DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-6) in the reply filed on 02/06/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Groups II and III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/06/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cho (US 2022/0042159).
Regarding claim 1, Cho discloses an apparatus for manufacturing a display device (Fig. 1, numeral 1000), the apparatus comprising: a chamber (1100); a mask assembly (1500) arranged inside the chamber (1100) and facing a display substrate (D); a magnetic force portion (1600) arranged inside the chamber and applying a magnetic force to the mask assembly ([0094]); and a deposition source (1400) which is arranged inside the chamber (1100), faces the mask assembly (1500), and supplies a deposition material that passes through the mask assembly (1500) and is deposited on the display substrate (D) ([0081]), wherein the mask assembly includes: a first mask layer (Fig.2, numeral 400) including a first mask opening (OA); and a second mask layer (300); (200); (100) disposed on the first mask layer (400), the second mask layer includes: a metal layer (300) ([0094]) including a metal opening (300OP) corresponding to the first mask opening (OA); and an inorganic layer (100); (200) including an inorganic opening (OP1) corresponding to the first mask opening (OA) and the metal opening (300OP), and in a plan view (Fig.2), a width of the metal opening (300OP)is greater than a width of the inorganic opening (OP1) (Fig.2).
Regarding claim 2, Cho discloses wherein the inorganic layer (100) covers the metal layer (300) (Figs. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 3, Cho discloses wherein a portion of the metal layer (300) is exposed from the inorganic layer (100) (Fig.4).
Regarding claim 4, Cho discloses wherein the inorganic layer (100); (200) includes: a first inorganic portion (100); and a second inorganic portion disposed on the first inorganic portion (Fig.2; numeral 100), and the inorganic opening includes: a first inorganic opening (OP1) arranged in the first inorganic portion (100); and a second inorganic opening (OP2) arranged in the second inorganic portion (200) ([0087]) (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Cho discloses wherein, in a plan view, an area of the second inorganic opening (OP2) is greater than an area of the first inorganic opening (OP1) (Fig.3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ju (US 2020/0044010).
Regarding claims 4 and 6, Cho discloses wherein the inorganic layer (100); (200) includes: a first inorganic portion (Fig.4; numeral 200); and a second inorganic portion disposed on the first inorganic portion (100), and the inorganic opening includes: a first inorganic opening (OP2) arranged in the first inorganic portion (200); and a second inorganic opening (OP1) arranged in the second inorganic portion (100)),
Cho does not disclose wherein, in a cross-sectional view, a width of the first inorganic opening gradually decreases in a direction toward the second inorganic portion.
Ju however discloses wherein, in a cross-sectional view, a width of the first inorganic opening (Fig.17, numeral 111) gradually decreases in a direction toward the second inorganic portion (202).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Cho with Ju to have in a cross-sectional view, a width of the first inorganic opening gradually decreases in a direction toward the second inorganic portion for the purpose improving the positional accuracy of the light-emitting unit formed during evaporation and maintaining a good morphology (Ju, [0061]).
Conclusion
/JULIA SLUTSKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891