DETAILED ACTION
This OA is in response to the amendment filled on 9/28/2023 that has been entered, wherein claims 1-20 are pending and claims 19-20 are withdrawn.
Specification
The objection to the specification is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment of 9/28/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 2 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamaguchi et al. (US 2017/0196133 A1) of record.
Regarding claim 1, Yamaguchi teaches a display module(Fig. 4) comprising:
a base(GS) comprising a display region(GSm) and a non-display region(NAA);
pixels(display pixel, ¶0063) disposed in the display region(GSm);
a driver(21, ¶0068) disposed in the non-display region(NAA) and electrically connected to the pixels(display pixel, ¶0063) to provide a driving signal(¶0066);
signal pads(24, ¶0068) disposed in the non-display region(NAA) and electrically connected to the driver(21, ¶0068);
a heater(30, ¶0075) disposed in the non-display region(NAA), overlapping the driver(21, ¶0068) and disposed below(in the Y direction) the signal pads(24, ¶0068); and
a heating signal pad(29, ¶0075) electrically connected to the heater(30, ¶0075),
wherein the heater(30, ¶0075) overlaps(in the Y direction) the signal pads(24, ¶0068).
Regarding claim 2, Yamaguchi teaches the display module of claim 1, wherein the heater(30, ¶0075) comprises a first conductive pattern disposed on the base(GS), and the first conductive pattern(30, ¶0075) comprises:
first line portions(portion of 30 extending in X direction) extending in a first direction(X); and second line portions(portion of 30 extending in Y direction) integrally connected to the first line portions(portion of 30 extending in X direction) on a same layer and extending in a second direction(Y) intersecting the first direction(Y).
Regarding claim 16, Yamaguchi teaches the display module of claim 1, further comprising:
a conductive adhesive member(27, Fig. 5) disposed between the signal pads(24, ¶0068) and the driver(21, ¶0068) to electrically connect the signal pads(24, ¶0068) and the driver(21, ¶0068) to each other.
Regarding claim 17, Yamaguchi teaches a display module(Fig. 4) comprising:
a base layer(GS) comprising a display region(GSm) and a driver bonding region(GSs1) spaced apart from the display region(GSm);
pixels(display pixel, ¶0063) disposed on the display region(GSm);
signal lines(not illustrated, gate wiring lines and source wiring lines, ¶0069) electrically connected to the pixels(display pixel, ¶0063) and extending from the display region(GSm) toward the driver bonding region(GSs1);
signal pads(24, ¶0068) disposed on the driver bonding region(GSs1) and electrically connected to the signal lines(not illustrated, gate wiring lines and source wiring lines, ¶0069);
a heater(30, ¶0075) disposed on the driver bonding region(GSs1) overlapping(in the Y direction) the signal pads(24, ¶0068); and
a heating signal pad(29, ¶0075) electrically connected to the heater(30, ¶0075), wherein the heating signal pad(29, ¶0075) and the signal pads(24, ¶0068) are electrically insulated from each other(Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 18, Yamaguchi teaches the display module of claim 17, further comprising:
connection pads(22, ¶0068) spaced apart from the driver bonding region(GSs1) in a first direction(Y) and respectively connected to corresponding signal pads(24, ¶0068) among the signal pads(24, ¶0068), wherein the heating signal pad(29, ¶0075) and the connection pads(22, ¶0068) are disposed in a second direction intersecting the first direction(X).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoo (US 2011/0063282 A1) of record.
Regarding claim 17, Yoo teaches a display module(Fig. 3) comprising:
a base(400) layer comprising a display region(DA) and a driver bonding region(NA) spaced apart from the display region(DA);
pixels(¶0047, ¶0011) disposed on the display region(DA);
signal lines(pads, not shown extending from the display area, ¶0059) electrically connected to the pixels(¶0047, ¶0011) and extending from the display region(DA) toward the drive bonding region(NA);
signal pads(260, ¶0059) disposed on the driver bonding region(NA) and electrically connected to the signal lines(pads, not shown extending from the display area, ¶0059);
a heater(300, ¶0042) disposed on the driver bonding region(NA) overlapping the signal pads(260, ¶0059); and
a heating signal pad(350, ¶0043) electrically connected to the heater(300, ¶0042), wherein the heating signal pad(350, ¶0043) and the signal pads(260, ¶0059) are electrically insulated from each other(Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. (US 2017/0196133 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (KR 20190018296 A) all of record.
Regarding claim 13, Yamaguchi teaches the display module of claim 1, wherein the base(GS) comprises a base layer(GS) that provides a base surface on which the heater(30, ¶0075) and the signal pads(24, ¶0068) are disposed.
Yamaguchi is not relied on to teach a portion of the base layer(GS) , which corresponds to a region between the display region(GSm) and the driver(21, ¶0068) in a plan view, is bent with respect to a bending axis.
Kim teaches a display module(Fig. 22) wherein a portion of the base layer(100, 102) , which corresponds to a region between the display region and the driver(101, ¶0106) in a plan view, is bent with respect to a bending axis(Fig. 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yamaguchi, so that a portion of the base layer, which corresponds to a region between the display region and the driver in a plan view, is bent with respect to a bending axis, as taught by Kim, penetrated moisture can be forcibly evaporated through the heat generating portion(¶0159).
Regarding claim 14, Yamaguchi teaches the display module of claim 1, wherein:
the base(GS) comprises:
a base layer(GS) that provides a base surface, on which the pixels(display pixel, ¶0063) are disposed; and
a flexible circuit board(13, ¶0068) disposed on the base layer(GS) and the flexible circuit board(13, ¶0068) is bent(Fig. 2) toward a rear surface of the base layer(GS).
