DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicants' amendment of the claims, filed on 05/29/2026, in response to the rejection of claims 1-13 from the non-final office action, mailed on 03/06/2026, by amending claims 1-6, 8-9 and canceling claim 7, is acknowledged and will be addressed below.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
(1) The “a temperature sensor being configured to measure” of Claim 10 would have a better form if amended to be:
“a temperature sensor configured to measure”.
(2) The “wherein the valve controller is communicatively coupled to the temperature sensor, the valve controller being configured to control the plurality of flow control valves based on the temperature” of Claim 11 would have a better form if amended to be:
“wherein the valve controller is communicatively coupled to the temperature sensor and is configured to control the plurality of flow control valves based on the temperature”.
(3) The “the loadlock assembly according to claim 1, being attached to a side of the substrate handling chamber; and a process chamber to carry out a processing step on the substrate, being attached to another side of the substrate handling chamber” of Claim 13 would have a better form if amended to be:
“the loadlock assembly according to claim 1, the loadlock assembly attached to a side of the substrate handling chamber; and a process chamber configured to carry out a processing step on the substrate and attached to another side of the substrate handling chamber”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
(1) Claim 5 recites “an amount”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For the purpose of examination, it will be examined inclusive of “the amount”.
(2) The “each of the cooling gas nozzles of the plurality of cooling gas nozzles” of Claim 8 is not clear, because it is not clear what the “each of the cooling gas nozzles of the plurality of cooling gas nozzles” means.
For the purpose of examination, it will be examined inclusive of “each cooling gas nozzles of the plurality of cooling gas nozzles”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 20090000769, hereafter ‘769) in view of Kim et al. (US 20220068616, hereafter ‘616) and Hamada (US 20040014324, hereafter ‘324).
Regarding to Claim 1, ‘769 teaches:
loadlock chamber for use in semiconductor processing (abstract, the claimed “A loadlock assembly for substrate processing”);
the loadlock chamber 200 comprises an enclosed chamber 210 having a top 212, a bottom 214, and sidewalls 216 (Fig. 2, [0026], the claimed “the loadlock assembly comprising: a loadlock chamber provided with a plurality of sidewalls, a top portion, a bottom portion”);
The wafers are transferred from the FOUP docking system 122 to the loadlock chamber 121 via the factory interface 124… The wafers are transferred to one or more of the first process chamber 112, the second process chamber 114, and the third process chamber 116… via the buffer chamber 120 ([0021], the claimed “and a plurality of openings through which a substrate is configured to be passed into the loadlock chamber”);
Holders 218 are positioned to hold one or more wafers during transport ([0026], the claimed “a substrate support disposed in the loadlock chamber and configured to support the substrate at or near an edge of the substrate”).
chiller 222 ([0026], note Fig. 2 shows the chamber 210 has at least two ports at locations 244, 246 to receive the cooling fluid from the chiller, and the two ports are respectively coupled to the two nozzles of the chiller (the claimed “wherein the loadlock chamber is provided with a plurality of cooling ports” and “and a chiller unit provided with a plurality of cooling nozzles coupled to the cooling ports and configured to provide a cooling that passes through the plurality of cooling nozzles to the loadlock chamber”).
Because ‘769 uses cooling water ([0026]), ‘769 does not explicitly teach the other limitations (BOLD and ITALIC letter) of:
Claim 1: wherein the loadlock chamber is provided with a plurality of cooling gas intake ports; a substrate support disposed in the loadlock chamber and configured to support the substrate at or near an edge of the substrate; and a chiller unit provided with a plurality of cooling gas nozzles coupled to the cooling gas intake ports and configured to provide a cooling gas that passes through the plurality of cooling gas nozzles to the loadlock chamber; and a plurality of flow control valves configured to control an amount of the cooling gas, wherein each cooling gas nozzle of the plurality of cooling gas nozzles is provided with a respective flow control valve of the plurality of flow control valves.
In regards to the limitation of the “gas”,
Emphasized herein, the ports and nozzles can be used for either inlet or outlet or both, depending on a desired application. It is mere different “use” of the ports and nozzles. Therefore, the nozzle and ports of ‘769 can be used for either inlet or outlet.
‘616 is analogous art in the field of substrate processing apparatus (abstract). ‘616 teaches the cooling gas provided from the cooling gas supply 150 may be provided to the lower surface of the wafer 10 through the first cooling gas supply line 151 and the second cooling gas supply line 152 (Fig. 1, [0073], note see Fig. 1 clearly showing the cooling gas supply 150 having plural nozzles coupled to the plural gas intake ports under the substrate).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have adopted a cooling gas supply, as the chiller and the temperature-controlled plate of ‘769, for the purpose of simplified structure, and/or for its suitability as the known cooling method of the substrate backside with predictable result. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness, see MPEP 2144.07.
In regards to the new limitations of Claim 1,
As discussed in the teaching of ‘616, the cooling gas is supplied through the first and second cooling gas supply lines, thus the combined apparatus of ‘769 and ‘616 has plural cooling gas nozzles.
‘324 is analogous art in the field of substrate processing apparatus ([0002]). ‘324 teaches the first cooling gas line 216 comprises, valve 130 (Fig. 2A, [0079]), and the cooling gas is supplied to the openings 24 through the open fifth valve 130 ([0064], note the valve intrinsically control the amount by opening and closing the valve).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added a valve, to each cooling gas supply nozzle of the combined apparatus of ‘769 and ‘616, for the purpose of independently controlling the cooling gas supply in each gas nozzle toward the substrate.
Emphasized again, the combined apparatus of ‘769 and ‘616 has plural cooling gas nozzles, therefore, when each cooling gas nozzle respectively has a valve, the number of the valves are plural.
