Detailed Correspondence
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ submission, filed on 02/17/2026, in response to claims 12-13, 15 and 20-36 rejection from the final office action (12/20/2025), by amending claims 12, 15, 20, 24, 27, 29, 31 and 35-36, cancelling claims 22 and 26, and adding new claims 37-38 is entered and will be addressed below.
The examiner notices Applicants did not cited support for the amendment. Also, the new limitation such as measuring stress and “after “the vertical sidewalls are removed from the furnace” are not discussed during the interview 02/03/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities: “wherein the the deposition conditions …“ should be “wherein the deposition conditions …“.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretations
The newly added limitation “A system … by measuring thicknesses and stress of the coating on both of the vertical sidewalls after the vertical sidewalls are removed from the furnace“ of claim 12 and “A system … by measuring thicknesses of the coating on both of the witness wafers after the coating is formed by the LPCVD process and the wafers are removed from the furnace“ of claim 27, the process of measurement outside the claim system/apparatus is not part of the system/apparatus.
“The broadest reasonable interpretation of a system (or apparatus or product) claim having structure that performs a function, which only needs to occur if a condition precedent is met, requires structure for performing the function should the condition occur. The system claim interpretation differs from a method claim interpretation because the claimed structure must be present in the system regardless of whether the condition is met and the function is actually performed” (See MPEP 2111.04 II).
The “a first witness means and a second witness means” in claim 35 as the means performing the function of witness. These are considered as “a first witness wafer and a second witness wafer” as disclosed in abstract.
The “a mount for securely for holding a three dimensional part other than a wafer on the platform during a low pressure chemical vapor deposition process” of claim 12 involves several intended use of the apparatus. Applicants’ disclosure does not include other component connect to mount 205A, 205B, therefore, “securely” will be considered including by weight, or by other commonly known securing device such as clamp, bolts, magnets, etc..
The “for depositing a coating using a low pressure chemical vapor deposition (LPCVD) process” of claim 12, Applicants’ Specification define low pressure in P9, 2nd paragraph. The process performed in an apparatus that is considered an intended use of the apparatus. An apparatus that is capable of this process is considered read into the claim. Various dependent claims with “using …” is also an intended use of the apparatus.
The “horizontal platform” and “a first vertical sidewall and a second vertical sidewall wherein the platform is between the sidewalls” of claim 12, Applicants’ Specification includes “platform wafer”, “a platform supported by one or more pedestals”, “a platform connected to columns extending from the platform”, “wherein the mount comprises fixture fixing the part on a top surface of the horizontal platform”, also the support bars below the platform wafer as shown in Fig. 2 can be considered the “horizontal platform” which is consistent with “the boat comprises: a first slot for holding a first wafer vertically in the first slot; a second slot for holding a second wafer vertically in the second slot; and wherein the horizontal platform is between the first slot and the second slot” of new claim 20. For claim 12, it is broad but not indefinite.
The “for depositing the coating at a pressure in a range of 10 mTorr to 1 Torr” of claim 24,
It has been held that claim language that simply specifies an intended use or field of use for the invention generally will not limit the scope of a claim (Walter, 618 F.2d at 769, 205 USPQ at 409; MPEP 2106). Additionally, in apparatus claims, intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim (In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); MPEP2111.02). When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); MPEP 2112.01).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-13, 15, 20-21, 23-25, 27-34, and 35-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The newly added limitations “by measuring thicknesses and stress of the coating on both of the vertical sidewalls after the vertical sidewalls are removed from the furnace“ of claim 12 and “by measuring thicknesses of the coating on both of the witness wafers after the coating is formed by the LPCVD process and the wafers are removed from the furnace“ of claim 27 does not have support in Applicants’ Specification.
Claim 35 recites “controlling a low temperature chemical vapor deposition (LPCVD) process”, there is no support for low temperature process.
