Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Election/Restrictions
Claims #14-20 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/07/26.
Claims #1-13 will be examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/27/24, 09/19/23 was filed in a timely manner; thus, the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) #1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Lee (U.S. Pub. No, 2019/0341441), hereinafter referred to as "Lee".
Lee shows, with respect to claim #1, a display device comprising: a display area in which pixels are located, a non-display area surrounding the display area (fig. #2, item DA) (paragraph 0053) in plain view, and a pad area (fig. #2, item 40) (paragraph 0059) in the non-display area (fig. #2, item PA, BA) on a side of the display area in a first direction (paragraph 0056); a first electrode (fig. #8, item 330) (paragraph 0065) and a second electrode (fig. #2, item 310) extending in the first direction in the display area, and spaced apart from each other in a second direction crossing the first direction (paragraph 0059, 0122); light-emitting elements (fig. #8, item 410) on the first electrode and the second electrode in the display area (paragraph 0129); data lines (fig. #2, item DL) extending from the pad area (fig. #2, item 40) to the display area (fig. #2, item DA) in the first direction (paragraph 0054, 0059); connection wirings spaced apart from the data lines, and extending from the pad area to the non-display area on respective sides of the display area in the second direction (paragraph 0062); first pads (fig. #2, item 42) overlapping the data lines in the pad area (paragraph 0054, 0059); and second pads (fig. #2, item 41, 42, 44 and 45) spaced apart from the first pads in the second direction in the pad area (paragraph 0054, 0059), and overlapping the connection wirings (paragraph 0104, 0108), wherein the connection wirings comprise: a first connection wiring (Below; fig. #Ex1, item 60) overlapping a second pad (Below; fig. #Ex1, item 42), and extending in the first direction (X direction); a second connection wiring (Below; fig. #Ex1, item 41a) not overlapping the second pad (Below; fig. #Ex1, item 42), and overlapping the first connection wiring (Below; fig. #Ex1, item 60) in the non-display area (Below; fig. #Ex1, item ND); and a third connection wiring (Below; fig. #Ex1, item 41b) overlapping the first connection wiring (Below; fig. #Ex1, item 60), and electrically connected to the second pad (paragraph 0057, 0059), wherein the first connection wiring (Below; fig. #Ex1, item 60) and the third connection wiring (Below; fig. #Ex1, item 41b) overlap each other in the pad area (Below; fig. #Ex1, item OA), and wherein the first connection wiring, the second connection wiring, and the third connection wiring overlap each other in the non-display area (Below; fig. #Ex1, item OA) (paragraph 0054, 0059, 0061).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Contact pad; Cp)][AltContent: textbox (41b)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Pad; 41bb)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (41)][AltContent: textbox (Pad; 41cc)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Non-Display Area; ND)][AltContent: rect][AltContent: textbox (Ex1)][AltContent: oval][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Overlapping Area; OA)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (41a)]
Lee shows, with respect to claim #2, a device wherein the first pads (Above; fig. #Ex1, item 41bb) and the second pads (Above; fig. #Ex1, item 41cc) respectively comprise a pad base layer (Above; fig. #Ex1, item FPCB), and a pad upper layer on the pad base layer and contacting the pad base layer through a pad contact hole (paragraph 0059-0061), and wherein the pad base layer directly contacts a data line (Above; fig. #Ex1, item 41b) of the data lines (Above; fig. #Ex1, item 41) or the first connection wiring through a first contact hole and a second contact hole that are spaced apart from the pad contact hole in the first direction (paragraph 0059-0061).
Lee shows, with respect to claim #3, a device wherein the data line (Above; fig. #Ex1, item 41a) overlaps the first contact hole (Above; fig. #Ex1, item 41bb), the pad contact hole, and the second contact hole overlapping a first pad of the first pads in the pad area (paragraph 0059-0061).
Lee shows, with respect to claim #4, a device wherein the first connection wiring overlaps the first contact hole (Above; fig. #Ex1, item 41bb), the pad contact hole (Above; fig. #Ex1, item 41), and the second contact hole (Above; fig. #Ex1, item 41cc) overlapping a second pad of the second pads (Above; fig. #Ex1, item Cp) in the pad area (paragraph 0059-0061).
Lee shows, with respect to claim #5, a device wherein the third connection wiring (Above; fig. #Ex1, item 41b) is directly connected to the pad upper layer (Above; fig. #Ex1, item Cp) of the second pad in the pad area, and directly contacts the second connection wiring through a third contact hole in a portion overlapping the first connection wiring and the second connection wiring in the non-display area (paragraph 0059-0061).