Yamaguchi is not relied on to teach the driver(21, ¶0068), the signal pads(24, ¶0068), the heater(30, ¶0075), and the heating signal pad(29, ¶0075) are disposed on the flexible circuit board(13, ¶0068),
Kim teaches a display module(Fig. 22) wherein the driver(101, ¶0106), the signal pads(125, ¶0159), the heater(heat generating portion of 103, ¶0159), and the heating signal pad(connection portion of 103, ¶0159) are disposed on the flexible circuit board(102, ¶0159). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yamaguchi, so that the driver, the signal pads, the heater, and the heating signal pad are disposed on the flexible circuit board, as taught by Kim, penetrated moisture can be forcibly evaporated through the heat generating portion(¶0159).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (US 2011/0063282 A1) of record.
Regarding claim 1, Yoo teaches a display module(Fig. 3) comprising:
a base(400) comprising a display region(DA) and a non-display region(NA);
pixels(¶0047, ¶0011) disposed in the display region(DA);
a driver(SD, DD, ECD, Fig. 3, ¶0060) disposed in the non-display region(DA) and electrically connected to the pixels(¶0047, ¶0011) to provide a driving signal;
signal pads(260, ¶0059) disposed in the non-display region(DA) and electrically connected to the driver(SD, DD, ECD, Fig. 3, ¶0060);
a heater(300, ¶0042) overlapping the driver(SD, DD, ECD, Fig. 3, ¶0060) and disposed below the signal pads(260, ¶0059); and
a heating signal pad(350, ¶0043) electrically connected to the heater(300, ¶0042).
Yoo does not explicitly state signal pads(260, ¶0059) electrically connected to the driver(SD, DD, ECD, Fig. 3, ¶0060). However, Yoo, does teach the signal pads(260, ¶0059) extend from the display area(DA, ¶0059) and that the driver(SD, DD, ECD, Fig. 3, ¶0060) are used control operations required for displaying an image by the OLEDs according to external signals(¶0060). Accordingly, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make signal pads electrically connected to the driver, in order to connect the external signals received by the driver to the display area(¶0059-60).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (US 2011/0063282 A1) in view of Kakinuma (US 2012/0211750 A1) both of record.
Regarding claim 15, Yoo teaches the display module of claim 1, wherein each of the pixels(¶0047, ¶0011) comprise:
a transistor(T, ¶0065), comprising a gate electrode(214, ¶0052);
a light-emitting element(250, ¶0049) electrically connected to the transistor(T, ¶0065); and
a connection electrode(217, ¶0055) electrically connecting the transistor(T, ¶0065) and the light-emitting element(250, ¶0049) to each other, and the heater(300, ¶0042) comprises a conductive pattern(¶0065) disposed on the same layer(base layer 400) as at least one of the gate electrode(214, ¶0052) and the connection electrode(217, ¶0055).
Yoo is not relied on to teach an upper electrode overlapping the gate electrode(214, ¶0052).
Kakinuma teaches a display module(Fig. 1) comprising an upper electrode(108b, ¶0026) overlapping the gate electrode(105, ¶0025). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yoo, to include an upper electrode overlapping the gate electrode, as taught by Kakinuma, so that a portion above the channel region in the drive transistor may be effectively used as a space to form a capacitor(¶0029).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-12 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Please see the office action of 6/9/2026 for reasons for indicating allowable subject matter.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant’s argue the cited art does not disclose or make obvious a display module comprising " a heater disposed in the non-display region, overlapping the driver and disposed below the signal pads," "wherein the heater overlaps the signal pads," as recited in amended independent claim 1. in Yamaguchi while the heat transfer section (30), allegedly corresponding to the heater, is disposed under the signal pad (24) in plan view as shown in FIG. 4 of Yamaguchi, FIG. 11 of Yamaguchi shows that the heat transfer section (30) is spaced apart from the signal pads (24, 23). Accordingly, while the heat transfer section (30) of Yamaguchi may overlap the driver (21), it is spaced apart from the signal pads making it impossible to locally control heat generation in the actual bonding area. Thus, Yamaguchi does not teach a display module comprising "a heater disposed in the non-display region, overlapping the driver and disposed below the signal pads," "wherein the heater overlaps the signal pads."
The examiner respectfully submits that the heater 30 of Yamaguchi overlaps the signal pads 24 in the Y direction in plan view. Applicant’s appears to be inferring that the limitation of “the heater overlaps the signal pads” requires the heater to overlap the signal pads in cross-sectional view, however Applicants are not claiming the limitation of “the heater overlaps the signal pads in cross-sectional view”. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the heater overlaps the signal pads in cross-sectional view) are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Regarding claim 17, Applicant argues in Fig. 3 of Yoo, while the heater (300) may overlap with the signal pad (260), it is not disposed in the non- display area. Instead, the heater (300) overlaps the entire display area. Accordingly, Yoo does not teach a display module comprising "a heater disposed in the non-display region, overlapping the driver and disposed below the signal pads," "wherein the heater overlaps the signal pads."
The examiner respectfully submits that Yoo’s heater 300 is formed in both the display area and the non-display area. Applicant’s appears to be inferring that the limitation of “a heater disposed in the non-display region” requires the heater to only be disposed in the non-display region and not the display region, however Applicants are not claiming the limitation of “a heater only disposed in the non-display region and not the display region”. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a heater only disposed in the non-display region and not the display region) are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA M DYKES/Examiner, Art Unit 2892