DETAILED ACTION
Status
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed on 1/26/2026, which amended claims 1 and 19. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yazdi et al. (US PGPub 2003/0184844, Yazdi hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Yazdi discloses an actuator-sensor device (Figs. 4-8, paras. [0012], [0042]-[0048], the mirror includes electrodes to drive the mirror and determine the deflection of the mirror), comprising:
an actuator-sensor unit comprising an actuator and a sensor (Figs. 4-8, abstract, paras. [0012], [0042]-[0050], [0055], [0060], the electrode on the substrate and the conductive materials on the mirror are control or drive electrodes used to position the mirror under control of the Application Specific Integrated Circuit (ASIC). The capacitance between the electrodes is used to determine the deflection of the mirror by the ASIC, which switches the electrodes between drive and capacitance readout);
a control unit (Figs. 4-8, paras. [0042]-[0050], [0055], [0060], Application Specific Integrated Circuit, ASIC): i) electrically connected to the actuator-sensor unit (Figs. 4-8, paras. [0042]-[0050], [0055], [0060], the ASIC is connected to the electrodes); and ii) configured to control the actuator-sensor unit (Figs. 4-8, paras. [0012], [0042]-[0050], [0055], [0060], the ASIC controls drive electrodes and reads the capacitance to determine deflection); and
a supporting element having a first supporting side and a second supporting side facing the first supporting side (Fig. 5, paras. [0042]-[0043], [0045], [0048], the substrate includes two supporting sides),
wherein the actuator-sensor unit is supported on the first supporting side of the supporting element, and the entire control unit is supported on the second supporting side of the supporting element (Figs. 4-8, paras. [0042]-[0050], [0055], [0060], the electrodes are on a first surface of the substrate, and the ASIC is supported on the second surface of the substate).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-12, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waldis et al. (US PGPub 2014/0327895, Waldis hereinafter) in view of Yazdi et al. (US PGPub 2003/0184844, Yazdi hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Waldis discloses an actuator-sensor device (Figs. 1-49), comprising:
an actuator-sensor unit comprising an actuator and a sensor (Figs. 6-8, 24, 40, 42-49, paras. [0020], [0089]-[0091], [0106], [0177], [0183], [0185]-[0205], [0208]-[0211], actuator pin 38 and sensor 151);
a control unit electrically connected to the actuator-sensor unit (Figs. 6-7, 17-24, 39-49, paras. [0141], [0177], [0183], [0185]-[0205], [0208]-[0211], printed circuit board PCB 85 controls mirrors through ASICs 52, and the circuit board 85 is electrically connected to the actuators and sensors); and
a supporting element having a first supporting side and a second supporting side facing the first supporting side (Figs. 6-7, 17, 24, 42-49, paras. [0141], [0183]-[0184], baseplate 59 includes first and second surfaces),
wherein the actuator-sensor unit is supported on the first supporting side of the supporting element, and the control unit is supported on the second supporting side of the supporting element (Figs. 6-7, 24, 42-49, paras. [0141], [0183]-[0184], actuator pin 38 and sensors 151 are arranged on a first surface of baseplate 59, and the circuit board 85 is arranged on a second surface of baseplate 59). Waldis fails to explicitly describe the control unit configured to control the actuator-sensor unit and the entire control unit is supported on the second supporting side of the supporting element.
Yazdi discloses a control unit (Figs. 4-8, paras. [0042]-[0050], [0055], [0060], Application Specific Integrated Circuit, ASIC): i) electrically connected to the actuator-sensor unit (Figs. 4-8, paras. [0042]-[0050], [0055], [0060], the ASIC is connected to the electrodes); and ii) configured to control the actuator-sensor unit (Figs. 4-8, paras. [0042]-[0050], [0055], [0060], the ASIC controls drive electrodes and reads the capacitance to determine deflection); and
a supporting element having a first supporting side and a second supporting side facing the first supporting side (Fig. 5, paras. [0042]-[0043], [0045], [0048], the substrate includes two supporting sides),
wherein the actuator-sensor unit is supported on the first supporting side of the supporting element, and the entire control unit is supported on the second supporting side of the supporting element (Figs. 4-8, paras. [0042]-[0050], [0055], [0060], the electrodes are on a first surface of the substrate, and the ASIC is supported on the second surface of the substate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the control unit configured to control the actuator-sensor unit and the entire control unit is supported on the second supporting side of the supporting element as taught by Yazdi as the arrangement of the control unit and the actuator-sensor in the actuator-sensor device as taught by Waldis since including the control unit configured to control the actuator-sensor unit and the entire control unit is supported on the second supporting side of the supporting element is commonly used to provide accurate and predictable control of a micro-electromechanical mirror in a simplified structure (Yazdi, paras. [0011]-[0012], [0017], [0024], [0048]).
