DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 8 and 25-27 are cancelled. Claims 28-31 are newly added. Claims 2-7, 9-24 and 28-31 are pending. Claims 2, 19, 22 and 23 are amended. Claim 2 is an independent claim. Claims 2-7, 9-24 and 28-31 are currently examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 13-24, 28 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bozler et al (US 4816420 A, “Bozler”), and further in view of Wei et al (US 20130288458 A1, “Wei”).
Regarding claim 2, Bozler (entire document) teaches a method of growing an epitaxial layer, comprising growing an epitaxial sheet/film/layer 18 over a structure comprising a crystalline substrate 10 and a mask 12 comprising a plurality of elongated domains (figs 1-18 and 39-41, col 1 lines 15-21; col 2 line 66 to col 3 line 10; col 6 lines 20 to col 8 line col 45; col 8 lines 9-27; col 12 lines 4-15 and lines 35-45; col 13 lines 3-40; col 18 lines 5-20), each elongated domain having long edges (fig 39), such that elongated domains are between the epitaxial layer 18 and the crystalline substrate 10 (fig 39); and separating the epitaxial layer 10 and the crystalline substrate 10 from each other (figs 1-20 and 39, col 3 lines 15-32; col 6 lines 51-65; col 7 line 15 to col 8 line 68; col 10 lines 10-55; col 20 lines 12-25); wherein the elongated domains of the mask 12 are not connected to each other (figs 2B, 10B/10C, 11A/11B, 15A, 20C, 23 and 39); and the mask 12 (elongated domains) occupy at least 50% of a facial surface area of the crystalline substrate 10 (figs 39A). It is also well-established that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Bozler teaches the mask as addressed above but does not explicitly teach the mask comprising an atomically thin material. However, Wei teaches a method, wherein a mask comprises a single layer of atoms (an atomically thin material) (0038, 0086). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Bozler per teachings of Wei in order to form epitaxial layer with low cost (Wei 0003, 0006, 0038, 0086).
Regarding claim 13, Bozler/Wei teaches the crystalline substrate, and further teaches that the crystalline substrate comprises silicon (col 1 line 54; col 14 lines 20-21; col 15 lines 12-13; col 24 lines 5).
Regarding claim 14, Bozler/Wei teaches the epitaxial layer, and further teaches that the epitaxial layer comprises silicon (Bozler col 10 lines 36; col 24 line 22-23; col 26 lines 35-37).
Regarding claim 15, Bozler/Wei teaches the crystalline substrate, and further teaches that the crystalline substrate comprises germanium (Bozler col 22 line 6).
Regarding claim 16, Bozler/Wei teaches the epitaxial layer, and further teaches that the epitaxial layer comprises germanium (Bozler col 1 line 54; col 26 lines 35-40).
Regarding claim 17, Bozler/Wei teaches the crystalline substrate, and further teaches that the crystalline substrate comprises compound semiconductor (Bozler col 7 lines 10-15).
Regarding claim 18, Bozler/Wei teaches the epitaxial layer, and further teaches that the epitaxial layer comprises compound semiconductor (Bozler col 26 lines 35-40).
Regarding claim 19, Bozler/Wei teaches the plurality of elongated domains cover at least 50% of the facial surface area of the crystalline substrate over which the epitaxial layer is grown (Bozler figs 2, 15 and 39).
Regarding claim 20, Bozler/Wei teaches that separating the epitaxial layer comprises peeling/exfoliating the epitaxial layer from the crystalline substrate (Bozler col 15 lines 60-62).
Regarding claim 21, Bozler/Wei teaches separating the first epitaxial layer and the crystalline substrate from each other as addressed above, and further teaches the crystalline substrate is reusable for producing an additional epitaxial layer Bozler (fig 1, abstract and col 6 line 63-66), e.g., the epitaxial layer being a first epitaxial layer, and further g growing a second epitaxial layer over the structure.
Regarding claims 22 and 23, Bozler/Wei teaches that each of the long edges is along the (110) direction (0° of parallel to a <110> direction) on a [100] plane ({100} plane) of the crystalline substrate (Bozler col 19 lines 38-50 and lines 63-66).
Regarding claim 24, Bozler/Wei teaches that an area of the epitaxial film/layer is about 3.8 cm or 2’x4’ (Bozler abstract, col 23 lines 20-21; col 21 line 65 to col 22 col 7).
Regarding claim 28, Bozler/Wei teaches the atomically thin material comprises a two-dimensional material (Wei 0038).
Regarding claim 29, Bozler/Wei teaches the two-dimensional material comprises graphene (Wei 0038). Further, it is well-established that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Also see MPEP 2144.07.
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bozler/Wei as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Wu et al (US 20040000268 A1, “Wu”).
Regarding claim 3, Bozler/Wei teaches the crystalline substrate as addressed above, but does not explicitly teach the crystalline substrate comprises a diamond cubic crystal structure. However, Wu teaches a method, wherein a diamond cubic substrate is used for producing epitaxial film (0028). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Bozler/Wei per teachings of Wu in order to produce a with low-mismatched lightly strained epitaxial film (Wu 0028). Further, it is well-established that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Also see MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 5, Bozler/Wei teaches the crystalline substrate as addressed above, but does not explicitly teach the crystalline substrate comprises a zinc blende crystal structure. However, Wu teaches a method, wherein a zinc blende substrate is used for producing epitaxial film (0028). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Bozler/Wei per teachings of Wu in order to produce a with low-mismatched lightly strained epitaxial film (Wu 0028). Further, it is well-established that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Also see MPEP 2144.07.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bozler/Wei as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Moroz et al (US 20130065380 A1, “Moroz”).