Lee shows, with respect to claim #6, a device wherein the first pads (Above; fig. #Ex1, item 41) and the second pads (Above; fig. #Ex1, item Cp) respectively comprise a first portion overlapping the pad contact hole (Above; fig. #Ex1, item 41bb), a second portion overlapping the first contact hole or the second contact hole (Above; fig. #Ex1, item 41cc), and a third portion between the first portion and the second portion, and wherein the first portion, the second portion and the third portion have different respective widths measured in the second direction (paragraph 0059-0061).
Lee shows, with respect to claim #6, a device wherein the width of the first portion is greater than the widths of the second portion and the third portion, and wherein the width of the third portion is greater than the width of the second portion (paragraph 0059-0061).
Lee shows, with respect to claim #7, a device wherein the width (Below; fig. #Ex2, item a) of the first portion is greater than the widths (Below; fig. #Ex2, item b) of the second portion and the third portion (Below; fig. #Ex2, item C), and wherein the width of the third portion is greater than the width of the second portion (paragraph 0059-0061).
[AltContent: textbox (Ex2)][AltContent: textbox (c)][AltContent: textbox (b)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (a)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim #8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (U.S. Pub. No, 2019/0341441), hereinafter referred to as "Lee" as shown in the rejection of claim #6 above and in view of Kim et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0313498), hereinafter referred to as "Kim".
Lee substantially shows the claimed invention as shown in the rejection of claim #6 above.
Lee fails to show, with respect to claim #8, a device wherein the data line, the pad base layer and the pad upper layer have different widths measured in the second direction, and wherein differences between the widths of the data line, the pad base layer, and the pad upper layer are constant in each of the first portion, the second portion, and the third portion.
Kim teaches, with respect to claim #8, a device wherein the data line (Below; fig. #Ex3, item WPD), the pad base layer (Below; fig. #Ex3, item PAD_R) and the pad upper layer (Below; fig. #Ex3, item PAD_C) have different widths measured in the second direction, and wherein differences between the widths of the data line, the pad base layer, and the pad upper layer are constant in each of the first portion (Below; fig. #Ex3, item FP3), the second portion (Below; fig. #Ex3, item SP3), and the third portion (Below; fig. #Ex3, item TP3) (paragraph 0097, 0108).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (PAD_C width; PCW)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (PAD_C)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (PAD_R)][AltContent: arc][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Ex3)][AltContent: textbox (Third Portion; TP3)][AltContent: textbox (Second Portion; SP3)][AltContent: textbox (First Portion; FP3)]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #8, to modified the invention of Lee as modified by the invention of Kim, which teaches wherein the data line, the pad base layer and the pad upper layer have different widths measured in the second direction, and wherein differences between the widths of the data line, the pad base layer, and the pad upper layer are constant in each of the first portion, the second portion, and the third portion, to incorporate a structural condition that would allow electrical signals applied to the display area via the wire pad may be transmitted via a different conductive layer, as taught by Kim.
//
Claim #9, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (U.S. Pub. No, 2019/0341441), hereinafter referred to as "Lee" as shown in the rejection of claim #2 above and in view of Kim et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0313498), hereinafter referred to as "Kim".
Lee substantially shows the claimed invention as shown in the rejection of claim #2 above.
Lee fails to show, with respect to claim #9, a device wherein a width of the data line measured in the second direction is greater than a width of one of the first pads measured in the second direction.
Kim teaches, with respect to claim #9, a device wherein a width of the data line (Above; fig. #Ex3, item WPD) measured in the second direction is greater than a width of one of the first pads (Above; fig. #Ex3, item PCW) measured in the second direction (paragraph 0097, 0162).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #9, to modified the invention of Lee as modified by the invention of Kim, which teaches, wherein a width of the data line measured in the second direction is greater than a width of one of the first pads measured in the second direction, to incorporate a structural condition that would allow connections to outside devices, as taught by Kim.
Lee shows, with respect to claim #11, a device wherein a distance between adjacent ones of the data lines [fig. Ex1, (item pad 41 with data line 41a) and (item pad 42 with data line 61)] in the pad area is less than a distance between adjacent ones [fig. Ex1, (item pad 44 with data line 21) and (item pad 42 with data line 61)] of the first pads (paragraph 0059).