Regarding claim 2, Waldis as modified by Yazdi discloses wherein: the supporting element has an opening piercing the supporting element from the first supporting side to the second supporting side (Waldis, Figs. 6-7, 17, 24, 42-49, paras. [0139], [0141], the baseplate 59 includes cutouts 83 extending through the baseplate); and
the actuator-sensor unit and the control unit are in contact through the opening so that the actuator-sensor unit and the control unit are electrically connected to each other (Figs. 6-7, 17, 24, 42-49, paras. [0139]-[0141], [0177], [0183], [0185]-[0205], [0208]-[0211], the circuit board 85 are electrically connected to the actuators and sensors through contact pins 82 arranged in cutouts 83 of baseplate 59).
Regarding claim 4, Waldis as modified by Yazdi discloses wherein the actuator-sensor device is configured to be used in an optical module of a lithography apparatus (Waldis, Figs. 1-6, 24, 42-49, paras. [0063]-[0064], [0067]-[0070], [0075], [0079], [0089]-[0091], [0094], [0106], [0177], [0183], [0185]-[0205], [0208]-[0211], mirror array 22, having actuator pins 38 and sensors 151, is arranged in a projection exposure apparatus 1), and the sensor is configured to detect a physical property of an optical element of the optical module (Figs. 6-8, 24, 40, 42-49, paras. [0008], [0020], [0089]-[0091], [0106], [0177], [0183], [0185]-[0205], [0208]-[0211], sensor 151 is a speed or position sensor that senses displacement of the associated mirror).
Regarding claim 5, Waldis as modified by Yazdi discloses wherein the actuator is configured to change the physical property of the optical element (Waldis, Figs. 6-8, 24, 40, 42-49, paras. [0008], [0020], [0089]-[0091], [0106], [0177], [0183], [0185]-[0205], [0208]-[0211], the sensor 151 provides measurement signals to control electrodes with actuator pin 38 to control the actuation of mirror elements 23 to displace the mirror elements).
Regarding claim 6, Waldis as modified by Yazdi discloses wherein the actuator-sensor device is configured to be used in an optical module of a lithography apparatus (Waldis, Figs. 1-6, 24, 42-49, paras. [0063]-[0064], [0067]-[0070], [0075], [0079], [0089]-[0091], [0094], [0106], [0177], [0183], [0185]-[0205], [0208]-[0211], mirror array 22, having actuator pins 38 and sensors 151, is arranged in a projection exposure apparatus 1), and the actuator is configured to change a physical property of an optical element of the optical module (Figs. 6-8, 24, 40, 42-49, paras. [0008], [0020], [0089]-[0091], [0106], [0177], [0183], [0185]-[0205], [0208]-[0211], the sensor 151 provides measurement signals to control electrodes with actuator pin 38 to control the actuation of mirror elements 23 to displace the mirror elements).
Regarding claim 7, Waldis as modified by Yazdi discloses wherein the actuator-sensor device is configured to be used in an optical module of a lithography apparatus (Waldis, Figs. 1-6, 24, 42-49, paras. [0063]-[0064], [0067]-[0070], [0075], [0079], [0089]-[0091], [0094], [0106], [0177], [0183], [0185]-[0205], [0208]-[0211], mirror array 22, having actuator pins 38 and sensors 151, is arranged in a projection exposure apparatus 1), and the sensor is configured to detect a pose of an optical element of the optical module (Figs. 6-8, 24, 40, 42-49, paras. [0008], [0020], [0089]-[0091], [0106], [0177], [0183], [0185]-[0205], [0208]-[0211], sensor 151 is a speed or position sensor that senses tilt of the associated mirror).