Regarding to Claims 2-4,
Fig. 3 of ‘616 shows concentrically arranged holes from the center of the substrate and Fig. 1 shows branched nozzles, thus the modified nozzles would be concentrically arranged from the center of the substrate and further branched nozzles (the claimed “wherein the plurality of cooling gas nozzles comprise a center nozzle and a plurality of outer nozzles arranged concentrically” of Claim 2, “wherein a position of the center nozzle is configured to coincide with a center of the substrate on the substrate support” of Claim 3, and “wherein at least one of the plurality of cooling gas nozzles is provided with a plurality of branched nozzles” of Claim 4).
Regarding to Claim 5,
As discussed in the claim 1 rejection above, the cooling gas is supplied to the backside of the substrate. Further ‘324 teaches the first cooling gas line 216 comprises an MFC 36 ([0079]), thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added a MFC, into each cooling gas supply nozzle of the combined apparatus of ‘769 and ‘616, for the purpose of precisely controlling the flux of cooling gas (the claimed “further comprising a mass flow controller configured to control an amount of the cooling gas passing to a backside of the substrate on the substrate support through the plurality of cooling gas nozzles”).
Regarding to Claim 6,
‘324 teaches the first cooling gas line 216 comprises a master valve 21a ([0079]), thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added a master valve, into each cooling gas supply nozzle of the combined apparatus of ‘769 and ‘616, for the purpose of independently controlling the gas flow from the gas supply source to cooling gas nozzles (the claimed “wherein each cooling gas nozzle of the plurality of cooling gas nozzles is provided with a main gas valve configured to be opened and closed”).
Regarding to Claim 8,
‘324 teaches the first cooling gas line 216 comprises, a pressure gauge 38a ([0079], note the pressure gauge is a flow sensor), thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added a pressure gauge, into each cooling gas supply nozzle of the combined apparatus of ‘769 and ‘616, for the purpose of independently and precisely measuring flow rate in each cooling gas nozzles (the claimed “wherein each of the cooling gas nozzles of the plurality of cooling gas nozzles is provided with a flow sensor”).
Regarding to Claim 9,
‘769 teaches the controller 242, automatically controls the chiller 222, the mass flow controller 230, and/or the control valve 232 ([0029], thus the controller of ‘769 would have a control portion controlling each corresponding component), therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have configured the controller of ‘769, so to control the imported flow control components, such as the valves and MFCs, for the purpose of automatic controlling by the controller (the claimed “further comprising a valve controller configured to control the plurality of flow control valve”).
Regarding to Claim 10,
‘769 further teaches the loadlock chamber 200 includes a temperature sensor 240 ([0029], the claimed “further comprising a temperature sensor being configured to measure a temperature of the substrate on the substrate support”).
Regarding to Claim 11,
‘769 further teaches the loadlock chamber 200 includes a temperature sensor 240, such as an infra-red temperature sensor, communicatively coupled to a controller 242, which may also be communicatively coupled to the chiller 222, the mass flow controller 230, and/or the control valve 232. In this embodiment, the controller 242 receives temperature information from the temperature sensor 240 and automatically controls the chiller 222, the mass flow controller 230, and/or the control valve 232 to maintain a desired temperature ([0029]), therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have configured the controller of ‘769, so to control the imported flow control components, such as the valves and MFCs, based on the temperature measured by the sensor, for the purpose of maintaining a desired temperature, based upon a desired application, such as previous process, subsequent process, wafer size and thickness, and the like (the claimed “wherein the valve controller is communicatively coupled to the temperature sensor, the valve controller being configured to control the plurality of flow control valves based on the temperature”).
Regarding to Claim 12,
‘616 teaches In this case, although the cooling gas may include, for example, helium (He), the present disclosure is not limited thereto ([0072]), therefore, the imported cooling gas would be He (the claimed “wherein the cooling gas is selected from N2, Ar, He, and combination thereof”).
Regarding to Claim 13,
‘769 teaches the cluster tool 100 includes a first process chamber 112, a second process chamber 114, and a third process chamber 116 interconnected via a buffer chamber 120 (Fig. 1, [0019]), and one or more wafers being transferred from one or more of the loadlock chambers 121 into a processing chamber… using a belt, robotic arm, or other well-known transfer mechanism (not shown) ([0022], note the “transfer by a robot in the buffer chamber” is commonly well-known feature, the claimed “A substrate processing apparatus, comprising; a substrate handling chamber provided with a substrate handling robot to move a substrate”);
‘769 teaches Interconnected to the buffer chamber 120 are one or more loadlock chambers 121 ([0029], note the teaching of the loadlock chamber was discussed in the claim 1 rejection with ‘769 and ‘616 above, the claimed “the loadlock assembly according to claim 1, being attached to a side of the substrate handling chamber”);
‘769 teaches a third process chamber 116 interconnected via a buffer chamber 120 ([0019], the claimed “and a process chamber to carry out a processing step on the substrate, being attached to another side of the substrate handling chamber”).
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed on 05/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regards to the 35USC103 rejection of Claim 1, the applicants argue that ‘324 teaches a single set of flow control components collectively controls gas flow to all of the plurality of openings 24 together, thus '324 does not disclose that "each cooling gas nozzle of the plurality of cooling gas nozzles is provided with a respective flow control valve of the plurality of flow control valves.".
The argument is found not persuasive.
As discussed in the rejection above, the examiner set forth that the set of flow control components of ‘324 is imported to each of the plurality of cooling gas nozzles of ‘769 and ‘616, for the purpose of independently controlling gas flow in each gas nozzles, therefore, each nozzle of ‘769 and ‘324 has respective flow control components.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AIDEN LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718