DETAILED ACTION
This Action is responsive to the communication filed on 10/03/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-9, 13, 17, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schober (US 2022/0140475).
Regarding claim 1, Schober (see, e.g., FIG. 1) discloses a package, comprising:
a component carrier 102 comprising a stack 104 with at least one electrically conductive layer structure 106 and/or at least one electrically insulating layer structure 108 (Para 0096);
a cavity 154 in the stack 104 (Para 0094, Para 0097);
an active electronic component 114 in the cavity 154 (Para 0094); and
a functional filling medium filling 108, 134 at least part of the cavity 154, said functional filling medium 108, 134 extending up to an external surface of the stack 104 for defining an output surface e.g., top surface of 134 and configured to transmit at least one output e.g., heat of said active electronic component 114 toward said output surface e.g., top surface of 134 (Para 0012, Para 0113, Para 0118-Para 0120).
Regarding claim 2, Schober (see, e.g., FIG. 1) teaches the package according to claim 1, wherein the electronic component 114 is entirely embedded in the functional filling medium 108, 134 (Para 0012, Para 0113, Para 0118-Para 0120).
Regarding claim 3, Schober (see, e.g., FIG. 1) teaches the package according to claim 1, wherein the functional filling medium 108, 134 comprises a sheet arranged in an upper portion of the cavity 154 above the electronic component 114 arranged in a lower portion of the cavity 154.
Regarding claim 4, Schober (see, e.g., FIG. 1) teaches the package according to claim 1, wherein the functional filling medium 108, 134 is thermally conductive 134 of 108, 134 (Para 0118).
Regarding claim 7, Schober (see, e.g., FIG. 1) teaches the package according to claim 1, wherein the functional filling medium 108, 134 is dielectric 108 of 108, 134 (Para 0112, Para 0113, Para 0118-Para 0120).
Regarding claim 8, Schober (see, e.g., FIG. 1) teaches the package according to claim 1, comprising a thermal interface material 132 interacting with the output surface e.g., top of 134 of the functional filling medium 108, 134 and/or being arranged on an exterior surface of the stack (Para 0098, Para 0102, Para 0104).
Regarding claim 9, Schober (see, e.g., FIG. 1) teaches the package according to claim 1, wherein the active electronic component 114 comprises at least one pad e.g., pad of 114 which is electrically coupled with at least one electrically conductive layer structure 106 (Para 0097, Para 0103).
Regarding claim 13, Schober (see, e.g., FIG. 1) teaches the package according to claim 1, comprising a heat sink 130 on or above the output surface e.g., top surface of 134 and thermally coupled with the functional filling medium 108, 134 (Para 0095, Para 0101).
Regarding claim 17, Schober (see, e.g., FIG. 1) teaches the package according to claim 1, wherein a bottom portion of the functional filling medium 108, 134 surrounding a bottom portion of the electronic component 114 including at least one pad e.g., pad of 114 thereof is dielectric 108 of 108, 134, and wherein a top portion 134 of 108, 134 of the functional filling medium 108, 134 comprises another material than the bottom portion of the functional filling medium 108, 134 (Para 0012, Para 0113, Para 0118-Para 0120).
Regarding claim 18, Schober (see, e.g., FIG. 1) teaches the package according to claim 1, wherein the cavity 154 is dimensioned and the functional filling medium 108, 134 and the electronic component 114 are arranged in the cavity 154 so that heat generated by the electronic component 114 is spatially spread towards an outside of the cavity 154 (Para 0118).
Regarding claim 20, Schober (see, e.g., FIG. 1) discloses a method of manufacturing a package, comprising:
providing a component carrier 102 comprising a stack 104 with at least one electrically conductive layer structure 106 and/or at least one electrically insulating layer structure 108 (Para 0096, Para 0108);
forming a cavity 154 in the stack 104 (Para 0108, Para 011);
arranging an active electronic component 114 in the cavity 154 (Para 0111); and
filling at least part of the cavity 154 with a functional filling medium 108, 134, said functional filling medium 108, 134 extending up to an external surface of the stack 104 for defining an output surface e.g., top surface of 134 and configured to transmit at least one output e.g., heat of said active electronic component 114 toward said output surface e.g., top surface of 134 (Para 0112, Para 0113, Para 0118-Para 0120).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schober (US 2022/0140475), in view of Refai-Ahmed (US 11,373,929).
Regarding claim 5, although Schober shows substantial features of the claimed invention, Schober fails to expressly teach the package according to claim 1, wherein the functional filling medium comprises a matrix with filler particles embedded therein.
Refai-Ahmed (see, e.g., FIG. 1) teaches the functional filling medium 114 comprises a matrix e.g., thermal epoxy with filler particles 196 embedded therein for the purpose of enhancing the heat transfer of the carrier material (col. 5, lines 23-36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the functional filling medium of Schober to include a matrix with filler particles embedded therein as described by Refai-Ahmed for the purpose of enhancing the heat transfer of the carrier material (col. 5, lines 23-36).
