DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Amendment
The amendment with respect to claim(s) 1 filed on 8/28/2026 have been fully considered for examination based on their merits. The previously presented claim(s) 2-9 have been considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, pages 7-10, filed 06/09/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, and 3-9 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated, and under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious, and claim(s) 2 under 35. U.S.C. 103, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of OH, and CHEN.
Regarding Independent Claim 1. The Applicant argues (see Remarks, page 8) that WU fails to disclose or suggest an amended features to claim 1, now recites, an optical package structure, comprising: “a bonding structural member being ring-shaped and bonded to a surface of the optical element, wherein…light-absorption layer, and a second bonding layer,…and the light-absorption layer is sandwiched between…the second bonding layer.” The Examiner agrees that the arguments are persuasive and therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made as mentioned in the above paragraph. For instance, the prior-art of OH teaches in Figure 4, that a bonding structural member comprising: light-absorption layer (120) is sandwiched between the bonding layers (130). The prior-art CHEN further teaches in Figure 8, a bonding structural members labeled as annular-seat (31) as claimed ring-shaped in amended claim 1 or specified as rectangular ring in paragraph [0026] of the instant application.
Regarding Claim(s) 2-9. The dependent claims 2-9 follow similar arguments as Claim 1, upon further consideration, a new-grounds of rejection is made based on the prior-art mentioned above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, and 3-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo Xiong Wu et al, (hereinafter WU), US 20180003927 A1, in view of Chul Min OH et al, (hereinafter OH), KR 102336286 B1, and Jian-Ru CHEN et al, (hereinafter CHEN), CN 109411487 B.
Regarding Claim 1, WU teaches an optical package structure (Fig. 2, 40, optoelectronic module), comprising:
an optical element (Fig. 7, 112, optoelectronic module wafer, [0042]);
a bonding structural member (annotated Figure 7) being bonded to a surface (annotated Figure 7) of the optical element (Fig. 7, 112, optoelectronic module wafer, [0042]), wherein the bonding structural member (annotated Figure 7) includes a first bonding layer (Fig. 7, 128, first micro-spacers), a light-absorption layer (Fig. 7, 124, second optical element layer, [0040]), and a second bonding layer (Fig. 7, 130, second micro-spacers), the first bonding layer (Fig. 7, 128, first micro-spacers) and the second bonding layer (Fig. 7, 130, second micro-spacers) are made of an opaque material (the micro-spacers can be composed, for example, of an adhesive material, In some instances, the first and second micro-spacers are formed of a curable materials, [0007]; in some implementations, it may be desirable to encapsulate the side edges of the optical elements and the micro-spacers, for example with an opaque or transparent material, [0061]), and the light-absorption layer (Fig. 7, 124, second optical element layer, [0040]) is sandwiched between the first bonding layer (Fig. 7, 128, first micro-spacers) and the second bonding layer (Fig. 7, 130, second micro-spacers); and
a light transmittable member (Fig. 7, 122, first optical element layer, [0034]) being bonded (annotated Figure 7) to the bonding structural member (annotated Figure 7) and spaced apart (annotated Figure 7, [0007]) from the optical element (Fig. 7, 112, optoelectronic module wafer, [0042]), wherein the light-absorption layer (Fig. 7, 124, second optical element layer, [0040]) is configured to absorb light (Fig. 7, 124, second optical element layer can be, for example, an IR absorber layer, a dielectric optical filter layer, or an optical interference filter layer, [0040]) emitted to the bonding structural member (annotated Figure 7).
WU does not disclose an optical package structure comprising: a bonding structural member being ring-shaped and the light-absorption layer is sandwiched between the first bonding layer and the second bonding layer.
OH teaches an optical package structure (Fig. 4, 100, semiconductor chip package) comprising: a bonding structural member being ring-shaped (annotated Figure 4) and the light-absorption layer (Fig. 4, 120) is sandwiched ([0014]) between the first bonding layer and the second bonding layer (Fig. 4. 130, bonding layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified WU to incorporate the teachings of OH, such that the optical package structure comprising: a bonding structural member being ring-shaped and the light-absorption layer is sandwiched between the first bonding layer and the second bonding layer. The light absorption layer 120 is located inside the bonding layer 130 , and since the light irradiated only to the light absorption layer 120 is absorbed, it is directly applied to the semiconductor chip 140 on the upper surface of the bonding layer 130 and the substrate 110 on the lower surface of the bonding layer 130 . Heating will not take place. Therefore, according to the present embodiment, the light absorption layer 120 efficiently heats only the bonding layer 130 and does not adversely affect the semiconductor chip 140 and the substrate 110 , so the reliability of the semiconductor chip package 100 . be able to maintain (OH, [0039]).
