DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on September 27, 2023 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“in” should be inserted between “into use” and “the semiconductor fabrication process” (claim 1, line 7);
“is” should be inserted between “value” and “selected” (claim 6, line 1).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0130184 A1 (hereinafter “Lu”) in view of US 2014/0067324 A1 (hereinafter “Ho”).
Regarding claim 1, Lu discloses in Fig. 1 and related text a system for determining a condition of a heat lamp (114; [0014]-[0015]) used in a semiconductor fabrication process ([0002]) comprising:
a reaction chamber (100; [0012]) comprising a susceptor (146; [0013]) disposed within the reaction chamber; and
the heat lamp disposed outside of the reaction chamber and optically coupled to the susceptor by a wall of the reaction chamber ([0016]).
Lu does not disclose a controller for determining a subsequent resistance value of the heat lamp once placed into use in the semiconductor fabrication process, wherein the controller compares the subsequent resistance value to a programmed threshold value, and wherein the controller provides an indication when the subsequent resistance value passes the programmed threshold value.
Ho teaches a controller (60; Fig. 1; [0009] and [0015]) for determining a subsequent resistance value (R; [0017] and [0020]) of the heat lamp once placed into use in the semiconductor fabrication process ([0008]), wherein the controller compares the subsequent resistance value to a programmed threshold value (2.5%; [0024]), and wherein the controller provides an indication (alarm) when the subsequent resistance value passes the programmed threshold value ([0025]).
Lu and Ho are analogous art because they both are directed to semiconductor fabrication processes and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Lu with the specified features of Ho because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a controller for determining a subsequent resistance value of the heat lamp once placed into use in the semiconductor fabrication process, wherein the controller compares the subsequent resistance value to a programmed threshold value, and wherein the controller provides an indication when the subsequent resistance value passes the programmed threshold value, as taught by Ho, in order to monitor the resistance of the heat lamp to predict when the heat lamp will burn out so that the heat lamp can be replaced before burn-out occurs (Ho: [0016]).
Regarding claim 2, Lu in view of Ho disclose the system of claim 1.
Lu does not disclose a sensor that determines an electrical current of the heat lamp during use.
Ho teaches a sensor that determines an electrical current of the heat lamp during use ([0012]).
Lu and Ho are analogous art because they both are directed to semiconductor fabrication processes and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Lu in view of Ho with the specified features of Ho because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a sensor that determines an electrical current of the heat lamp during use, as taught by Ho, in order to calculate the resistance of the heat lamp according to Ohm’s Law (V=IR, where V is the voltage, I is the current, and R is the resistance) for the purpose of predicting when the heat lamp will burn out (Ho: [0016]).
Regarding claim 3, Lu in view of Ho disclose the system of claim 2.
Lu does not disclose the controller determines the subsequent resistance value of the heat lamp from the electrical current as determined by the sensor and an amount of electrical power used to power the heat lamp.
Ho teaches the controller determines the subsequent resistance value of the heat lamp from the electrical current as determined by the sensor and an amount of electrical power used to power the heat lamp (Ho’s sensor measures current (I) and power (P) of the heat lamp, as described in [0012], enabling the resistance (R) to be determined by the formula P=I2R which is common knowledge among those of ordinary skill in the art).
Lu and Ho are analogous art because they both are directed to semiconductor fabrication processes and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Lu in view of Ho with the specified features of Ho because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to determine the subsequent resistance value of the heat lamp from the electrical current as determined by the sensor and an amount of electrical power used to power the heat lamp, as taught by Ho, in order to monitor the resistance of the heat lamp to predict when the heat lamp will burn out so that the heat lamp can be replaced before such burn-out (Ho: [0016]).
Regarding claim 4, Lu in view of Ho disclose the system of claim 1.
Lu does not disclose the controller determines the subsequent resistance value of the heat lamp after repeated uses of the heat lamp during subsequent semiconductor fabrication processes.
Ho teaches the controller determines the subsequent resistance value of the heat lamp after repeated uses of the heat lamp during subsequent semiconductor fabrication processes (Ho describes “various processed wafers” [i.e., plural] in [0018], which is deemed to teach “repeated uses of the heat lamp during subsequent semiconductor fabrication processes” as claimed).