Regarding claim 8, Waldis as modified by Yazdi discloses wherein the actuator-sensor is configured to be used in the optical module of the lithography apparatus (Waldis, Figs. 1-6, 24, 42-49, paras. [0063]-[0064], [0067]-[0070], [0075], [0079], [0089]-[0091], [0094], [0106], [0177], [0183], [0185]-[0205], [0208]-[0211], mirror array 22, having actuator pins 38 and sensors 151, is arranged in a projection exposure apparatus 1), and the actuator is configured to change the pose of the optical element (Figs. 6-8, 24, 40, 42-49, paras. [0008], [0020], [0089]-[0091], [0106], [0177], [0183], [0185]-[0205], [0208]-[0211], the sensor 151 provides measurement signals to control electrodes with actuator pin 38 to control the tilt of mirror elements 23 to displace the mirror elements).
Regarding claim 9, Waldis as modified by Yazdi discloses wherein the actuator-sensor unit is detachably connected to the first supporting side of the supporting element (Waldis, Figs. 6-10, 16-22, 24, 25, 42-45, 48, 49, paras. [0088]-[0091], [0094], [0102]-[0106], [0109], [0138]-[0139], [0142], [0176]-[0177], [0183], [0185]-[0205], [0208]-[0211], the optical components 40 with actuator pins 38 and sensors 151 are mounted and demounted from the baseplate 59).
Regarding claim 10, Waldis as modified by Yazdi discloses wherein the control unit is detachably connected to the second supporting side of the supporting element (Waldis, Figs. 6-10, 16-22, 24, 25, 42-45, 48, 49, paras. [0141]-[0142], circuit board 85 is releasably connected to baseplate 59).
Regarding claim 11, Waldis as modified by Yazdi discloses wherein: the actuator-sensor unit comprises a first contact element (Waldis, Figs. 6-10, 16-22, 24, 25, 42-45, 48, 49, paras. [0089], [0094], [0107], [0109]-[0111], [0120], [0139]-[0142], the mirror array 22 includes actuator pins 38 including electrodes 54, which are controlled by flip-chip contacts 53 via contact pins 56);
the control unit comprises a printed circuit board comprising a second contact element (Figs. 6-10, 16-22, 24, 25, 42-45, 48, 49, paras. [0141]-[0142], circuit board 85 includes contact areas 87); and
the supporting element supports the actuator-sensor unit and the control unit so that the first contact element is in contact with the second contact element (Figs. 6-10, 16-22, 24, 25, 42-45, 48, 49, paras. [0089], [0094], [0107], [0109]-[0111], [0120], [0139]-[0142], contact pins 82 provide contact between circuit boards 85 and components 40, including contact pins 56 in the interface 55 for electrodes 54 of actuator pins 38 in mirror array 22).
Regarding claim 12, Waldis as modified by Yazdi discloses wherein the first contact element comprises a pin (Waldis, Figs. 6-10, 16-22, 24, 25, 42-45, 48, 49, paras. [0089], [0094], [0107], [0109]-[0111], [0120], [0139]-[0142], contact pins 56).
Regarding claim 18, Waldis as modified by Yazdi discloses wherein: the control unit comprises a positioning peg (Waldis, Figs. 17-24, paras. [0139]-[0142], screws 86 or contact pins 82 are arranged in circuit board 85);
the supporting element comprises a peg receptacle (Figs. 17-24, paras. [0139]-[0142], baseplate 59 includes cutouts 83 and receptacles for screws 86); and
the supporting element supports the control unit so that the peg receptacle receives the positioning peg (Figs. 17-24, paras. [0139]-[0142], baseplate 59 receives the contact pins 82 in cutouts 83 and receptacles receive screws 86 to secure circuit board 85).