Regarding claim 4, Bozler/Wei teaches the crystalline substrate as addressed above, but does not explicitly teach the epitaxial layer comprises a diamond cubic crystal structure. However, Moroz teaches a method, wherein an epitaxial material has a diamond cubic crystal structure (0058, 0060, 0063). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Bozler/Wei per teachings of Moroz in order to produce a material for fabricating high-density integrated circuit devices with improved performance (Moroz 0004, 0009, 0058, 0060, 0063).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bozler/Wei as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Thompson et al (US 6518637 B1, “Thompson”),
Regarding claim 6, Bozler/Wei teaches the crystalline substrate as addressed above, but does not explicitly teach the epitaxial layer comprises a zinc blende crystal structure. However, Thompson teaches a method, wherein an epitaxial material has a zinc blende crystal structure (abstract, col 2 lines 29-67). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Bozler/Wei per teachings of Thompson in order to produce a material with various properties being useful for device fabrication (Thompson abstract and col 2 lines 15-67).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bozler/Wei as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Ho-Yuan Yu (US 20070267656 A1, “Yu”).
Regarding claim 7, Bozler/Wei teaches the crystalline substrate and the epitaxial layer, but does not explicitly teach that a polarity of the crystalline substrate is different than a polarity of the epitaxial layer. However, Yu teaches a method, wherein an epitaxial layer is in opposite/different polarity of a substrate (0020, 0022). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Bozler/Wei per teachings of Yu in order to provide device structures with improved transistor speed (Yu 0003, 0006, 0020, 0022).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bozler/Wei as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Brabant et al (US 20040219735 A1, “Brabant”).
Regarding claim 9, Bozler/Wei teaches the epitaxial layer, but does not explicitly teach that the epitaxial layer comprises a threading dislocation density of less than or equal to 10⁷ threading dislocations per cm². However, Brabant teaches a method, wherein an epitaxial layer comprises a threading dislocation density of about 10⁷ threading dislocations per cm² or less (0043, 0111, 0119, 0123 and 0125). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Bozler/Wei per teachings of Brabant in order to provide epitaxial layers with high quality for manufacturing devices (Brabant 0043, 0111, 0119, 0123 and 0125).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bozler/Wei as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Bao et al (US 20170004968 A1, “Bao”).
Regarding claim 10, Bozler/Wei teaches the epitaxial layer, but does not explicitly teach that the epitaxial layer comprises a surface anti-phase domain density of less than or equal to 10⁶ anti-phase domains per cm². However, Bao teaches a method, wherein an epitaxial layer is free of a surface anti-phase boundaries (e.g., anti-phase domain density of less than or equal to 10⁶ anti-phase domains per cm²) (abstract, 0002, 0004, 0005, 0021, 0032, 0042, claims 3, 4 and 10). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Bozler/Wei per teachings of Bao in order to produce layers of material with high quality for making devices (Bao 0002-0005).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bozler/Wei as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Sandhu et al (US 20210233810 A1, “Sandhu”).
Regarding claim 11, Bozler/Wei teaches the plurality of elongated domains, but does not explicitly teach that each of the plurality of elongated domains has an aspect ratio of at least 10:1. However, Sandhu teaches a method, wherein the elongated features has an aspect ratio of at least about 5:1 (0004, 0062). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Bozler/Wei per teachings of Sandhu in order to provide suitable material for fabricating device with improved reliability (Sandhu 0001, 0002, 0007-0009, 0062, 0066). Further, it is well-established that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Also see MPEP 2144.07.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bozler/Wei as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Baron et al (US 20150079766 A1, “Baron”).
Regarding claim 12, Bozler/Wei teaches the plurality of elongated domains, but does not explicitly teach that an average nearest neighbor distance among the plurality of elongated domains is less than or equal to 10 micrometers. However, Baron teaches a method, wherein a distance between making patterns is approximately a few tens of nanometers to a few hundreds of nanometers (0028 and claim 15). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Bozler/Wei per teachings of Baron in order to provide epitaxial materials with good crystalline quality exhibiting a low density of dislocations for applications in the field of microelectronics, photonics, optoelectronics and photovoltaics (Baron 0002, 0008 and 0043). Further, it is well-established that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Also see MPEP 2144.07.
Claims 30 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bozler/Wei as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Kim et al (US 20220157661 A1, “Kim”).
Regarding claim 30, Bozler/Wei teaches the atomically thin material as addressed above but does not explicitly teach a transition metal dichalcogenide monolayer. However, it is a known practice that a transition metal dichalcogenide monolayer is used for epitaxial growth as taught by Kim (0011). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Bozler/Wei per teachings of Kim in order to provide a method for epitaxial growth with reduced cost (Kim 0002, 0004, 0011, 0017). Further, it is well-established that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Also see MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 31, Bozler/Wei teaches the transition metal dichalcogenide monolayer comprises MoS₂ and/or WSe₂ (Kim 0011). Further, it is well-established that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Also see MPEP 2144.07.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, because the arguments do not apply to the new ground rejection provided above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUA QI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714