DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the Applicant Election filled on 02/13/2026. Currently, claims 1-19 are pending in the application. Claim 18 has been withdrawn from consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-17 and 19, in the reply filed on 02/13/2026 is acknowledged, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13, 15-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NAGATO et al (US 20190127848 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Figures 1/5/7 of NAGATO disclose a method of processing a substrate (24, [0067]), comprising:
(a) loading the substrate into a process container (22, Figure 1) at a loading temperature ([0067]-[0068]);
(b) setting an interior of the process container to a film formation temperature ([0068]);
(c) forming a metal film ([0140]) on a surface of the substrate by supplying a process gas ([0078]) into the process container (22);
(d) setting the interior of the process container to an unloading temperature lower than the loading temperature ([0120], Figure 7); and
(e) unloading the substrate (24, [0095]) from the process container (Figure 7).
Regarding claim 2, Figures 1/5/7 of NAGATO disclose that the method of claim 1, wherein the process gas includes a metal-containing gas and a reducing gas, and wherein in (c), a cycle is performed a predetermined number of times, the cycle including: supplying the metal-containing gas into the process container; and supplying the reducing gas into the process container ([0065] and [0078], process gas includes a metal-containing gas is not explicitly teach but anticipated to be a gas containing metal since NAGATO teaches of forming metal layer, [0140]).
Regarding claim 3, Figures 1/5/7 of NAGATO disclose that the method of claim 1, wherein in at least a portion of (b), one of a reducing gas, a high-thermal conductive gas, and a reductive high-thermal conductive gas is supplied into the process container ([0065] and [0078]).
Regarding claim 4, Figures 1/5/7 of NAGATO disclose that the method of claim 3, wherein in at least a portion of (b), a supply amount of one of the reducing gas, the high-thermal conductive gas, and the reductive high-thermal conductive gas into the process container is increased ([0065], [0078] and [0131]).
Regarding claim 5, Figures 1/5/7 of NAGATO disclose that the method of claim 2, wherein the reducing gas that is supplied in (c) is a reductive high-thermal conductive gas, and wherein the method further comprises (f) supplying a high-thermal conductive gas into the process container before (c) ([0065], [0078] and [0131]).
Regarding claim 6, Figures 1/5/7 of NAGATO disclose that the method of claim 5, wherein in at least a portion of (f), a supply amount of the high-thermal conductive gas is increased ([0065], [0078] and [0131]).
Regarding claim 7, Figures 1/5/7 of NAGATO disclose that the method of claim 1, wherein in at least a portion of (d), the interior of the process container is kept in a vacuum state, and an internal temperature of the process container is changed ([0092] and [0120]).
Regarding claim 8, Figures 1/5/7 of NAGATO disclose that the method of claim 1, wherein in at least a portion of (d), at least one selected from the group of a reducing gas, a high-thermal conductive gas, and a reductive high-thermal conductive gas is supplied into the process container ([0065], [0078], [0092] and [0120]).
Regarding claim 9, Figures 1/5/7 of NAGATO disclose that the method of claim 1, further comprising: before (d), (g) setting the interior of the process container to a holding temperature; and (h) keeping the interior of the process container at the holding temperature ([0065], [0078], [0092] and [0120]).
Regarding claim 10, Figures 1/5/7 of NAGATO disclose that the method of claim 9, wherein in at least a portion of (g), the interior of the process container is kept in a vacuum state, and an internal temperature of the process container is lowered to the unloading temperature ([0065], [0078], [0092] and [0120]).
Regarding claim 11, Figures 1/5/7 of NAGATO disclose that the method of claim 9, wherein in at least a portion of (g), at least one selected from the group of a reducing gas, a high-thermal conductive gas, and a reductive high-thermal conductive gas is supplied into the process container ([0065], [0078], [0092] and [0120]).
Regarding claim 12, Figures 1/5/7 of NAGATO disclose that the method of claim 9, wherein in at least a portion of (h), a reducing gas is supplied into the process container ([0065], [0078], [0092] and [0120]).