Regarding claim 19, Waldis discloses an apparatus (Figs. 1-49), comprising:
an actuator-sensor device (Figs. 6-8, 24, 40, 42-49, paras. [0020], [0089]-[0091], [0106], [0177], [0183], [0185]-[0205], [0208]-[0211], actuator pin 38 and sensor 151), comprising:
an actuator-sensor unit comprising an actuator and a sensor (Figs. 6-8, 24, 40, 42-49, paras. [0020], [0089]-[0091], [0106], [0177], [0183], [0185]-[0205], [0208]-[0211], actuator pin 38 and sensor 151);
a control unit electrically connected to the actuator-sensor unit (Figs. 6-7, 17-24, 39-49, paras. [0141], [0177], [0183], [0185]-[0205], [0208]-[0211], printed circuit board PCB 85 controls mirrors through ASICs 52, and the circuit board 85 are electrically connected to the actuators and sensors); and
a supporting element having a first supporting side and a second supporting side facing the first supporting side (Figs. 6-7, 17, 24, 42-49, paras. [0141], [0183]-[0184], baseplate 59 includes first and second surfaces),
wherein: the actuator-sensor unit is supported on the first supporting side of the supporting element (Figs. 6-7, 24, 42-49, paras. [0141], [0183]-[0184], actuator pin 38 and sensors 151 are arranged on a first surface of baseplate 59); and the control unit is supported on the second supporting side of the supporting element (Figs. 6-7, 24, 42-49, paras. [0141], [0183]-[0184], actuator pin 38 and sensors 151 are arranged on a first surface of baseplate 59, and the circuit board 85 is arranged on a second surface of baseplate 59); and
the apparatus is a lithography apparatus (Figs. 1-6, 24, 42-49, paras. [0063]-[0064], [0067]-[0070], [0075], [0079], [0089]-[0091], [0094], [0106], [0177], [0183], [0185]-[0205], [0208]-[0211], mirror array 22, having actuator pins 38 and sensors 151, is arranged in a projection exposure apparatus 1). Waldis does not appear to explicitly describe the control unit configured to control the actuator-sensor unit and wherein the entire control system is supported on the second supporting side of the supporting element.
Yazdi discloses a control unit (Figs. 4-8, paras. [0042]-[0050], [0055], [0060], Application Specific Integrated Circuit, ASIC): i) electrically connected to the actuator-sensor unit (Figs. 4-8, paras. [0042]-[0050], [0055], [0060], the ASIC is connected to the electrodes); and ii) configured to control the actuator-sensor unit (Figs. 4-8, paras. [0042]-[0050], [0055], [0060], the ASIC controls drive electrodes and reads the capacitance to determine deflection); and
a supporting element having a first supporting side and a second supporting side facing the first supporting side (Fig. 5, paras. [0042]-[0043], [0045], [0048], the substrate includes two supporting sides),
wherein the actuator-sensor unit is supported on the first supporting side of the supporting element, and the entire control unit is supported on the second supporting side of the supporting element (Figs. 4-8, paras. [0042]-[0050], [0055], [0060], the electrodes are on a first surface of the substrate, and the ASIC is supported on the second surface of the substate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the control unit configured to control the actuator-sensor unit and the entire control unit is supported on the second supporting side of the supporting element as taught by Yazdi as the arrangement of the control unit and the actuator-sensor in the actuator-sensor device in the apparatus as taught by Waldis since including the control unit configured to control the actuator-sensor unit and the entire control unit is supported on the second supporting side of the supporting element is commonly used to provide accurate and predictable control of a micro-electromechanical mirror in a simplified structure (Yazdi, paras. [0011]-[0012], [0017], [0024], [0048]).
Regarding claim 20, Waldis as modified by Yazdi discloses wherein the apparatus comprises an optical module comprising an optical element, and the actuator is configured to control a position of the optical element (Waldis, Figs. 1-6, 24, 42-49, paras. [0020], [0063]-[0064], [0067]-[0070], [0075], [0079], [0086], [0089]-[0091], [0094], [0106], [0177], [0183], [0185]-[0205], [0208]-[0211], mirror array 22 includes mirror elements 23 with reflection surfaces 36. The actuator pins 38 and sensors 151 control the positioning of the mirror elements 23).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waldis as modified by Yazdi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bayerer (US PGPub 2014/0035118).
Regarding claim 3, Waldis as modified by Yazdi discloses wherein: the supporting element comprises on its first supporting side, a first receptacle into which the actuator-sensor unit is at least partially inserted (Waldis, Figs. 6-7, 17, 24, 42-49, paras. [0086], [0089], [0141], [0183]-[0184], the baseplate 59 includes a substrate 30 on an upper surface. The actuator pins 38 and sensors 151 are inserted in the substrate 30);
the supporting element comprises, on its second supporting side, a second receptacle into which the control unit is arranged (Figs. 6-7, 17, 24, 42-49, paras. [0125], [0141], [0183]-[0184], the circuit board 85 is arranged on a rear side 74 of baseplate 59); and
the first receptacle faces the second receptacle (Figs. 6-7, 24, 42-49, paras. [0141], [0183]-[0184], actuator pin 38 and sensors 151 are arranged substrate 30 facing rear side 74). However, Waldis as modified by Yazdi does not appear to explicitly describe the supporting element comprises, on its second supporting side, a second receptacle into which the control unit is at least partially inserted.
