DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-23, 27, 29-32 are pending and have been examined.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made that the instant application is a continuation in part of US patent application 18150432 filed on 09/22/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) NOVELTY; PRIOR ART.—A person shall be entitled to a patent unless—
(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention;
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (30A; Fig 2B; [0128]) = (element 30A; Figure No. 2B; Paragraph No. [0128]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
Claims 1-2, 14-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 20220149196 A1 – hereinafter Kim).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim teaches a semiconductor device (see the entire document; Fig. 1A; specifically, ([0062] - [0063]), and as cited below), comprising:
a semiconductor layer structure (106 – Fig. 1A – [0062]) comprising a drift region (120) of a first conductivity type ([0062] – “n-type drift region 120”) and a well region (170) of a second conductivity type ([0062] – “P-wells 170”) above the drift region (120);
a gate (184 – [0063]) on the semiconductor layer structure adjacent the well region (170); and
a contact shielding structure (left 140a, right 140a) of the second conductivity type (p-type – [0062]) that vertically extends from the well region (170) into the drift region (120) and discontinuously extends in one or more lateral directions (Fig. 1A shows left 140a and right 140a extends separately [discontinuously] in the x-direction).
Regarding Claim 2, Kim teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 1, wherein the contact shielding structure comprises a plurality of discrete segments (left 140a, right 140a) that extend in the one or more lateral directions (x-directions), respectively.
Regarding Claim 14, Kim teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 2, wherein respective spacings between the discrete segments are aligned along a direction crossing the one or more lateral directions.
Regarding Claim 15, Kim teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 2, wherein respective spacings between the discrete segments (left 140a, right 140a) are staggered along a direction (x-direction) crossing the one or more lateral directions (x-direction).
Regarding Claim 16, Kim teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 2, wherein respective spacings between the discrete segments are less than respective widths of the discrete segments (Fig. 1A appears to teach the claimed limitation).
Regarding Claim 18, Kim teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 2, wherein the semiconductor layer structure further comprises: a substrate (110 – [0062]), wherein the drift region (120) is on the substrate (110); and a drain contact (192 – [0062]) on the substrate (110) opposite the drift region (120), wherein respective spacings between the discrete segments comprise portions of the semiconductor layer structure that are free of the contact shielding structure (see Fig. 1A).
Regarding Claim 19, Kim teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 18, wherein the semiconductor layer structure further comprises a source region (160 – [0064]) of the first conductivity type (n-type) above the well region (170), and further comprising: a source contact (190a) on a surface of the semiconductor layer structure opposite the drain contact (192), wherein the source contact is electrically coupled to the source region and the contact shielding structure (as seen in Fig. 1A).
Regarding Claim 20, Kim teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 1, wherein the contact shielding structure comprises a material and/or dopant concentration that is different from that of the drift region (since contact shielding is p-type and the drift layer if n-type).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (30A; Fig 2B; [0128]) = (element 30A; Figure No. 2B; Paragraph No. [0128]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
Claims 17, 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim.
Regarding Claim 17, Kim teaches claim 16 from which claim 17 depends. But Kim does not expressly disclose wherein the respective widths of the discrete segments are between about 0.1 and about 20 microns.
The instant application specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed relative width i.e., “wherein the respective widths of the discrete segments are between about 0.1 and about 20 microns” or of any unexpected results arising therefrom. Applicant has not disclosed that having wherein the respective widths of the discrete segments are between about 0.1 and about 20 microns, solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose. "Where the issue of criticality is involved, the applicant has the burden of establishing his position by a proper showing of the facts upon which he relies." - In re Scherl, 156 F.2d 72, 74-75, 70 USPQ 204, 205 (CCPA 1946), see MPEP 2144.05.III.A.