Claims 12-13, 15, 20-21, 23-25, 27-34, and 35-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The newly added limitations “by measuring thicknesses and stress of the coating on both of the vertical sidewalls after the vertical sidewalls are removed from the furnace“ of claim 12 and “by measuring thicknesses of the coating on both of the witness wafers after the coating is formed by the LPCVD process and the wafers are removed from the furnace“ of claim 27 are not clear as whether the system includes a thickness measurement device and a stress measurement device.
Claims 12 and 27 will be examined inclusive the thickness measurement and stress measurement are not part of the system or inclusive of external thickness measurement and stress measurement. Either way, the measurement process is an intended use of the apparatus.
Claims 23 and 31 each recites “further comprising controller”, and claim 34 “further comprising a controller”, this raises antecedent issue with “a controller” of claims 12 and 27, respectively.
Claims 23 and 31 will be examined inclusive “further comprising the controller”.
Claim 35 recites “controlling a low temperature chemical vapor deposition (LPCVD) process”, it appears to be a low pressure chemical vapor deposition process and will be examined accordingly.
Dependent claims 13, 15, 20-21, 23-25, 28-34, and 36-38 are also rejected under USC 112(b) at least due to dependency to rejected claims 12 and 27, respectively.
Claims 23, 31, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
As a result of the added limitations of claims 12 and 27, claims 23, 31, and 34 does not further the parent claims 12 and 27, respectively.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-13, 15, 21-27, 29-35, and 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chruma et al. (US 3900597, hereafter ‘597), in view of Takahashi et al. (US 20210324511, hereafter ‘511), Fischer (US 5191286, hereafter ‘286), Takeuchi et al. (US 5923429, hereafter ‘429) and Mozumder et al. (US 5408405, hereafter ‘405).
‘597 teaches some limitations of:
Claim 12: FIG. 7 shows the schematic view of the apparatus of the present invention (col. 3, lines 15-16, includes the claimed “A system comprising”),
means for depositing polycrystalline silicon from silane in a vacuum (abstract, includes the claimed “a chemical vapor deposition furnace, comprising an inlet at an end of the furnace, for depositing a coating using a low pressure chemical vapor deposition (LPCVD) process“);
Wafers 47 are placed into a quartz boat 49 (col. 6, lines 42-43, includes the claimed “a boat, comprising: a horizontal platform”);
a method for depositing polycrystalline silicon in a heated evacuated tube under a vacuum on a substrate and using a gaseous source (col. 2, lines 60-62, includes the claimed “during the LPCVD a low pressure chemical vapor deposition (LPCVD) process”),
the wafers at the two ends of the boat reads into the claimed “a first vertical sidewall and a second vertical sidewall“).
‘597 also teaches that Also other factors such as flow rates and temperatures will give different numbers from run to run if minute differences in such run parameters occurred (col. 4, lines 30-33).
‘597 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claim 12: and a mount for securely for holding a three dimensional part other than a wafer on the horizonal platform during (a the LPCVD low pressure chemical vapor deposition (LPCVD) process);
the mount is between the vertical sidewalls,
the first vertical sidewall, the mount, and the second vertical sidewall are positioned so that the first vertical sidewall is closest to, and second vertical sidewall is furthest from, the inlet for a gas source for the LPCVD process, so that a range of the coating's property across the three dimensional part can be measured by measuring thicknesses and stress of the coating on both of the vertical sidewalls after the vertical sidewalls are removed from the furnace; and
a controller for controlling the furnace for depositing the coating on the 3D part using the LPCVD process, wherein the controller controls deposition conditions of LPCVD process, including output from the gas source, so as to tailor the coating's property of the 3D part in the range determined by the measuring.
‘597 further teaches that wafers were placed at greater distances and wafers were manufactured having the top view as shown in FIG. 10 (col. 6, lines 52-54). Note Fig. 9 shows an linear decrease in coated thickness as wafers are placed away from inlet 38.
