DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-14) in the reply filed on 03/31/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Inventions II, III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/31/2026.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20150292082 to Sano in view of US 20080067146 to Onishi.
Claim 1: Sano discloses a substrate processing apparatus comprising: a process chamber (PM1 [process chamber, Fig. 2) in which a substrate (W [wafer]) is processed; an exhaust controller (212 [APC Auto Pressure Controller]) configured to control a gas flow path (211/221/231/241 [exhaust conduit]) through which a plurality of exhausts (GE1/GE2/GE3/GE4 [gas exhaust systems]) in parallel is connected to the process chamber and a gas flow in the gas flow path (para. [0045]); and a controller (CNT [Controller]) configured to be capable of controlling the exhaust controller (para. [0045]).
However Sano does not explicitly disclose an output controller configured to control output of each of the exhausts; the controller configured to be capable of controlling the exhaust controller and the output controller.
Onishi discloses an output controller (508 [exhaust capacity controller], Fig. 1) configured to control output of the exhaust (para. [0043]); the controller (502 [apparatus control unit]) configured to be capable of controlling the exhaust controller (508) and the output controller (501 [pressure controller]), for the purpose of controlling operations of the plasma processing apparatus (para. [0044]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the above limitations as taught by Onishi with motivation to control operations of the plasma processing apparatus.
Claim 2: The apparatus of Sano in view of Onishi discloses wherein the exhaust controller (212, Fig. 2, Sano) includes a pressure controller (212) configured to regulate a degree of opening of the gas flow path to control a pressure of the process chamber to a predetermined pressure (para. [0045]).
Claim 3: The apparatus of Sano in view of Onishi discloses wherein at least one of the plurality of exhausts is different in maximum exhaust quantity from another of the exhausts (para. [0108, [0045], Sano).
It is noted that the limitation is drawn to an intended use of the apparatus. The courts have held that a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. MPEP 2114 II.
Claim 4: The apparatus of Sano in view of Onishi discloses wherein the process chamber (PM1, Fig. 2, Sano) includes a plurality of process chambers (PM1, PM2, PM3, PM4) in which respective substrates (W’s) are processed, and the plurality of exhausts (GE1, GE2, GE3, GE4) in parallel is connected to each of the process chambers through the gas flow path (211/221/231/241, Fig. 2).
Claim 5: The apparatus of Sano in view of Onishi discloses further comprising: a detector (216/226/236/246 [sensor], Fig. 2, Sano) configured to detect abnormality in the exhausts (para. [0045]);
However the apparatus of Sano in view of Onishi does not explicitly disclose and an emergency controller configured to be capable of controlling, in response to detection of the abnormality in the exhausts by the detector, at least either the exhaust controller or the output controller. Yet Sano teaches the controller (CNT) can respond to abnormalities that the sensor (216) detects (para. 0045]) without a separate computer component.
Onishi discloses an emergency controller (500 [computing unit]) configured to be capable of controlling, in response to detection of the abnormality in the exhausts by the detector (505 [determination unit]), at least either the exhaust controller (501) or the output controller (508), for the purpose of quickly detecting the occurrence of an abnormality (para. [0056-0059]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the computer component as taught by Onishi with motivation to quickly detect the occurrence of an abnormality.
Claim 6: The apparatus of Sano in view of Onishi discloses wherein the controller is configured to be capable of controlling at least either the exhaust controller or the output controller between first processing performed in the process chamber and second processing performed in the process chamber after the first processing (para. [0008]).
It is noted that the limitations are drawn to intended use of the apparatus. See above case law regarding intended use.
Claim 7: The apparatus of Sano in view of Onishi discloses wherein the controller is configured to be capable of controlling at least either the exhaust controller or the output controller such that exhaustion of the process chamber is performed in the second processing by an exhaust in the exhausts, the exhaust being different from an exhaust used in the first processing in the exhausts (para. [0010]).
It is noted that the limitations are drawn to intended use of the apparatus. See above case law regarding intended use.
Claims 8-11: The apparatus of Sano in view of Onishi does not explicitly disclose (claim 8) wherein the controller is configured to be capable of controlling at least either the exhaust controller or the output controller such that a gas flow rate per unit of time for exhaustion of the process chamber varies between in the first processing and in the second processing; (claim 9) wherein the controller is configured to be capable of controlling at least either the exhaust controller or the output controller such that a number of the exhausts connected to the process chamber varies between in the first processing and in the second processing;
(claim 10) wherein the controller is configured to be capable of controlling at least either the exhaust controller or the output controller such that at least one exhaust of the exhausts connected to the process chamber varies in maximum exhaust quantity between in the first processing and in the second processing; (claim 11) wherein the controller is configured to control at least either the exhaust controller or the output controller such that an output rate that is a value of the output to a maximum output of at least one exhaust of the exhausts connected to the process chamber varies between in the first processing and in the second processing.
Yet the limitations above are drawn to intended uses of the apparatus, and Sano in view of Onishi are capable to perform the above limitations as necessary, as the structures and computer components are fully present (see above). See above case law regarding intended use.
Claim 12: The apparatus of Sano in view of Onishi discloses wherein the first processing corresponds to first substrate processing, and the second processing corresponds to second substrate processing (para. [0045], Sano).
It is noted that the limitations are drawn to intended use of the apparatus. See above case law regarding intended use.
Claim 13: The apparatus of Sano in view of Onishi discloses wherein one of the first processing and the second processing corresponds to substrate processing, and another corresponds to cleaning processing to the process chamber (para. [0078], [0091-0092], Sano).
It is noted that the limitations are drawn to intended use of the apparatus. See above case law regarding intended use.
Claim 14: The apparatus of Sano in view of Onishi discloses wherein one of the first processing and the second processing corresponds to substrate processing and another corresponds to remaining on standby (para. [0074-0075], Sano).
It is noted that the limitations are drawn to intended use of the apparatus. See above case law regarding intended use.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20240093372 discloses a controller (260) and exhaust systems (238/238/251/222) which are connected through two processing chambers, where the controller controls operations for the exhaust systems (para. [0100-1043]).
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718