Bayerer discloses the supporting element comprises, on its second supporting side, a second receptacle into which the control unit is at least partially inserted (Figs. 21-22, para. [0084], printed circuit board 7 is arranged inserted into housing 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the supporting element comprises, on its second supporting side, a second receptacle into which the control unit is at least partially inserted as taught by Bayerer as the arrangement of the control unit in the actuator-sensor device as taught by Waldis as modified by Yazdi since including the supporting element comprises, on its second supporting side, a second receptacle into which the control unit is at least partially inserted is commonly used to securely fix the printed circuit board (Bayerer, para. [0084]).
Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waldis as modified by Yazdi as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Holz et al. (US PGPub 2016/0170201, Holz hereinafter).
Regarding claim 13, Waldis as modified by Yazdi does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the first contact element comprises a spring contact pin.
Holz discloses a spring contact pin (para. [0010], spring-loaded contact pin or contact springs are electrical contacts in the optical component).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a spring contact pin as taught by Holz as the first contact element in the actuator-sensor device as taught by Waldis as modified by Yazdi since including wherein the first contact element comprises a spring contact pin improves fastening and simplifies assembly for the optical component (Holz, para. [0010]).
Regarding claim 15, Waldis as modified by Yazdi does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the control unit comprises a main body comprising a printed circuit board connection configured to support the printed circuit board; and the main body of the control unit comprises printed circuit board protection elements protruding laterally beyond the printed circuit board.
Holz discloses wherein the control unit comprises a main body comprising a printed circuit board connection configured to support the printed circuit board (Figs. 2, 4, 6, paras. [0059], [0070]-[0080], [0091]-[0097], ASIC 52 for controlling the displacement of the mirror elements are arranged in carrying structure 43 with a portion connecting to circuit board 56); and the main body of the control unit comprises printed circuit board protection elements protruding laterally beyond the printed circuit board (Figs. 2, 4, 6, paras. [0091]-[0097], contact springs 68 connect to printed circuit board 56 and extend laterally beyond the printed circuit board 56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the control unit comprises a main body comprising a printed circuit board connection configured to support the printed circuit board; and the main body of the control unit comprises printed circuit board protection elements protruding laterally beyond the printed circuit board as taught by Holz in the actuator-sensor device as taught by Waldis as modified by Yazdi since wherein the control unit comprises a main body comprising a printed circuit board connection configured to support the printed circuit board; and the main body of the control unit comprises printed circuit board protection elements protruding laterally beyond the printed circuit board is common to mechanically fasten and electrically contact the circuit board (Holz, para. [0094]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waldis as modified by Yazdi as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Kitagawa (JP08-262825, cited by 10/3/2023 IDS and accompanied by English translation).
Regarding claim 14, Waldis as modified by Yazdi discloses wherein the control unit comprises a main body comprising a printed circuit board connection configured to support the printed circuit board (Waldis, Figs. 6-7, 17-24, 39-49, paras. [0139]-[0142], [0177], [0183], [0185]-[0205], [0208]-[0211], printed circuit board PCB 85 includes screws 86 to support the circuit board, and contact pins 82 support the printed circuit board 85);
the printed circuit board connection comprises first and second pins (Figs. 6-7, 17-24, 39-49, paras. [0139]-[0142], contact pins 82 and screws 86);
the printed circuit board comprises first and second holes (Figs. 6-7, 17-24, 39-49, paras. [0139]-[0142], circuit board 85 includes holes for screws 86);
the first hole receives the first pin (Figs. 6-7, 17-24, 39-49, paras. [0139]-[0142], circuit board 85 includes holes for screws 86);
the second hole receives the second pin (Figs. 6-7, 17-24, 39-49, paras. [0139]-[0142], circuit board 85 includes holes for screws 86). Waldis as modified by Yazdi does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the first hole is an elongate hole.
Kitagawa discloses wherein a first hole is an elongate hole (Fig. 23, abstract, pages 7-8 of English translation, the positioning pin 126 is inserted into an elongate hole 1Th).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein a first hole is an elongate hole as taught by Kitagawa as the shape of the first hole in the actuator-sensor device as taught by Waldis as modified by Yazdi since including wherein the first hole is an elongate hole is commonly used to provide flexibility during connection to improve speed of assembly.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waldis as modified by Yazdi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wolfsteiner et al. (US PGPub 2019/0324372, Wolfsteiner hereinafter).
