DETAILED ACTION
This OA is in response to the claims filled on 9/28/2023 that has been entered, wherein claims 1-20 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-18 in the reply filed on 5/8/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 19-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/28/2023 and 6/1/2026, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 2 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamaguchi et al. (US 2017/0196133 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yamaguchi teaches a display module(Fig. 4) comprising:
a base(GS) comprising a display region(GSm) and a non-display region(NAA);
pixels(display pixel, ¶0063) disposed in the display region(GSm);
a driver(21, ¶0068) disposed in the non-display region(NAA) and electrically connected to the pixels(display pixel, ¶0063) to provide a driving signal(¶0066);
signal pads(24, ¶0068) disposed in the non-display region(NAA) and electrically connected to the driver(21, ¶0068);
a heater(30, ¶0075) overlapping the driver(21, ¶0068) and disposed below(in the Y direction) the signal pads(24, ¶0068); and
a heating signal pad(29, ¶0075) electrically connected to the heater(30, ¶0075).
Regarding claim 2, Yamaguchi teaches the display module of claim 1, wherein the heater(30, ¶0075) comprises a first conductive pattern disposed on the base(GS), and the first conductive pattern(30, ¶0075) comprises:
first line portions(portion of 30 extending in X direction) extending in a first direction(X); and second line portions(portion of 30 extending in Y direction) integrally connected to the first line portions(portion of 30 extending in X direction) on a same layer and extending in a second direction(Y) intersecting the first direction(Y).
Regarding claim 16, Yamaguchi teaches the display module of claim 1, further comprising:
a conductive adhesive member(27, Fig. 5) disposed between the signal pads(24, ¶0068) and the driver(21, ¶0068) to electrically connect the signal pads(24, ¶0068) and the driver(21, ¶0068) to each other.
Regarding claim 17, Yamaguchi teaches a display module(Fig. 4) comprising:
a base layer(GS) comprising a display region(GSm) and a drive bonding region(GSs1) spaced apart from the display region(GSm);
pixels(display pixel, ¶0063) disposed on the display region(GSm);
signal lines(not illustrated, gate wiring lines and source wiring lines, ¶0069) electrically connected to the pixels(display pixel, ¶0063) and extending from the display region(GSm) toward the drive bonding region(GSs1);
signal pads(24, ¶0068) disposed on the drive bonding region(GSs1) and electrically connected to the signal lines(not illustrated, gate wiring lines and source wiring lines, ¶0069);
a heater(30, ¶0075) overlapping the signal pads(24, ¶0068); and
a heating signal pad(29, ¶0075) electrically connected to the heater(30, ¶0075), wherein the heating signal pad(29, ¶0075) and the signal pads(24, ¶0068) are electrically insulated from each other(Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 18, Yamaguchi teaches the display module of claim 17, further comprising:
connection pads(22, ¶0068) spaced apart from the drive bonding region(GSs1) in a first direction(Y) and respectively connected to corresponding signal pads(24, ¶0068) among the signal pads(24, ¶0068), wherein the heating signal pad(29, ¶0075) and the connection pads(22, ¶0068) are disposed in a second direction intersecting the first direction(X).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoo (US 2011/0063282 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Yoo teaches a display module(Fig. 3) comprising:
a base(400) layer comprising a display region(DA) and a driver bonding region(NA) spaced apart from the display region(DA);
pixels(¶0047, ¶0011) disposed on the display region(DA);
signal lines(pads, not shown extending from the display area, ¶0059) electrically connected to the pixels(¶0047, ¶0011) and extending from the display region(DA) toward the drive bonding region(NA);
signal pads(260, ¶0059) disposed on the driver bonding region(NA) and electrically connected to the signal lines(pads, not shown extending from the display area, ¶0059);
a heater(300, ¶0042) overlapping the signal pads(260, ¶0059); and
a heating signal pad(350, ¶0043) electrically connected to the heater(300, ¶0042), wherein the heating signal pad(350, ¶0043) and the signal pads(260, ¶0059) are electrically insulated from each other(Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. (US 2017/0196133 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (KR 20190018296 A).
Regarding claim 13, Yamaguchi teaches the display module of claim 1, wherein the base(GS) comprises a base layer(GS) that provides a base surface on which the heater(30, ¶0075) and the signal pads(24, ¶0068) are disposed.
Yamaguchi is not relied on to teach a portion of the base layer(GS) , which corresponds to a region between the display region(GSm) and the driver(21, ¶0068) in a plan view, is bent with respect to a bending axis.
Kim teaches a display module(Fig. 22) wherein a portion of the base layer(100, 102) , which corresponds to a region between the display region and the driver(101, ¶0106) in a plan view, is bent with respect to a bending axis(Fig. 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yamaguchi, so that a portion of the base layer, which corresponds to a region between the display region and the driver in a plan view, is bent with respect to a bending axis, as taught by Kim, penetrated moisture can be forcibly evaporated through the heat generating portion(¶0159).
