DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 9-19 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 13, “wherein the at least one joint member extends at an angle relative to the heat dissipation member” causes the claims to fail to comply with the written description requirement because they encompass more embodiments than originally disclosed.
The original disclosure, e.g., Figs. 3A and 5A, provides for joint members 232 extending only perpendicularly (90°) relative to the heat dissipation member 230; no other angle is disclosed or supported. As a matter of fact, the specification does not use the term “angle” and the only support for it is found in the drawings wherein only a 90° angle is shown between joint members 232 and the heat dissipation member 230.
The claims encompass any angle besides the disclosed 90° angle and, as such, fail to comply with the written disclosure requirement as they encompass more embodiments than those disclosed; hence, the claims include new matter.
None of the dependent claims addresses this deficiency and are rejected under the same reasoning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 9-11, 13-14, 17-19 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takano et al. (of record, US 6376907 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Takano discloses a heat dissipation structure (Fig. 6B), comprising:
a heat dissipation member (24) defined with a central area (annotated), a plurality of edge areas (annotated) located at sides of an outer periphery of the central area, and a plurality of corner areas (annotated) located at corners of the outer periphery of the central area;
a plurality of supporting members (24b) disposed on the heat dissipation member, wherein a portion of the plurality of supporting members (two 24b on a same side) are disposed in one (a same side) of the plurality of edge areas of the heat dissipation member and spaced apart from each other (Fig. 6B) but not disposed in the plurality of comer areas (Fig. 6B); and
at least one joint (MPEP 2111, 2112 and/or 2114, no structural difference imparted) member (in between notches 24c) disposed in the plurality of comer areas of the heat dissipation member, wherein the at least one joint member extends at an angle (180° shown between the topmost surfaces thereof) relative to the heat dissipation member.
Regarding claim 2, Takano discloses the heat dissipation structure of claim 1, wherein the at least one joint member and the plurality of supporting members (24b) are not connected (across 24c) to each other.
Regarding claim 5, Takano discloses the heat dissipation structure of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of joint (MPEP 2111, 2112 and/or 2114, no structural difference imparted) members (created by notches 24c) disposed in (at least) some of the plurality of comer areas (annotated Fig. above).
Regarding claim 6, Takano discloses the heat dissipation structure of claim 5, wherein the plurality of joint members (in between notches 24c) are disposed in the plurality of comer areas that are opposite (Fig. 1 above; opposite across a diagonal or along a side of 24).
Regarding claim 7, Takano discloses the heat dissipation structure of claim 1, wherein the plurality of supporting members (24b) are heat dissipation walls or heat dissipation pillars (Fig. 6B, 24 comprises a metal).
Regarding claim 9, Takano discloses the heat dissipation structure of claim 1, wherein a portion of the plurality of supporting members (24b) are disposed in (at least) each of two of the plurality of edge areas that are opposite (Fig. 6B).
Regarding claim 10, Takano discloses the heat dissipation structure of claim 1, wherein the plurality of supporting members (24b) are disposed in each of the plurality of edge areas (Fig. 6B).
Regarding claim 11, Takano discloses the heat dissipation structure of claim 1, wherein the heat dissipation member (24) and the plurality of supporting members (24b) are integrally formed (Fig. 6B).
Regarding claim 13, Takano discloses an electronic package, comprising:
a carrier structure (12, Fig. 1A);
an electronic component (14) disposed on the carrier structure; and
a heat dissipation structure (16 replaced by 24 of Fig. 6B) disposed on the carrier structure and covering the electronic component, and the heat dissipation structure comprising (Fig. 6B);
a heat dissipation member (24) defined with a central area (annotated), a plurality of edge areas (annotated) located at sides of an outer periphery of the central area, and a plurality of corner areas (annotated) located at corners of the outer periphery of the central area;
a plurality of supporting members (24b) disposed on the heat dissipation member, wherein the heat dissipation structure (24) is disposed on the carrier structure (12) via (partly) the plurality of supporting members (Figs. 1A and 6B); and
at least one joint (MPEP 2111, 2112 and/or 2114, no structural difference imparted) member (in between notches 24c) disposed in the plurality of comer areas of the heat dissipation member, wherein the at least one joint member extends at an angle (180° shown between the topmost surfaces thereof) relative to the heat dissipation member.
wherein the electronic component is corresponding to a position of the central area (Figs. 1B and 6B), and a portion of the plurality of supporting members (two 24b on a same side) are disposed in one (a same side) of the plurality of edge areas of the heat dissipation member and spaced apart from each other (Fig. 6B) but not disposed in the plurality of comer areas (Fig. 6B).