Lu and Ho are analogous art because they both are directed to semiconductor fabrication processes and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Lu in view of Ho with the specified features of Ho because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the controller such that the controller determines the subsequent resistance value of the heat lamp after repeated uses of the heat lamp during subsequent semiconductor fabrication processes, as taught by Ho, in order to monitor the resistance of the heat lamp to predict when the heat lamp will burn out so that the heat lamp can be replaced before such burn-out (Ho: [0016]).
Regarding claim 5, Lu in view of Ho disclose the system of claim 4.
Lu does not disclose the controller determines the subsequent resistance value of the heat lamp during a same stage of the semiconductor fabrication process.
Ho teaches the controller determines the subsequent resistance value of the heat lamp during a same stage (epitaxial growth; [0011]) of the semiconductor fabrication process.
Lu and Ho are analogous art because they both are directed to semiconductor fabrication processes and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Lu in view of Ho with the specified features of Ho because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the controller such that the controller determines the subsequent resistance value of the heat lamp during a same stage of the semiconductor fabrication process, as taught by Ho, in order to monitor the resistance of the heat lamp to predict when the heat lamp will burn out so that the heat lamp can be replaced before such burn-out (Ho: [0016]).
Regarding claim 6, Lu in view of Ho disclose the system of claim 1.
Lu does not disclose the programmed threshold value is selected from one or more of the group consisting of a resistance level and a resistance difference as measured from an initial resistance value of the heat lamp.
Ho teaches the programmed threshold value is selected from one or more of the group consisting of a resistance level and a resistance difference ([Symbol font/0x44]R) as measured from an initial resistance value (R0) of the heat lamp ([0020] and [0024]).
Lu and Ho are analogous art because they both are directed to semiconductor fabrication processes and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Lu in view of Ho with the specified features of Ho because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to select the programmed threshold value from one or more of the group consisting of a resistance level and a resistance difference as measured from an initial resistance value of the heat lamp, as taught by Ho, in order to monitor the resistance of the heat lamp to predict when the heat lamp will burn out so that the heat lamp can be replaced before such burn-out (Ho: [0016]).
Regarding claim 7, Lu in view of Ho disclose the system of claim 1.
Lu does not disclose the indication is provided to a user interface.
Ho teaches the indication is provided to a user interface (180; Fig. 2; [0015]).
Lu and Ho are analogous art because they both are directed to semiconductor fabrication processes and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Lu in view of Ho with the specified features of Ho because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the indication to a user interface, as taught by Ho, in order to enable the user to replace the heat lamp before it burns out (Ho: [0016]).
Regarding claim 8, Lu in view of Ho disclose the system of claim 1.
Lu does not disclose more than one heat lamps, wherein the controller is configured to determine the subsequent resistance value of each of the heat lamps and provide an indication when the subsequent resistance value of each of the heat lamps deviates from the programmed threshold value of each of the heat lamps.
Ho teaches more than one heat lamps (“an array of infrared lamps”; [0011]), wherein the controller is configured to determine the subsequent resistance value of each of the heat lamps and provide an indication when the subsequent resistance value of each of the heat lamps deviates from the programmed threshold value of each of the heat lamps ([0017], [0024] and [0025]).
Lu and Ho are analogous art because they both are directed to semiconductor fabrication processes and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Lu in view of Ho with the specified features of Ho because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide more than one heat lamps, wherein the controller is configured to determine the subsequent resistance value of each of the heat lamps and provide an indication when the subsequent resistance value of each of the heat lamps deviates from the programmed threshold value of each of the heat lamps, as taught by Ho, in order to ensure sufficient radiant energy to heat a silicon wafer to a desired high temperature for epitaxial growth thereon.
Regarding claim 9, Lu discloses in Fig. 1 and related text a system for monitoring a condition of heat lamps (114, 118; [0014]-[0015]) used in semiconductor processing ([0002]) comprising:
a reaction chamber (100; [0012]) comprising a susceptor (146; [0013]) disposed within the reaction chamber; and
more than one heat lamps (114, 118; [0014]-[0015]) disposed outside of the reaction chamber and optically coupled to the susceptor by a wall of the reaction chamber ([0016]).