Though OH teaches the regular ring structure of the boding structural members as mentioned similar to the paragraph [0026] of the instant application, WU as modified by OH does not explicitly disclose an optical package structure comprising: a bonding structural member being ring-shaped.
CHEN teaches an optical package structure (Fig. 8, 100, sensing package structure) comprising: a bonding structural member (annotated Figure 8) being ring-shaped (Fig. 8, 31, annular base or annular seat).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have WU as modified by OH to incorporate the teachings of CHEN, such that the optical package structure comprising: a bonding structural member being ring-shaped, so that the annular seats and annular notch bonded to the sensing chip and semiconductor chip thus effectively improve the defects in an existing sensor packing structures (CHEN, [0004-0007]).
Regarding Claim 3, WU as modified by OH and CHEN teaches the optical package structure according to claim 1.
WU further teaches the optical package structure (Fig. 2, 40, optoelectronic module), wherein a width (annotated Figure 7, thickness of the micro-spacers in a range of 20-50 microns, [0008]) of the second bonding layer (Fig. 7, 130, second micro-spacers, thickness of the micro-spacers in a range of 20-50 microns, [0008]) is smaller (annotated Figure 7) than a width (annotated Figure 7, thickness of the micro-spacers in a range of 20-50 microns, [0008]) of the first bonding layer (Fig. 7, 128, first micro-spacers, thickness of the micro-spacers in a range of 20-50 microns,), so that the bonding structural member (annotated Figure 7) is stacked to have a stepped shape (annotated Figure 7).
Regarding Claim 4, WU as modified by OH and CHEN teaches the optical package structure according to claim 1.
WU further teaches the optical package structure (Fig. 2, 40, optoelectronic module), wherein the light-absorption layer (Figs. 1/7, 24/124, second optical element layer, [0040]) is selected from the group consisting of ink, an epoxy resin, and a photoresist material (polymers or epoxy materials, [0029]).
Regarding Claim 5, WU as modified by OH and CHEN teaches the optical package structure according to claim 1.
WU further teaches the optical package structure (Fig. 2, 40, optoelectronic module), wherein a height (annotated Figure 7) of the light-absorption layer (Fig. 7, 124, second optical element layer, [0040]) is 20% to 80% of a total height (annotated Figure 7) of the bonding structural member (annotated Figure 7).
Regarding Claim 6, WU as modified by OH and CHEN teaches the optical package structure according to claim 1.
WU further teaches the optical package structure (Fig. 2, 40, optoelectronic module), wherein an inner edge (annotated Figure 7) of the light-absorption layer (Fig. 7, 124, second optical element layer, [0040]) is arranged to be adjacent (annotated Figure 7; per https:/www.onelook.com/thesaurus, ‘adjacent’ meaning near, connected, adjoining, close etc.) to an inner edge (annotated Figure 7) of the first bonding layer (Fig. 7, 128, first micro-spacers).
Regarding Claim 7, WU as modified by OH and CHEN teaches the optical package structure according to claim 1.
WU further teaches the optical package structure (Fig. 2, 40, optoelectronic module), wherein the bonding structural member (Fig. 18, 220, multiple sub-assemblies; annotated Figure 18) further includes an additional light-absorption layer (annotated Figure 18) and a third bonding layer (annotated Figure 18), the additional light-absorption layer (annotated Figure 18) is disposed on the second bonding layer (annotated Figure 18), and the third bonding layer (annotated Figure 18) is disposed on the additional light-absorption layer (annotated Figure 18) .
Regarding Claim 8, WU as modified by OH and CHEN teaches the optical package structure according to claim 1.
