DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 10/09/2023 has been acknowledged and a signed copy of the PTO-1449 is attached herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 12, 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2021/0066628 A1, hereinafter “Park”).
In regards to claim 1, Park discloses (See, for example, Fig. 1) an organic photodetector (100) comprising:
a first electrode (10);
a second electrode (20) facing the first electrode (10); and
an activation layer (30) and an optical auxiliary layer (40),
the activation layer (30) and the optical auxiliary layer (40) being between the first electrode (10) and the second electrode (20),
wherein the activation layer (30) comprises a p-type semiconductor compound (32) and an n-type semiconductor compound (34),
the optical auxiliary layer (40) comprises:
a first optical auxiliary layer (40b) comprising a first amine compound; and
a second optical auxiliary layer (40a) comprising a second amine compound (the first auxiliary layer 40a and the second auxiliary layer 40b may each include …
4,4′,4″-tris[phenyl(m-tolyl)amino]triphenylamine; 4,4′,4″-tris[2-naphthyl(phenyl) amino] triphenylamine; N,N′-diphenyl-N,N′-di-[4-(N,N-diphenyl- amino)phenyl]benzidine; 2,2′,7,7′-tetrakis[N,N-di(4-methoxyphenyl) amino]-9,9′-spirobifluorene, See, for example, Pars [0122], [0146]-[0147])
a highest occupied molecular orbital (HOMO) energy absolute value of the first amine compound (40b, HOMO 40b, See in Fig. 2) is smaller than a HOMO energy absolute value of the second amine compound (40a, HOMO 40a, See in Fig. 2), and
the first optical auxiliary layer (40b) faces the first electrode (10).
In regards to claim 2, Park discloses (See, for example, Fig. 1) the activation layer (30) and the optical auxiliary layer (40) are in contact with each other (See, Figs. 1 and 2).
In regards to claim 3, Park discloses (See, for example, Fig. 1) the activation layer (30) and the second optical auxiliary layer (40a) are in contact with each other.
In regards to claim 4, Park discloses (See, for example, Fig. 1) the activation layer (30) comprises a layer comprising the p-type semiconductor compound (32) and a layer comprising the n-type semiconductor compound (34), and the layer comprising the p-type semiconductor (32) compound is in contact with the second optical auxiliary layer (40a).
In regards to claim 5, Park discloses (See, for example, Fig. 1) the HOMO energy absolute value of the first amine compound is about 5.00 eV or more (the first auxiliary 40b … which is mapped to the claimed “first amine compound,” has a HOMO energy level of 5.10 eV, See Par [0325]).
In regards to claim 6, Park discloses (See, for example, Fig. 1) the HOMO energy absolute value of the second amine compound is about 5.20 eV or more (the second auxiliary layer 40a…which is mapped to the claimed “second amine compound,” has a HOMO energy level of 5.31eV, See Par [0325]).
In regards to claim 7, Park discloses (See, for example, Fig. 1) the first optical auxiliary layer (40b) and the second optical auxiliary layer (40a) are in contact with each other.
In regards to claim 9, Park discloses (See, for example, Fig. 1) the first electrode (10)is an anode (See, Par [0078]), the second electrode (20) is a cathode (See, Par [0078]), the organic photodetector further comprises an electron transport region (50) arranged between the activation layer (30) and the second electrode (20), and the electron transport region (50) comprises a buffer layer, a hole blocking layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, or any combination thereof (See, Par [0078]).
In regards to claim 12, Park discloses (See, for example, Fig. 1) the n-type semiconductor compound comprises C60 fullerene, C70 fullerene (“The n-type semiconductor 34 may be for example, fullerene or a fullerene derivative…”, See for example, Pars [0117] and [0325]).
