DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claims 5, 12, and 20 recite “is comprised in” or “are comprised in”, which the examiner understands to mean “makes up part of”.
The terms “rectangle based cone” and triangle based cone” are understood to refer to a shape with side surfaces connecting a rectangle or triangle at the bottom and a point at the top (or vice versa).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-13, 15, and 17-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu, US 2022/0285412 A1. Alternatively, claims 1-6, 8-13, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu.
Claim 1: Liu discloses
an array of photodiodes (102);
a metal grid (114) coupled to the array of photodiodes;
and a set of metal projections (302) extending away from the metal grid.
Claim 1 also recites that the set of metal projections is configured to direct charge from one of electrostatic discharge or static charge into the metal grid. This is a function or intended use of the device. As the structure is the same in relevant respects, the same functioning will attain. “Where, as here, the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. See In re Ludtke, supra. Whether the rejection is based on ‘inherency’ under 35 USC 102, on ‘prima facie obviousness’ under 35 USC 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO's inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433-434 (CCPA 1977). Thus this feature can be considered as either inherent under 35 USC 102 or prima facie obviousness under 35 USC 103.
Claim 2: the set of metal projections are located on a side (the top, FIG. 4) of the metal grid opposite the array of photodiodes.
Claim 3: the set of metal projections are each located at a set of intersections of the metal grid (FIG. 4).
Claim 4: the set of metal projections are in a layer of passivation material (110, FIG. 5, or 1402, FIG. 14A) coupled to the metal grid.
Claim 5: the array of photodiodes is comprised in a backside illumination sensor. “A process for forming the metal grid structure includes depositing a first metal layer over a surface of a substrate (e.g., a back-side surface of the semiconductor substrate) and depositing a second metal layer over the first metal layer.” [0020]. As the photodetectors 102 are closer the back side (104b, top side in the figures), those in the art would recognize the illustrated device as a backside illumination sensor.
Claim 6: the set of metal projections comprise one of a rectangular prism (FIG. 4), a cylinder, or a triangular prism.
Claim 8: Liu discloses
an array of photodiodes (102);
a metal grid coupled (114) on a first side of the array of photodiodes;
and a set of metal projections (3o2, FIG. 4) coupled on a side (top) of the metal grid opposite the first side of the array of photodiodes and extending away from the metal grid.
Claim 9: the set of metal projections are each located at a set of intersections of the metal grid (FIG. 4).
Claim 10: the set of metal projections are each located along the metal grid (FIG. 4). The phrase “along the metal grid” is interpreted to mean at any point on the grid.
Claim 11: the set of metal projections are in a layer of passivation material (110, FIG. 5, or 1402, FIG. 14A) coupled to the side (top) of the metal grid opposite the first side of the array of photodiodes.
Claim 12: the array of photodiodes are comprised in a backside illumination sensor. “A process for forming the metal grid structure includes depositing a first metal layer over a surface of a substrate (e.g., a back-side surface of the semiconductor substrate) and depositing a second metal layer over the first metal layer.” [0020]. As the photodetectors 102 are closer the back side (104b, top side in the figures), those in the art would recognize the illustrated device as a backside illumination sensor.
Claim 13: the set of metal projections comprise one of a rectangular prism (FIG. 4), a cylinder, or a triangular prism.
Claim 15: Liu discloses
providing an array of photodiodes (12) with a first side to which a metal grid (114) is coupled and a set of metal projections (302) coupled to the metal grid on a side of the metal grid opposite the first side of the array of photodiodes and extending away from the metal grid;
Claim 16 also recites receiving electric charge into the set of metal projections; and directing the electric charge into the metal grid. As the structure is the same in relevant respects, the same functioning will attain. “Where, as here, the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. See In re Ludtke, supra. Whether the rejection is based on ‘inherency’ under 35 USC 102, on ‘prima facie obviousness’ under 35 USC 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO's inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433-434 (CCPA 1977). Thus this feature can be considered as either inherent under 35 USC 102 or prima facie obviousness under 35 USC 103.
Claim 17: Liu and the present invention both have the claimed grid surrounded by insulating material. Thus, they will both similarly receive electric charge from a passivation layer. “Where, as here, the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. See In re Ludtke, supra. Whether the rejection is based on ‘inherency’ under 35 USC 102, on ‘prima facie obviousness’ under 35 USC 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO's inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433-434 (CCPA 1977). Thus this feature can be considered as either inherent under 35 USC 102 or prima facie obviousness under 35 USC 103.
Claim 18: the set of metal projections is formed in a passivation layer (110, FIG. 5, or 1402, FIG. 14A).
Claim 19: Liu and the present invention both have the claimed grid surrounded by insulating material. Thus, they will both similarly receive electrostatic discharge events or static electricity. “Where, as here, the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. See In re Ludtke, supra. Whether the rejection is based on ‘inherency’ under 35 USC 102, on ‘prima facie obviousness’ under 35 USC 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO's inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433-434 (CCPA 1977). Thus this feature can be considered as either inherent under 35 USC 102 or prima facie obviousness under 35 USC 103.
Claim 20: the array of photodiodes is comprised in a backside illumination sensor. “A process for forming the metal grid structure includes depositing a first metal layer over a surface of a substrate (e.g., a back-side surface of the semiconductor substrate) and depositing a second metal layer over the first metal layer.” [0020]. As the photodetectors 102 are closer the back side (104b, top side in the figures), those in the art would recognize the illustrated device as a backside illumination sensor.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Hsieh, US 20160141321 A1, or Wang, 20140339615 A1. Liu does not disclose that the set of metal projections comprise one of a square based cone, a triangle based cone, a cone, or a conical frustum. However, a shape of a (rectangular based) conical frustrum was known in the art. See Wang FIG. 1A, with grid 112 having a cross section of a conical frustrum,
and Hsieh, FIG. 4B, with the grid 40 having an upper portion having the cross section with a (rectangular based) conical frustrum.
It would have been obvious to have had this shape from etching, as most or all etching processes do not produce vertical sidewalls, but sidewalls with some slant. Note that the projections 302 of Liu, having four slanted sides, with have the three dimensional shape of a (rectangular based) conical frustrum.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Wen, US 2018/0151615 A1. Liu does not disclose the electrical state of the grid. However, Liu discloses that “The metal grid structure is configured to increase sensitivity (e.g., quantum efficiency (QE)) and reduce cross-talk between adjacent photodetectors.” [0018]. Wen discloses a grid 116/324 that improves quantum efficiency ([0027]) and that is connected to ground (FIG. 3, ground region 332 “configured to enable the discharge of built-up charges” [0042]). It would have been obvious to have had such a ground connection to prevent charges from building up in a conductive grid.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is listed in the attached Notice of References Cited.
/PETER BRADFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897