DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al (US Publication No. 2021/0305227).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a device comprising: a package substrate Fig 1, 100; an integrated circuit device attached to the package substrate; a stiffener ring around the integrated circuit device Fig 1, 120 and attached to the package substrate Fig 1, 100; a lid Fig 10A-10C, 330 attached to the stiffener ring Fig 10A-10C, 210 ¶0044; a channel Fig 10A-10C, 335 ¶0061 connected to an area between the lid Fig 10A-10C, 330 and the integrated circuit device Fig 10A-10C, 132, the channel extending along at least one side of the integrated circuit device in a top-down view; and a thermal interface material Fig 10A-10C, 170 ¶0061 in the channel and in the area between the lid and the integrated circuit device Fig 10A-10C.
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses wherein the channel Fig 10A-10C, 335 is a groove in the lid ¶0061, and the channel connects an exterior of the lid to the area between the lid and the integrated circuit device Fig 10A-10C ¶0061.
Regarding claim 5, Chen discloses wherein the channel extends along multiple sides of the integrated circuit device in the top-down view Fig 10A-10C.
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses wherein the thermal interface material is a liquid metal ¶0046.
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses wherein a main portion of the lid is disposed above the stiffener ring, a protruding portion of the lid extends through the stiffener ring, and the protruding portion is spaced apart from the integrated circuit device Fig 3-11B.
Regarding claim 9, Chen discloses a passive device attached to the package substrate, the stiffener ring overlapping the passive device ¶0044.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US Publication No. 2021/0305227) in further view of Chen et al (US Publication No. 2023/0062454).
Regarding claim 2, Chen 227 discloses all the limitations but silent on the groove in the stiffener. Whereas Chen 454 discloses wherein the channel is a groove in the stiffener ring, and the channel connects an exterior of the stiffener ring to the area between the lid and the integrated circuit device Fig 5A-5C ¶0028-0035. Chen 227 and Chen 454 are analogous art because they are directed to semiconductor packages and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Chen 227 because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stiffener of Chen 454 and incorporate the teachings of Chen 227 to provide mechanical integrity to the module while not inducing mechanical failure ¶0021.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US Publication No. 2021/0305227) in further view of Honda et al (US Publication No. 2004/0150118).
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses an adhesive attaching the lid to the stiffener ring ¶0047.Chen discloses all the limitations but silent on the groove in the adhesive. Whereas Honda discloses an adhesive attaching the lid to the stiffener ring ¶0095, the channel being a groove in the adhesive Fig 6, the channel connecting an exterior of the adhesive to the area between the lid and the integrated circuit device Fig 6 ¶0095. Chen and Honda are analogous art because they are directed to semiconductor packages and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Chen because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the adhesive of Chen and incorporate the teachings of Honda to improve package structure and mechanical integrity.
Claims 8, 10-15, 17, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US Publication No. 2021/0305227) in further view of Chiu et al (US Publication No. 2022/0130734).
Regarding claim 8, Chen 227 discloses all the limitations but silent the protruding portion physically contacting the top surface of the integrated circuit device. Whereas Chiu discloses wherein a main portion of the lid Fig 2, 320 is disposed above the stiffener ring Fig 2, 310, a protruding portion of the lid extends through the stiffener ring Fig 2, and the protruding portion physically contacts the integrated circuit device Fig 2. Chen and Chiu are analogous art because they are directed to semiconductor packages and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Chen because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of the cover and incorporate the teachings of Chen to improve package structure and mechanical integrity.
Regarding claim 10, Chen discloses a device comprising: a package substrate Fig 1, 100; an integrated circuit device Fig 1, 120 attached to the package substrate Fig 1, 100; a thermal interface material Fig 3, 170 on a top surface of the integrated circuit device Fig 3; and a lid Fig 3, 330 or Fig 5,330/320 having main portion on the thermal interface material and a protruding portion Fig 5,320 extending through the thermal interface material Fig 5,170, the protruding portion encircling a portion of the thermal interface material Fig 5. Chen discloses all the limitations but silent on the protruding portion physically contacting the top surface of the integrated circuit device. Whereas Chiu discloses a device comprising: a package substrate Fig 2, 100; an integrated circuit device Fig 2, 110 attached to the package substrate Fig 2, 100; and a lid Fig 2, 320 having main portion and a protruding portion Fig 2, the protruding portion physically contacting the top surface of the integrated circuit device Fig 2. Chen and Chiu are analogous art because they are directed to semiconductor packages and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Chen because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of the cover and incorporate the teachings of Chen to improve package structure and mechanical integrity.