In regards to claim 14, Park discloses that wherein the first amine compound is a tertiary amine compound comprising: one or two fluorene moieties; and at least one aryl moiety (the first auxiliary layer 40b and the second auxiliary layer 40a “may each may each include a substituted or unsubstituted arylamine…”, See Par [0146]; and listed a specific genus of suitable arylamine hole-transport materials including: “2,2′,7,7′-tetrakis[N,N-di(4-methoxyphenyl)amino]-9,9′-spirobifluorene”, See Par [0147], which is a tertiary arylamine containing 9,9′-spirobifluorene unit, i.e fluorene ring system joined at a spiro carbon. Regarding about the “at least one aryl moiety” limitation: “arylamine” is an amine bearing at least one aryl substituent, such that every member of the disclosed genus necessarily comprises at least one aryl moiety. 2,2′,7,7′-tetrakis[N,N-di(4-methoxyphenyl)amino]-9,9′-spirobifluorene”, See Par [0147] – which bears eight 4-methoxyphenyl (aryl) groups on four tertiary amine nitrogens).
In regards to claim 18, Park discloses (See, for example, Fig. 1) an electronic apparatus comprising the organic photodetector of claim 1 (See, for example, Pars [0320] - [0322]; See also Fig. 26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Kim et al. (US 2015/0188064 A1, hereinafter “Kim’).
In regards to claim 8, Park discloses all limitations of claim 1 except that the first electrode is an anode, the second electrode is a cathode, the organic photodetector further comprises a hole transport region arranged between the optical auxiliary layer and the first electrode, and the hole transport region comprises a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an electron blocking layer, or any combination thereof.
Kim while disclosing an organic photoelectronic device teaches (See, for example, Figs. 3 and 6) the first electrode (310) is an anode, the second electrode (320) is a cathode, the organic photodetector (600) further comprises a hole transport region arranged between the optical auxiliary layer and the first electrode, and the hole transport region comprises a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an electron blocking layer, or any combination thereof (“charge auxiliary layers 340 …may be at least one selected from a hole injection layer(HIL) for facilitating hole injection, a hole transport layer (HTL) for facilitating hole transport, an electron blocking layer (EBL) for preventing electron transport …”, See, for example, Par [0087]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Park by Kim because this would help improve the sensing performance of the device by facilitating the movement of holes to the electrode while effectively decreasing leakage current.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Nakata et al. (US 2019/0081107 A1, hereinafter “Nakata”).
In regards to claim 10, Park discloses all limitations of claim 1 above except that the p-type semiconductor compound comprises boron subphthalocyanine chloride (SubPc), copper(II)phthalocyanine (CuPc), tetraphenyldibenzoperiflanthene (DBP).
However, Nakata while disclosing an imaging device teaches (see, for example, Fig. 3) the p-type semiconductor compound comprises boron subphthalocyanine chloride (SubPc), copper (II)phthalocyanine (CuPc), tetraphenyldibenzoperiflanthene (DBP) (“each of the first photoelectric conversion layer 511 and the second photoelectric conversion layer 512 contains electron-donating p-type molecules and electron-accepting n-type molecules.”, See Par [0111]; “Examples of the phthalocyanine compound include copper phthalocyanine (CuPc), subphthalocyanine (SubPc)”, See Par [0112]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Park by Nakata because this would provide an imaging device with high sensitivity in both visible and infrared ranges and the capability to electrically switch spectral sensitivity characteristics by adjusting an applied bias voltage.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Nakata as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Lim et al. (US 2021/0234103 A1, hereinafter “Lim”).
In regards to claim 11, Park as modified above discloses all limitations of claim 10 except that wherein Z.sub.111 in Formula 1 is represented by one of Formulae 111A to 111F: wherein, in Formulae 111A to 111F, Z.sub.112 to Z.sub.114 are each independently O, S, Se, or Te, X.sub.113 is N or C(Q.sub.113), X.sub.114 and X.sub.115 are each independently O, S, Se, Te, Si(Q.sub.111)(Q.sub.112), or Ge(Q.sub.111)(Q.sub.112), n.sub.111a to n.sub.111c are each independently an integer from 0 to 3, R.sub.113 to R.sub.117 are each independently hydrogen, deuterium, a halogen, a cyano group, a nitro group, a hydroxy group, a C.sub.1-C.sub.30 alkyl group that is unsubstituted or substituted with at least one R.sub.10a, a C.sub.6-C.sub.30 aryl group that is unsubstituted or substituted with at least one R.sub.10a, a C.sub.3-C.sub.30 heteroaryl group that is unsubstituted or substituted with at least one R.sub.10a, or any combination thereof, and Q.sub.111 to Q.sub.113 are each the same as described in connection with Q.sub.111 in claim 10.
