DETAILED ACTION
This OA is in response to the amendment filled on 3/17/2026 that has been entered, wherein claims 1-20 are pending.
Specification
The objection to the tile is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment of 3/17/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shi et al. (US 2022/0344432 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shi teaches a display panel(Fig. 4B) comprising:
a substrate(14) having a first area(10), a second area(20) at least partially extending around a periphery of the first area(10), and a third area(30) at least partially extending around a periphery of the second area(20);
a first pixel portion(please see examiner annotated Fig. 4B) in a portion of the first area(10) that is adjacent to a boundary between the first area(10) and the second area(20);
a second pixel portion(please see examiner annotated Fig. 4B) nearer to a central portion of the first area(10) than the first pixel portion is, a number of sub-pixels in the first pixel portion being less than a number of sub-pixels in the second pixel portion(please see examiner annotated Fig. 4B); and
a first pixel circuit portion(D1, ¶0067) in the second area(20) and electrically connected to the first pixel portion(¶0067).
Regarding claim 20, Shi teaches a display apparatus(Fig. 4B) comprising:
a display panel(Fig. 3) comprising:
a substrate having a first area(10), a second area(20) extending at least partially around a periphery of the first area(10), and a third area(30) extending at least partially around a periphery of the second area(20);
a first pixel portion(please see examiner annotated Fig. 4B) in a portion of the first area(10) that is adjacent to a boundary between the first area(10) and the second area(20);
a second pixel portion(please see examiner annotated Fig. 4B) nearer to a central portion of the first area(10) than the first pixel portion is, a number of sub-pixels in the first pixel portion being less than a number of sub-pixels in the second pixel portion; and
a first pixel circuit portion(D1, ¶0067) in the second area(20) and electrically connected to the first pixel portion(¶0067); and
a component(sensor, not illustrated, ¶0063, ¶0067) below the display panel(Fig. 3) and overlapping the first area(10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. (US 2022/0344432 A1) in view of Choi et al. (US 2022/0077430 A1) of record.
Regarding claim 12, Shi teaches the display panel of claim 1, but is not relied on to teach the second pixel portion comprises two first sub-pixels, two second sub-pixels, and four third sub-pixels.
Choi teaches a display panel(Fig. 9B), wherein the second pixel portion(please see examiner annotated Fig. 9B) comprises two first sub-pixels(P2r, P2r, ¶0111), two second sub-pixels(P2b, P2b, ¶0111), and four third sub-pixels(P2g, P2g, P2g, P2g, ¶0111). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Shi, so that the second pixel portion comprises two first sub-pixels, two second sub-pixels, and four third sub-pixels, as taught by Choi, in order to arrange the sub-pixels in a stripe configuration(¶0111).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-11 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding dependent claim 1, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole either taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach “the first pixel portion comprises one first sub-pixel, one second sub-pixel, and two third sub-pixels”.
Claims 3-12 depend on claim 2 and inherit its allowable subject matter.
Claims 13-19 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Claim 13 has rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim 1 and intervening claim 12. Please see the OA dated 12/22/2025 for reasons for allowance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA M DYKES/ Examiner, Art Unit 2892
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892