Regarding claim 14, Yamaguchi teaches the display module of claim 1, wherein:
the base(GS) comprises:
a base layer(GS) that provides a base surface, on which the pixels(display pixel, ¶0063) are disposed; and
a flexible circuit board(13, ¶0068) disposed on the base layer(GS) and the flexible circuit board(13, ¶0068) is bent(Fig. 2) toward a rear surface of the base layer(GS).
Yamaguchi is not relied on to teach the driver(21, ¶0068), the signal pads(24, ¶0068), the heater(30, ¶0075), and the heating signal pad(29, ¶0075) are disposed on the flexible circuit board(13, ¶0068),
Kim teaches a display module(Fig. 22) wherein the driver(101, ¶0106), the signal pads(125, ¶0159), the heater(heat generating portion of 103, ¶0159), and the heating signal pad(connection portion of 103, ¶0159) are disposed on the flexible circuit board(102, ¶0159). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yamaguchi, so that the driver, the signal pads, the heater, and the heating signal pad are disposed on the flexible circuit board, as taught by Kim, penetrated moisture can be forcibly evaporated through the heat generating portion(¶0159).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (US 2011/0063282 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yoo teaches a display module(Fig. 3) comprising:
a base(400) comprising a display region(DA) and a non-display region(NA);
pixels(¶0047, ¶0011) disposed in the display region(DA);
a driver(SD, DD, ECD, Fig. 3, ¶0060) disposed in the non-display region(DA) and electrically connected to the pixels(¶0047, ¶0011) to provide a driving signal;
signal pads(260, ¶0059) disposed in the non-display region(DA) and electrically connected to the driver(SD, DD, ECD, Fig. 3, ¶0060);
a heater(300, ¶0042) overlapping the driver(SD, DD, ECD, Fig. 3, ¶0060) and disposed below the signal pads(260, ¶0059); and
a heating signal pad(350, ¶0043) electrically connected to the heater(300, ¶0042).
Yoo does not explicitly state signal pads(260, ¶0059) electrically connected to the driver(SD, DD, ECD, Fig. 3, ¶0060). However Yoo, does teach the signal pads(260, ¶0059) extend from the display area(DA, ¶0059) and that the driver(SD, DD, ECD, Fig. 3, ¶0060) are used control operations required for displaying an image by the OLEDs according to external signals(¶0060). Accordingly, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make signal pads electrically connected to the driver, in order to connect the external signals received by the driver to the display area(¶0059-60).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (US 2011/0063282 A1) in view of Kakinuma (US 2012/0211750 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Yoo teaches the display module of claim 1, wherein each of the pixels(¶0047, ¶0011) comprise:
a transistor(T, ¶0065), comprising a gate electrode(214, ¶0052);
a light-emitting element(250, ¶0049) electrically connected to the transistor(T, ¶0065); and
a connection electrode(217, ¶0055) electrically connecting the transistor(T, ¶0065) and the light-emitting element(250, ¶0049) to each other, and the heater(300, ¶0042) comprises a conductive pattern(¶0065) disposed on the same layer(base layer 400) as at least one of the gate electrode(214, ¶0052) and the connection electrode(217, ¶0055).
Yoo is not relied on to teach an upper electrode overlapping the gate electrode(214, ¶0052).
Kakinuma teaches a display module(Fig. 1) comprising an upper electrode(108b, ¶0026) overlapping the gate electrode(105, ¶0025). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yoo, to include an upper electrode overlapping the gate electrode, as taught by Kakinuma, so that a portion above the channel region in the drive transistor may be effectively used as a space to form a capacitor(¶0029).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-12 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding independent claim 3, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole either taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach “the heater further comprises a second conductive pattern disposed on the first conductive pattern, and the second conductive pattern comprises: third line portions extending in the first direction; and fourth line portions integrally connected to the third line portions on a same layer and extending in the second direction”.
Claim 4 depends on claim 3 and inherits its allowable subject matter.
Regarding independent claim 5, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole either taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach “ the heater comprises: a first conductive pattern disposed on the base and; a second conductive pattern disposed on the first conductive pattern, the first conductive pattern comprises: a first pattern connected to the heating signal pad; and a plurality of second patterns spaced apart from the first pattern, the second conductive pattern comprises third patterns contacting adjacent second patterns among the plurality of second patterns and connecting the adjacent second patterns to each other.”
Claim 6 depends on claim 5 and inherits its allowable subject matter.
Regarding independent claim 7, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole either taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach “ the heater comprises: a first conductive pattern disposed on the base and; a second conductive pattern disposed on the first conductive pattern, the first conductive pattern comprises: a first pattern connected to the heating signal pad; and a plurality of second patterns spaced apart from the first pattern, the second conductive pattern comprises third patterns contacting adjacent second patterns among the plurality of second patterns and connecting the adjacent second patterns to each other.”
Claims 8-12 depends on claim 7 and inherits its allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kurasawa et al. (US 2008/0231789 A) Discloses a display module.
Tsai et al. (US 2022/0322519 A1) Discloses a display module.
Pang et al. (US 2023/0217752 A1) Discloses a display module.
/LAURA M DYKES/Examiner, Art Unit 2892