Lu does not disclose sensors configured to measure an electrical current flow of each of the heat lamps, a controller for determining a subsequent resistance value of each of the heat lamps after being placed into semiconductor processing use, wherein the controller determines whether the subsequent resistance value of each heat lamp deviates from a programmed threshold value of each of the heat lamps by a predetermined amount, and wherein the controller provides an indication when the subsequent resistance value of any of the heat lamps falls below the programmed threshold value by a predetermined amount.
Ho teaches sensors configured to measure an electrical current flow of each of the heat lamps ([0012]), a controller (60; Fig. 1; [0009] and [0015]) for determining a subsequent resistance value (R; [0017] and [0020]) of each of the heat lamps after being placed into semiconductor processing use ([0008]), wherein the controller determines whether the subsequent resistance value of each heat lamp deviates from a programmed threshold value (2.5%; [0024]) of each of the heat lamps by a predetermined amount, and wherein the controller provides an indication (alarm) when the subsequent resistance value of any of the heat lamps falls below the programmed threshold value by a predetermined amount ([0025]).
Lu and Ho are analogous art because they both are directed to semiconductor fabrication processes and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Lu with the specified features of Ho because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide sensors configured to measure an electrical current flow of each of the heat lamps, and to provide a controller for determining a subsequent resistance value of each of the heat lamps after being placed into semiconductor processing use, wherein the controller determines whether the subsequent resistance value of each heat lamp deviates from a programmed threshold value of each of the heat lamps by a predetermined amount, and wherein the controller provides an indication when the subsequent resistance value of any of the heat lamps falls below the programmed threshold value by a predetermined amount, as taught by Ho, in order to monitor the resistance of the heat lamps to predict when each heat lamp will burn out so that the heat lamp can be replaced before burn-out occurs (Ho: [0016]).
Regarding claim 10, Lu in view of Ho disclose the system of claim 9.
Lu does not disclose the controller is configured to determine the subsequent resistance value of the heat lamps during a same stage of semiconductor processing.
Ho teaches the controller is configured to determine the subsequent resistance value of the heat lamps during a same stage (epitaxial growth; [0011]) of semiconductor processing.
Lu and Ho are analogous art because they both are directed to semiconductor fabrication processes and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Lu in view of Ho with the specified features of Ho because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the controller to determine the subsequent resistance value of the heat lamps during a same stage of semiconductor processing, as taught by Ho, in order to monitor the resistance of the heat lamps to predict when any given heat lamp will burn out so that said heat lamp can be replaced before such burn-out (Ho: [0016]).
Regarding claim 11, Lu in view of Ho disclose the system of claim 9.
Lu does not disclose the controller is configured to determine the subsequent resistance value for each of the heat lamps from the electrical current flow of the heat lamp as provided by a sensor of the one or more sensors and an amount of electrical power directed to a heat lamp of the one or more heat lamps.
Ho teaches the controller is configured to determine the subsequent resistance value for each of the heat lamps from the electrical current flow of the heat lamp as provided by a sensor of the one or more sensors and an amount of electrical power directed to a heat lamp of the one or more heat lamps (Ho’s sensors measure electrical current (I) and electrical power (P) of each of the heat lamps, as described in [0012], enabling the resistance (R) of each heat lamp to be determined by the formula P=I2R which is common knowledge among those of ordinary skill in the art).
Lu and Ho are analogous art because they both are directed to semiconductor fabrication processes and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Lu in view of Ho with the specified features of Ho because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the controller to determine the subsequent resistance value for each of the heat lamps from the electrical current flow of the heat lamp as provided by a sensor of the one or more sensors and an amount of electrical power directed to a heat lamp of the one or more heat lamps, as taught by Ho, in order to monitor the resistance of each of the heat lamps to predict when any given heat lamp will burn out so that said heat lamp can be replaced before such burn-out (Ho: [0016]).