Regarding claim 16, Waldis as modified by Yazdi discloses wherein the supporting element comprises a metal strip configured to dissipate heat (Waldis, Figs. 21-24, paras. [0128]-[0131], heat-conducting elements 76 are metallic and connected to baseplate 59); and the supporting element supports the actuator-sensor unit and the control unit (Figs. 6-7, 21-24, 42-49, paras. [0128]-[0131], [0141], [0183]-[0184], actuator pin 38 and sensors 151 are arranged on a first surface of baseplate 59, and the circuit board 85 is arranged on a second surface of baseplate 59). Waldis as modified by Yazdi does not appear to explicitly describe the control unit comprises a metal heat sink; and the supporting element supports the actuator-sensor unit and the control unit so that the heat sink contacts the metal strip.
Wolfsteiner discloses wherein the supporting element comprises a metal strip configured to dissipate heat (Figs. 2-5, paras. [0021]-[0022], [0085], [0103]-[0108], the housing 60 includes metallic heat conducting structure 68 with plate-shaped regions 70 for dissipating heat);
the control unit comprises a metal heat sink (Figs. 2-5, paras. [0020]-[0022], [0102], printed circuit board is connected to a heat sink and includes metallic layers 67); and
the supporting element the control unit so that the heat sink contacts the metal strip (Figs. 2-5, paras. [0021]-[0022], [0105]-[0108], printed circuit board 63 is arranged in housing 60 and connected to heat sink and heat conducting structure 68).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the control unit comprises a metal heat sink; and the supporting element supports the control unit so that the heat sink contacts the metal strip as taught by Wolfsteiner in the supporting element supporting the actuator-sensor unit and the control unit in the actuator-sensor device as taught by Waldis as modified by Yazdi since including the control unit comprises a metal heat sink; and the supporting element supports the actuator-sensor unit and the control unit so that the heat sink contacts the metal strip is commonly used to provide adequate heat dissipation in a vacuum environment (Wolfsteiner, para. [0005]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waldis as modified by Yazdi in view of Wolfsteiner as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Brewington et al. (US Patent No. 6,071,128, Brewington hereinafter).
Regarding claim 17, Waldis as modified by Yazdi in view of Wolfsteiner discloses the supporting element supports the actuator-sensor unit and the control unit (Waldis, Figs. 6-7, 21-24, 42-49, paras. [0128]-[0131], [0141], [0183]-[0184], actuator pin 38 and sensors 151 are arranged on a first surface of baseplate 59, and the circuit board 85 is arranged on a second surface of baseplate 59), but Waldis as modified by Yazdi in view of Wolfsteiner does not appear to explicitly describe wherein: the heat sink comprises first and second lugs; the metal strip comprises first and second receptacles; and the supporting element supports the actuator-sensor unit and the control unit so that the first lug receptacle receives the first lug and the second lug receptacle receives the second lug.
Brewington discloses wherein: the heat sink comprises first and second lugs (Figs. 1-4, 7-8, col. 3, lines 32-46, col. 4, lines 1-14, heat sink 16 includes lugs 81A and 81B);
the metal strip comprises first and second receptacles (Figs. 1-4, col. 3, lines 32-46, col. 5, lines 18-54, clip 18 is made of conductive material and includes apertures 17); and
the supporting element supports the control unit so that the first lug receptacle receives the first lug and the second lug receptacle receives the second lug (Figs. 1-4, col. 5, lines 18-54, lugs 81A and 81B engage with apertures 17 in clip 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the heat sink comprises first and second lugs, the metal strip comprises first and second receptacles, the supporting element supports the control unit so that the first lug receptacle receives the first lug and the second lug receptacle receives the second lug as taught by Brewington in the supporting element supporting the actuator-sensor unit and the control unit in the actuator-sensor device as taught by Waldis as modified by Yazdi in view of Wolfsteiner since including wherein: the heat sink comprises first and second lugs; the metal strip comprises first and second receptacles; and the supporting element supports the actuator-sensor unit and the control unit so that the first lug receptacle receives the first lug and the second lug receptacle receives the second lug is commonly used to provide electrical coupling in an easily manufactured assembly (Brewington, col. 2, lines 22-30).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bihr et al. (US PGPub 2018/0188656) discloses a sensor arrangement for a mirror plate in a lithography system.
Urano et al. (US PGPub 2004/0063325) discloses mirror elements with sensors and control electrodes controlled by a processor.
/CHRISTINA A RIDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882