DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: “cooling apparatus configured to perform cooling” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, the word "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mori (JP 2007-335134 A).
Regarding claim 1, Mori teaches a method for reducing the power consumption of a charged particle system (scanning electron microscope, Abstract), the charged particle system comprising at least one charged particle element (objective lens 5) and a cooling assembly (cooling unit 91; is a water cooling unit similar in structure and function to that of the current specification) configured for cooling the at least one charged particle optics element (p. 10 paragraph 2), the method comprising the steps of:
Running the charged particle system in a standby mode (Abstract), wherein the total power consumption of the charged particle system is reduced compared to running the charged particle system in an operating mode (“In the standby mode, electric power corresponding to the amount of heat taken away by the cooling water can be reduced”, p. 10 paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 2, Mori teaches that the at least one charged particle optics element comprises a respective element temperature (objective lens temperature, p. 2 paragraphs 1-2);
Wherein the method further comprises determining a temperature setpoint for the charged particle optical element (setting temperature in standby mode, p. 5 paragraph 7); and
Wherein running the charged particle system in the standby mode comprises:
Reducing and/or stopping the cooling of said charged particle element (in standby mode, cooling means stops supply of cooling water, p. 10 paragraph 4) and
Stabilizing the respective element temperature of said at least one charged particle optical element to the respective temperature setpoint (“in standby mode objective lens can be held at predetermined temperature”, p. 10 paragraph 5)
Regarding claim 3, Mori teaches that the at least one charged particle optics element is current driven and the method comprises providing a respective current to the at least one charged particle optics element (p. 9 paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 4, Mori teaches that stabilizing the respective element temperature comprises providing a respective standby current to the associated charged particle optics element (“in standby mode a predetermined excitation current passes through objective lens 5”), and
Wherein providing the respective standby current comprises controlling the respective standby current provided to the associated charged particle optics element (i.e. the current is controlled to the predetermined level).
Regarding claim 5, Mori teaches that controlling the respective standby current provided to the associated charged particle optics element comprises reducing the average current compared to running the charged particle system in the operating mode (exciting current in standby mode is small, p. 10 paragraph 6).
Regarding claim 6, Mori teaches that stabilizing the respective element temperature of the associated charged particle optics element comprises determining a present element temperature of the associated charged particle optics element (by objective lens temperature detection unit 9, p. 5 last paragraph-p. 6 paragraph 1), and
Wherein controlling the respective standby current comprises comparing the present element temperature of the associated charged particle optics element to the respective temperature setpoint and adjusting the provided respective standby current based on said comparing (setting excitation current based on desired temperature, p. 6 paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 7, Mori teaches modulating said standby current to reduce the average current supplied to the associated charged particle element (setting standby current, p. 6 paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 9, Mori teaches that the at least one charged particle element is an electromagnetic lens (objective lens 5, p. 1 paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 10, Mori teaches that the charged particle system is a charged particle beam microscopy system (electron beam microscopy, Abstract).
Regarding claim 11, Mori teaches a charged particle system (electron microscope system, Abstract) comprising:
At least one charged particle optics element (objective lens 5);
A cooling assembly (cooling unit 91) configured for cooling the at least one charged particle optics element,
Wherein the system is configured to assume at least two configurations, an operating configuration and a standby configuration (Abstract).
Regarding claim 12, Mori teaches that the at least one charged particle element is current driven,
Wherein in the operating configuration the charged particle optical element is provided with an operating current (p. 6 paragraph 1), and
Wherein in the standby configuration the charged particle operating element is provided with a standby current that is lower than the operating current (p. 10 paragraph 6).
Regarding claim 13, Mori teaches that in the operating configuration the at least one charged particle element is at an operating temperature (temperature in the observation mode, p. 4 paragraph 5);
Wherein the respective operating temperature defines a respective temperature setpoint for each of the at least one charged particle optics element; and
Wherein in the standby configuration at least one of the at least one charged particle optics element is stabilized to the respective temperature setpoint (past objective lens temperatures is used as set temperature of standby mode, p. 7, paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 14, Mori teaches that in the operating configuration the at least one charged particle opts element is cooled by means of the cooling assembly; and
Wherein in the standby configuration at least one of the at least one charged particle optics element is not cooled by means of the cooling assembly (deactivating cooling assembly, p. 10 paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 16, Mori teaches a charged particle system (electron microscope system, Abstract) comprising:
At least one charged particle optics element (objective lens 5);
A cooling assembly (cooling unit 91) configured for cooling the at least one charged particle optics element,
Wherein the system is configured to run in a standby mode (Abstract), wherein the total power consumption of the charged particle system when running in the standby mode is reduced compared to running the system in an operating mode (p. 10 paragraph 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori.
Regarding claim 8, Mori teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Mori does not teach that the power consumption of the charged particle system in the standby mode is reduced by at least 33%, preferably at least 40%, more preferably at least 50% compared to running the charged particle system in the operating mode.
However, one of the purposes of the standby mode of Mori is to reduce the power consumption of the system (p. 10 paragraph 5) and one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the power consumption of the standby mode can be easily adjusted by setting the current. The electron beam system of Mori comprises a water-cooled objective lens which is a similar structure to the current invention as described in the specification and presumably has similar power consumption characteristics. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the current of the system of Mori to have at least 33% reduction of power consumption in the standby mode, as a matter of adjusting a result-effective variable (the current which determines the power consumption) through routine experimentation to achieve the goal taught by Mori of minimizing power consumption in the standby mode with no unexpected result.
Conclusion
/DAVID E SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 2881