///
Claim #10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (U.S. Pub. No, 2019/0341441), hereinafter referred to as "Lee" as modified by Kim et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0313498), hereinafter referred to as "Kim" as shown in the rejection of claim #9 above and in view of AN et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0011369), hereinafter referred to as "An".
Lee as modified by Kim substantially shows the claimed invention as shown in the rejection of claim #9 above.
Lee as modified by Kim fails to show, with respect to claim #10, a device wherein a width of the pad base layer measured in the second direction is less than a width of the pad upper layer measured in the second direction.
An teaches, with respect to claim #10, a device wherein a width of the pad base layer (fig. #2 & 3, item PE1) measured in the second direction is less than a width of the pad upper layer (Fig. #2 & 3, item PE2) measured in the second direction (paragraph 0037, 0040).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #10, to modified the invention of Lee as modified by Kim, with the invention of Kim, which teaches, wherein a width of the pad base layer measured in the second direction is less than a width of the pad upper layer measured in the second direction, to incorporate a structural condition that would extend the electrical connective area, as taught by Kim.
Lee substantially shows the claimed invention as shown in the rejection of claim #9 above.
Lee fails to show, with respect to claim #10, a device wherein a width of the pad base layer measured in the second direction is less than a width of the pad upper layer measured in the second direction.
Kim teaches, with respect to claim #10, a device wherein a width of the pad base layer measured in the second direction is less than a width of the pad upper layer measured in the second direction (paragraph 0161). (Above; fig. #Ex3, item WPD)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #10, to modified the invention of Lee as modified by the invention of Kim, which teaches, wherein a width of the pad base layer measured in the second direction is less than a width of the pad upper layer measured in the second direction, to incorporate a structural condition that would allow connections to outside devices, as taught by Kim.
////
Claim #12, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (U.S. Pub. No, 2019/0341441), hereinafter referred to as "Lee" as shown in the rejection of claim #1 above and in view of Kim et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0313498), hereinafter referred to as "Kim".
Lee substantially shows the claimed invention as shown in the rejection of claim #1 above.
Lee fails to show, with respect to claim #12, a device further comprising: scan lines between the data lines, and extending from the pad area to the display area; and third pads overlapping the scan lines in the pad area, wherein the third pads and the first pads are not side by side in the second direction.
Kim teaches, with respect to claim #12, a device further comprising: scan lines (fig. #2, item SCL) between the data lines (fig. #2, item DTL), and extending from the pad area to the display area (fig. #1, item DPA) (paragraph 0069, 0075); and third pads (fig. #2, item WPD_DT) overlapping the scan lines in the pad area, wherein the third pads and the first pads (fig. #2, item WPD_Vint) are not side by side in the second direction (paragraph 0079).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #12, to modified the invention of Lee as modified by the invention of Kim, which teaches, further comprising: scan lines between the data lines, and extending from the pad area to the display area; and third pads overlapping the scan lines in the pad area, wherein the third pads and the first pads are not side by side in the second direction, to incorporate a structural condition that would allow connections to outside devices, as taught by Kim.
Lee fails to show, with respect to claim #13, a device wherein a distance between adjacent ones of the first pads in the second direction is greater than a distance between the data lines and the scan lines.
Kim teaches, with respect to claim #13, a device wherein a distance between adjacent ones of the first pads (Below, fig. Ex4, item DBP4) in the second direction is greater than a distance between the data lines and the scan lines (Distance; Below, fig. Ex4, item DLS4) (paragraph 0069, 0075, 0079).
[AltContent: textbox (Distance between pad; DBP4)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Distance between data line and scan lines; DLS4)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second pad; SP4)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First Pd; FP4)][AltContent: textbox (Third Pad; TP4)][AltContent: textbox (Ex4)]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #13, to modified the invention of Lee as modified by the invention of Kim, which teaches, wherein a distance between adjacent ones of the first pads in the second direction is greater than a distance between the data lines and the scan lines, to incorporate a structural condition that would allow connections to outside devices, as taught by Kim.
EXAMINATION NOTE
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood or implied from the texts of the references. To emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out. Each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Andre’ Stevenson whose telephone number is (571) 272 1683 (Email Address, Andre.Stevenson@USPTO.GOV). The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday from 7:30 am to 4:30 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Zandra Smith can be reached on 571-272 2429. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Andre’ Stevenson Sr./
Art Unit 2899
02/18/2026
/ZANDRA V SMITH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899