structure. (Fig. 19a element 240E is below gate 262 Para. [0389]. Element 240e is an analogous element to 26E and 320E)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device such that the lightly doped drain region is located directly below the gate structure, as described in the analogous prior art of Bulucea because to modify the other analogous device described in Lin in view of Shea, Xin, Schneider, and Bulucea allows for the lightly doped region to serve as a buffer that prevents damage to the gate dielectric layer during fabrication. (Para. [0389])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hoentschel; Jan (US-20150162439-A1), Cannon; Ethan H. (US-20080157202-A1)
/JAIME LYNN SPRENGER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/SUE A PURVIS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893