WU further teaches the optical package structure (Fig. 2, 40, optoelectronic module), wherein the optical element (Fig. 7, 112, optoelectronic module wafer, [0042]) is an image sensor (Fig. 7, 42, optoelectronic device, light sensor, [0031]), the image sensor (Fig. 7, 42, optoelectronic device, light sensor, [0031]) includes a substrate (Fig. 7, 144, PCB wafer) and an image-sensing region (annotated Figure 7) disposed on a top surface of the substrate (Fig. 7, 144, PCB wafer), and the image sensor (Fig. 7, 42, optoelectronic device, light sensor, [0031]) and the light transmittable member (Fig. 7, 122, first optical element layer) are spaced apart from each other (annotated Figure 7); wherein the first bonding layer (Fig. 7, 128, first micro-spacers) is bonded to the light transmittable member, and another side of the second bonding layer (Fig. 7, 130, second micro-spacers) is bonded to the substrate (Fig. 7, 144, PCB wafer) of the image sensor (Fig. 7, 42, optoelectronic device, light sensor, [0031]).
Regarding Claim 9, WU as modified by OH and CHEN teaches the optical package structure according to claim 1.
WU further teaches the optical package structure (Fig. 2, 40, optoelectronic module), wherein the optical element (Fig. 7, 112, optoelectronic module wafer, [0042]) is a display element (light emitter (LED, IRLED, OLED), [0031]), the display element (light emitter (LED, IRLED, OLED), [0031]) includes a substrate (Fig. 7, 144, PCB wafer) and a display emitting region (annotated Figure 7) disposed on a top surface of the substrate (Fig. 7, 144, PCB wafer), and the display element (light emitter (LED, IRLED, OLED), [0031]) and the light transmittable member (Fig. 7, 122, first optical element layer) are spaced apart from each other (annotated Figure 7); wherein the first bonding layer (Fig. 7, 128, first micro-spacers) is bonded to the light transmittable member (Fig. 7, 122, first optical element layer), and another side of the second bonding layer (Fig. 7, 130, second micro-spacers) is bonded to the substrate (Fig. 7, 144, PCB wafer) of the display element (light emitter (LED, IRLED, OLED), [0031]).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WU in view of OH and CHEN as applied to claim(s) 1, 3-9 above, and further in view of Michael R. Feldman, (hereinafter FELDMAN), US 20100321564 A1.
Regarding Claim 2, WU as modified by OH and CHEN teaches the optical package structure according to claim 1.
WU does not explicitly disclose the optical package structure (Fig. 2, 40, optoelectronic module), wherein a width of the light-absorption layer is smaller than a width of the first bonding layer, and a width of the second bonding layer is larger than the width of the light-absorption layer.
FELDMAN teaches the optical package structure (Fig. 1D, 100, camera system), wherein a width (annotated Figure 1D) of the light-absorption layer (Fig. 1D, S12, optical elements having power therein, e.g. separation, [0080]) is smaller (annotated Figure 1D) than a width (annotated Figure 1D) of the first bonding layer (Fig. 1D, 120, second substrate), and a width (annotated Figure 1D) of the second bonding layer (Fig. 1D, 110, first substrate) is larger (annotated Figure 1D) than the width (annotated Figure 1D) of the light-absorption layer (Fig. 1D, S12, optical elements having power therein, e.g. separation, [0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have WU as modified by OH and CHEN to incorporate the teachings of FELDMAN, such that the optical package structure, wherein a width of the light-absorption layer is smaller than a width of the first bonding layer, and a width of the second bonding layer is larger than the width of the light-absorption layer. The above arrangement is needed for the substrates to hold the optical elements and may aide to both minimize the thickness of the device (e.g. camera system) and maximize the performance of the device (FELDMAN, [0085]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20200411574 A1 – Figure 12
STATEMENT OF RELEVANCE – A cross-sectional view illustrating a chip package structure, wherein the adhesive loops (2) with peripheral surface (21) as equated to a bonding structural member having a rectangular ring-shaped.
US 20130234298 A1 – Figure 2C
STATEMENT OF RELEVANCE – A schematic sectional views illustrating a manufacturing method of the semiconductor device, wherein the light absorption layer (31) is sandwiched between the bonding layer (33) and the second barrier layer (22).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SESHA SAIRAMAN SRINIVASAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/MARLON T FLETCHER/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817