Regarding claim 6, Refai-Ahmed (see, e.g., FIG. 1) teaches package according to claim 5, wherein the filler particles 196 comprise a metallic material (col. 5, lines 23-36).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schober (US 2022/0140475), in view of Winzer (US 2024/0036254).
Regarding claim 10, Schober (see, e.g., FIG. 1) teaches package according to claim 9, wherein the at least one pad e.g., pad for 114 is electrically coupled with the at least one electrically conductive layer structure 106 (Para 0097, Para 0103).
Although Schober shows substantial features of the claimed invention, Schober fails to expressly teach that the at least one pad is electrically coupled with the at least one electrically conductive layer structure by at least one bond wire, by a ball grid array and/or by a land grid array.
Winzer teaches that integrated circuits, dies, and discrete components can be attached by using ball-grid array, solder bumps, and wire bonds for the purpose of establishing an electrical connection (Para 0218).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coupling of the at least one pad and the electrically conductive layer structure of Schober to include at least one bond wire, by a ball grid array and/or by a land grid array as described by Winzer for the purpose of establishing an electrical connection (Para 0218).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schober (US 2022/0140475), in view of Jain (US 2017/0223839).
Regarding claim 11, although Schober shows substantial features of the claimed invention, Schober fails to expressly teach the package according to claim 1, wherein at least part of a sidewall delimiting the cavity is lined with a functional lining.
Jain (see, e.g., FIG. 1B) teaches that at least part of a sidewall delimiting the cavity 131 is lined with a functional lining 141 for the purpose of protecting the electronic component from electromagnetic interference (EMI) (Para 0015, Para 0016).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the functional lining as described by Jain to the sidewall delimiting the cavity in Schober for the purpose of protecting the electronic component from electromagnetic interference (EMI) (Para 0015, Para 0016).
Regarding claim 12, Jain (see, e.g., FIG. 1B) teaches package according to claim 11, wherein the functional lining 141 is configured for shielding electromagnetic radiation from propagating between an interior and an exterior of the cavity 131 (Para 0015, Para 0016).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schober (US 2022/0140475), in view of Proschwitz (US 2023/0317544).
Regarding claim 14, although Schober shows substantial features of the claimed invention, Schober fails to expressly teach the package according to claim 13, comprising a further heat sink on a main surface of the stack opposing the output surface.
Proschwitz (see, e.g., FIG. 2) teaches a further heat sink 156-3 on a main surface 172-1 for the purpose of further reducing the heat transfer of the die (Para 0041, Para 0042).
The combination of Schober (see, e.g., FIG. 1) / Proschwitz (see, e.g., FIG. 2) teaches a further heat sink 156-3 (as taught by Proschwitz) on a main surface 172-1 (as taught by Proschwitz) of the stack 104 (as taught by Schober) opposing the output surface e.g., top surface of 134 (as taught by Schober) (Schober: Para 0094, Para 0097, Para 0112, Para 0113, Para 0118-Para 0120; Proschwitz: Para 0041, Para 0042).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a further heat sink as described by Proschwitz to the device of Schober for the purpose of further reducing the heat transfer of the die (Para 0042).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schober (US 2022/0140475), in view of Yu (TW 2018/01276 A).
Regarding claim 15, although Schober shows substantial features of the claimed invention, Schober fails to expressly teach the package according to claim 1, wherein at least part of the functional filling medium is optically transparent.
Yu (see, e.g., FIG. 9) teaches that at least part of the functional filling medium 909, e.g., heat-resistant transparent resin is optically transparent for the purpose of utilizing a heat-resistant material as an encapsulant (pg 10, para 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the functional filling medium of Schober to include at least part of the functional filling medium to be optically transparent for the purpose of utilizing a heat-resistant material as an encapsulant (pg 10, para 8).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schober (US 2022/0140475), in view of Kubo (US 2025/0056729).
Regarding claim 19, although Schober shows substantial features of the claimed invention, Schober fails to expressly teach the package according to claim 1, wherein the functional filling medium is configured for shielding electromagnetic radiation from propagating between an interior and an exterior of the cavity.
Kubo (see, e.g., FIG. 1, FIG. 2) teaches that the functional filling medium 30 (33, 34) is configured for shielding electromagnetic radiation e.g., due to material of fillers 34 from propagating between an interior and an exterior of the cavity 13 for the purpose of increasing the electromagnetic shielding performance of the encapsulant (Para 0030, Para 0049, Para 0050, Para 0073, Para 0076).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the functional filling medium of Schober to be configured for shielding electromagnetic radiation from propagating between an interior and an exterior of the cavity as described by Kubo for the purpose of increasing the electromagnetic shielding performance of the encapsulant (Para 0073, Para 0076).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANTONIO B CRITE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817