‘511 is analogous art in the field of HOT FILAMENT CVD DEVICE (title), to deposit a uniform diamond coating film on a surface of the workpiece having a three-dimensional shape ([0003]), a vacuum pump (not illustrated) to cause the internal space of the chamber 2 to be in a vacuum or a substantially vacuum state during the coating treatment ([0028], last sentence). ’511 teaches that the hot filament CVD device 1 further includes the stage 3, multiple workpiece support blocks 4 (base material supports) for supporting the respective multiple workpieces 5 (Fig. 2, [0029]).
‘286 is analogous art in the field of Method And Probe For Non-destructive Measurement Of The Thickness Of Thin Layers And Coatings (title). ’286 teaches that Since the measured object is not generally available in a non-coated form, and often has very complex shapes, it is mostly very difficult to measure layer thicknesses on concave or convex surfaces (col. 1, lines 55-58).
‘429 is analogous art in the field of Apparatus For Monitoring In-situ The Thickness Of A Film During Film Deposition And A Method Thereof (title), an LPCVD (low-pressure CVD) apparatus … a quartz boat 4 (col. 3, lines 30-37). ’429 teaches that dummy wafers are stacked at the upper and lower sections of the boat 4, reserving the intermediate space for product wafers. The product wafer 10 nearest to the rotary shaft 48 is used as the monitor wafer 16 for monitoring the thickness of the film. It should be noted that the monitor wafer 16 may be a product wafer or it may be used solely for thickness overseeing (col. 4, lines 10-16), wherein the strength of said reflected laser beam detected by said optical generating means is transmitted to a controller which monitors, based on a deposition period, a change in thickness of said film on said surface of said substrate (claim 16 of ‘429). A computer 36 analyzes changes in thickness of the film and determines the deposition period based on changes occurring in the value of the voltage (col. 5, lines 65-67).
‘405 is analogous art in the field of a plasma enhanced chemical vapor deposition (PECVD) of silicon nitride (PECVD Nitride) (col. 3, lines 5-6), Manufacturing of many types of discrete products can benefit from multi-variable computerized controllers. The semiconductor wafer processing area is an example of an area of particular interest. The small feature sizes and the large number of steps required to fabricate state of the art integrated circuits (on semiconductor wafers) make it essential that each of the process steps meet a tight set of specifications. Since process variations are inevitable, statistical process control (SPC) is one of the techniques used for controlling fabrication processes. Often, implementing SPC on a wafer-by-wafer basis requires having equipment with in-situ sensors for measuring the desired quality characteristics, or making changes to existing equipment to incorporate in-situ sensors. Obtaining new equipment with in-situ sensors or modifying existing equipment can be expensive. In addition to the cost of the sensors, adding sensors to existing equipment can cause expensive downtime and decrease mean time between failure (MTBF) (col. 2, lines 12-31). ’405 teaches that Four product parameters are measured: film deposition rate, index of refraction, stress, and thickness non-uniformity (col. 4, lines 27-29), The sensors can be ex-situ as well as in-situ (col. 2, line 43).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added support blocks 4 for supporting three-dimensional shaped workpieces 5 of ‘511, to the boat 49 of ‘597, for the purpose of coating substrate other than wafer, as taught by ‘511. Furthermore, to have recognized the difficulty of thickness measurement of complex shape, as taught by ‘286, and to have adopted monitor wafer and dummy wafers at two ends, as taught by ‘429, and to have applied the thickness profile in Fig. 10 of ‘597, as an alternative for monitoring thickness of the coating on the three-dimensional shaped workpieces 5 of ‘511. Still furthermore, to have applied computerized control of multi-variable control with ex-situ sensors including stress and thickness, as taught by ‘405, to control the variation of the combined apparatus, for the purpose of a tight set of specifications, as taught by ‘405 (col. 1, line 19).
