DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species C (Figs. 5A-5B), with claims 1-24 readable, in the reply filed on 1.26.2026 is acknowledged. No claims are withdrawn.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, “the supporting member”, “the edge area” and “the corner area” all lack proper antecedent basis. The claim interchangeably uses singular and plural recitations of a common element (e.g., “a plurality of corner areas” vs. “the corner area”) which renders the claim indefinite. The examiner treats the limitations as referring to the same elements or a subset thereof.
Dependent claims 2-12 are rejected along with the base claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, “the joint member” lacks proper antecedent basis. Suggested: “the at least one joint member”.
Regarding claim 3, “soft material” and “hard material” render the claim indefinite. These are relative terms which render the claim indefinite. The terms are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what constitutes soft and hard materials.
Regarding claim 8, “a plurality of the supporting members” lacks proper antecedent basis. It is treated as related to “at least one supporting member” of base claim 1.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, “the edge areas” lacks proper antecedent basis and it should refer to “a plurality of edge areas” per base claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, “the supporting member”, “the edge area” and “the corner area” all lack proper antecedent basis. The claim interchangeably uses singular and plural recitations of a common element (e.g., “a plurality of corner areas” vs. “the corner area”) which renders the claim indefinite. The examiner treats the limitations as referring to the same elements or a subset thereof.
Dependent claims 14-24 are rejected along with the base claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, “the joint member” lacks proper antecedent basis. Suggested: “the at least one joint member”.
Regarding claim 15, “soft material” and “hard material” render the claim indefinite. These are relative terms which render the claim indefinite. The terms are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what constitutes soft and hard materials.
Regarding claim 20, “a plurality of the supporting members” lacks proper antecedent basis. It is treated as related to “at least one supporting member” of base claim 13.
Regarding claims 21 and 22, “the edge areas” lacks proper antecedent basis and it should refer to “a plurality of edge areas” per base claim 13.
Examiner Note
Claims are rejected multiple times over different prior art based on different interpretations of the claim language and/or interpretation of the prior art to show unpatentability of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 9-11, 13, 19 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Awujoola et al. (US 20050104164 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Awujoola discloses a heat dissipation structure (110, [0036], Fig. 1), comprising:
a heat dissipation member (topmost of 110) defined with a central area (annotated below) , a plurality of edge areas (annotated below) located at sides of an outer periphery of the central area, and a plurality of comer areas (at 114) located at comers of the outer periphery of the central area; and
at least one supporting member (116) disposed on the heat dissipation member;
wherein the supporting member is disposed in the edge area of the heat dissipation member and is not disposed in the comer area (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Awujoola discloses the heat dissipation structure of claim 1, wherein the supporting member (116) is a heat dissipation wall ([0036]) or a heat dissipation pillar.
Regarding claim 9, Awujoola discloses the heat dissipation structure of claim 1, wherein the supporting member (116) is disposed in each of two of the edge areas that are opposite (116 is in all four edge areas, Fig. 1 above).
Regarding claim 10, Awujoola discloses the heat dissipation structure of claim 1, wherein the supporting member (116) is disposed in each of the edge areas (116 is in all four edge areas, Fig. 1 above).
Regarding claim 11, Awujoola discloses the heat dissipation structure of claim 1, wherein the heat dissipation member (topmost of 110) and the supporting member (116) are integrally formed (MPEP 2125, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Awujoola discloses an electronic package (Figs. 1 and 2; Fig 1 annotated above), comprising:
a carrier structure (130);
an electronic component (120) disposed on the carrier structure; and
a heat dissipation structure (110) disposed on the carrier structure and covering the electronic component, and the heat dissipation structure comprising:
a heat dissipation member (topmost of 110) defined with a central area (annotated above), a plurality of edge areas (annotated above) located at sides of an outer periphery of the central area, and a plurality of corner areas (annotated above) located at corners of the outer periphery of the central area; and
at least one supporting member (116) disposed on the heat dissipation member, wherein the heat dissipation structure is disposed on the carrier structure via (at least partly) the supporting member (Figs. 1-2);
wherein the electronic component is corresponding to a position of the central area (Fig. 1), and the supporting member (116) is disposed in the edge area of the heat dissipation member but not in the corner area (Fig. 1 above).
Regarding claim 19, Awujoola discloses the electronic package of claim 13, wherein the supporting member (116) is a heat dissipation wall ([0036]) or a heat dissipation pillar.