Lim while disclosing a photoelectric device teaches the active layer 30 includes the compound represented by Chemical Formula 1. The compound may act as a p-type semiconductor compound in the active layer 30. (See, for example, Par [0769]). The chemical Formula 1 :
With Ar3 may be a cyclic group represented by one of Chemical Formula 5A to chemical Formula 5F,
(See, for example, Chemical Formula 5A:
, and see also Pars [0128]-[0162]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Park to incorporate the compound of Lim in the active layer provides a photoelectric device capable of selectively absorbing light in the green wavelength region while maintaining excellent thermal stability and charge mobility during high-temperature processing.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Saito et al. (US 2018/0233540 A1, hereinafter “Saito”).
In regards to claim 13, Park discloses all limitations of claim 12 except that wherein each of the compound represented by Formula 2 and the compound represented by Formula 3. However, Saito while disclosing a photoelectric conversion device teaches (See, for example, Pars [0049] and [0051]) wherein each of the compound represented by Formula 2 and the compound represented by Formula 3
(“Examples of the n-type low-molecular material include …general formula 6”; See Par [0051:
“the n-type high molecular semiconductor material include …in the following general formula 4”, See Par [0049]:
)
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Nishiyama et al. (USPN 7482490 B2, hereinafter “Nishiyama”).
In regards to claim 15, Park discloses all limitations of claim 1 above except that wherein the second amine compound is a tertiary amine compound comprising three fluorene moieties.
Nishiyama while disclosing hole transport materials teaches the second amine compound is a tertiary amine compound comprising three fluorene moieties (See, abstract and claims 1 and 2;
general formula: with Ar3 each independently represents a substituted or unsubstituted …fluorenyl group…
AR1 and Ar2 is substituted or unsubstituted condensed ring aromatic group (see claim 2); the condensed ring aromatic group is …2-fluorenyl group (see claim 3)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the compound of Nishiyama into park because this would help deepening the HOMO energy level, improves thermal stability and glass-transition temperature of the HTL film, and enhance hole mobility through planarity-driven intermolecular interactions.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Li et al. (“Hole‑transporting material based on spirobifluorene unit with perfect amorphous and high stability for efficient OLEDs”, 13 May 2019, Journal of Materials Science, 30:11440–11450; hereinafter “Li”).
In regards to claim 16, Park discloses all limitations of claim 1 above except that wherein the first amine compound comprises one of compounds: ##STR00119##.
However, Li while disclosing hole transporting materials teaches (See, for example,
Fig. 8 )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Li’s first amine compound into Park because the compound provides excellent thermal stability and the ability to form stably and homogeneously amorphous films with smooth surfaces to improve device performance and stability of the photoelectric conversion device.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Pflumm et al. (US 2013/0207046 A1, hereinafter “Pflumm”).
In regards to claim 17, Park discloses all limitations of claim 1 above except that wherein the second amine compound comprises one of compounds:
However, Pflumm while disclosing organic electroluminescent devices teaches:
.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Pflumm compounds as a second auxiliary layer of Park because it provides excellent hole transporting properties, high thermal stability that allows sublimation without decomposition, and ability to provide significant improvements in lifetime, efficiency, and operting voltage of the device.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of LEE et al. (US 2020/0212138 A1, hereinafter “LEE”).
In regards to claim 19, Park discloses all limitations of claim 18 above except that further comprising a light-emitting device.
LEE discloses (See, for example, Fig. 9) a light-emitting device (See, for example, Pars [0113]-[0114]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Park by LEE because this would help provide a display device capable of both displaying images and recognizing biometric information such as user’s fingerprint to enable enhancing security functionality for portable apparatuses without requiring a separate sensor layer.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE in view of Park.