‘597 also teaches some limitations of:
Claim 27: FIG. 7 shows the schematic view of the apparatus of the present invention (col. 3, lines 15-16, includes the claimed “A system comprising”):
Wafers 47 are placed into a quartz boat 49 (col. 6, lines 42-43), means for depositing polycrystalline silicon from silane in a vacuum (abstract), a method for depositing polycrystalline silicon in a heated evacuated tube under a vacuum on a substrate and using a gaseous source (col. 2, lines 60-62, includes the claimed “a boat for a low pressure chemical vapor deposition (LPCVD) process in a furnace”);
the wafers at the two ends of the boat reads into the claimed “a first witness wafer and a second witness wafer“).
Claim 35: FIG. 7 shows the schematic view of the apparatus of the present invention (col. 3, lines 15-16, includes the claimed “A system comprising”):
means for depositing polycrystalline silicon from silane in a vacuum (abstract), a method for depositing polycrystalline silicon in a heated evacuated tube under a vacuum on a substrate and using a gaseous source (col. 2, lines 60-62, includes the claimed “a chemical vapor deposition furnace comprising an inlet for a gas source“),
Wafers 47 are placed into a quartz boat 49 (col. 6, lines 42-43), a method for depositing polycrystalline silicon in a heated evacuated tube under a vacuum on a substrate and using a gaseous source (col. 2, lines 60-62, capable of the claimed “the boat comprising: a horizontal platform”);
the wafers at the two ends of the boat reads into the claimed “a first witness means and a second witness means“).
‘597 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claim 27: a three dimensional device on a horizontal wafer positioned between the first witness wafer and the second witness wafer, and
the first witness wafer, the three dimensional device, and the second witness wafer are positioned so that the first witness wafer is closest to, and second witness wafer is furthest from, an inlet for a gas source for the LPCVD process, so that a range of a coating's property across the three dimensional device can be measured by measuring thicknesses of the coating on both of the witness wafers after the coating is formed by the LPCVD process and the wafers are removed from the furnace.
Claim 35: coupled to a controller for controlling a low temperature chemical vapor deposition (LPCVD) process depositing a coating on a three dimensional part, including deposition conditions of the LPCVD process so as to tailor a property of the 3D part in a range determined by measurements of a thickness and stress of the coating on (a first witness means and a second witness means) when the three dimensional part is mounted on a boat in the furnace between the first witness means and the second witness means,
a mount for securely holding the three dimensional part on the horizontal platform during the low pressure chemical vapor deposition (LPCVD) process; and
positioning for the first witness means and the second witness means, so that the first witness means is closest to, and second witness means is furthest from, the inlet for the gas source for the LPCVD process, and
wherein the range of the coating's property across the three dimensional part comprises the measurements of thicknesses and stress of the coating on the witness surfaces of the witness means; and the controller further for controlling the depositing of the coating on all exposed surfaces of the three dimensional part in one deposition run without flipping the part, so that the coating is uniform across one or more of the exposed surfaces to within 60% of the average thickness of the coating on the part and/or has a stoichiometric composition that is uniform across the part to within 1%.
‘597 further teaches that wafers were placed at greater distances and wafers were manufactured having the top view as shown in FIG. 10 (col. 6, lines 52-54). Note Fig. 9 shows an linear decrease in coated thickness at wafer are placed away from inlet
‘511, ‘286, ‘429, and ‘405 are analogous arts as discussed above.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added support blocks 4 for supporting three-dimensional shaped workpieces 5 of ‘511, to the boat 49 of ‘597, for the purpose of coating substrate other than wafer, as taught by ‘511. Furthermore, to have recognized the difficulty of thickness measurement of complex shape, as taught by ‘286, and to have adopted monitor wafer and dummy wafers at two ends, as taught by ‘429, and to have applied the thickness profile in Fig. 10 of ‘597, as an alternative for monitoring thickness of the coating on the three-dimensional shaped workpieces 5 of ‘511. Still furthermore, to have applied computerized control of multi-variable control with ex-situ sensors including stress and thickness, as taught by ‘405, to control the variation of the combined apparatus, for the purpose of a tight set of specifications, as taught by ‘405 (col. 1, line 19). Note tight specification of ‘405 clearly includes 1% thickness variation or lower.
