DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 9,437,680 B1 (Cheng).
Re claim 1, Cheng teaches a method of forming a composite wafer, comprising:
forming a layer stack comprising a carrier layer (donor wafer 102 having epitaxially grown SiGe buffer layer 104 grown thereon), an ion implantation layer (bubble layer 117), and a transfer material layer comprising a single crystalline semiconductor material (relaxed silicon 116/116’ and epitaxially grown relaxed SiGe layer 106; epitaxial growth requires the grown material to be single crystal [Col 3 lines 55-67 and Col 4 lines 1-21]) by implanting ions into a donor wafer ([Col 4 lines 13-21] Fig. 1(a)-(b));
forming trenches (openings formed in Fig. 2 by lithography process Col. 4 lines 22-34) through the transfer material layer, the ion implantation layer, and an upper portion of the carrier layer;
attaching the layer stack to an acceptor wafer including a stack of a handle substrate (bulk semiconductor layer 118) and a first dielectric oxide layer (oxide layer 120) by bonding the layer stack to the first dielectric oxide layer such that the single crystalline semiconductor material contacts, and is bonded to, the first dielectric oxide layer (Fig. 8); and
cleaving the layer stack at the ion implantation layer (Figs. 8-9 Col. 5 lines 12-27), whereby a composite wafer including the acceptor wafer and patterned portions of the transfer material layer is formed (Fig. 9).
Re claim 7, Cheng teaches wherein the first dielectric oxide layer is bonded to the patterned portions of the transfer material layer (Fig. 8).
Re claim 31, Cheng teaches wherein: the ion implantation layer remains free of any lateral recess when the patterned portions of the transfer material layer are bonded to the first dielectric oxide layer; and the patterned portions of the transfer material layer are bonded to the first dielectric oxide layer while the ion implantation layer remains free of any lateral recess (Figs. 8-9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 9, 21, 24, 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9,437,680 B1 (Cheng) further in view of US 20070037362 A1 (Bahl).
Re claims 2 and 9, Cheng teaches further comprising:
forming a patterned etch mask layer (hardmask layer 114) including laterally-extending openings over the transfer material layer (Fig. 2); and
forming the trenches by transferring a pattern of the laterally-extending openings into the transfer material layer by performing an anisotropic etch process (Fig. 2 Col. 4 lines 35-51) (claim 2) nor removing a peripheral region of the layer stack that is located outside areas of the patterned portions of the transfer material layer, wherein the peripheral region has a width that is at least twice a width of the trenches (claim 9).
However, Cheng does not explicitly teach wherein the patterns are intersecting lateral openings i.e. a grid, Cheng is completely silent with regards to the shape of the transferred portions but Cheng does teach that these material portions can have different internal stresses for NFET and PFET devices (Col. 5 lines 12-35).
Bahl teaches forming a transfer method wherein small portions of different semiconductor materials are transferred to a wafer and these transferred portions are used to make specific different types of devices on the same handle wafer (Figs. 1-5) and wherein the transferred material portions are separated out in a grid or checkerboard pattern having intersecting lines ([0017]) (Fig. 2).
Re claim 21, Cheng teaches a method of forming a composite wafer, the method comprising:
providing an acceptor wafer comprising a handle substrate (bulk semiconductor layer 118) and a first dielectric oxide layer (oxide layer 120) overlying the handle substrate;
providing a donor wafer comprising a carrier layer (donor wafer 102 having epitaxially grown SiGe buffer layer 104 grown thereon), an ion implantation layer (bubble layer 117) overlying the carrier layer, and a transfer material layer (relaxed silicon 116/116’ and epitaxially grown relaxed SiGe layer 106; epitaxial growth requires the grown material to be single crystal [Col 3 lines 55-67 and Col 4 lines 1-21]) overlying the ion implantation layer and comprising a single crystalline semiconductor material (SiGe [Col 4 lines 13-21] Fig. 1(a)-(b));
forming trenches (openings formed in Fig. 2 by lithography process Col. 4 lines 22-34) through the transfer material layer and a portion of the ion implantation layer in the donor wafer to provide an array of transfer material plates (Fig. 2);
bonding the array of transfer material plates to the first dielectric oxide layer of the acceptor wafer such that the single crystalline semiconductor material contacts, and is bonded to, the first dielectric oxide layer (Figs. 8-9 Col. 5 lines 12-27); and
cleaving the donor wafer along the ion implantation layer to transfer the array of transfer material plates onto the acceptor wafer (Figs. 8-9 Col. 5 lines 12-27).
However, Cheng does not explicitly teach wherein the patterns are intersecting lateral openings i.e. a grid, Cheng is completely silent with regards to the shape of the transferred portions but Cheng does teach that these material portions can have different internal stresses for NFET and PFET devices (Col. 5 lines 12-35).
Bahl teaches forming a transfer method wherein small portions of different semiconductor materials are transferred to a wafer and these transferred portions are used to make specific different types of devices on the same handle wafer (Figs. 1-5) and wherein the transferred material portions are separated out in a grid or checkerboard pattern having intersecting lines ([0017]) (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious at the time of filing to alter the invention of Cheng using the teachings in Bahl, specifically wherein the transferred portions are formed in a grid which would require the etched trenches of Cheng to have intersecting lines.
The motivation to do so is that Cheng is silent with regards to the top view shape of the transferred portions but Cheng does teach that each of these portions is made for discrete individual or collections of NFETs and PFETs and making the transferred regions in a grid by etching around the perimeter of each transferred portion allows for discrete regions of active material for making NFETs and PFETs and the etched distance between adjacent transferred portions prevents these portions from bumping into other structures on the wafer when transferring.
Re claim 24, Cheng teaches wherein: the transfer material plates comprise a first material selected from single crystalline silicon, single crystalline germanium, a single crystalline silicon-germanium alloy, single crystalline lithium niobate, single crystalline lithium tantalate, single crystalline zinc oxide, single crystalline titanium oxide, single crystalline indium tin oxide, single crystalline gallium oxide, single crystalline tin oxide, single crystalline tungsten trioxide, or single crystalline indium gallium zinc oxide; the first dielectric oxide layer comprises a material that is selected from undoped silicate glass, a doped silicate glass, or thermally-grown silicon oxide; and the transfer material plates are bonded directly to the first dielectric oxide layer.
Re claim 32, Cheng teaches wherein: the ion implantation layer remains free of any lateral recess when the array of transfer material plates is bonded to the first dielectric oxide layer; and the array of transfer material plates is bonded to the first dielectric oxide layer while the ion implantation layer remains free of any lateral recess (Figs. 8-9)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 26, 29-30 are allowed.
Claims 7-8, 10, 22-23, 25, 33-34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BRIGITTE A. PATERSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2896
/BRIGITTE A PATERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896