Regarding claim 12, Lu in view of Ho disclose the system of claim 9.
Lu does not disclose the programmed threshold value equates to a remaining heat lamp service life of approximately 20 percent, and wherein an initial resistance value of the heat lamp determined when the heat lamp is new equates to a service life of approximately 100 percent.
Ho teaches an initial resistance value of the heat lamp (R0) determined when the heat lamp is new equates to a service life of approximately 100 percent ([0020]).
Ho does not explicitly teach the programmed threshold value (a 2.5% change in resistance; [0024]) equates to a remaining heat lamp service life of approximately 20 percent.
Lu and Ho are analogous art because they both are directed to semiconductor fabrication processes and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Lu in view of Ho with the specified features of Ho because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to set the programmed threshold value to equate to a remaining heat lamp service life of approximately 20 percent in order to enable the heat lamp to be replaced well before burn-out occurs and wafer-scale epitaxial growth is deleteriously affected (Ho: [0021]).
Furthermore, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 13, Lu in view of Ho disclose the system of claim 12.
Lu in view of Ho do not explicitly disclose the service life of approximately 20 percent equates to a resistance value of approximately 8 ohms to 12 ohms or 10 ohms.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to equate the service life of approximately 20 percent to a resistance value of approximately 8 ohms to 12 ohms or 10 ohms in order to enable the heat lamp to be replaced before either an open circuit or a short circuit occurs as a result of catastrophic failure.
Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Furthermore, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 14, Lu discloses in Fig. 1 and related text a method of monitoring a condition of a heat lamp (114; [0014]-[0015]) used in a semiconductor fabrication process ([0002]) comprising a reaction chamber (100; [0012]), a susceptor (146; [0013]) disposed in the reaction chamber, the heat lamp disposed outside the reaction chamber and optically coupled to the susceptor by a wall of the reaction chamber ([0016]).
Lu does not disclose determining a subsequent resistance value of the heat lamp after being used in the semiconductor fabrication process; comparing the subsequent resistance value of the heat lamp to a programmed threshold value; and providing an indication when the subsequent resistance value falls below the programmed threshold value.
Ho teaches determining a subsequent resistance value (R; [0020]) of the heat lamp after being used in the semiconductor fabrication process ([0008] and [0018]);
comparing the subsequent resistance value of the heat lamp to a programmed threshold value (2.5%; [0024]); and
providing an indication (alarm) when the subsequent resistance value falls below the programmed threshold value ([0025]).
Lu and Ho are analogous art because they both are directed to semiconductor fabrication processes and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Lu with the specified features of Ho because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to determine a subsequent resistance value of the heat lamp after being used in the semiconductor fabrication process, to compare the subsequent resistance value of the heat lamp to a programmed threshold value, and to provide an indication when the subsequent resistance value falls below the programmed threshold value, as taught by Ho, in order to monitor the resistance of the heat lamp to predict when the heat lamp will burn out so that the heat lamp can be replaced before burn-out occurs (Ho: [0016]).
Regarding claim 15, Lu in view of Ho disclose the method of claim 14.
Lu does not disclose measuring an initial resistance value of the heat lamp when the heat lamp is in a new condition, and wherein the programmed threshold value is a set value of resistance less than the initial resistance value.
Ho teaches measuring an initial resistance value (R0) of the heat lamp when the heat lamp is in a new condition ([0020]), and wherein the programmed threshold value is a set value of resistance (R=0.975R0) less than the initial resistance value ([0016], [0020] and [0024]).
Lu and Ho are analogous art because they both are directed to semiconductor fabrication processes and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Lu in view of Ho with the specified features of Ho because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to measure an initial resistance value of the heat lamp when the heat lamp is in a new condition, wherein the programmed threshold value is a set value of resistance less than the initial resistance value, as taught by Ho, in order to monitor the resistance of the heat lamp to predict when the heat lamp will burn out so that the heat lamp can be replaced before such burn-out (Ho: [0016]).
Regarding claim 16, Lu in view of Ho disclose the method of claim 14.
Lu does not disclose the step of determining is performed without removing the heat lamp from the reactor system.