Regarding claim 13, Figures 1/5/7 of NAGATO disclose that the method of claim 3, wherein the reducing gas is a hydrogen-containing gas ([0065], [0078], [0092] and [0120]).
Regarding claim 15, The method of claim 1, wherein the metal film is a film containing molybdenum ([0140]).
Regarding claim 16, Figures 1/5/7 of NAGATO disclose that the method of claim 2, wherein the metal-containing gas contains a halogen element ([0065], [0078], [0092] and [0120]).
Regarding claim 17, Figures 1/5/7 of NAGATO disclose a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, comprising the method of claim 1 ([0002]).
Regarding claim 19, Figures 1/5/7 of NAGATO disclose non-transitory computer-readable recording medium ([0002]) storing a program that causes, by a computer ([0063]), a substrate processing apparatus to perform a method comprising:
(a) loading a substrate (24, [0028]) into a process container (22) at a loading temperature ([0067]-[0068]);
(b) setting an interior of the process container to a film formation temperature ([0068]);
(c) forming a metal film ([0140]) on a surface of the substrate by supplying a process gas ([0065]) into the process container;
(d) setting the interior of the process container (22) to an unloading temperature lower than the loading temperature ([0120], Figure 7); and
(e) unloading the substrate (24, [0095]) from the process container (Figure 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over NAGATO et al (US 20190127848 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Figures 1/5/7 of NAGATO disclose that the method of claim 13, wherein the hydrogen-containing gas contains a hydrogen gas ([0065]) but does not explicitly teach that wherein a mass fraction of the hydrogen gas in the hydrogen-containing gas is 70% or more.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to use the above claimed ranges in order to form an good quality film with lower cost since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over HARADA et al (US 20110104896 A1) in view of NAGATO et al (US 20190127848 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Figure 1 of HARADA discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program that causes, by a computer (the process of HARADA is anticipated to use a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program that causes a computer to perform the process, please also see [0002] of NAGATO as an evidence wherein an equivalent process is performed using a computer), a substrate processing apparatus to perform a method comprising:
(a) loading a substrate into a process container at a loading temperature (S1-S2, Figure 1, [0109]-[0114]);
(b) setting an interior of the process container to a film formation temperature ([0115]-[0124]);
(c) forming a metal film on a surface of the substrate by supplying a process gas into the process container ([0125]-[0128]); and
(e) unloading the substrate from the process container (S7-S8, Figure 1).
HARADA does not explicitly teach a step (d) setting the interior of the process container to an unloading temperature lower than the loading temperature.
However, NAGATO is a pertinent art which teaches a processing method is provided. The method includes: (a) processing a substrate accommodated in a substrate holding region of a substrate retainer in a process chamber at a first temperature, the substrate retainer including a heat insulating region on one end thereof and the substrate holding region on the other end thereof; (b) supplying a cleaning gas to the heat insulating region at a second temperature variable within a temperature range lower than the first temperature and higher than a room temperature after unloading the substrate accommodated in the substrate retainer; and (c) supplying the cleaning gas to the substrate holding region at a third temperature variable within another temperature range lower than the second temperature after unloading the substrate accommodated in the substrate retainer ([0006]), wherein Figure 7 of NAGATO teaches that the temperature is lower before unloading the substrate.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of HARADA by using a step of setting the interior of the process container to an unloading temperature lower than the loading temperature according to the teaching of NAGATO in order to form an improved film with improved cleaning of the processing chamber ([0003]-[0004] of NAGATO).
Examiner Notes
A reference to specific paragraphs, columns, pages, or figures in a cited prior art reference is not limited to preferred embodiments or any specific examples. It is well settled that a prior art reference, in its entirety, must be considered for all that it expressly teaches and fairly suggests to one having ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, a prior art disclosure reading on a limitation of Applicant's claim cannot be ignored on the ground that other embodiments disclosed were instead cited. Therefore, the Examiner's citation to a specific portion of a single prior art reference is not intended to exclusively dictate, but rather, to demonstrate an exemplary disclosure commensurate with the specific limitations being addressed. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)).
Conclusion
/KHAJA AHMAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813