DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-7) in the reply filed on 03/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) based upon an application filed in TAIWAN on 05/26/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/22/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over US20240250100A1; Sang-Uk Kim; (hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim teaches a sensor package structure (Figure 1, [0009]), comprising:
a substrate (#20, Figure 4);
a sensing chip (#10) disposed on the substrate (#20), wherein an upper surface of the sensing chip has a sensing region (#MLA);
a light-permeable element (#30) disposed above the sensing chip (#10);
a photoresist layer (#65, [0085]) disposed on a first surface of the light-permeable element (#65 disposes on bottom surface of #30); and
a die-bonding film layer (#60) adhered between the sensing chip (#10) and the light-permeable element (#30) and surrounding the sensing region (#MLA).
Regarding Claim 2, Kim teaches the sensor package structure as described in claim 1, wherein Kim further teaches:
a plurality of metal wires (#70, Figure 4), wherein the substrate includes a plurality of first pads (#25), the sensing chip (#10) further includes a plurality of second pads (#15), the plurality of second pads (#15) is disposed on the upper surface (#10) and embedded under the die-bonding film layer (#60), one end of each of the plurality of metal wires is connected to the plurality of first pads, and another end of each of the plurality of metal wires is connected to the plurality of second pads and embedded into the die-bonding film layer (#70 extend through #60 and connect #25 and #15).
Regarding Claim 3, Kim teaches the sensor package structure as described in claim 2, wherein Kim further teaches an encapsulation compound (#50, Figure 4) disposed on the substrate (#20), wherein the sensing chip (#10), the die-bonding film layer (#60), the photoresist layer (#65), the plurality of metal wires (#70), and a part of the light-permeable element (#30) are embedded in the encapsulation compound (#50).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of US20240014239A1; Arai et al.; (hereinafter “Arai”).
Regarding Claim 4, Kim teaches the sensor package structure as described in claim 1, wherein Kim further teaches one side of the die-bonding film layer (Figure 4, #60) facing towards the sensing region (#MLA) has a flat surface.
Kim does not explicitly teach one side of the photoresist layer facing towards the sensing region has a rough surface.
However, Arai teaches an image sensor (Figure 3, [0047]), comprising one side of a photoresist layer (#13, [0151], protruding body for reflecting light) facing towards the sensing region has a rough surface (Figures 10-14, [0144]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kim with the teaching of Arai in order to effectively reflect light/reduce flare according to Arai, [0151].
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of US20090267170A1; Chien et al.; (hereinafter “Chien”).
Regarding Claim 5, Kim teaches the sensor package structure as described in claim 1, wherein Kim further teaches the die-bonding film layer (#60, Figure 4) and the photoresist layer (#65) may have a same width.
Kim does not explicitly teach the width of the die-bonding film layer and the width of the photoresist layer are smaller than 100 μm.
However, Chien teaches a packaged image sensor ([0006]), comprising a width of a die-bonding film layer and a width of a photoresist layer are smaller than 100 μm (Figure 4B, [0023], spacer paste and photoresist #408A-B have a width of approximately 38 μm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by Chien because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness.
Regarding Claim 6, Kim teaches the sensor package structure as described in claim 1.
Kim does not explicitly teach a distance between an outer edge of the sensing region and an outer edge of the sensing chip is smaller than 400 μm.
However, Chien teaches a distance between an outer edge of the sensing region and an outer edge of the sensing chip is smaller than 400 μm (Figures 3A-B, [0021], a distance from an edge of array #306 to an edge of die #302 is a sum of width #w and offset #d, wherein #w is about 75 μm. Hence, the sum is smaller than 400 μm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by Chien because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of US20070200944A1; Takeuchi et al.; (hereinafter “Takeuchi”).
Regarding Claim 7, Kim teaches the sensor package structure as described in claim 1.
Kim does not explicitly teach an inclination of the first surface relative to a horizontal plane is less than 10 μm.
However, Takeuchi teaches an image sensor ([0009]), wherein an inclination of the first surface relative to a horizontal plane is less than 10 μm ([0123], translucent plate #30 is substantially parallel to die #20, hence, an inclination of a surface of #30 is approximately zero).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kim with the teaching of Takeuchi in order to prevent shading caused by an inclination of the translucent plate according to Takeuchi, [0123].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US20080079105A1 – Figures 6A-B and [0051]
US20200350357A1 – Figures 1-2
US20220392820A1 – Figure 1
US20200411574A1 – Figures 3, 6-7 and [0027]
US7227236B1 – Col. 3, ln. 51-55
/TIEN TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/CHRISTINE S. KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812