The combination of ‘597, ‘511, ‘286, ‘429, and ‘405 further teaches the limitations of:
Claim 13: the boat 49 of ‘597 is the easiest location to place the imported support block 4 from ‘511 (includes the claimed “wherein the mount comprises fixture fixing the part on a top surface of the horizontal platform”).
Claim 15: the wafers at the two ends of the boat of ‘597 reads into the claimed “wherein the sidewalls comprise witness wafers”, furthermore, ‘429 teaches dummy wafers at two ends).
Claims 21 and 29: Each of the workpiece support blocks 4 is provided with multiple support holes 4H (refer to FIG. 9) (holes) opened in its upper surface (‘511, [0031], includes the claimed “further comprising one or more rings to keep the 3D part from moving after being placed on the platform” of claim 21 and “further comprising a mount comprising one or more rings to keep the 3D device from moving after being placed on the on the horizontal wafer”).
Claim 30: The N2 and SiH4 flows enter the tube 32 at the point where the line 38 passes through an appropriate fitting in the end cap 36 (‘597, col. 5, lines 47-50, includes the claimed “further comprising the chemical vapor deposition furnace, comprising the inlet at an end of the furnace “, the imported support blocks 4 for supporting three-dimensional shaped workpieces 5 reads into the claimed “for performing the deposition process coating the 3D device when the 3D device is mounted on the boat in the furnace”).
Claims 23 and 31: The hot filament CVD device 1 further includes a control unit 80. The control unit 80 comprehensively controls operation of the hot filament CVD device 1, (‘511, Fig. 5, [0036], obvious to be combined with ‘597, ‘429, and/or ‘405 for automation, includes the claimed “further comprising controller for controlling parameters of the deposition process in the furnace, for depositing a coating on the 3D part using the deposition process” of claim 23 and “further comprising controller for controlling the furnace for depositing a coating on the 3D device using the deposition process” of claim 31).
Claims 24 and 32: a pressure of 200 mTorr (1 atmosphere=760 Torr, 1 Torr=133 Pa) is employed (‘429, col. 4, lines 4-5, includes the claimed “wherein the the deposition conditions include a pressure in a range of 10 mTorr to 1 Torr” of claim 24 and “wherein the furnace is a low-pressure chemical vapor deposition furnace for depositing the coating at a pressure in a range of 10 mTorr to 1 Torr” of claim 32, note this is an intended use of the system/apparatus).
Claims 25 and 33: The present invention is directed to the method and means for depositing polycrystalline silicon (‘597, abstract, includes the claimed “wherein the furnace comprises at least one source for depositing the coating comprising or consisting essentially of at least one of silicon, an oxide of silicon, a nitride of silicon, an oxynitride of silicon, or a doped version thereof”).
Claim 34: A computer 36 analyzes changes in thickness of the film and determines the deposition period based on changes occurring in the value of the voltage. When the computer 36 detects that a target thickness has been attained, the gas valve 24 shuts-off and the boat 4 is withdrawn from the quartz furnace 1 (‘429, col. 5, line 65 to col. 6, line 3, includes the claimed “wherein the controller controls deposition conditions of the low pressure chemical vapor deposition process, including output from the gas source so as to tailor the coating property“, also taught by ‘511 and ‘405).
Claim 37: Four product parameters are measured: film deposition rate, index of refraction, stress, and thickness non-uniformity (‘405, col. 4, lines 27-29, stress is a mechanical property, includes the claimed “wherein the controller tailors the coating's properties for an application of the three dimensional part using the properties selected from at least one of an optical property, a mechanical property, or an electrical property”).
Claim 38: make it essential that each of the process steps meet a tight set of specifications (‘405, col. 1, lines 18-19, includes the claimed “wherein the controller is configured for controlling the deposition conditions to deposit the coating on all exposed surfaces of the three dimensional part in one deposition run without flipping the part, so that the coating is uniform across one or more of the exposed surfaces to within 60% of the average thickness of the coating on the part and/or the has a stoichiometric composition that is uniform across the part to within 1%”).