Regarding claim 21, Awujoola discloses the electronic package of claim 13, wherein the supporting member (116) is disposed in each of two of the edge areas that are opposite (116 is in all four edge areas, Fig. 1 above).
Regarding claim 22, Awujoola discloses electronic package of claim 13, wherein the supporting member (116) is disposed in each of the edge areas (116 is in all four edge areas, Fig. 1 above).
Regarding claim 23, Awujoola discloses the electronic package of claim 13, wherein the heat dissipation member (topmost of 110) and the supporting member (116) are integrally formed (MPEP 2125, Fig. 1).
Claims 1-7, 9-11, 13-19 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (US 7057276 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses a heat dissipation structure (50, “heat sink 50”, Figs. 1-2), comprising:
a heat dissipation member defined with a central area (at 51, “flat portion 51”), a plurality of edge areas (at 52/53, “a support portion 52” and “bonding portion 53”) located at sides of an outer periphery of the central area, and a plurality of comer areas (only 54, “L-shaped slot 54”) located at comers of the outer periphery of the central area; and
at least one supporting member (52 and/or 53) disposed on the heat dissipation member;
wherein the supporting member (52 and/or 53) is disposed in the edge area (at 52/53) of the heat dissipation member and is not disposed in the comer area (only 54).
Regarding claim 2, Lin discloses the heat dissipation structure of claim 1, further comprising at least one joint member (70/71, “cured adhesive material 70” and “a rivet-shaped structure 71”) disposed in the comer area (only 54) of the heat dissipation member, wherein the joint member (70/71) and the supporting member (as 52 only) are not connected to each other (since 53 is in between 52 and 70/71, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Lin discloses the heat dissipation structure of claim 2, wherein the joint member (70/71) is made of soft material (“adhesive”), and the supporting member (52) is made of hard material (“heat sink 50 can be made by stamping a conductive material”).
Regarding claim 4, Lin discloses the heat dissipation structure of claim 2, wherein the joint member (70/71) is a glue pillar (Fig. 1, “cured adhesive material 70” and “a rivet-shaped structure 71”).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Lin discloses (claim 5) the heat dissipation structure of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of joint members (70/71 at 54) disposed in some (and the rest) of the plurality of comer areas (Figs. 1-2), and, (claim 6) the heat dissipation structure of claim 5, wherein the plurality of joint members (70/71) are disposed in the plurality of comer areas that are opposite (in a horizontal and/or vertical direction, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Lin discloses the heat dissipation structure of claim 1, wherein the supporting member (52 and/or 53) is (partly at least) a heat dissipation wall (“The heat sink 50 can be made by stamping a conductive material to form a flat portion 51, a support portion 52 extending from edge of the flat portion 51 to the substrate 10, and a bonding portion 53”) or a heat dissipation pillar.
Regarding claim 9, Lin discloses the heat dissipation structure of claim 1, wherein the supporting member (52 and/or 53) is disposed in each of two of the edge areas that are opposite (vertically and/or horizontally, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Lin discloses the heat dissipation structure of claim 1, wherein the supporting member (52 and/or 53) is disposed in each of the edge areas (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Lin discloses the heat dissipation structure of claim 1, wherein the heat dissipation member and the supporting member (53) are integrally formed (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Lin discloses an electronic package (Figs. 1-2), comprising:
a carrier structure (10);
an electronic component (40) disposed on the carrier structure; and
a heat dissipation structure (50) disposed on the carrier structure and covering the electronic component, and the heat dissipation structure comprising (Fig. 1, annotated above):
a heat dissipation member defined with a central area (at 51), a plurality of edge areas (at 52/53) located at sides of an outer periphery of the central area, and a plurality of corner areas (only 54) located at corners of the outer periphery of the central area; and
at least one supporting member (52 and/or 53) disposed on the heat dissipation member, wherein the heat dissipation structure is disposed on the carrier structure via (in part, at least) the supporting member (52 and/or 53, Fig. 1);
wherein the electronic component (40) is corresponding to a position of the central area (at 51), and the supporting member (52 and/or 53) is disposed in the edge area of the heat dissipation member but not in the corner area (only 54, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, Lin discloses the electronic package of claim 13, further comprising at least one joint member (70/71) disposed in the corner area (only 54) of the heat dissipation member, wherein the joint member and the supporting member (as only 52) are not connected to each other (since 53 is in between 52 and 70/71, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Lin discloses the electronic package of claim 14, wherein the joint member is made of soft material (an adhesive), and the supporting member is made of hard material (a stamped material).
