DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
In response to a Restriction Requirement mailed on 12/19/2025, the Applicant elected Group I (claims 1-8, 10-18, 20 and 22) and withdrew claim 31 of a nonelected Group II in a reply filed on 02/19/2026. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). There being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 9, 19, 21, 23-30 and 32-54 are canceled.
Claims 1-8, 10-18, 20 and 22 are examined as below.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 09/27/2023. The IDS has been considered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested:
(Marked-Up Version) Semiconductor Die Bonding Including Die-Attach Layer Comprising Au, Sn and Co
(Clean Version) Semiconductor Die Bonding Including Die-Attach Layer Comprising Au, Sn and Co
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-8, 14-15, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by US 2016/0149104 A1 to Bergmann et al. (“Bergmann”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Bergmann in Figs. 1-2A teaches a semiconductor device package 200 (Fig. 2A & ¶ 61, LED component 200), comprising:
a submount 220/230 (Fig. 2A & ¶ 61, a collective of metal anode pad 220 and metal cathode pad 230);
a semiconductor die 100 (Figs. 1-2A & ¶ 61, LED die 100) comprising a wide bandgap semiconductor 110, 120 (Figs. 1-2A, ¶ 53 & ¶ 55, LED die 100 includes a Group III-nitride based ep region 110 and a transparent substrate 120 includes silicon carbide, and the Group III-nitride material and silicon carbide are wide bandgap semiconductors as the Applicant purported in paragraph 21 in the specification of the present application);
a die-attach layer 180’ (Fig. 2A, ¶ 62 & ¶ 119, die attach layer 180’) between the submount 220/230 and the semiconductor die 100; and
wherein the die-attach layer 180’ comprises gold (Au), tin (Sn), and cobalt (Co) (¶ 119, die attach layer 180’ includes an eutectic mixtures of Au, Sn and Co).
Regarding claim 4, Bergmann in Fig. 2A further teaches the die-attach layer 180’ comprises a eutectic alloy (¶ 62 & ¶ 119; see the rejection of claim 1 as noted above).
Regarding claim 5, Bergmann in Fig. 2A further teaches the semiconductor device package 200 comprises a protective layer 250 (Fig. 2A & ¶ 68, encapsulant 250) on the die-attach layer 180’.
Regarding claim 7, Bergmann in Fig. 2A further teaches the die-attach layer 180’ further comprises nickel (Ni), silver (Ag), copper (Cu), or aluminum (Al) (¶ 119).
Regarding claim 8, Bergmann in Fig. 2A further teaches the semiconductor device package 200 comprises an adhesion layer 180’ (Fig. 2A, ¶ 69, die attach layer 180’ is used to keep the LED die 100 stay attached (i.e., adhere) to the lead frame 210).
Regarding claim 14, Bergmann in Fig. 2A further teaches the die-attach layer 180’ is lead (Pb) free (¶ 67, die attach layer 180’ comprises a lead-free solder; ¶ 119, lead is not listed as a material used for the die attach layer 180’ i.e., free of lead).
Regarding claim 15, Bergmann in Fig. 2A further teaches the submount 220/230 comprises copper (Cu) (¶ 63, metal anode pad 220 and metal cathode pad 230 are parts of metal lead frame structure that comprises copper).
Regarding claim 17, Bergmann in Fig. 2A further teaches the submount 220/230 comprises a lead frame 210 (Fig. 2A & ¶ 61, lead frame 210 includes the pads 220 and 230).
Regarding claim 18, Bergmann in Fig. 2A further teaches the wide bandgap semiconductor 110, 120 comprises silicon carbide or a Group III nitride (¶ 53 & ¶ 55; see the rejection of claim 1 as noted above).
Regarding claim 20, Bergmann in Figs. 2A and 23-24 further teaches the semiconductor device package 200 is a discrete power semiconductor package 200 (Fig. 2A & ¶ 61, the LED component 200 includes the LED die 100 is a discrete power semiconductor package, as the LED die 100 of the component 200 is a power device (i.e., diode) as the Applicant purported in paragraph 62 in the specification of the present application, and Figs. 23-24 & ¶ 129-¶ 132 disclose the LED components are discrete semiconductor packages).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 12-13 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable and obvious over Bergmann.
Regarding claim 2, Bergmann does not disclose a concentration of cobalt in the die-attach layer is in a range of about 0.01% by weight to about 0.5% by weight.
However, Bergmann teaches a general condition in which there is a concentration of cobalt in the die-attach layer 180’ (Fig. 2A, ¶ 62 & ¶ 119).
According to Section 2144.05 of the MPEP, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Here, since Bergmann teaches said general conditions, it would not be inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Unless the Applicant can show that the specific conditions of the concentration of cobalt in the die-attach layer is in a range of about 0.01% by weight to about 0.5% by weight produce unexpected results that are different in kind and not different in degree, said general conditions taught by Bergmann renders claim 2 obvious.