Regarding claim 14, Takano discloses the electronic package of claim 13, wherein the at least one joint member and the plurality of supporting members (24b) are not connected (across 24c) to each other.
Regarding claim 17, Takano discloses the electronic package of claim 13, further comprising a plurality of joint (MPEP 2111, 2112 and/or 2114, no structural difference imparted) members (created by notches 24c) disposed in (at least) some of the plurality of comer areas (annotated Fig. above).
Regarding claim 18, Takano discloses the electronic package of claim 17, wherein the plurality of joint members (in between notches 24c) are disposed in the plurality of comer areas that are opposite (Fig. 1 above; opposite across a diagonal or along a side of 24).
Regarding claim 19, Takano discloses the electronic package of claim 13, wherein the plurality of supporting members (24b) are heat dissipation walls or heat dissipation pillars (Fig. 6B, 24 comprises a metal).
Regarding claim 21, Takano discloses the electronic package of claim 13, wherein a portion of the plurality of supporting members (24b) are disposed in (at least) each of two of the plurality of edge areas that are opposite (Fig. 6B).
Regarding claim 22, Takano discloses the electronic package of claim 13, wherein the plurality of supporting members (24b) are disposed in each of the plurality of edge areas (Fig. 6B).
Regarding claim 23, Takano discloses the electronic package of claim 13, wherein the heat dissipation member (24) and the plurality of supporting members (24b) are integrally formed (Fig. 6B).
Claims 12 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano et al. (of record, US 6376907 B1).
Regarding claims 12 and 24, Takano fails to disclose (claim 12) the heat dissipation structure of claim 1, wherein the heat dissipation member and the plurality of supporting members are not integrally formed, and, (claim 24) the electronic package of claim 13, wherein the heat dissipation member and the plurality of supporting members are not integrally formed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Takano to comprise non-integrally formed elements as claimed so as to employ different metals, e.g. a combination of SUS and Cu, since “each metal has a good heat conductivity, the heat radiating effect can be improved” as disclosed by Takano, and/or, because transitioning from an integrally formed structure to a non-integrally formed one was within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art and would have yielded predictable results.
Claims 1, 4-7, 9-10, 12-13, 16-19, 21-22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 9287233 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a heat dissipation structure (Figs. 1A and 1C), comprising:
a heat dissipation member (114) defined with a central area (near 102/116), a plurality of edge areas (near 110/111) located at sides of an outer periphery of the central area, and a plurality of corner areas (near 112) located at corners of the outer periphery of the central area;
a plurality of supporting members (only 111) disposed on the heat dissipation member, wherein a portion (two) of the plurality of supporting members (only 111) are disposed in one of the plurality of edge areas of the heat dissipation member and spaced apart (due to 110) from each other but not disposed (due to 112) in the plurality of corner areas: and
at least one joint member (only 112) disposed in the plurality of corner areas of the heat dissipation member, wherein the at least one joint member (only 112) extends at an angle (perpendicular per Fig. 1A) relative to the heat dissipation member.
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses the heat dissipation structure of claim 1, wherein the at least one joint member (only 112) is a glue pillar (“adhesive layers, 110 and 112”).
Regarding claim 5, Chen discloses the heat dissipation structure of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of joint members (only 112) disposed in some (and more) of the plurality of corner areas (Fig. 1C).
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses the heat dissipation structure of claim 5, wherein the plurality of joint members (only 112) are disposed in the plurality of corner areas that are opposite (Fig. 1C).
