DETAILED ACTION
Status of the application
This office Action is in response to Applicant's Application filled on 04/02/2026. Claims 1-3, 5-8 and 10-20 are pending for this examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s reply filed on 04/02/2026 has been entered and considered. Applicant’s amendments necessitated the shift in grounds of rejection detailed below. The shift in grounds of rejection renders Applicant’s arguments moot. Thus, this rejection is properly made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SHIMIZU et al (US 2019/0296146 A1; hereafter SHIMIZU).
Regarding claim 1. SHIMIZU discloses a structure comprising:
a silicon carbide (SiC) channel ( Fig 3, “The p-well region 16 functions as a channel region”, Para [0127]) horizontally between a source (Fig 3, left n+ region 18, Para [ 0028]) and a drain drift region (Fig 3, right n+ region 18, Para [ 0028]), and over a lower drift region ( n type region 14) such that a lower surface of the SiC channel ( Fig 3, “The p-well region 16 functions as a channel region”, Para [0127]) interfaces with an upper surface of the lower drift region ( n type region 14), wherein the SiC channel (Fig 3, “The p-well region 16, Para [ 0028]) has opposite doping from the source (Fig 3, left n+ region 18, Para [ 0028]) and the drain drift region ( Fig 3, right n+ region 18, Para [ 0028]); and
a capping semiconductor (Fig 3, region 60 is p-type silicon carbide, Para [ 0055]) on the SiC channel (Fig 3, “The p-well region 16, Para [ 0028]) and horizontally between the source (Fig 3, left n+ region 18, Para [ 0028]) and the drain drift region (Fig 3, right n+ region 18, Para [ 0028]), wherein the capping semiconductor (Fig 3, region 60 is p-type silicon carbide, Para [ 0055]) includes a semiconductor having a higher charge carrier mobility (Fig 3, “nitrogen region 60 is, for example, 1×10.sup.17 cm.sup.−3 or more and 1×10.sup.22 cm.sup.−3 or less”, Para [ 0064]) than the SiC channel ( Fig 3, “p-type impurity in the p-well region 16 is, for example, 5×10.sup.15 cm.sup.−3 or more and 1×10.sup.17 cm.sup.−3 or less”, Para [ 0037]), and a gate structure (Fig 3, gate structure [28,30], Para [ 0045]) is on the capping semiconductor (Fig 3, region 60 in the p-well region 16 is p-type silicon carbide, Para [ 0055]).
Regarding claim 2. SHIMIZU discloses the structure of claim 1, SHIMIZU further discloses wherein the capping semiconductor comprises crystalline silicon (Si) (Para [ 0057]).
Regarding claim 3. SHIMIZU discloses the structure of claim 1, SHIMIZU further discloses wherein the drain drift region (Fig 3, right n+ region 18, Para [ 0028]) is within a vertical junction field effect transistor (FET) structure (Fig 3, structure 10, Para [ 0158]) having a drain terminal (drain electrode 36, Para [ 0116]) below the drain drift region (Fig 3, right n+ region 18, Para [ 0028]).
Regarding claim 5. SHIMIZU discloses the structure of claim 1, SHIMIZU further discloses wherein the capping semiconductor (Fig 3, region 60 is p-type silicon carbide, Para [ 0055]) is vertically interposed between the SiC channel (Fig 3, “The p-well region 16, Para [ 0028]) and the gate structure (Fig 3, gate structure [28,30], Para [ 0045]).
Regarding claim 6. SHIMIZU discloses the structure of claim 1, SHIMIZU further discloses wherein the source (Fig 3, left n+ region 18, Para [ 0028]) includes the capping semiconductor thereon (Fig 3, region 60 is p-type silicon carbide, Para [ 0055]), and the drain drift region (Fig 3, at least portion of right n+ region 18, Para [ 0028]) is free of the capping semiconductor b(Fig 3, region 60 is p-type silicon carbide, Para [ 0055]).
Regarding claim 7. SHIMIZU discloses the structure of claim 1, SHIMIZU further discloses wherein a vertical thickness of the capping semiconductor is at most approximately ten nanometers (nm) (Para [ 0064] discloses “nitrogen region 60 is, for example, 1.5 nm or more and 5 nm or less”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 10-15 are allowed.
The following is the Examiner's Reasons for Allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose and would not have rendered obvious:
a capping semiconductor on the first channel and horizontally between the first source and the drain drift region, wherein the capping semiconductor is free of carbon (C) and includes crystalline silicon (Si), and the capping semiconductor is vertically interposed between the first channel and the gate structure, as recited in claim 8.
Claims 10-15 are allowed based on the dependency of claim 8.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOIN M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898