Detailed Action
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 27 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The applicant has combined previously rejected limitations from claims 10 and 15 into a new claim 27. This has caused the examiner to reinterpret the limitations in regards to the art and their scope because they were previously separate limitations.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a first exchangeable module and a second exchangeable module in claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hetzler et al (PGPub 2018/0106591) (Hetzler) in view of Schulte et al (PGPub 2016/0298951) (Kuchel).
Regarding Claim 27, Hetzler discloses an interferometric measuring arrangement for interferometrically measuring a shape of a surface of a test object (14) in relation to a reference shape (fig. 1), comprising:
a diffractive optical element (24, Paragraph 64) configured to generate a test wave from measurement radiation, a wavefront of the test wave being adapted to a target shape of the surface of the test object and the target shape being configured as a first non-spherical surface (Paragraph 62); and
a reference element (30, Paragraph 64) with a reference surface having the reference shape, the reference shape being configured as a further non-spherical surface (Paragraph 23, it can be free-form) and the reference element comprising a low thermal expansion material with a mean coefficient of thermal expansion having an absolute value of no more than 200x10-6K-1 in a temperature range from 5°C to 35°C (Paragraph 78). The reference wave is produced by both one of the CGH’s in the diffractive optical element and the reflective surface as is shown in fig. 1;
Hetzler fails to explicitly disclose wherein the reference element is configured as an element which transmits the measurement radiation; and wherein a back side of the reference element facing away from the reference surface of the reference element has a spherical shape;
However, Schulte teaches an interferometric measuring arrangement (Figs. 6a & 6b), comprising:
a reference element (10), wherein the reference element is configured as an element which transmits the measurement radiation (Paragraph 103); and wherein a back side of the reference element facing away from the reference surface of the reference element has a spherical shape (See fig. 6A, Paragraph 103);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hetzler with wherein the reference element is configured as an element which transmits the measurement radiation; and wherein a back side of the reference element facing away from the reference surface of the reference element has a spherical shape because as disclosed in Schulte one would want the backside of the element to create a wavefront of the same shape as the test element which allows for a better adaptation of the wavefront the test surface.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-10, & 12-26 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to Claim 1 the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious wherein the diffractive optical element comprises a diffraction pattern, a fill factor of which has a variation over a cross section of the emitted test wave, the variation being adapted to a variation in the thickness of the reference element over a cross section of the radiated-in test wave, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim.
Claims 2-10 & 12-16 are allowable based upon their dependency.
As to Claim 17 the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious wherein the diffractive optical element comprises a diffraction pattern, a fill factor of which has a variation over a cross section of the emitted test wave, the variation being adapted to a variation in the thickness of the reference element over a cross section of the radiated-in test wave, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim.
Claims 18-26 are allowable based upon their dependency.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHON COOK/Examiner, Art Unit 2877 January 13, 2026
/Kara E. Geisel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877