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses the heat dissipation structure of claim 1, wherein the plurality of supporting members (only 111) are heat dissipation walls or heat dissipation pillars (heat conduction presumed inherent since 111 is in the vicinity of a heat generating element 102; see MPEP 2111, 2112 and/or 2114)
Regarding claim 9, Chen discloses the heat dissipation structure of claim 1, wherein a portion of the plurality of supporting members (only 111) are disposed in each of two (and more) of the plurality of edge areas that are opposite (Fig. 1C; two 111 on each opposite edge).
Regarding claim 10, Chen discloses the heat dissipation structure of claim 1, wherein the plurality of supporting members (only 111) are disposed in each of the plurality of edge areas (Fig. 1C; two 111 on each edge).
Regarding claim 12, Chen discloses the heat dissipation structure of claim 1, wherein the heat dissipation member (114) and the plurality of supporting members (only 111) are not integrally formed (Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 13, Chen discloses an electronic package (Figs. 1A and 1C), comprising:
a carrier structure (106);
an electronic component (102) disposed on the carrier structure; and
a heat dissipation structure (at least 114) disposed on the carrier structure and covering the electronic component, and the heat dissipation structure comprising:
a heat dissipation member (114) defined with a central area (near 102), a plurality of edge areas (near 110/111) located at sides of an outer periphery of the central area, and a plurality of corner areas (near 112) located at comers of the outer periphery of the central area;
a plurality of supporting members (only 111) disposed on the heat dissipation member, wherein the heat dissipation structure is disposed on the carrier structure via the plurality of supporting members (Fig. 1C); and
at least one joint member (only 112) disposed in the plurality of corner areas of the heat dissipation member, wherein the at least one joint member extends at an angle (perpendicular) relative to the heat dissipation member (Fig. 1A):
wherein the electronic component (102) is corresponding to a position of the central area, and a portion (two) of the plurality of supporting members (only 111) are disposed in one of the plurality of edge areas of the heat dissipation member and spaced apart (due to 110) from each other but not disposed (due to 112) in the plurality of comer areas.
Regarding claim 16, Chen discloses the electronic package of claim 13, wherein the at least one joint member (only 112) is a glue pillar (“adhesive layers, 110 and 112”).
Regarding claim 17, Chen discloses the electronic package of claim 13, further comprising a plurality of joint members (only 112) disposed in some (and more) of the plurality of corner areas (Fig. 1C).
Regarding claim 18, Chen discloses the electronic package of claim 17, wherein the plurality of joint members (only 112) are disposed in the plurality of corner areas that are opposite (Fig. 1C).
Regarding claim 19, Chen discloses the electronic package of claim 13, wherein the plurality of supporting members (only 111) are heat dissipation walls or heat dissipation pillars (heat conduction presumed inherent since 111 is in the vicinity of a heat generating element 102; see MPEP 2111, 2112 and/or 2114).
Regarding claim 21, Chen discloses the electronic package of claim 13, wherein a portion of the plurality of supporting members (only 111) are disposed in each of two (and more) of the plurality of edge areas that are opposite (Fig. 1C).
Regarding claim 22, Chen discloses the electronic package of claim 13, wherein the plurality of supporting members (only 111) are disposed in each of the plurality of edge areas (Fig. 1C).
Regarding claim 24, Chen discloses the electronic package of claim 13, wherein the heat
dissipation member (114e) and the plurality of supporting members (only 111) are not integrally formed (Fig. 1A).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 8.26.2026, with respect to Takano et al. (of record, US 6376907 B1) failing to disclose “at least one joint member disposed in the plurality of corner areas of the heat dissipation member, wherein the at least one joint member extends at an angle relative to the heat dissipation member” of claims 1 and 13 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
In support of applicant’s position, the applicant states:
And,
The examiner notes that even if joint members 24a and base 24a are coplanar, integral and parallel as the applicant alleges, under MPEP 2111, Takano discloses at least one joint (MPEP 2111, 2112 and/or 2114, no structural difference imparted) member (in between notches 24c) disposed in the plurality of comer areas of the heat dissipation member, wherein the at least one joint member extends at an angle (180° shown between the topmost surfaces thereof) relative to the heat dissipation member.
Conclusion
/Andres Munoz/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818