In regards to claim 20, LEE discloses (See, for example, Figs. 7 and 9) an electronic apparatus (DP2) comprising:
a substrate (BL) comprising a photodetection area (for example, OPV-2) and an emission area (See, for example, ODL);
an organic photodetector (See, for example, DP-OEL) on the photodetection area (OPV-2); and a light-emitting device (DP-OEL) on the emission area (ODL3-3),
wherein the organic photodetector comprises:
a first pixel electrode (EL1-P);
an opposite electrode (EL1-P) facing the first pixel electrode (EL1-P); and
a hole transport layer, an optical auxiliary layer (“hole transport region HTR may include at least any one of a hole injection layer (not shown), a hole transport layer (not shown), a hole buffer layer (not shown), or an electron barrier layer (not shown).”, See Par [0115]), and an activation layer (PL-1), sequentially arranged between the first pixel electrode (EL1-P) and the opposite electrode (EL2),
the activation layer (PL-1) comprises a p-type semiconductor compound (AL) and an n-type semiconductor compound (DL),
the light-emitting device (for example, DL3-3) comprises:
a second pixel electrode (EL1-E);
the opposite electrode (EL2) facing the second pixel electrode (EL1-E); and
the hole transport layer, the optical auxiliary layer (“hole transport region HTR may include at least any one of a hole injection layer (not shown), a hole transport layer (not shown), a hole buffer layer (not shown), or an electron barrier layer (not shown).”, See Par [0115]), and an emission layer (EML3), sequentially arranged between the second pixel electrode (EL1-E) and the opposite electrode (EL2),
the first pixel electrode (EL1-P) and the activation layer (PL-1) are arranged in correspondence with the photodetection area (OPV-2),
the second pixel electrode (EL1-E) and the emission layer (EML3) are arranged in correspondence with the emission area (ODL3-3), and
the hole transport layer , the optical auxiliary layer (“hole transport region HTR may include at least any one of a hole injection layer (not shown), a hole transport layer (not shown), a hole buffer layer (not shown), or an electron barrier layer (not shown).”, See Par [0115]), and the opposite electrode (EL2) are arranged throughout the photodetection area (ODL) and the emission area (for example, OPV-1).
LEE is silent about the optical auxiliary layer comprises a first optical auxiliary layer comprising a first amine compound and a second optical auxiliary layer comprising a second amine compound,
a highest occupied molecular orbital (HOMO) energy absolute value of the first amine compound is smaller than a HOMO energy absolute value of the second amine compound, and the first optical auxiliary layer faces the first pixel electrode,
Park discloses (See, for example, Fig. 1)
the optical auxiliary layer (40) comprises
a first optical auxiliary layer (40b) comprising a first amine compound and
a second optical auxiliary layer (40a) comprising a second amine compound (the first auxiliary layer 40a and the second auxiliary layer 40b may each include …
4,4′,4″-tris[phenyl(m-tolyl)amino]triphenylamine; 4,4′,4″-tris[2-naphthyl(phenyl) amino] triphenylamine; N,N′-diphenyl-N,N′-di-[4-(N,N-diphenyl- amino)phenyl]benzidine; 2,2′,7,7′-tetrakis[N,N-di(4-methoxyphenyl) amino]-9,9′-spirobifluorene, See, for example, Pars [0122], [0146]-[0147]),
a highest occupied molecular orbital (HOMO) energy absolute value of the first amine compound (40b, HOMO 40b, See in Fig. 2) is smaller than a HOMO energy absolute value of the second amine compound (40a, HOMO 40a, See in Fig. 2), and
the first optical auxiliary layer (40b) faces the first electrode (10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify LEE by Park because this would help prevent hole transport delay at the interface between adjacent layers and reduce residual charge carriers to improve charge extraction efficiency and reduce after-image effects.
Correspondence
/ERMIAS T WOLDEGEORGIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893