Regarding claim 16, Lin discloses the electronic package of claim 14, wherein the joint member is a glue pillar (Fig. 1, “cured adhesive material 70” and “a rivet-shaped structure 71”).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Lin discloses (claim 17) the electronic package of claim 13, further comprising a plurality of joint members (70/71) disposed in some (and the rest) of the plurality of corner areas (Fig. 2) and (claim 18) the electronic package of claim 17, wherein the plurality of joint members (70/71) are disposed in the plurality of corner areas (only 54) that are opposite (vertically and/or horizontally, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 19, Lin discloses the electronic package of claim 13, wherein the supporting member (52 and/or 53) is (partly at least) a heat dissipation wall (“The heat sink 50 can be made by stamping a conductive material to form a flat portion 51, a support portion 52 extending from edge of the flat portion 51 to the substrate 10, and a bonding portion 53”) or a heat dissipation pillar.
Regarding claim 21, Lin discloses the electronic package of claim 13, wherein the supporting member (52 and/or 53) is disposed in each of two of the edge areas that are opposite (vertically and/or horizontally, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 22, Lin discloses the electronic package of claim 13, wherein the supporting member (52 and/or 53) is disposed in each of the edge areas (Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 23, Lin discloses the electronic package of claim 13, wherein the heat dissipation member and the supporting member are integrally formed (Fig. 1, stamped material).
Claims 1-2, 12-14 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 20150155221 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a heat dissipation structure (114+302+304, Fig. 3), comprising:
a heat dissipation member defined with a central area (at 102), a plurality of edge areas (at 302) located at sides of an outer periphery of the central area, and a plurality of comer areas (at 304) located at comers of the outer periphery of the central area; and
at least one supporting member (302) disposed on the heat dissipation member;
wherein the supporting member (302) is disposed in the edge area (at 302) of the heat dissipation member and is not disposed in the comer area (because 304 occupies the corner area).
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses the heat dissipation structure of claim 1, further comprising at least one joint member (304) disposed in the comer area (at 304) of the heat dissipation member, wherein the joint member (304) and the supporting member (302) are not connected to each other (given space 306, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 12, Chen discloses the heat dissipation structure of claim 1, wherein the heat dissipation member (114 or parts thereof) and the supporting member (302) are not integrally formed (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, Chen discloses an electronic package (Fig. 3), comprising:
a carrier structure (106);
an electronic component (102) disposed on the carrier structure; and
a heat dissipation structure (114+302+304) disposed on the carrier structure and covering the electronic component, and the heat dissipation structure (Fig. 3 annotated above) comprising:
a heat dissipation member defined with a central area (at 102), a plurality of edge areas (at 302) located at sides of an outer periphery of the central area, and a plurality of corner areas (at 304) located at corners of the outer periphery of the central area; and
at least one supporting member (302) disposed on the heat dissipation member, wherein the heat dissipation structure is disposed on the carrier structure via (in part) the supporting member (302, Fig. 3);
wherein the electronic component (102) is corresponding to a position of the central area (Fig. 3), and the supporting member (302) is disposed in the edge area (at 302) of the heat dissipation member but not in the corner area (at 304, since 304 is present).
Regarding claim 14, Chen discloses the electronic package of claim 13, further comprising at least one joint member (304) disposed in the corner area (at 304) of the heat dissipation member, wherein the joint member (304) and the supporting member (302) are not connected to each other (due to spaces 306, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 24, Chen discloses the electronic package of claim 13, wherein the heat dissipation member (114 or parts thereof) and the supporting member (302) are not integrally formed (Fig. 3).
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20150155221 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Chen fails to disclose (claim 8) the heat dissipation structure of claim 1, wherein a plurality of the supporting members are disposed in one of the edge areas and spaced apart from each other and (claim 20) the electronic package of claim 13, wherein a plurality of the supporting members are disposed in one of the edge areas and spaced apart from each other.
The examiner takes the position that adding additional spaces 306 to separate the supporting member 302 would meet the claimed limitation wherein spaces 306 offer the benefit of “The outgas 1002 may be vented through spaces 306 between the first and second adhesive layers, 110 and 112” per [0055].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to add additional spaces 306 to separate the supporting member 302 and thereby arrive at the claimed configurations so as to provide additional means for outgassing per [0055].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/Andres Munoz/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818