Regarding Claim 29, Kim teaches a semiconductor device (see the entire document; Fig. 1A; specifically, ([0062] - [0063]), and as cited below), comprising:
a semiconductor layer structure (106 – Fig. 1A – [0062]) comprising a drift region (120) of a first conductivity type ([0062] – “n-type drift region 120”) and a well region (170) of a second conductivity type ([0062] – “P-wells 170”) above the drift region; (120)
a gate (184 – [0063]) on the semiconductor layer structure adjacent the well region (170); and
a contact shielding structure (left 140a, right 140a) of the second conductivity type (p-type – [0062]) that vertically extends from the well region into the drift region (120) and comprises a plurality of segments with respective spacings therebetween (Fig. 1A shows left 140a and right 140a extends separately [discontinuously] in the x-direction).
But Kim does not expressly disclose wherein the respective spacings are smaller than respective widths of the segments.
The instant application specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed relative spacings i.e., “wherein the respective spacings are smaller than respective widths of the segments” or of any unexpected results arising therefrom. Applicant has not disclosed that having wherein the respective spacings are smaller than respective widths of the segments, solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose. "Where the issue of criticality is involved, the applicant has the burden of establishing his position by a proper showing of the facts upon which he relies." - In re Scherl, 156 F.2d 72, 74-75, 70 USPQ 204, 205 (CCPA 1946), see MPEP 2144.05.III.A.
Regarding claim 30, Kim teaches claim 30 from which claim 30 depends.
But Kim does not expressly disclose wherein the respective widths of the segments are about 0.1 microns to about 20 microns.
The instant application specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed relative widths i.e., “wherein the respective widths of the segments are about 0.1 microns to about 20 microns” or of any unexpected results arising therefrom. Applicant has not disclosed that having wherein the respective widths of the segments are about 0.1 microns to about 20 microns, solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose. "Where the issue of criticality is involved, the applicant has the burden of establishing his position by a proper showing of the facts upon which he relies." - In re Scherl, 156 F.2d 72, 74-75, 70 USPQ 204, 205 (CCPA 1946), see MPEP 2144.05.III.A.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-13, 31-32 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is the Examiner’s Reasons for Allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose and would not have rendered obvious:
Regarding claim 3: The semiconductor device of Claim 2, wherein the contact shielding structure comprises support shielding structures that extend in a first lateral direction and are spaced apart from the gate.
Claims 4-13 depend from claim 3.
Regarding claim 31: The semiconductor device of Claim 29, wherein the semiconductor device has an avalanche capability that is increased by about 5% to about 30% and an on- resistance that is reduced by about 5% to about 30%, in comparison to a semiconductor device having a continuous shielding pattern.
Claim 32 depends from claim 31.
REASON FOR ALLOWANCE
Claims 21-23, 27 are allowed over prior art.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance, which paraphrases and summarizes the claimed invention without intending to be limiting, wherein the legally defined scope of the claimed invention is defined by the allowed claims themselves in view of the written description under 35 USC 112. This statement is not intended to necessarily state all the reasons for allowance or all the details why the claims are allowed and has not been written to specifically or impliedly state that all the reasons for allowance are set forth (MPEP 1302.14).
Regarding claim 21, the reference(s) of the Prior Art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure and to the examiner’s knowledge do(es) not teach or render obvious, at least to the skilled artisan, the instant invention regarding a method in their entirety (the individual limitations may be found just not in combination with proper motivation).
The most relevant prior art reference(s) (US 20220149196 A1 to Kim) substantially teach(es) some of limitations in claim 21 as shown in the rejection of claim, but not the limitations of “a support shielding structure of the second conductivity type that vertically extends from the well region into the drift region and is spaced apart from the gate; and a bridge shielding structure of the second conductivity type that laterally extends from the support shielding structure towards the gate, wherein at least one of the support shielding structure or the bridge shielding structure comprises a plurality of discrete segments” as recited in claim 21. Therefore, the claim 21 is deemed patentable over the prior art.
Regarding claims 22-23, 27, they are allowed due to their dependencies on claim 21.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMAD A RAHMAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898