Regarding claim 3, Bergmann does not disclose a concentration of cobalt in the die-attach layer is in a range of about 0.01% by weight to about 0.25% by weight.
However, Bergmann teaches a general condition in which there is a concentration of cobalt in the die-attach layer 180’ (Fig. 2A, ¶ 62 & ¶ 119).
According to Section 2144.05 of the MPEP, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Here, since Bergmann teaches said general conditions, it would not be inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Unless the Applicant can show that the specific conditions of the concentration of cobalt in the die-attach layer is in a range of about 0.01% by weight to about 0.25% by weight produce unexpected results that are different in kind and not different in degree, said general conditions taught by Bergmann renders claim 3 obvious.
Regarding claim 12, Bergmann does not disclose a concentration of tin (Sn) in the die-attach layer is in a range of about 10% by weight to about 30% by weight.
However, Bergmann teaches a general condition in which there is a concentration of tin (Sn) in the die-attach layer 180’ (Fig. 2A, ¶ 62 & ¶ 119).
According to Section 2144.05 of the MPEP, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Here, since Bergmann teaches said general conditions, it would not be inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Unless the Applicant can show that the specific conditions of the concentration of tin (Sn) in the die-attach layer is in a range of about 10% by weight to about 30% by weight produce unexpected results that are different in kind and not different in degree, said general conditions taught by Bergmann renders claim 12 obvious.
Regarding claim 13, Bergmann does not disclose a concentration of gold (Au) in the die-attach layer is in a range of about 65% by weight to about 85% by weight.
However, Bergmann teaches a general condition in which there is a concentration of gold (Au) in the die-attach layer 180’ (Fig. 2A, ¶ 62 & ¶ 119).
According to Section 2144.05 of the MPEP, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Here, since Bergmann teaches said general conditions, it would not be inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Unless the Applicant can show that the specific conditions of the concentration of gold (Au) in the die-attach layer is in a range of about 65% by weight to about 85% by weight produce unexpected results that are different in kind and not different in degree, said general conditions taught by Bergmann renders claim 13 obvious.
Regarding independent claim 22, Bergmann in Figs. 1-2A teaches an attach material 180’ (Fig. 2A, ¶ 62 & ¶ 119, die attach layer 180’) for attaching a wide bandgap semiconductor device 100 (Figs. 1-2A & ¶ 61, LED die 100; ¶ 53 & ¶ 55, LED die 100 includes a Group III-nitride based ep region 110 and a transparent substrate 120 includes silicon carbide, and the Group III-nitride material and silicon carbide are wide bandgap semiconductors as the Applicant purported in paragraph 21 in the specification of the present application) to a submount 220/230 (Fig. 2A & ¶ 61, a collective of metal anode pad 220 and metal cathode pad 230), the attach material 180’ comprising a eutectic alloy 180’ (¶ 119, die attach layer 180’ includes an eutectic mixtures 180’ of Au, Sn and Co), the eutectic alloy comprising gold (Au), tin (Sn), and cobalt (Co) (¶ 119).
However, Bergmann does not disclose a concentration of cobalt in the eutectic alloy is in a range of about 0.01% by weight to about 0.5% by weight.
However, Bergmann teaches a general condition in which there is a concentration of cobalt in the eutectic alloy 180’ (Fig. 2A, ¶ 62 & ¶ 119).
According to Section 2144.05 of the MPEP, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Here, since Bergmann teaches said general conditions, it would not be inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Unless the Applicant can show that the specific conditions of the concentration of cobalt in the eutectic alloy is in a range of about 0.01% by weight to about 0.5% by weight produce unexpected results that are different in kind and not different in degree, said general conditions taught by Bergmann renders claim 22 obvious.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergmann in view of US 2011/0089556 A1 to Lee at al. (“Lee”).
Regarding claim 16, Bergmann does not explicitly disclose the submount comprises silver-plated copper (Cu).
Bergmann further discloses the submount 220/230 of a lead frame 210 (¶ 61) comprises copper (¶ 63).
Lee recognizes a need for enhancing the adhesion of copper lead frame to other metal (¶ 4 & ¶ 29). Lee satisfies the need by providing a submount (¶ 4 & ¶ 29, lead frame formed from copper) comprising silver-plated copper (Cu) (¶ 4 & ¶ 29).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the copper submount taught by Bergmann with the silver-plated copper taught by Lee, so as to enhance the adhesion of copper lead frame to other metal (Lee: ¶ 4 & ¶ 29).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 6 and 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if (i) rewritten in independent form to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims or (ii) the objected claim and any intervening claims are fully incorporated into the base claim.
Claim 6 would be allowable, because the prior art of record, singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other claimed elements in claim 6, wherein the protective layer comprises gold.
Claim 10 would be allowable, because the prior art of record, singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other claimed elements in claim 10, further comprising a diffusion barrier layer.
Claim 11 would be allowable, because claim 11 depends from the allowable claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2022/0139852 A1 to Pun
/M.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/ELISEO RAMOS FELICIANO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817