DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200098627 to Ishizaka in view of US 20190214230 to Cui.
Claim 1: Ishizaka discloses a film forming method comprising: preparing, on a stage (602 [support member], Fig. 2), a substrate (W [wafer]) having an insulating layer (110 [insulating film], Fig. 3A), in which a recess (113 [recess]) defined by an upper portion (upper portion of 113), a side wall portion (side wall portion of 113), and a bottom portion (bottom portion of 113) is formed, and a tungsten layer (102 [metal layer], para. [0056]) exposed from the bottom portion of the recess (para. [0059]);
removing a tungsten oxide film (102a [metal oxide film], Fig. 3A-3B), which has been formed by oxidizing the tungsten layer at the bottom portion (para. [0059-0060]); and embedding a ruthenium film (210 [ruthenium-embedded layer], Fig. 3C) in the recess (113) after removing the tungsten oxide film (102a, para. [0062]).
However Ishizaka does not disclose removing the tungsten oxide film by supplying TiCl4 gas to at least the bottom portion of the recess.
Cui teaches removing the tungsten oxide film (555 [tungsten oxide], Fig. 5C-5D) by supplying TiCl4 gas to at least the bottom portion of the recess (535 [bottom] of 505 [trench], para. [0059-0060]), for the purpose of selectively etching the target materials (para. [0059-0060]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the metal halide gas which includes TiCl4 gas for removing the tungsten oxide film as taught by Cui with motivation to selectively etch the target materials.
Claim 9: The method of Ishizaka in view of Cui discloses wherein the insulating layer (110, Fig. 3A, Ishizaka) is any of a silicon oxide film, a silicon nitride film, and a layer formed by forming a silicon oxide film on a silicon nitride film (para. [0057]).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200098627 to Ishizaka in view of US 20190214230 to Cui.
Claim 17: Ishizaka discloses a substrate processing system comprising: a plurality of processing chambers (11-14 [processing chambers], Fig. 1) including a first processing chamber (any one of 11-14) and a second processing chamber (another one of 11-14); a vacuum transfer chamber (20 [vacuum transport chamber]) configured to vacuum-transfer a substrate (W [wafer]) between the plurality of processing chambers (any of 11-14); and a controller (70 [control device]), wherein the controller (70) is configured to control a process comprising: preparing, on a stage (602 [support member], Fig. 2), a substrate (W [wafer]) having an insulating layer (110 [insulating film], Fig. 3A), in which a recess (113 [recess]) defined by an upper portion (upper portion of 113), a side wall portion (side wall portion of 113), and a bottom portion (bottom portion of 113) is formed, and a tungsten layer (102 [metal layer], para. [0056]) exposed from the bottom portion of the recess (para. [0059]);
removing a tungsten oxide film (102a [metal oxide film], Fig. 3A-3B), which has been formed by oxidizing the tungsten layer at the bottom portion (para. [0059-0060]); and embedding a ruthenium film (210 [ruthenium-embedded layer], Fig. 3C) in the recess (113) after removing the tungsten oxide film (102a, para. [0062]).
However Ishizaka does not disclose removing the tungsten oxide film by supplying TiCl4 gas to at least the bottom portion of the recess.
Cui teaches removing the tungsten oxide film (555 [tungsten oxide], Fig. 5C-5D) by supplying TiCl4 gas to at least the bottom portion of the recess (535 [bottom] of 505 [trench], para. [0059-0060]), for the purpose of selectively etching the target materials (para. [0059-0060]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the metal halide gas which includes TiCl4 gas for removing the tungsten oxide film as taught by Cui with motivation to selectively etch the target materials.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected independent claim, but would be allowable if rewritten into the independent claim including all of the limitations of the independent claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 10-16 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record discloses a film forming method of embedding a ruthenium film in a recess, the film forming method comprising: preparing, on a stage, a substrate having an insulating layer, in which the recess defined by an upper portion, a side wall portion, and a bottom portion is formed, and a tungsten layer exposed from the bottom portion of the recess.
However the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest and forming a titanium film on the exposed tungsten layer before embedding a ruthenium in the recess, wherein the tungsten layer exposed from the bottom portion is suppressed from being oxidized by the titanium film, as set forth in the pending claims. The method of Ishizaka in view of Cui fail to disclose the limitations above. Further, no other prior art was located that fairly suggested the claimed invention in whole or in part, along with the requisite motivation for combination, to anticipate or render the claimed invention obvious. This subject matter is therefore rendered allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20220301882 discloses a similar process (but without titanium film, Fig. 5A-5C) by same assignee. US 20210010135 discloses a similar process (but without titanium film, Fig. 1B-1D, para. [0019]). US 20240363405 (para. [0027-0032]), US 20240355615 (para. [0062-0073]) discloses a very similar process by same assignee and one inventor.
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718