Claims 20 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘597, ‘511, ‘286, ‘429, and ‘405, as being applied to claims 12 and 27 rejection above, further in view of Alberti et al. (US 4098923, hereafter ‘923).
‘597 teaches some limitations of:
Claim 20: the wafers at the two ends of the boat reads into the claimed “the first witness wafer comprises the first vertical sidewall and the second witness wafer comprises the second vertical sidewall”, particularly with thickness relationship as shown in Fig. 10.
The combination of ‘597, ‘511, ‘286, ‘429, and ‘405 does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 20: wherein the boat comprises:
a first slot for holding a first wafer vertically in the first slot; and
a second slot for holding a second wafer vertically in the second slot; and
wherein the horizontal platform is between the first slot and the second slot.
Claim 28: wherein the boat comprises:
a first slot for holding the first witness wafer vertically in the first slot; and
a second slot for holding the second witness wafer vertically in the second slot; and
wherein the horizontal platform is between the first slot and the second slot.
‘923 is analogous art in the field of Pyrolytic Deposition Of Silicon Dioxide On Semiconductors Using A Shrouded Boat (title). ’923 teaches that provided with slotted side rails 112 and 114 and a similarly slotted bottom rail 115 (not visible in this view) (Fig. 2, col. 4, lines 17-19).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have replaced the flat boat 49 of ‘597 with slotted rails 112, 114, 115 of ‘923, for the purpose of controlled spacing and/or for its suitability with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07.
Alternatively claims 21 aner 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘923, ‘511, ‘286, ‘429, and ‘405, as being applied to claim 12 rejection above, further in view of Kölker et al. (US 20180105935, hereafter ‘935).
In case Applicants argue that the holes 4H of ‘511 is not a through hole, therefore, it is not a ring of claims 21 and 29.
‘935 is analogous art in the field of LOADING WORKPIECES IN A COATING SYSTEM (title), chemical vapor deposition (CVD) ([0002]). ’935 teaches that Here the loading device 20 provides external loading in which the workpieces 16 are arranged in a stationary manner on the holder 22 facing outward in each case (Figs. 1-2b, [0046], last sentence).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have adopted holder 22 with through holes for workpiece, as taught by ‘935, as the holder of drill of ‘511, for its suitability with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07.
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘597, ‘511, ‘286, ‘429, and ‘405, as being applied to claims 12 and 27 rejection above, further in view of Bosch et al. (US 6506254, hereafter ‘254).
The combination of ‘597, ‘511, ‘286, ‘429, and ‘405 does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 36: further comprising the boat in the furnace and the 3D part mounted on the boat, the 3D part selected from a machined ceramic part, a battery component, a 3D printed ceramic part, a ceramic deformable mirror, a printed circuit board, or a thermoelectric module.
‘254 is analogous art in the field of Semiconductor Processing Equipment Having Improved Particle Performance (title), Silicon carbide parts can include CVD SiC, sintered SiC, sintered SiC coated with CVD SiC, converted graphite, or porous SiC backfilled with Si (col. 3, lines 17-20). ’254 teaches that In tests of a non-oxide ceramic part in the form of an as-machined CVD SiC gas distribution plate (col. 6, lines 28-29),
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have applied the combined apparatus of ‘597, ‘511, ‘286, ‘429, and ‘405 for porous SiC backfilled with Si, as taught by ‘254, for the purpose of the specific product required by ‘254.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not convincing in light of new grounds of rejection above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20160268173 is cited for in situ stress measurement ([0007]). US 20210370435 is cited for ex situ stress of thin film measurement ([0033]).
US 20020014311 is cited for dummy wafers above and below process region and film thickness monitoring for each dummy wafer (Fig. 4, [0031]).
The examiner notices Applicants’ IDS, “Ivanda” teaches boat in LPCVD.
/KEATH T CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716