Ho teaches the step of determining is performed without removing the heat lamp from the reactor system (Ho’s CVD epitaxial tool includes sensors that monitor the various parameters associated with the CVD epitaxial tool, including various characteristics of the heat lamp such as voltage, current, power, and resistance, as described in [0012]).
Lu and Ho are analogous art because they both are directed to semiconductor fabrication processes and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Lu in view of Ho with the specified features of Ho because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to perform the step of determining without removing the heat lamp from the reactor system, as taught by Ho, in order to maximize the throughput of the semiconductor fabrication process.
Regarding claim 17, Lu in view of Ho disclose the method of claim 14.
Lu does not disclose during the step of determining, a sensor is used to determine a current flow to the heat lamp and a controller is used to determine the subsequent resistance value from the current flow provided by the sensor and an amount of electrical power directed to the heat lamp.
Ho teaches a sensor is used to determine a current flow to the heat lamp ([0012]) and a controller (60; Fig. 1; [0009], [0015] and [0017]) is used to determine the subsequent resistance value (R; [0020]) from the current flow provided by the sensor and an amount of electrical power directed to the heat lamp (Ho’s sensors measure electrical current (I) and electrical power (P) to the heat lamp, as described in [0012], enabling the resistance (R) of the heat lamp to be determined by the formula P=I2R which is common knowledge among those of ordinary skill in the art).
Lu and Ho are analogous art because they both are directed to semiconductor fabrication processes and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Lu in view of Ho with the specified features of Ho because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, during the step of determining, to use a sensor to determine a current flow to the heat lamp and to use a controller to determine the subsequent resistance value from the current flow provided by the sensor and an amount of electrical power directed to the heat lamp, as taught by Ho, in order to monitor the resistance of the heat lamp to predict when the heat lamp will burn out so that the heat lamp can be replaced before such burn-out (Ho: [0016]).
Regarding claim 18, Lu in view of Ho disclose the method of claim 15.
Lu does not disclose the step of determining is performed during a predetermined stage of the semiconductor fabrication process.
Ho teaches the step of determining is performed during a predetermined stage (epitaxial growth; [0011]) of the semiconductor fabrication process.
Lu and Ho are analogous art because they both are directed to semiconductor fabrication processes and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Lu in view of Ho with the specified features of Ho because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to perform the step of determining during a predetermined stage of the semiconductor fabrication process, as taught by Ho, in order to monitor the resistance of the heat lamp to predict when the heat lamp will burn out so that the heat lamp can be replaced before such burn-out (Ho: [0016]).
Regarding claim 19, Lu in view of Ho disclose the method of claim 18.
Lu does not disclose the steps of determining and comparing are repeated during subsequent uses of the semiconductor fabrication process.
Ho teaches the steps of determining and comparing are repeated during subsequent uses of the semiconductor fabrication process (Ho describes “various processed wafers” [i.e., plural] in [0018], which is deemed to teach “…repeated during subsequent uses of the semiconductor fabrication processes” as claimed).
Lu and Ho are analogous art because they both are directed to semiconductor fabrication processes and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Lu in view of Ho with the specified features of Ho because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to repeat the steps of determining and comparing during subsequent uses of the semiconductor fabrication process, as taught by Ho, in order to evaluate conditions of the process tool to detect tool issues, such as tool condition deterioration (Ho: [0015]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Ho as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of US 5,576,695 (hereinafter “Minger”).
Regarding claim 20, Lu in view of Ho disclose the method of claim 14.
Lu in view of Ho do not explicitly disclose during the step of providing the indication is provided to a user interface in the form of a one or more of a visual display or audible sound.
Minger teaches the indication is provided to a user interface in the form of a one or more of a visual display or audible sound (col. 2, lines 46-55).
Lu, Ho and Minger are analogous art because they each are directed to electronic devices/components and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Lu in view of Ho with the specified features of Minger because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the indication to a user interface in the form of a one or more of a visual display or audible sound, as taught by Minger, in order to be certain to get the attention of the operator/engineer.
Conclusion
/PETER M ALBRECHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811