Regarding claim 11, Chen discloses a stiffener ring Fig 1, 200 and Fig 10A-10C, 210 around the integrated circuit device and attached to the package substrate, the lid being attached to the stiffener ring Fig 1-Fig 10C.
Regarding claim 12, Chen discloses wherein a ring portion of the lid is around the integrated circuit device and attached to the package substrate Fig 1-Fig 10C.
Regarding claim 13, Chen discloses wherein the thermal interface material is a liquid metal ¶0046.
Regarding claim 14, Chen discloses a channel Fig 10A-10C, 335 connected to an area between the lid and the integrated circuit device ¶0061, the thermal interface material disposed in the channel and in the area between the lid and the integrated circuit device Fig 10A-10C ¶0061.
Regarding claim 15, Chen discloses a method comprising: attaching an integrated circuit device Fig 3, 120 and a stiffener ring Fig 3, 210 to a package substrate Fig 3, 100, the stiffener ring Fig 3, 210 disposed around the integrated circuit device Fig 1 and Fig 3, the integrated circuit device exposed by an opening in the stiffener ring Fig 1 and Fig 3; forming a thermal interface material Fig 3, 170 in the opening and on the integrated circuit device Fig 3; forming an adhesive ¶0047 on the stiffener ring in a pattern corresponding to a channel for the thermal interface material Fig 10C, the channel extending along at least one side of the integrated circuit device in a top-down view Fig 10C; and clamping a lid to the adhesive Fig 10A-10C, a main portion of the lid being disposed above the stiffener ring Fig 10A-10C. Chen discloses all the limitations but silent on a protruding portion of the lid extending through the stiffener ring and into the thermal interface material. Whereas Chiu discloses a device comprising: a package substrate Fig 2, 100; an integrated circuit device Fig 2, 110 attached to the package substrate Fig 2, 100; and a lid Fig 2, 320 having main portion and a protruding portion Fig 2, the protruding portion physically contacting the top surface of the integrated circuit device Fig 2. Chen and Chiu are analogous art because they are directed to semiconductor packages and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Chen because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of the cover and incorporate the teachings of Chen to improve package structure and mechanical integrity.
Regarding claim 17, Chen discloses wherein the channel is a groove Fig 10A-10C, 335 is in the lid ¶0061
Regarding claim 19, Chen discloses wherein forming the thermal interface material comprises dispensing a liquid metal in the opening¶0046.
Regarding claim 20, Chen discloses forming the thermal interface material comprises placing a sheet of a liquid metal in the opening¶0046.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US Publication No. 2021/0305227) and Chiu et al (US Publication No. 2022/0130734) and in further view of Chen et al (US Publication No. 2023/0062454).
Regarding claim 16, Chen 227 discloses all the limitations but silent on the groove in the stiffener. Whereas Chen 454 discloses wherein the channel is a groove in the stiffener ring, and the channel connects an exterior of the stiffener ring to the area between the lid and the integrated circuit device Fig 5A-5C ¶0028-0035. Chen 227 and Chen 454 are analogous art because they are directed to semiconductor packages and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Chen 227 because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stiffener of Chen 454 and incorporate the teachings of Chen 227 to provide mechanical integrity to the module while not inducing mechanical failure ¶0021.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US Publication No. 2021/0305227) and Chiu et al (US Publication No. 2022/0130734) and in further view of Honda et al (US Publication No. 2004/0150118).
Regarding claim 18, Chen discloses an adhesive attaching the lid to the stiffener ring ¶0047.Chen discloses all the limitations but silent on the groove in the adhesive. Whereas Honda discloses an adhesive attaching the lid to the stiffener ring ¶0095, the channel being a groove in the adhesive Fig 6, the channel connecting an exterior of the adhesive to the area between the lid and the integrated circuit device Fig 6 ¶0095. Chen and Honda are analogous art because they are directed to semiconductor packages and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Chen because they are from the same field of endeavor. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the adhesive of Chen and incorporate the teachings of Honda to improve package structure and mechanical integrity.
Conclusion
/CHRISTINE A ENAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811