DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. This office action is responsive to applicant’s amendment filed on 05/19/2026. Claims 1-17 are pending. Claim 1 has been amended. Claim 17 is withdrawn. The applicant’s amendment raise new ground of rejection as discussed below.
Response to Arguments
3. The applicant’s amendment filed on 05/19/2026 along with the remark were sufficient to overcome the examiner’s previous ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C 112(b).
However, the applicant’s amendment raise new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1), 102(a)(2) and 103 as discussed below using new cited prior arts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claim 1-6, 9-12, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a) as being anticipated by Wu et al. (WO 2021/088670 A1), English translation via Wu et al. (US 2022/0375762 A1).
Note: All [paragraph numbers] cited below are based on Wu et al. (US 2022/0375762 A1).
As to claim 1, Wu discloses A substrate-processing method comprising:
a) providing at least one substrate having a surface, the at least one substrate including a silicon oxide film (11) and a silicon nitride film (12) on the surface (abstract, paragraph [0006], [0041]-[0042];
b) supplying a gas mixture to the surface, thereby etching the silicon oxide film, the gas mixture including fluorine-containing gas and basic gas (paragraph [0007], [0013], [0046]-[0054];
c) purging the surface; [paragraph [00414]-[0015], [0052]-[0053]] and
d) alternatingly repeating b) and c), wherein a time period for one execution of b) is longer than a first time period from a start of b) to a start of etching of the silicon oxide film and shorter than a second time period from the start of b) to a start of etching of the silicon nitride film, such that the silicon oxide film is selectively etched without etching the silicon nitride film (paragraph [0047]-[0085], [0097]-[00989), Fig 3, Fig 8).
As to claim 2, Wu discloses wherein in b) and c), the at least one substrate is maintained at a same temperature (paragraph [0017], [0051]-[0052]; the temperature is maintained at 120 °C).
As to claims 3-4, Wu discloses wherein b) and c) are performed in a same process chamber (Fig 7, paragraph [0047]-[0054], [0100]).
As to claim 5, Wu discloses wherein c) includes supplying inert gas into the process chamber while vacuuming the process chamber (paragraph [0052]).
As to claim 6, Wu discloses wherein c) includes supplying inert gas into the process chamber while vacuuming the process chamber (paragraph [0052]-[0053], [0087]-[0088], [0092]).
As to claims 9-10, Wu discloses switching from b) to c) before the start of etching of the silicon nitride film (paragraph [0058]-[0073]).
As to claims 11-12, Wu discloses wherein the fluorine-containing gas is hydrogen fluoride gas, and the basic gas is ammonia gas (paragraph [0013], [0048]-[0051]).
As to claims 15-16, Wu discloses after d), heating the at least one substrate to a temperature that is higher than in b) (paragraph [0051], [0086]; Note: 180 °C is higher than 120 °C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (WO 2021/088670 A1), English translation via Wu et al. (US 2022/0375762 A1) as applied to claims 1-6, 9-12, 15-16 above, and further in view of Kakimoto (US 2012/0267340 A1).
As to claims 7-8, Wu fails to disclose wherein the at least one substrate includes a plurality of substrates, and wherein the process chamber houses the plurality of substrates on shelves. However, Wu clearly teaches to etch silicon oxide layer on the substrate. Kakimoto discloses to etch silicon oxide layer on the substrate, wherein the at least one substrate includes a plurality of substrates, and wherein the process chamber houses the plurality of substrates on shelves (abstract, Fig 1, paragraph [0010], 0054-0055). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wu in view of Kakimoto by having a plurality of substrate and wherein the process chamber houses the plurality of substrates on shelves because it will reduce the process time by processing a plurality of substrates at the same time.
9. Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (WO 2021/088670 A1), English translation via Wu et al. (US 2022/0375762 A1) as applied to claims 1-6, 9-12, 15-16 above, and further in view of Toda (US 2019/0378724 A1).
As to claims 13-14, Wu fails to disclose the silicon oxide is a thermal oxide film. However, Wu clearly teaches to etch silicon oxide film (paragraph 0005, [0041]). Toda teaches the silicon oxide film may be thermal oxide film or silicon oxide formed by CVD (See paragraph 0031). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wu in view of Toda by using thermal oxide film for silicon oxide because equivalent and substitution of one for the other would produce an expected result (See MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
Conclusion
10. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BINH X. TRAN
Examiner
Art Unit 1713
/BINH X TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713